Bulgaria Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 84 reviews
6/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"enjoyable and normal experience"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | Beirut to Sofia. The flight was okay. It departed on time, the cabin crew did a great job indeed. The food was simple but for a midnight flight it was alright. I was seated on an emergency exit seat and it was very comfortable there. The other seats in front seemed like they have a great legroom too. Calm, enjoyable and normal experience.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeirut to Sofia
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"another good experience"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | Bulgaria Air is definitely the best choice to fly from Sofia to Milan and back. Brand new aircraft and good service. Arrived at the airport 1h.30min. before the flight and went straight to the business class check in desk, as a Silver member. Security was very fast. This time the boarding was organised. It was a full flight. I was able to change my seat to an extra legroom seat in Row 3 (up to 2.5 times more legroom than economy) and it costs 20€ more each way. I would say that these extra legroom seats are better than any intra European business class. We took off on time. Snacks were given to all passengers (a small sandwich, drinks and a chocolate). We landed in Sofia on time. I would say that I had another good experience with Bulgaria Air.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Sofia
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was very pleasant"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Milan on Bulgaria Air’s Embraer 190. As I am a Silver member in their frequent flyer program, FlyMore, I checked in on the business class counter, which saved me time, as sometimes the economy class lines are long. There is no priority fast lane at Sofia airport and my status doesn’t allow lounge access. Boarding was disorganised. The flight was full, but I had a seat in the front. Bulgaria Air also offers extra legroom seats in row 3 (behind business class). They offer up to 2.5 times more legroom for 20€ more each way. The flight was pleasant. There was a snack served (a sandwich and a chocolate). We landed in Milan 20 minutes earlier. Overall the flight was very pleasant. I like to use Bulgaria Air for short-haul flights.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Milan
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sofia to Prague. Worst airline ever. Even worse than Wizz or Ryanair. Been redirected 3 times to different check in counters, made to queue up again each time. No apologies from arrogant and rude staff. Will never fly with them again. Worst service and attitudes. Why even bother running a company with such service level?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Prague
Date FlownJuly 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"there is no reason to choose this airline"

(Israel)

Verified Review | Flew Bulgaria Air from Tel Aviv to Varna and return. 4 hours delay, every hour they updated with another delay. Old aircraft and bad service. Once we arrived to the aircraft we spent another 30 minutes without air conditioning. Unless the price is very low comparing the rest there is no reason to choose this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTlv to Varna
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not buy tickets from this airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | Sofia to Barcelona. I strongly recommend that you do not buy tickets from this airline. I was supposed to fly from Sofia to Barcelona today, June 27 2017, leaving Sofia at 10 am, arriving 12 pm. As of now, 4:20 pm, there is no information at all when the flight would leave, where is the plane currently, and whether it will leave at all. The electronic board simply says the flight is delayed, the person at the gate says there is no information available to him, and the web cite of Bulgaria air does not mention the flight at all under "flight status". The personel at the gate is supposed to at least provide water and snacks to the passengers waiting all day, but every time we tried to approach them, they said that we should wait to be called for food, not go and ask for it... We ended up visiting the airport restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and we are headed there for dinner as well since no one knows when or if the flight will leave. We asked if we can be rebooked to RyanAir, which also had a direct flight to Barcelona one hour later at 3:55 pm - we had no checked in luggage and the flight was already delayed 5 hours but the customer service representative was very rude and told me that the airline does not do that, we just have to keep waiting. In the meanwhile, significant delayed were announced over the loud speaker for several other Bulgaria Air flights. All Ryanair flights, on the other hand, were on time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Barcelona
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"cabin service is okay"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | Flew from Sofia to Paris. The Embraer planes of Bulgaria Air are okay. The seats are pretty old but the spacing is okay. The airbus planes are worse. The seats are older (rubbed off leather, torn pouches etc) and the spacing is uncomfortably tight. Cabin service is okay. Food is pretty simple but the staff are usually quick. There is no onboard entertainment on any of the planes.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Paris
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Don't fly Business Class"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | I was flying Business Class from Sofia to Frankfurt. I wasn't offered welcome drink and the so called 'food' is a miserable sandwich - same one offered in Economy. What's funny is that Economy gets bottles of water on their seats and Business didn't! Ridiculous. The chocolate is not edible. In Sofia we boarded a bus to take us to the airplane, which is unpleasant. In Frankfurt we landed so far away from the gates, we travelled 20 minutes by bus! Don't fly Business Class with this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSofia to Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the flight was very pleasant"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | Varna to Sofia. Very nice flight. Business class check in was very slow - first it opened 1h 30mins before the flight and then the computer stopped working, so waited there for about 25 minutes. The lounge in Varna is great, I believe the best one in Bulgaria. The business class cabin was totally full - 8 seats, as well as economy class. They didn't offer welcome drinks, not like my previous flights on the Bulgaria Air business class. The seats are comfortable and also a little bit wider then the economy ones. The food was a cold beverage, but was tasty. The flight landed on time. Overall, the flight was very pleasant.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVarna to Sofia
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"an easy, enjoyable flight"

(United States)

Sofia to Brussels with Bulgaria Air. The check-in line at Sofia Airport was long, but it moved quickly, as did the security check. Staff was courteous and efficient. Upon entering the plane, we were given a bottle of water, which was later followed by a sandwich and a choice of hot and cold beverages. We left on time and arrived at our destination on time. Cabin staff was friendly and professional. An easy, enjoyable flight.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSOF to BRU
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 84 Reviews