top100_2016  

Brussels Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 271 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not show any care for its passengers"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Hamburg to Brussels. Without any previous notice Brussels Airlines changed the Avro jet by a noisy Dash 8 with props operated by low cost carrier flybe. Even with the inconveniences of that change not all passengers were granted a free drink and when you eventually did want a drink you only were available to pay by credit card. Flight with some 35 minutes delay - once again Brussels did not show any care for its passengers.
AircraftDash 8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAM to BRU
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"need to offer a better product"

(United Kingdom)

Last-minute booking from return London to Aberdeen produced a fare of nearly £300, but Easyjet and Flybe did not fly Saturday or had similar prices. Like budget airlines, I paid extra (£8) to reserve seat when booking. On the return flight a young family had the two seats next to me, and one over the aisle. I had paid extra for that window seat. They asked if I would take the aisle seat so they could sit together, which I did, but there is something wrong when I paid extra for that seat. I hate these extra charges precisely for these reasons, they cause more problems than they solve. It was better this family sat together ,but I was ripped off for that extra (small amount though it was). The crew on both flights were excellent, friendly and efficient, serving drinks (including alcohol) and a biscuit or crisps, the "included" offerings would cost around £5 on the "low cost" alternatives. If BA want to stand out from that crowd (And it should) they need to offer a better product than this..
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ABZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"with and without service"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Brussels Airlines still does try to be regular carrier and cheap carrier in the same cabin so : business called BIZ, economy with and without service (the last with and without luggage ) the economy without service is called "light" and passengers have to pay for drinks - even for mineral water - and some snacks the meals in the economy with service "flex" are disgusting and drinks are served out of big bottles. In business plastic cutlery however on the flight to Hamburg a lot of passengers from a connecting flight were seated in the "light" area and it appeared those pax are eligible for free drinks. So the following situation did happen your neighbour did receive free drinks and you had to pay 3€ for mineral water. 50 minutes waiting time when first piece of luggage came out
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to HAM
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"low cost with a bad customer service"

(Belgium)

3 Hours delay in Brussels due to a thunderstorm, very bad communication. We had to wait in the airplane for almost 3 hours and we received one glass of water. When you fly in economy like we did, you have to pay for everything and the drinks and meals were very expensive. The crew was not friendly. The flight from Malaga to Brussels was a flight without luggage because there was a strike in Brussels. We couldn't check in our luggage so we decided not to fly. We rebooked the flight for free but we had to pay for an extra night in Malaga. I made a complaint and I am still waiting for an answer but they have a very poor customer service. Brussels Airlines is a low cost company with a bad customer service and they have most of the time delays. I would not recommend this airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to AGP
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"extremely expensive for a basic service"

(United Kingdom)

If you travel with Brussels Airlines on a route where there is little/no competition they are extremely expensive for a basic service. My most recent experience from Bristol-Brussels return (the flights are provided by BMI Regional) cost the usual several hundred pounds for the cheapest ticket and for that I got no flexibility, no hold luggage and very basic catering (a drink and biscuit). The outward flight was delayed by 45 minutes with little explanation and the return by three hours due to a ground crew strike at Brussels. I am sure the airline will claim this was beyond their control, though some flights appeared to be leaving on time. They did nothing to ease matters, and only very reluctantly issued drinks vouchers, to those that asked, after two hours - they are a legal right. Premium prices, below average service.
AircraftERJ145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to BRU
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"service on board is fairly basic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Took four flights with Brussels Airlines over the course of a long weekend from Birmingham to Nice via Brussels. Check in at Birmingham took about 25 mins which felt a long time because there were only 10 or so people in the queue and most of them had checked in online. The online check-in process allows you to select seats which is obviously better than a free for all when you get on the plane. My bags were automatically routed through Brussels though which was good. The service on board is fairly basic, but my flights were only 1 hour or so long so it didn't bother me. I did buy a coffee on the first flight which was 3 euros and was more than adequate. The leather seats were very comfortable with plenty of leg room. The punctuality of the flights was the only negative, although it didn't directly affect me. All four flights were between 15 to 45 minutes late leaving, which meant that for some people connections at Brussels were a lot tighter than they should have been. The cabin crew did call out the gate numbers for selected flights when we were taxiing to the terminal at Brussels but I do wonder whether the bags would have made for those passengers with tight connections. Overall, I would recommend this airline, but be wary if you have less than 1 hour connecting in Brussels because in all likelihood it will be less than that in reality.
AircraftAvro / A319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to NCE via BRU
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"a bland experience"

