British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2591 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"choose another airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | London to Las Vegas I experienced an ancient entertainment unit that was inoperable and could not be reset. The tray table did not stow properly so the armrest remained at a 45 degree angle with the metal frame exposed. The seat cushion was so badly sunken it was as if totally unpadded. One air vent for the 3-seat row and no in-seat power. Luggage was mislaid for 33 hours, even with priority tag. After writing to British Airways regarding disappointing flight, BA customer service contacted me and offered an apology and a $63USD voucher toward future BA travel to make up for their shoddy service. If you have a choice, choose another airline!
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Las Vegas
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"asked if I would like any food"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Zagreb to London and during the check-in (24 hours before, I checked in via app) I was offered no choice of seating. During the flight, I was asked by stewardess if I would like any food - I find that approach not pleasant at all. I was not personally invited to use the Lounge. I find that lacking for a business class fare.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZagreb to London
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"totally disappointed"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I booked a round trip from Milan to California for my honeymoon. First flight Milan to San Francisco via London, while returning flight was from Los Angeles to Milan always via London. Both flights faced 1 hour delay and in both flights our luggage were not delivered at destination. When you check in the bags, business class is mixed with other One World members so it is not exclusive at all. Only First has some real advantages. We found business lane crowded for the category. Worst business class experience and totally disappointed.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Milan via London
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"improved on board experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to LHR and LGW to Toronto return in WT+. Finally, BA has moved back into it’s own lounge which has been refurbished with new furniture. However, Premium Plaza still staff and operate the lounge. Food was ok – but the drinks choices remain poor. Slick boarding and a full PE cabin on a 777. Water and juice offered on boarding but still no prosecco offered on flights TO London. (apparently 3 are loaded in London for the O/W leg but none for the return.) Friendly mixed fleet crew who offered good service. Fast bar service followed by Veggie pasta or chicken stir fry offered which was foul. salty, dry and overcooked with reheated rice and mushy vegetables. The salad is a nonsense – a few leaves and a tomato slice. Pudding was sickly chocolate sponge thing which was gross. Got a couple of hours sleep. However the IFE froze after take off due to the PA system remaining locked on and preventing the IFE from working. A reset halfway through the flight worked, though two loud renditions of Delibe’s “flower duet” burst out throughout the aircraft twice waking everyone up. The standard T&Cs and juice and the pretzel roll with cream cheese offered before landing. I continue to be amazed this breakfast is offered as so few people accept or eat it given how awful it is. (BA should be embarrassed that it’s even offered) After leaving Toronto 5 mins late, we arrived 5 early at the gate at Heathrow which was welcome along with fast bags. For the return leg, I took the seasonal LGW to Toronto flight which was a couple of hundred bucks cheaper. An upgrade to Club World was a pleasant surprise. Fast check in at LGW but slow slow slow security – even in the fast track lane. Gatwick Airport sell £5 premium experience and so the lane was full of folk paying 5 quid mixed in with BA Fast track customers. Excellent lounge once again with a good choice of food, and champagne available as a help yourself. Efficient boarding and a great reception from the Gatwick cabin crew. A fast offering of champagne (with a top up) before take off though the old safety video was still showing. The Gatwick crew remind me of long haul crew from Heathrow – more experienced, faster and a more relaxed service than mixed fleet crew at who follow service to the letter which results in a slow and impersonal service. Fast bar service once airborne, followed by the old Biz food service. Overcooked steak (again) alongside jerk chicken and a veggie option. Plenty of wine and drinks along with T&C. After a pleasant 3 hour nap, I woke to afternoon tea which was the standard old offering minus the clotted cream – off the menu due to supply issues. At the gate early and fast bags too. This club flight was weird in that its hybrid in nature and in transition to the new biz service. So new toiletries and bedding but the old menu. I hope Gatwick catches up so BA don’t (unintentionally) promote two levels of Biz service with LGW being the poor relative. On the O/W leg, premium economy was in desperate need of a revamp. The food is truly awful – both dinner and breakfast, and it really wouldn’t take much to add better food, bedding and an enhanced drink service as BA really lag behind Air Canada on this route with premium economy. I do not regard the experience as a premium economy service other than the seat. All that said, I felt that BA is regaining it’s mojo with great crew, improved on board experience (cuts reinstated) and on time performance. Long may this improvement last!
