Airline of the Year  

British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2062 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"felt like budget airline"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Edinburgh to Gatwick. Booked the ticket on the last minute due to missed train and tight schedule. This was my first time flying with BA and probably my last if I have other option. It didn't feel like a national carrier, felt more like budget airline with no snacks/drinks and fare class that doesn't include checked baggage. Flight was smooth enough, efficient but boarded 15mins late in Edinburgh. No service whatsoever served during the flight unless you pay an additional fee.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to Gatwick
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"abandoned us at Rome airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Rome to London. Thursday May 18 flight scheduled to leave at 1200 delayed due to technical issues for 6 hrs and then cancelled at 1730. This caused missed connecting flight to Los Angeles. Very poor communication with passengers by desk attendants. No one took charge of our situation, information filtered through Italian speaking passengers who sought help with staff from Iberia airlines. BA staff was gone after 6pm and we were shuttled to hotel and told a rep would give us further information at hotel. No one from BA was seen or heard from at hotel. Multiple calls by passengers to BA resulted in little to no assistance. Friday, May 19 passengers are shuttled back to airport where chaos has broken out because there is little assistance once again at BA counter. After 1 hour in line I obtain a boarding pass on a flight to London with connection to Los Angeles, however the BA desk attendant informs me that the flight out of Rome is late due to technical issues and I will once again miss the flight out to LA. I'm appalled at the lack of educated, experienced BA assistance! BA abandoned us at Rome airport. In addition there web site is of no help. Flight information was outdated and impossible to this day to reach customer contact.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to London
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"little to no service"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to London. Very different from the flight over. It's all about the crew and how they perform or how serious they take their job. One crew was rude and when asked could I have a glass of water told me that it would take a long time and he disapeared down the back to chat to his fellow workers. The food was slapped up and we were not offered another drink. All male crew and due to it being an night flight the crew spent the time down the back and ignored when called. It's a shame when you see BA trying to turn around and survive and then you have lazy rude staff giving little to no service to the customers or the airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to London
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"The crew were amazing"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Great flight from London to Kuala Lumpur on the Boeing 787-9. The crew were amazing and friendly and couldn't have done enough. The food served was of good standard and we were asked a few times if we would like more drinks. One crew member who said she had been with BA for many years was professional and excellent at her job.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"overall truly awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Miami. I was looking forward to this flight - it was Saturday so no work the following day and 62K on the upper deck used to be such a treat! I have read many reviews recently of BA falling behind the competition so my expectations were low - but even these were beaten by this overall truly awful experience. Firstly I have to say the crew on the flight were super in every way. Nothing was too much trouble and they seemed to genuinely be enjoying their work. I should have given my 'BA Golden Ticket' to one of them but forgot. However no matter how good the crew, it cannot make up for everything else being totally awful and shabby. The seat was filthy with what looked like ketchup from the previous flight and crumbs everywhere. Not a nice start. The aircraft was very very old - a lot of the interior was patched up with white gum. The IFE didn't work properly. Amenity kit was a bag and the headsets poor quality. The toilets (compared to AA) were small unpleasant. Seat is not up to most Business class standard. Food was awful and the 'club kitchen' almost non-existent. These days I would choose AA (or Delta, United, Virgin) any day over BA. It was a shame the flight manager seemed to spend his time going round the cabin apologising and giving some avios to try and make people less annoyed by the whole experience.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Miami
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"attendents cordial and professional"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | Moscow Domodedovo to Houston via London Heathrow roundtrip in economy class. All the flights were full in economy, with the exception of BA195 which was 2/3 to 3/4 full. British Airways flight attendents are cordial and professional. There was a wide range of beverages served, including complementary alcoholic beverages. The standard in-flight meals were not bad, but not great either. The 10-hour flight between London and Houston featured a dinner early in the flight and a snack at the end of the flight. The 4-hour flight between London and Moscow featured a snack at the beginning of the flight. I was surprised by the leg room in economy. I am not tall, but at 180 cm tall (71 inches), I was able to extend my legs fully under the seat in front of me. This made these long flights bearable. Both flights offerred headphones, blankets, and pillows. The cabin temperature on the flights to Houston was cold - I had to put on a light jacket. The cabin temperature on the flight from London to Moscow was too warm - I was sweating. When people are using the flight safety card to fan themselves, you know it is warm. The in-flight entertainment screen on the B777 in economy is of poor quality and needs to be upgraded. I could feel the heat being emitted from the screen as well. Make sure that your luggage is below the weight limit -- heavy bags are an additional 100 USD per bag.
AircraftA321 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Houston via London
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"BA have hit rock bottom"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Brussels. Disappointed by the non existent service onboard this flight. Regardless of how short the flight may well be you expect some sort of refreshments/snacks to be provided given this isn't a low carrier airline. However BA have hit rock bottom in that they charge premium rates but give low carrier service - certainly on short haul flights.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Brussels
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it's basically a con"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Las Vegas. Paid £116 for extra legroom 51C, as they show the wrong type of plane on 'my booking' and there is no difference to any other seat you would get for free. No refund given as it states it may be different aircraft used. Problem is this route has always used the same type of aircraft so it's basically a con.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Las Vegas
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a positive experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to San Francisco return and pleasantly surprised with the service. All flights were on time and arrived ahead of schedule. Online check-in and baggage drop straightforward and without hassle. Food was excellent - particularly on outbound flight. My partner is vegetarian, and we both opted for vegetarian Hindu meal which proved to be delicious. Aircraft in good order and clean. Cabin crew - particularly on way out - were professional, attentive and friendly. Inflight entertainment choice was generally good, offering something for everyone. The only criticism is that seat-choice function is too expensive - even for economy class. British Airways are being very greedy in this respect, and their charges are way higher than other carriers. This was generally a positive experience.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to San Francisco
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"total lack of customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | London to Reykjavik. I can't really review this flight as British Airways decided to cancel my return flight and then my outbound and suggested I reduce a 4 day family holiday to 2 days. Ruined Xmas. I can review the total lack of customer service, the contempt for customers - all in all, BA are not just the worst airline, but the worst company I have dealt with. My rating has to be the lowest given the total service failures of BA.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Reykjavik
Date FlownDecember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages