British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2469 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"crew professional and friendly"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Madrid to London. The main plus about this flight were the cabin crew who were professional and friendly, and hard working. The I saw no food in the Iberia lounge at Madrid, no working washrooms, and discourteous Iberia staff. The food on board was ludicrous, in business I got a panini - the staff looked embarrassed to serve it. Waste of money.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMadrid to London
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this change is not acceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Moscow. British Airways has downgraded their plane to a smaller plane and hence seat in Business class is no longer Club World (flat bed) seat but Club Europe seat (not flat bed). It is a night flight and this change is important and not acceptable. I cannot fly during the day as I have meetings scheduled. BA has not offered a like for like change, they offered seats on an early flight next morning which is not suitable as this flight is during the day. Moreover the fare that we paid for the night flight was more expensive that those that BA is offering during the day. They also not allowing me to cancel the flight and rebook another or change the outbound flight to another date, like Friday when the seat (whether club world or club Europe) is less important as Saturday not a working day and one can get a rest. In Summary it is unacceptable that BA is charging more for the flights with Club World Seat and then swapping it to smaller plane without offering a like for like change. This was never the case before and BA was fair previously.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Moscow
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"recent BA experience was positive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Miami to London. My most recent BA experience was positive. I fly BA for work and leisure up to 4 long haul flights a year. On my most recent flight from Miami to LHR I found the whole economy experience well above average, despite the dated aircraft the 747-400. Which to me is the legend of the skies! The cabin crew in economy were smart, attentive and seemed to go beyond the call of duty giving an elite service, from the MIA ground handling American crew. Food and beverage service was good, seating in my aisle seat 29E generous for my long legs. I recently flew BA business/ Club world to the Far East for work and despite the unlimited catering and frills the cabin staff lacked the attention and friendliness of this flight. Well done BA you excel against the North American carriers on routes to the North American gateways who give just a basic service.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to London
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"cheaper than competitors"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Barbados in December 2017. On a 9 hour flight they provided one meal, and afternoon tea which consisted of a mars bar and a cup of tea. The plane was aging and yellowing round the edges and the staff were surly. The only redeeming thing was that it was cheaper than competitors (but still not cheap).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Barbados
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"among the most greedy airlines"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow to Dallas. The aircraft was old no sign of refurbishment for the last 10 years or so. Seat pocket was full of rubbish from previous flight. The personal screen is tiny and no longer responsive as a touch screen, so I had to use the remote control which is fixed on the armrest and non retractable. The choice of IFE is very limited. The food on both outbound and inbound flights were mediocre and with small portion. I saw some passengers request for more food, and I was glad to see the crew giving out nicely without attitude. I must admit that the crew on the outbound were exceptional, whilst the inbound were acceptable but still better than most crew on flights to/from JFK. I had an onward connecting flight with American Airlines, and I can clearly see the changes between the 2 airlines over the past few years. Whilst AA is improving, BA is becoming a national embarrassment. BA remains among the most greedy airlines when it comes to seat selection. The seat selection price tag just makes the total cost higher than other decent airlines. It no longer deserves a 4-star rating, but edging between 2 or 3 star. It's not even worth redeeming Avios points anymore. These days I'd rather spend my Avios on partner airlines.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Dallas
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the seat pitch is ridiculous"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Decided to go in Club Europe for this relatively short flight (90 minutes) from London to Copenhagen. Dropped my bags and went through security, which did not take too long. I then went to the Galleries Lounge (south), and although I have not been there for a year or two, it looked the same. Same food, same drinks, same slow wifi. My gate was just around the corner, and I got on the plane. I like the fresh look inside, but the seat pitch is ridiculous in business. The food service was disappointing. The service in the cabin was OK, but not very warm. I have travelled a lot with BA over the past 20 years, after yesterda I have lost my faith in British Airways.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Copenhagen
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"it’s become a last resort"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | BA used to be a byword for quality and service. You simply can’t say that anymore and the only thing that seems to have stayed the same is the ticket price. I paid 600 dollars for my ticket from Istanbul to London with BA. For that price there is no airbridge (you will wait on a crowded bus) and no entertainment (note: this is a 4 hour flight. Also, screen devices larger than a phone are banned from this flight, so no alternative of watching movies on your iPad). Oh and you’ll have to buy any food and drinks on board. I flew BA on this route because no other flight time worked for me, however Turkish Airlines is by far the better option, with airbridge, free hot meals and a modern entertainment system. Pegasus and AtlasGlobal offer a similar service to BA but at far lower prices. It seems to be the same all over. BA used to be a first choice but at this price, for this service, it’s become a last resort.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to London
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Unprofessional staff, uncomfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Premium economy worse than most airlines economy. Unprofessional staff, uncomfortable seats, foot rest but no leg rest, very little seat recline and difficult to operate. Rubbish food, very poor landing and everything went flying. Additionally, we were a family of 4 travelling together but split up and 3 of us were seated between two of the four toilets that serve 160 people. These “premium economy” seats are directly outside the toilet doors which meant an entire night kept awake with the noise and light from the loos. Other airlines have toilet lights that dim until you lock the door to avoid flooding the cabin with light - not BA. Even the staff kept leaving the toilet doors open after they went in to blow their nose or check their teeth or makeup. This was the second leg on a flight from Sydney (via LAX) so we were beyond tired. When an attendant picked up my son’s water at the end of the very long and sleepless flight, he didn’t hear my son say “thanks” (which he had) so the attendant said pointedly “You’re welcome - rude!” and laughed about it with the passenger next to him. In my experience, better (and cheaper) premium economy can be found with Norwegian, Air New Zealand and American Airlines - all of whom also allow seat selection without additional charge. I’ve never had cause for complaint with any of those airlines but with British Airways, I’ve never had a good experience.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLos Angeles to London
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"started with a 2.5 hours delay"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Belfast to London with British Airways. Stressful day started with a 2.5 hours delay for the morning flight at 7am. As an apology, they sold us the food and the drinks, yes they asked for money, even though we were stuck on the airplane for over three hours! Seriously, if you can find an alternative to travel within the UK do it. Not very countable if you have a connected flight!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBelfast to London
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Boarding was chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Naples to Gatwick. The online check-in would not work for me in accordance with the One World Frequent flyer policy. I am a Qantas frequent flyer and so I ought to have had the chance to check-in a few days ahead of the flight. The BA website would not let me do so. The bag-drop in Naples was slow and seemed rather random. Boarding was tedious. I should have had priority as a frequent flyer and had to show my frequent flyer card. In the mean time other passengers were allowed through the boarding gate which proved to be misleading as a transfer bus was needed. Boarding was chaotic and passengers had far too much hand luggage. The cabin crew were quite indifferent. I greeted 2 cabin crew when I boarded and neither of them smiled back. I bought a Marks and Spencer drink at an inflated price. One of the crew moved my small bag in the overhead locker and at the end of the flight when I went to collect my bag it has been ripped by the luggage of another passenger. Disembarkation was slow and badly managed. Nobody from the crew fare welled the passengers. BA has become a low-cost airline in its service and given the cost of the ticket and the charge for a bag I will not be using them again in a hurry.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to Gatwick
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages