Top 100 Airlines  

British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1412 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"bumped off this BA flight"

(New Zealand)

London Gatwick to Amsterdam. I was bumped off this British Airways flight as a result of a change of plane, to an A319 I gather. The process was not well handled, and it appeared that some staff and/or standby passengers were given priority, although others also missed out I understand. The main issues were lack of clarity at the airport as to what the issue was, last-minute confirmation of offloading (which left us short of time to take another flight), a poor process for transferring airports (I had to bus from Gatwick to Heathrow), and poor follow-up when I queried matters afterwards. BA refused to state whether staff or standby passengers had been prioritised, repeatedly citing privacy. I checked with a friend who's a UK privacy legal specialist, and this applies to individuals but not to categories such as staff or standby, so it appears to be a refusal by BA to respond. I also raised the transfer with BA, as this involved further queueing to turn a voucher into a ticket, which meant I missed a transfer bus. Better to issue a ticket, or a voucher that can be used on any service that day, with BA to arrange it so with the bus company. On the positive side, I was compensated per the rules, and did make a BA flight later that day, which was OK. Nonetheless, this could have been handled much more smoothly, and I'm afraid British Airways customer service on the ground and in follow-up let them down.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to AMS
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"reminded me of the old BA"

(Canada)

Flew Toronto to London in British Airways club world on avios and companion voucher. Prompt check in at Pearson with friendly staff. The club lounge is well run with dinner served as this is a sleeper service. A good choice of food though though the wine list remains unimaginative. The lounge is too small when busy. Additional toilets are needed - too few with queues before the flight was called. Friendly staff on the flight with lights out after takeoff and a tray service offered. The dessert and cheese and drinks was perfect before an ok sleep. The flight is too short for a decent sleep and the club world layout is now dated and in a real need of a re-think. Once cutting edge, it's not fun being stepped over by a stranger and there is a real lack of privacy. Breakfast was ok with the hot muffin being a confused offereing. Returning from Heathrow 10 days later started with a very slow check in process - unusual for T5 with agents blaming cancellations from the previous day spilling over. Went straight to the club lounge on the B gates which is a hidden gem - quiet, well stocked, few children and in good condition. Pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to first on arrival in the lounge . A superb flight with BA first at it's best. Decent vintage champagne before take off, friendly, engaging and professional crew made the experience really first class - impressive given the cabin was full. Great Rose Champagne, an excellent wine list - especially the reds, and well cooked food. A movie, afternoon tea and we arrived head of time into Toronto. The bags almost beat us off. BA can be variable in service - especially in Club World and some of the cost cutting in recent years - though these return flights reminded me of the old BA and how good it can be at its best.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteYYZ to LHR
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"BA has gone downhill"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Accra to London Heathrow. Sadly British Airways has gone downhill. To start, the plane was dirty, excessive hand luggage allowances meant delays to boarding, the food was awful, leg room was non existent (I'm only 5'6), subzero temperatures during the flight and an inadequate ratio of toilets to passengers left me very uncomfortable. The positives were that staff were friendly and courteous under difficult circumstances and they didn't bother forcing us to endure the safety walk through. For a 6 hour direct flight at just over £500 this was the cheapest I could find. Provided you eat before you fly, restrict your water intake, wrap up very warm and take your own tablet/ereader then it will be fine. But it's more a no frills airline/service and I'd rather fly with easyjet any day.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteACC to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"delay outbound and back"