(India)

Porto to Brussels with Brussels Airlines. First and lasting impression was that Brussels Airlines is akin to a low-cost carrier. Only 2 flight attendants were present, one warm and the other grossly uninterested - both disappeared 40 mins into the flight. No entertainment, only buy on board food which had 1 vegetarian option - a brie sandwich. Flight was uneventful. Quite a bland experience.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOPO to BRU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"is good value for money"

(Hungary)

Budapest to Malaga via Brussels with Brussels Airlines. The plane was delayed half an hour. Despate the delay I could reach my connection. My baggage arrived. The flight attendants were smiling. There wasn't a food choice - only one sandwich or one warm food so I couldn't choose what I wanted. There was a lot of food in the magazin but available only from July or they didn't have it. The route wasn't shown on the monitor, I missed it. The seats are not comfortable but good for a short flight. The ticket was cheap - if you want a cheap flight and don't want a low cost airlines in this case it is good value for money. But you should consider delays.
AircraftA319 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBUD to AGP via BRU
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my luggage did not make it"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | I flew from Toronto to Billund (Denmark) via Brussels and my luggage did not make it on to my flight, Hence I'm without most of my shoes, trousers and all of my shorts. It's not because there was very short time for my luggage to be transferred from one plane to the other. In fact they had over two hours. In comparison my initial outgoing flight with Lufthansa was delayed by an hour, which meant there was about 15 minutes for both me and my luggage to make it on to the connecting flight in Frankfurt. But even within that timeframe my luggage made it. It needs mentioning that I was not the only one who didn't get my luggage. I counted at least 15 people who had to contact airport staff at Billund Airport. 15 might not seem to be that many, but it's too many. And since this was a Dash 8 with many unoccupied seats, I'm guessing it could be as much as 50% of passengers who left the airport without most of their belongings. The flight from Brussels was the first of three scheduled flights to Billund. All with Brussels airlines. Another flew Saturday arriving 11.20 (June 11th). However, my luggage has still not even made it Billund Airport (who I contacted 16.19 on June 11th). Even if my luggage makes it to Billund Sunday (June 12th) it might take a day before I get it and then I'll be traveling to 28 degree Rome without shorts. On another note my seat (Seat 37K Flight No. SN552) was terrible. The headrest is so big that when the seat is an upright position you're simply unable straighten your neck. The headrest couldn't be liftet up as it would then fall down again. I do have a few positive things to say about Brussels Airlines. In-flight food and service was great, the airline does provide tickets at a low cost, the online check-in is simple and changing/choosing seat was easy to manage.
AircraftA330 / Dash 8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to BLL via BRu
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"do not serve complimentary water"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Vilnius to Prague via Brussels in mid-May 2016. Boarding was quick and efficient at Vilnius, cabin crew were polite and helpful on the A319 used on this route. Much to be desired from the seats which did not provide the best comfort. Arrived in Brussels with on time. The cabin crew on the connecting flight to Prague were warm and friendly, but due to delayed departure from Brussels the arrival into Prague was pushed back by 20 minutes. Seats on the Avro RJ7 used on this flight were more comfortable than their A319. Bags arrived on the belt within 10 minutes of disembarking aircraft. I was a bit surprised that they do not even serve complimentary water or non-alcoholic drinks to all passengers in Economy class. I understand that these days airlines are trying to cut costs to achieve a bigger profit margins, but even juice or a nice hot cup of tea on Brussels Airlines would be welcome sign that they're not Ryanair or EasyJet.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVNO to PRG via BRU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes