Top 100 Airports  

British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1560 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no longer competes on service"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Berlin TXL to London Heathrow with British Airways. After purchasing ticket I could not preselect seat assignment despite having one world sapphire status. I called BA 3 times. The first 2 times the agents stated they would select my seat for me and later the assignments dropped out of the system. After the third call the agent emailed me and explained that due to my fare category and despite my status no preselection could be made. At check-in I spent more than 45 minutes online trying to pay the junk-fee for a single piece of luggage. Again I had to call BA 3 times to get a bag checked onto my flight. 2 of the calls were to undo the mistake that the first agent made by applying the junk-fee for luggage to my return flight instead of the outbound. The second call was to get a refund and rebook the junk-fee. The third call was to complain about spending 2-hours checking in and correcting BA's mistakes. I spoke with a supervisor and offered to comp my luggage but no one ever bothered to credit the junk fee. The BA lounge at TXL is small and does not have a toilet. There were no warm food items on offer. I did find the service to be good. Boarding commenced at the farthest point at Berlin Tegel from the BA Lounge. Flight was okay with minimal amenities. BA not only does not compete on price but amazingly, no longer competes on service.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"decline in the BA level of service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Warsaw to London Heathrow. I fly the route regularly and I have noticed decline in the BA level of service. Boarding in Warsaw is chaotic. No priority boarding rules enforced (basically boarding started for everone at the same time, no matter you fly premium or are a frequent flyer). New BA short haul seats are not really comfortable (fine for 1h flight but get uncomfortable for any longer). Same concerns meals provided. Crisps and drinks with no possibility of buying further food is not enough for 2.5h flight. I would rather cut on free alcohol and have a decent sandwich or a possiblity to buy further food if necessary. On the plus side, cabin service very well trained and attentive. The WAW to LON route is served with other carriers (including budget ones) and I will have hard time justify paying a premium to fly BA on this route in the future.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWAW to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"aging BA B747 aircraft"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to New York via Heathrow. We were bumped off a BA connecting flight from Manchester to London Heathrow and put on an American Airlines B777-300 via LHR. Whilst I would agree that the staff on AA see passengers as a necessary evil (particularly as we were the lowest of the low in standard economy), the amount of room in their seat is by far a better option than those on the aging BA B747 aircraft. The food / drink served on the AA flight was also better than that served with BA. At least the coffee on AA came in coffee shop style cups, not the feeble paper cups that BA provided, with its 2 sips and it's gone drinks. I'm going to be booking a trip for our anniversary early next year to Boston, which I think I'll book with Icelandair, as this would avoid the 20 mins taxiing to the runway and 20 minutes circling time that.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to JFK via LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"experience has really declined"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The British Airways experience has really declined over the past 5 years. I often fly business class and at least premium economy. The Boeing 787 is awesome. Clean, spacious and excellent technology/media options. However the staff and service has declined. Rarely do the staff seem interested in their jobs - they are on automatic pilot. We travel with 3 children and the stroller has become a real problem. Firstly they gave a 5 kg maximum on weight. Try getting a 5 kg stroller that works in Canadian weather! So we bought a new Light stroller - however we have noticed extreme wait times to have the stroller brought to the gate after a flight ends. Try travelling with a 2-3 year old through the chaos of terminal 5 in the summer months without a stroller. With a tight 1 hour lay over we waited over 25 minutes for our stroller- the only reason we got it (ground staff forgot) was because the older and very caring pilot went down the stairs himself to get it! The younger staff could care less and left us and 2 other families alone waiting. They could learn a lot from the pilot. Also every single flight on our journey ended up leaving 1-4 hours late (a mixed blessing we made our layover because of it!). The good in the lounge and on board has suffered as well. Anyway, they have to improve. I fly with 5 family members every year to Italy - this time we are using KLM or Lufthansa - and another bonus us we can avoid Heathrow terminal 5.
Aircraft787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLHR to YYC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"BA has declined significantly"

(New Zealand)

Flew Malta to London. First the plus points. Generous luggage and hand luggage allowance, even more so by being One World Sapphire member, which also allowed pre-booking of seats (including emergency exit row) at no charge and lounge access. So far so good, but new style leather seats (whilst smart looking) are hard after 3 hours flying without the ability to recline. No entertainment apart from BA in flight Magazine and inflight shopping magazine. What really lets British Airways down, though is the food and beverage service. One (albeit fresh) sandwich and a drink. No tea or coffee service and the crew fast became invisible after the meal had been served. The flight was crowded too, meaning that overhead luggage space was at a premium as the negative effects of a generous hand luggage policy came into play. On the basis of this trip, BA has declined significantly since I last flew with them, offering a very basic level of service.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMLA to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"First Class is a total wate of money"

(United Kingdom)

Philadelphia to London Heathrow with British Airways in First Class. Same issue as my last post. I buy a First ticket to relax after a hard week's work and BA has upgraded a family with small children, who eat takeout food in the lounge and disturb the cabin on the plane. This situation happens repeatedly, so travelling paid First Class on BA is a total wate of money. I can do the same trip on other airlines that value their premium passengers.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePHL to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"every time I complain about the breakfast"

(United Kingdom)

Upgraded on the outbound flight from London to Boston from Premium Economy to Business. Very pleasant experience but surprised to discover that my partner's entertainment system would not work. Mentioned the problem to a flight attendant who apologised when we landed and indicated that he had forgotten about it! Return flight was in Premium Economy which was fine except for breakfast. Every time I travel with BA I complain about the breakfast - sadly to no avail. No more sweet cereal bars please.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to BOS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer services representatives were unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

We booked the return from our honeymoon with British Airways from Naples to London Gatwick, and due to the occassion, we upgraded to club class and also paid extra to ensure that we were seated together. Two weeks before travel they decided to split our seats (without informing us). I found out when checking the Advanced passenger information that needed to be provided online. I obviously complained, explaining exactly what the trip was and how we had specifically paid extra to ensure we were seated together as recommended on their website. Their response was simply that they could not guarantee seats due to operational or safety reasons - but wouldn't tell me why they had chosen to change our seats two weeks before (only that it was an operational reason). The customer services representatives were unhelpful, refusing to look at moving any individual travellers, staff at the airport were rude and unhelpful. My wife is a nervous flyer as well, so the stress and anxiety actually really ruined our honeymoon with my wife being reduced to tears the day before we travelled. BA couldn't care less and wouldn't even give me an address to write to to complain. Awful customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNAP to LGW
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"quick and hassle free"

(United Kingdom)

Heathrow - Paris CDG return with British Airways. Bag drop at Terminal 5 quick and hassle free, checked in online so had my boarding pass on my phone. Security was busy at 13.00 but had an hour so no panic. First time I have used BA in 5 years without having access to the lounge through my frequent flyer status but the hour in the terminal pleasant. Boarding quick and seat 7A was spacious departed 20 minutes late with a 10 minute late arrival. Crew nice with a drink and snack provided on a 55 min flight. Return I had no checked baggage so straight through Terminal 2A which is a nice experience with shops and food outlets. Boarding at 17.45 for an 18.00 departure on to a half full A319, departed a little late which meant a late arrival in to T5. A nice flight, nice crew a drink and snack provided. Seat 24A with enough room. Pleasant trip for a short flight, I don't feel it's worth the extra cost for a business class seat, economy was fine. Will use again.
AircraftA321/A319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to CDG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"choice between a mini Kitkat or a mini mars bar"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Abuja to London Heathrow. This flight took off and landed on time. The jack on the new style headphones didn't fit in the socket, so if I wanted to listen to anything I had to sit and hold the jack in place. There was no toothbrush or toothpaste included in the little package left on seats for customers. The meal served before landing was a choice between a mini Kitkat or a mini mars bar. A far cry from the scone, jam and cream of a couple of years ago - and even worse than the bruschetta, mini breadsticks, tomato salsa, packet of mixed nuts and 2 celebrations of a couple of months ago. Don't even get me started on the disgusting muffin that has replaced the salmon and egg roll as the meal before landing on the outward journey! The toilets were not checked as often as they should have been and I had to inform the cabin crew that there was no toilet roll left. Very disappointing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteABV to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no