Top 100 Airlines  

Brussels Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 260 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Overall it was good"

(Ireland)

Brussels to Agadir, and first time to fly with Brussels Airlines, was a little concerned as to other reviews I had read. Yes, they are of a low cost model, but they were fine. Crew were pleasant and efficient, there were 2 separate snack/bar services during the flight which is better than most airlines who only come around once. The selection of soft drinks and sodas were limited as was the sandwich selection, while the flight is technically an "all economy" service they have an enhanced service called Bizz+Class which I was sorry I didn't avail of. Overall it was good, just its a pity on flights that are 4 hours plus that there is no wifi, as it gets very boring.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to AGA
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"seriously underperformed"

(Australia)

Flew Brussels Airlines from MAN to GVA via BRU. Caught an early flight because I needed to be in Geneva by midday - so much for that. Boarded as usual, only to be told after boarding finished that we would be delayed (held on the ground) for an hour due to fog in Brussels. This stretched out to 2 hours (with minimal communication from the crew). Crew didn't really seem to care about passengers missing connections and said they were being "generous" by offering a "free glass of water". On any other airline that'd be offered without even making a point about it. No food or water otherwise offered during our 3.5 hour stay on the aircraft. Missed the connection to GVA by miles, despite our flight being held for ages every other flight left with minimal delay. Had to feel sympathy for people flying to America who'd missed the only flight for the day. Rebooked on to a later flight, eventually arriving in GVA 3hrs after I was scheduled to. Likewise on the GVA sector no complimentary food or drink offered. Brussels Airlines really might as well call itself a low cost carrier, it sure acts like one. Compared to other Star carriers I flew this trip (Star, Swiss) where they came around with multiple drink services and food, Brussels Airlines seriously underperformed. Given some of the prices they'd charge, I'd expect better service than easyJet. SN certainly didn't deliver.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to GVA via BRU
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"choose another airline"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We travelled home from Brussels to Manchester, and quite the most awful airport/airline experience we have ever had. Our flight was rescheduled over 3 hours earlier with less than 48 hours notice and due to the airport only being accessible to cars and taxis we had to pay an exorbitant taxi fare (more than the cost of our flight!). Unable to rebook on a later flight as Brussels Air agents` phones continuously engaged throughout. Utterly excessive security at the airport, we had our boarding cards and/or passports checked 6 times en route to the plane, and had to queue in the rain just to get into the terminal. No signage as to the revised parking/access arrangements outside the terminal so the taxi went round in circles clocking up more tariff! We have every sympathy with the lovely Belgian people over the recent tragic events but Brussels Airlines and the airport authorities appear to have ditched all concept of customer care in the aftermath and are leaving travellers with no choice but to like it or lump the bills. Best to avoid Brussels Airport completely until it`s all back to normal, whenever that will be, and choose another airline when it is.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to MAN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"without doubt our last experience"

(United Kingdom)

Edinburgh to Lyon via Brussels, our first experience with Brussels Airlines and without doubt our last. I booked with this airline to ensure we had a maximum amount of time in Lyon, generally I would prefer a direct flight but arrival at 11am meant we could make the most of our time in the city. Delayed by 45 minutes on the outward flight, there was no attempt to allow people attempting to make connections priority exit from the plane. The airport is vast and because we were flying from a non-Schengen country to a Schengen, we had to travel between the A and B areas, and had to negotiate Security again, the only concession to our connecting Brussels Airlines flight was an 'express' pass which made no difference whatsoever. Boarding had been closed for a matter of moments when we arrived at the gate, we and a number of other delayed passengers were refused boarding. I know the constraints placed on airlines and pilots but the airline knew we were all booked on that plane and had been delayed due to their own airline's delay. We were then shuffled off to an enormous queue at the service desk, a poorly organised and somewhat shambolic affair. Eventually when we reached the front of the queue we were told they'd re-routed us via Munich, adding yet more time to our journey. We were delayed again on the return flight, I fully accept that there are matters outwith the carrier's control but there was no communication at the gate, very frustrating, particularly after the poor experience of the outward journey.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEDI to LYS via BRU
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"catering is probably the best part"

(Belgium)

Return flight Brussels to Kinshasa in business class. Seat arrangement is 1-2-1, then 2-1-2, and so on. All seats have direct aisle access except for the window seats paired to an aisle seat. Cabin crew very good, and catering is probably the best part with a good choice of sdishes, nice wines, and plenty of tasty Belgian beers to choose from. The aircraft was clean when boarding, so were the lavs through the flight. The seat, although converting into a flat bed, is not really comfortable, and can only be moved as whole between different positions (take-off/lounge/sleep), so not possible to move the back or the footrest independently from other parts. Okay for flights up to 7-8h, but not longer. Expectations for the IFE were high were spotting the large touchscreens and taking the classy remote in hand, but movies, tv shows and music available are very limited, and somewhat dated. Moving map however is excellent; but better bring your own music with you, or movies on a tablet.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBRU to FIH
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"looks like low cost"

(Belgium)

Unhappy, about flights from Brussels to Gran Canaria return. One front toilet available, so continuous row of people next to business class passengers. On line check not working for Gran Canaria to Brussels sector. No lounge access since the company did not make an agreement for a Gran Canaria lounge. Service mimimal and in a hurry. For a 4.5 hours flight, one would expect a pre-dinner/lunch drink. Quick warming of lunch on LPA BRU flight, drinks came later. Lufthansa much better service on the Munich to Gran Canaria flight. Brussels Airlines looks like low cost.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBRU to LPA
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"aircrafts clean"

(Belgium)

Outbound Brussels Airlines flight from Brussels to Rome FCO left with a delay of about 20 minutes but landed exactly on time. Return flight had a delay of about 1h30 due to medical on board and lightning strike on the right wing. Because of this delay, staff offered drinks for free and handed out chocolates which was a nice gesture. Crew on both flights very friendly as usual. Aircrafts clean on both legs as usual.
AircraftA320 and A319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to FCO
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"sometimes with a nice smile"

(Belgium)

Brussels to Rome with Brussels Airlines, cabin crew was not interested in service, no smiles, not rude but you could see, they didn't like their job. Return flight with a very nice cabin crew, smiles and good service. The opposite of the flight from Brussels to Rome. Brussels Airlines brings you for a cheap fare to somewhere in Europe, sometimes with a very nice smile included.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to FCO
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"on-board service poor"

(Indonesia)

Seasonal flight from Napoli NAP to London LHR via Brussels BRU. Brussels Airlines failed to manage summer holiday crowd. Flight from NAP to LHR was delayed for 40 minutes. I barely made it for second leg to London, but my suitcase was left behind by the airline and delivered to my house exactly 24 hrs after. On-board service poor, seats very thin and hard. I wouldn't take Brussels Airlines if it's not part of Star Alliance. At Brussels Airport there is no priority boarding for Gold passengers. Quite disappointing.
AircraftA320, Avrojet
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNAP to LHR via BRU
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such a bad experience"

(United States)

Washington to Yaounde via Brussels and this has been such a bad experience with Brussels Airlines. Customer service is so bad. I don't yet know when I will be issued a new ticket when my flight got cancelled due to a storm three days ago. They keep telling me to call United Airlines which is not helping at all but by law Brussels is the ticket holder and should be the one to try to find me a flight. Brussels Airlines is useless if there is a problem with your flight especially when they bundle it with another airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIAD to YAO via BRU
Date FlownDecember 2015
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no