(United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Miami return with British Airways. Delay outbound and back with poor communication of both. Told of a delay which was extended once we reached the gate and on the return journey and then again once on the plane. Service on the return journey seemed like stewards were "going through the motions" rather than worried about the level of service. I does seem that the British Airways flights to Miami and back to London Heathrow have very poor punctuality when alternative airlines don't have the same issue. Inflight entertainment on inbound flight not fully working after a reeboot which was done because some passengers had no service for the first hour.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to MIA
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"business class is a joke"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Oslo to London Heathrow. Check in was chaotic, and ground staff had no idea about check in, no information about lounge access, transfer etc. I'm emerald frequent flyer with British Airways. Seat is usual economy seat, it's a joke they sell this product as business class. No entertainment and a disgraceful meal on business class. Service was very fast. Overall experience in this flight was no any better than economy class - it's a complete joke they call this product "business class" - you just waste your money.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOSL to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"better than I've had for a while"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Ibiza return. booked pretty late and just a one night business trip. Checked in on line and used bag drop at LGW North Terminal which was quick, as was the fast track security. Not a normal user of Gatwick, using LHR every month but found LGW had improved a lot since my last visit 5 years ago. The lounge used by BA is the No1 Travellers lounge which was ok - pretty full and service a little slow. Boarding onto an ex BMI A319 via a bus but pretty well organised, seat 3F the old Club Europe layout. Food and crew okay on this 2hr 35min flight arrived just about on time. Return no online check in available so checked in at the airport by a rude Iberia agent, no lounge either at Ibiza but not a problem. Late departure of around 1 hr boarded by bus onto A320 with new seat layout, seat 1A which was nice. Crew friendly, service and food on this flight were better than I've had on BA for a while - arrived about 30 min late on to a bridge, bags off very quick so no complaints. I would use LGW again, BA I use most months.
AircraftA319 / A320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLGW to IBZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a big improvement"

(United Kingdom)

A big improvement over the same leg 15 months earlier. British Airways in Economy from Heathrow to Miami outbound, business class Chicago to Heathrow inbound. Lounge service in Chicago excellent for me (Mum) and acceptable for my daughter - this time there was at least some simple-ish food which was child-friendly. Staff were friendly to the children on both legs, took time to fill out her flyer logbook.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteORD to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"good job in economy"

(United Kingdom)

British Airways generally does a good job in economy, with reasonably friendly and efficient service. The onboard food and drinks are a shadow of what they used to be but fares in real terms are much lower these days and this is an acceptable trade-off. This particular flight from Dubai to London was packed and I certainly wasn't comfortable sitting next to a large guy, squished into one side of my seat. But the cabin crew were fine and one attendant was charming. It's only when I pay to fly business or first that I get irritated. I'd put British Airways ahead of many rivals in economy and behind in premium classes, where the food is particularly disappointing.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"very pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to San Francisco. I've reviewed British Airways poorly in the past but was very pleasantly surprised with this flight. I have only compliments. Even with a full plane, check in was fine and well organised boarding, plus the flight was on time. The food was very good (really!), except the tateless cardboard wrap just before landing, and there were multiple drinks runs thoughout the flight. An adequate if small movie selection, service with a smile. Best economy class flight I've had for years. It's great to see that BA can still do it very well and provide such an experience. I'm even looking forward now to my return flight (and I've not been able to say that for a long time).
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to SFO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight was excellent"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Chicago to Amsterdam via London Club World / Club Europe. After a very nice first flight from Tampa to Chicago with my wife and our 15 months old baby, transit in Chicago was really smooth. Our stroller was delivered at the gate and with a stroller there was a special bus to transfer us to the other terminal. We did not have to pass security a second time, so we arrived very soon in a crowded business lounge. As a gold member I checked the First lounge, but ground staff did not welcome me because it was crowded too. We found a quiet "dinner part" of the business lounge, were seated by a very nice ground staff who offered me a glass of champagne to relax. Food was decent. Boarding the upper deck of this Boeing 747-400 was a pleasure with a CSD welcoming us by name. Flight was excellent: food amazing, enough cold drinks were offered, cabin crew looking after us and our baby. Our baby was playing all the time, singing and talking his own words. After this perfect flight, transit in LHR terminal was again relaxing. Stroller was again waiting for us at the gate, very nice. After security we went to the first lounge which was really was crowded, but we found a quiet place to sit. Time for a shower, breakfast and relax. Last flight to Amsterdam was in a full cabin, nice and frriendly cabin crew. The only small remark we can find, is that this last flight there was no stroller waiting for us, but it arrived with our luggage.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 / A320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteORD to AMS via LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes