Caribbean Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 73 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"standards continue to drop"

(Jamaica)

Trip Verified | Port of Spain to Kingston. I think that the menu for this airline should be revised. To have sandwiches as cold as the air conditioning unit is not the best and even if as a cold sandwich the bread is usually dry. The hot meals (breakfast) specifically the potatoes with a bun are both dry, I'm unsure if the eggs are real eggs or if its liquid or powdered eggs but these things should also be made clear as it is easy to get allergies from certain foods. I have been traveling for more than 4 yrs with this airline and its standards continue to drop.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Kingston
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Crew excellent on one hour flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Georgetown to Port of Spain. First leg of Georgetown to Toronto was excellent. I found out someone had bumped me out of my aisle seat and I was now in a window seat but check-in staff were excellent in trying to find a solution. Boarding was early and smooth - funny how efficient things are when no rush! Crew excellent on one hour flight. Great cockpit announcements. Bar service fast and efficient. Only drawback was ancient cabin but hey, it was a short flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeorgetown to Port of Spain
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"cabin was tired and dirty"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This should have been one review as I purchased a ticket from Georgetown through to Toronto. However on arrival in Trinidad we were told we would have to deplane and change aircraft. In any other airport it would be simple. Not in Trinidad! Zero ground staff and we waited in a queue for 30 minutes and only after I asked were we advised that the boarding pass printer was down. Finally had to issue new boarding passes. Why? Then go through security again and head to the gate. I had found out my seat was changed to a window from an aisle and Trinidad gate agent said no other aisles available but on boarding I saw the emergency exit was free. He lied. Flight left 20 minutes late and Captain said it was a mechanical issue but a pax boarded at departure so was it mechanical? Seat cushion was non-existent and cabin was tired and dirty. Also greeted in Y by a nasty flight attendant who started to harangue me for putting duty free in the overhead bin as it could fall out. A simple move of the bags already there fixed that potential issue. Flight attendant watched and scowled as I sorted out the bags and solved her stacking issue. So much better to give crap to customers than fix the problem! 75 minutes after take off "lunch" arrives. I have never seen anything so gross in my life. Just serve nothing if this is the best you can do. No pre meal beverage service, only done at the same time as the so called "meal". After meal waited over an hour for pick up of the "tray" and no after dinner beverages offered. This was a nearly 6 hour flight! No service for 2 hours and no warning that feature movie was going to start. Of course no request to lower blinds so couldn't see tiny overhead screens anyway. They say free entertainment but no headsets provided. Bar service 90 minutes from Toronto and later the ridiculous and old fashioned warning to turn off phones and Ipads as landing soon. Hello! It doesn't matter on US or Canadian aircraft why on Caribbean Airlines? To top it off took 60 minutes for bags to arrive in Toronto. I love Caribbean Airlines ad campaign in Georgetown with slogan "Demand Value". Really? As a customer, how about demanding a smile or two? Maybe crew was so miserable as they were missing Carnival?
AircraftBoeiung 738
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience ever"

(Jamaica)

Trip Verified | New York to Montego Bay. By far the worst experience ever. Yesterday was a day just like any other. I walked in to JFK receiving notification that the terminal was flooded and it is partially closed. I walked up with my daughter 2 years old and my mother in law who was in a wheelchair. The receptionist was very unhelpful and rude with the way she handled us. We got up to the waiting area to board the airplane where you could see chattering between airline workers. We boarded the plane and after 1 hour of waiting we were told that there is a problem with a heater and that they were trying to fix it. And other hour later we were told that we had to board another plane. No apology was made. There were kids on the flight. And not even a drink was offered. No phone call nothing. I went to the desk to ask for a call and none was given and was told a manager would have to approve. I waited and received no response. We departed about 12 something for a flight that should have left at 7:15. We got to Jamaica told to make my mother in law walk to meet the wheelchair as none was waiting for her. Got down to immigration and to the baggage claim where one of my bag was not present. All the representatives were up and about trying to find stuff for people who could not find their luggage. When I finally spoke to someone they told me I would have to come back after signing a missing baggage claim and that I should call the number given or they would call me. Until this time no one has reached out to me. I call the airport and was transferred to the airline representative and was hung up on twice. After that I called back and with told by the front desk of the airport that they would have to call me and tell me what to do. I waited 2 hours after coming off the airline to be told that my bag (car seat) was maybe not here. This is an inconvenience because after having a delayed flight and a hungry child for almost the whole day. Had to let my one handed mother in law hold my child until we got to Kingston. The representatives were not at all helpful had to wait 2 hours to be told that the car seat was maybe left in New York. No reassurance or outline of how I would receive anything. And it’s almost one full day and no response. Not to mention the meal that was provided. Crackers and tea would have been better.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Terrible customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Port of Spain to Georgetown. This is by far the worst airline ever dealt with. Up to date no compensation, I was telling myself I wouldn't take the airline ever again but I did because I needed to get to Guyana. They lost the stroller seat which was declared missing on June 27th and up to date, did not find it, would not reimburse me for damaged luggage. I did not receive any compensation for the stroller seat and no responses since October. Terrible customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Georgetown
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Wonderful service from the ground up"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Verified Review | Toronto to Port of Spain. Wonderful service from the ground up. Check in was fast and efficient at Pearson Airport. Flight was on time. The crew were warm, professional and smiling and chatting with passengers. The head flight attendant and one of the other FA's I have encountered on previous Caribbean Airlines flights are outstanding representatives of true Trinbagonian charm and friendliness. The Captain and first officer kept us well informed during the smooth and enjoyable flight. The food was tasty although small portions and a fairly wide choice of non alcoholic drinks were readily available on board.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Port of Spain
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"major room for improvement"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Verified Review | Quite a mediocre airline with a semi-good landside operation and quite a good airside one. The Good: Counter service is good. Quick and efficient check-in with friendly (enough) agents. Tickets are easy to purchase on-line or at their offices. The aircraft are in good condition. Seats are clean, if basic. Pitch is more than other carriers. Free sealed air-buds. Attendants are accommodating, well trained and efficient. Each seat has a free to take Caribbean Beat magazine, IMHO the best Caribbean publication. The meals and drinks are still complimentary and of high quality for an airline. Safety is paramount. The airline has a good compliment of flight officers and properly maintained aircraft. The Bad: The web-site is very dated. Changes cannot be made leading to: Don't try to contact the airline. Responses to e-mails take well over 5 days, sometimes months. The call centre seems to be bogged down. Seat pitch could be better. I'm 5'11" and it's comfortable until the person in front decides to recline. There is very little entertainment. A complimentary movie on those tiny drop-down screens that even Lifetime won't show and some audio channels The Ugly: It's the only airline apart from AA where one gets "grumpy" FAs. Again, communication is horrible. All in all not the worst but there is major room for improvement, particularly landside operations.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Kingston
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"wonderful service they provide"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Montego Bay. Caribbean Airlines made arrangements for a wheelchair at the airports going and returning. At JFK, we arrived early and were checked in immediately and they had the wheelchair right as I checked in. Then we were taken to lounge followed by taking us to the gate. We sat in 3c and 3f. Very nice seats. Because of the freezing temps that morning, we had a slight delight because of possible fuel line link but the pilot played it safe. After about an hour we were cleared to leave. As I had previously ordered our meals, we enjoyed a cheese omelet and delicious fish cakes, the best rum punch and best coffee ever. The economy class had the cheese omelet also. The movie shown was Mr. Church, a relatively new movie. Excellent flight with a wheelchair waiting at the gate. Crew was just terrific. Our return flight was on March 18 and again, terrific check in, quick and easy. Wheelchair waiting for me at check in. We sat in the same seats on the returning flight. Dinner was chicken and poached salmon, although they ran out of the key lime pie, we had delicious grilled fruit with a mango salsa, a rum punch, excellent coffee and a Hennessy brandy. Ecomony had sandwiches that night, I believe it was ham and cheese but not sure . The movie shown was Dr. Strange, unfortunately the tv screen wasn't working well, this happens. Crew was good but we got spoiled by the crew on the 11th. Again the wheelchair was waiting for us at the gate and since we have global entry, we were out within 15 minutes. Luggage was out first both in Montego Bay and JFK. We have taken Caribbean Airlines for a number of years and only once had an issue with crew, which was years ago. We chose them because of the wonderful service that they provide and they still give meals whether you are in business or economy. Our recommendation is to arrive at the airports early, less stress and less people.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Montego Bay
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff was excellent"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Verified Review | My flight from Miami to Port of Spain with Caribbean Airlines was the most comfortable, staff was excellent the attendant was brilliant. With service like that you can never ask more. I can give thumbs up to that staff. Thanks for everything.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMIA to POS
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"customer service was terrible"

(United States)

First flight was an overnight flight from Toronto to Trinidad. No air-conditioning, seats so uncomfortable and they would not turn off any of the lights, so to get any rest was impossible. When we got to Trinidad we were soaked in sweat, cranky and tired. Our flight from Trinidad to Tobago was wonderful, seats were comfortable and we had air. On our way back from Tobago to Trinidad the customer service was terrible, they took no credit for their mistakes, rude and misleading. Everyone around us had the same treatment as we did. Thankfully we had a local person to help us through it otherwise we would have missed all of our flights. Our flight from Trinidad back to Toronto was ok, food was ok. Again, no customer service. We had to place our plates and cups on the floor before anyone would pick up our trash. Thankfully we had some A/C. Even though they were direct flights I think I would take another airline with longer layovers then go with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to POS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 73 Reviews