Caribbean Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 80 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"staff very unfriendly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Georgetown via Port of Spain. Check in staff in Newark misinformed me about my bags being checked all the way through to Georgetown, I bought duty free in EWR and it was a hassle getting it through Port of Spain. Staff at front desk made me wait until they were ready to walk me through the gates. On both outgoing and return trips I found the staff, with a couple notable exceptions, very unfriendly. Seemed they thought they were doing me a huge favor. You guys need to either retrain these staff or get rid of them as they are doing damage to your reputation. On return trip I was literally refused to be sold Duty Free because no one at the front desk told me that I had to place the duty free in my checked luggage? When I arrived in Port of Spain it seems that they had a procedure for handling it for in transit passengers. I ended up buying the Duty Free in Port of Spain at a higher price as well! Flight delays were not even explained properly. With one exception the ground staff showed little empathy with the fact that a 2 hour delay could have messed up my interconnecting flight. The agent that checked me in was rude and very curt. She signaled me to walk up to her desk then had me wait several minutes while she finished the prior task she was working on before even greeting me. Why not just leave me in the line so I could go to another agent who would be ready to do my transaction? I had zero confidence that she would have given me any useful information given her demeanor. I had to ask around ince inside the terminal building until I found someone who was able to explain that the interconnecting flight would also be delayed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Georgetown via Port of Spain
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"changed our flight 5 times"

(United States)

Not Verified | New York JFK to Port of Spain. Horrible, they changed our flight 5 times before we even boarded. The result was a different date and a very inconvenient red eye. No flexibility at all, no refunds at all. Never again
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Port of Spain
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airline like the plague"

(United States)

Not Verified | Due to fly Trinidad to Tobago with Caribbean Airlines. Terrible airline. Flights are leaving every 30 minutes to the same destination (interisland) and instead of sending the next flight on the next plane, ours has been delayed. 2 hours and counting. 3 flights have left with later departure times than ours. Same situation both directions. Avoid this airline like the plague.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTrinidad to Tobago
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"A wonderful experience"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Trip Verified | Port of Spain to New York. A wonderful experience from Caribbean Airlines, the flight departed on time and arrived before scheduled on the trip up. The seats were comfortable and the food was good, in my opinion there is no competition to Caribbean's food. The flight attendants were very friendly and attentive.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to New York
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airline I’ve traveled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Port of Spain. The worst service all around except for the one lady who gave me a smile on the way back to NY. Went to Trinidad for 2 days to attend a funeral so tickets were booked at last minute. After calling several times to their customer service line I was given a price that was higher than online. The lady was rude and of no help. Booked tickets online, of course double the usual price but that’s expected, not sure why. The planes were dirty, crew to and from were not friendly, makeup on the ladies was a mess, bathrooms are a mess, seats hard and dirty and extremely uncomfortable. My seat couldn’t recline which resulted in a backpain that lasted a day and half. Not nice especially when you have to go to work as soon as you’re out of the airport. I didn’t bother to eat the food, the carts were dirty too. By far the worst airline I’ve traveled in. Wish I had other options but they were the only one flying at that time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Port of Spain
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"reward system is not worth it"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Port of Spain to New York JFK. I am a very frequent flyer with Caribbean Airlines for the past 2 years I have taken approx 10 round trip flights with them which got me to their silver tier rewards status. I was supposed to be entitled to 4 upgrades to first class and free tickets based on my mileage. The most disappointing thing about this program is when you are ready to redeem your mileage they have blackout dates, your first class upgrades means you cannot buy a regular economy ticket, you would need to buy a flex or an "upgradable" ticket which is almost the exact cost of a business class ticket. This is not choosing to fly with Caribbean. Their reward system is not worth it. For frequent flyers the rewards are the deciding factor and Caribbean Airlines is not on par with international competition.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to New York JFK
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I do not recommend"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Georgetown. Miserable experience with Caribbean Airlines. The check-in agents at JFK were disrespectful - not a single smile, didn’t want to use my credit card for my 2nd luggage because it was too many fields to enter into the AR system. The airplane is very antiquated. For example, the cloth seat covering appears dirty, tray table is dirty, windows had cracks, flight attendants are forgetful, and restroom is dirty. I do not recommend using Caribbean Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Georgetown
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"standards continue to drop"

(Jamaica)

Trip Verified | Port of Spain to Kingston. I think that the menu for this airline should be revised. To have sandwiches as cold as the air conditioning unit is not the best and even if as a cold sandwich the bread is usually dry. The hot meals (breakfast) specifically the potatoes with a bun are both dry, I'm unsure if the eggs are real eggs or if its liquid or powdered eggs but these things should also be made clear as it is easy to get allergies from certain foods. I have been traveling for more than 4 yrs with this airline and its standards continue to drop.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Kingston
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Crew excellent on one hour flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Georgetown to Port of Spain. First leg of Georgetown to Toronto was excellent. I found out someone had bumped me out of my aisle seat and I was now in a window seat but check-in staff were excellent in trying to find a solution. Boarding was early and smooth - funny how efficient things are when no rush! Crew excellent on one hour flight. Great cockpit announcements. Bar service fast and efficient. Only drawback was ancient cabin but hey, it was a short flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeorgetown to Port of Spain
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"cabin was tired and dirty"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This should have been one review as I purchased a ticket from Georgetown through to Toronto. However on arrival in Trinidad we were told we would have to deplane and change aircraft. In any other airport it would be simple. Not in Trinidad! Zero ground staff and we waited in a queue for 30 minutes and only after I asked were we advised that the boarding pass printer was down. Finally had to issue new boarding passes. Why? Then go through security again and head to the gate. I had found out my seat was changed to a window from an aisle and Trinidad gate agent said no other aisles available but on boarding I saw the emergency exit was free. He lied. Flight left 20 minutes late and Captain said it was a mechanical issue but a pax boarded at departure so was it mechanical? Seat cushion was non-existent and cabin was tired and dirty. Also greeted in Y by a nasty flight attendant who started to harangue me for putting duty free in the overhead bin as it could fall out. A simple move of the bags already there fixed that potential issue. Flight attendant watched and scowled as I sorted out the bags and solved her stacking issue. So much better to give crap to customers than fix the problem! 75 minutes after take off "lunch" arrives. I have never seen anything so gross in my life. Just serve nothing if this is the best you can do. No pre meal beverage service, only done at the same time as the so called "meal". After meal waited over an hour for pick up of the "tray" and no after dinner beverages offered. This was a nearly 6 hour flight! No service for 2 hours and no warning that feature movie was going to start. Of course no request to lower blinds so couldn't see tiny overhead screens anyway. They say free entertainment but no headsets provided. Bar service 90 minutes from Toronto and later the ridiculous and old fashioned warning to turn off phones and Ipads as landing soon. Hello! It doesn't matter on US or Canadian aircraft why on Caribbean Airlines? To top it off took 60 minutes for bags to arrive in Toronto. I love Caribbean Airlines ad campaign in Georgetown with slogan "Demand Value". Really? As a customer, how about demanding a smile or two? Maybe crew was so miserable as they were missing Carnival?
AircraftBoeiung 738
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 80 Reviews