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to London
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Really very good FA's"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to London Heathrow on the lower deck of the A380 - a very quiet smooth flight. Did not want to pay the usual BA extortionate seat pre-reservation fees but still got seats together. After the real scrum at the departure gate - no apparent order, struggle to get through to Priority Lane, announcements completely inaudible etc we boarded to the reasonably comfortable, if narrow, seats. Of course the usual BA Club Class "scramble over the legs" to get to the aisle and 8 abreast - not really a premium product in today's competitive Business Class World. Welcomed with glass of champagne by attentive FA. OK meal - beef - with decent wines to accompany. Much more up to date touch screen AVOD system but still a dreadful choice of "blockbuster" films. Very extensive choice for breakfast - continental and cooked if you wanted it. Really very good FA's - made you feel welcome. Landed on time but baggage, for some reason, took about 3/4 hour to get to the belt. As usual I have mixed feelings about BA - if we are lucky enough to fly Club/Business Class it is comfortable but you do feel a bit let down by the appalling layout and huge charge to pre-reserve seat. If Virgin Atlantic fly the same route I will always choose their Upper Class as everyone has aisle access and you don't have to pay to pre-reserve your seat.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSan Francisco to London Heathrow
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"this time they were superb"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Dublin. This was an early morning departure from Heathrow on a full flight. BA managed everything in a very professional manner. The bag-drop was efficient and the boarding process was conducted according to the rules. The cabin crew were immaculate in appearance and conducted the safety demonstration along with a video. During this short and very busy flight the crew were able to sell drinks and snacks and left a superb impression. I had a not so good experience with this airline earlier in the year and am glad to see that this time they were superb.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the seats feel worn out"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Paris. I wish that they would update their aircraft or perhaps even do a little refurbishing. Especially when the seats feel worn out and the quality for what you are paying for does not feel worth it. That being said, this is better than any low-cost carrier.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Paris
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"outstanding customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Delivering outstanding customer service onboard. British Airways may not have the cleanest, newest or comfortable aircraft but their customer service has always been a delight since I have flown with them.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to London
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

" a very acceptable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This was a night flight New York JFK to London, so it was difficult to assess the service onboard, although what I experienced was certainly not bad. I think this was a very quiet flight, judging from the number of people around the gate, and there were only another 4-5 pax in First. But it's quite hard to tell when wrapped in the cocoons of the Concorde Room and First cabin. The former felt very exclusive but, as commented elsewhere, to the point of being fussy. It's irritating that they don't have any showers in the Concorde Room; I wasn't amused to check in at the Galleries (business) Lounge, be brusquely sent on to Concorde, only to have to return to Galeries upon learning that that were no showers in the former (it was 7pm, early August in NYC - of course I needed a shower!). Departures from NY were running around 3 hours late that evening due to weather, and we were warned about a 60 min taxi to the runway. But we were very well looked after at that point; the cabin wasn't secured until just before takeoff, and the boredom of the taxi was eased by multiple - and very welcome - top-ups of champagne, seved by various members of the crew. Likewise, all the perks of first class were there; I was addressed by name, the crew introduced themselves individually, dinner and drinks orders were taken, etc. All very courteous and professional. After such a long delay, I decided to have some more dinner as I was quite peckish; this came with some excellent wine, and was served promptly, so there was still plenty of time for sleep. But the soup was cold, and the main wouldn't have been out of place in business class. Moreover, it would have been nice if someone had mentioned that the BA arrivals lounge at LHR would be closing by the time our delayed flight reached its destination; had I known this, I would have had breakfast and a freshen up on the plane. A very annoying oversight that led to quite a lot of inconvenience (picture a spoilt guy trying to insert contact lenses in T5 arrivals toilets...perhaps you saw me?). The cabin layout and bed: well, it's easy to find details of this elsewhere online. But it's certainly nothing special for First Class. Overall, a very acceptable flight, but I felt that the overly-fussy service sometimes got in the way of the practicalities of a short overnight Atlantic crossing (where can I have a shower in the morning? Where will I be having breakfast?). I've had business class flights from other carriers that have absolutely nailed these aspects.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteNew York JFK to London
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"pathetic compensation"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Amman to London. Appalling service both on the flight and subsequent customer service. We are strict vegans so pre-booked vegan meals for our flight. Meals were delivered as usual, and had the vegan slip on them, but as I was about to start eating I noticed that I had been given butter - this made me doubt the authenticity of the meal. When I called the staff over she had no idea what a vegan was, informing me that there was no meat in it. I had to explain to her what a vegan was (i.e; no dairy or eggs). It turns out that the so called 'vegan meal' had milk and egg in it. Needless to say we did not eat our meals and they had no vegan meals. Shortly after they came around with the drinks/trolley, so we asked for a coffee with Soya Milk - the staff to whom I had had to explain what a vegan was said "oh I don't think we have that, but we have semi skimmed milk". I had to re-explain to her that a vegan does not have milk she said she would go and ask. When she returned she said 'We don't provide that sort of thing." That was strange, because 2 weeks ago on the outbound journey you did. So we had no meals, no hot drinks, and our video screen did not work. The Customer Service that followed from was more appalling, they could not care less, it took ages to get replies and when i did I was just palmed off. After several months of having to write emails I was informed that I had to submit everything by letter as they needed it on paper, which was just another way of getting rid of us. So we did this, after several more weeks they offered us the most pathetic compensation - basically the value of the meals that we could not eat - in vouchers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmman to London
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages