top100_2016  

British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1530 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"lounge at T5 is large and busy"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Athens to Kuala Lumpur via London Heathrow. The lounge in Athens was basic, and the furniture was very worn and needed replacement. The first flight to LHR was on an A320, basic economy seats for a 3.5 hour flight not great, but the meal was excellent and crew efficient. BA lounge at T5 is large and busy, with plenty of quiet areas to relax. Amenities there are fine and in line with most good airport lounges. Boeing 787-9 to KUL so everything new, excellent food and service. Unlike some reviews, I am a fan of the business seat layout and go for the window seats which provide excellent privacy - once the divider is raised!.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteATH to KUL via LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"plane was spotless"

(United Kingdom)

The flight from London City to Florence showed British Airways (well, Cityflyer in this case) at its best. The plane was spotless and reasonably new, the service was friendly and efficient and the food and wine were better than you would expect. It's worth noting that BA has no lounge at Florence and the business-class seating on board is identical with economy. But if you fly economy on a good day, this is pretty much as good as it gets for a short flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLCY to FLR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"aircraft hadn't been cleaned"

(Germany)

I flew from Frankfurt to London Heathrow on BA903. First everything went fine. Check In was quite fast and not very crowded and we didn't have such a long walk to the Gate. When we arrived at the Gate (D6) they told us our flight was delayed. Instead of 10.55 am, now 11.30 am departure time. The Aircraft arrived at 10.40 and boarding was at 10.55 (the planned departure time). Because the aircraft was parked at an apron position we had to go there by bus. The flight was OK but the aircraft hadn't been cleaned. They served crackers or crisps so there were crumbs everywhere around the cabin (from the last passengers). The seats were normal short haul seats and ok for a 1.30 hours flight. They told us the delay was because the baggage system in Heathrow collapsed. All in all the flight was OK.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cannot fault the airline"

(United Kingdom)

Flew from Leeds Bradford to London Heathrow. So much improved from my last flight with British Airways which was long haul. Cannot fault the airline in any way. Cabin Crew extremely friendly and chatty, when time permitted, and very helpful. Aircraft spotlessly clean, and very generous leg room. Of the three different airlines flown in this last week, BA wins hands down.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLBA to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"service was variable"

(United Kingdom)

Bengaluru to London Heathrow with British Airways in World Traveller. Started badly - at check-in and gate boarding World Traveller passnegers are made to feel second-class citizens, but this seemed worse at Bengaluru (choatic) than Heathrow. The plane itself was packed to capacity, probably because this is the only direct carrier on this route. World Traveller is a 3x3x3 configuration. I had chosen an aisle seat in the centre (seat 38D) at the rear to minimise risk of disturbance from other passengers. Leg room is actually pretty good for economy and the new style of seat has plenty of space underneath. Seat width is OK. The adjustable headrest is better than that in Premium Economy (World Traveller Plus) although the seat base is hard. For a 10 hour flight I recommend sitting on the cushion. Service was variable - the VOD in my seat did not work (all I could get was the map) and one of the staff reset it (quite grudgingly I felt) 3 times without success. Thankfully a more senior staff member was able to find the only other unoccupied seat about 3 hours after takeoff. To be expected to put up with a seat without VOD for 10 hours is ridiculous - why do BA not check them after each flight? Plenty of food (breakfast after 2hrs, in then a snack box after 5hrs, then lunch after 8hrs) but, unfortunately, while I thought sitting at the rear would mean being served first, that was not the case, and by the time they got to my row all choice was gone. No connectivity in seat, only earphone socket. VOD choice quite limited compared to other airlines. Unfortunately I think that British Airways have been overtaken these days and will look to the Middle and Far Eastern carriers in future.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBLR to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"lack lustre flying experience"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Flew Bangkok to London. It's been a few years since I regularly flew business class with British Airways. I always used to look forward to the big seats, a boozy afternoon watching movies and being treated a little bit special. Fast forward and the lounges are generally borrowed from other airlines that make you feel like a second class citzien, the planes are tired with worn out interiors and all of this is reflected in other passengers dissapointment in a generally lack lustre flying experience. For better value and added smiles I've found the premium economy offering must better value for money.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they have just lost a customer"

(United Kingdom)

On our recent British Airways flight from Mauritius to London, we decided to pay for an upgrade. Only to find when we got on the plane that the seats given to us were not functional. We had no entertainment on the 12 hour flight, no power to the seat so could not even read. British Airways are not willing to offer us a refund on the upgrade, as they advise their responsibility is to get us from A to B. The entertainment system are all additional and not part of the ticket price. Even though looking at their website they state "personal entertainment system with noise-reducing headphones" as one of the selling points for upgrading or flying premier economy. The fact that we did not even get to watch the security video is not a concern to BA. As someone who flies BA a lot, they have just lost a customer and do not care. I would avoid flying BA now. Terrible service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMRU to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"meal 3 sandwiches and a stodgy cake"

(United Kingdom)

Glasgow to Lisbon via London Heathrow with British Airways. Checked in on time but informed as we were about to board that there would be a delay of 1 hour. Once on board the delay became over 2 hours and we missed our connecting flight to Lisbon. Were booked on the next flight but could not get seats together in club Europe despite the high fare paid. The "meal" comprised 3 sandwiches and a stodgy cake. Arrived in Lisbon several hours late. Pathetic. No one in London to tell us what was happening until we arrived in the terminal 3 lounge.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGLA to LIS via LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service advisor disinterested"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | British Airways ruined our holiday. We had a flight from Edinburgh to Prague via Heathrow booked and the flight was 70 minutes late in arriving at LHR. Therefore we missed our connecting flight and when we approached the BA customer service desk for help, the customer service advisor was disinterested, smug and extremely unhelpful. He even said he was doing me a favour by booking another flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEDI to PRG via LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shocking customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We travelled from Aberdeen to Heathrow and on to San Francisco with no issues other than very poor legroom. Even less legroom than on a local flight to Europe (Ryanair) on a 10 hour flight. On the return journey the first flight from San Francisco to Heathrow was delayed. Once on the plane the flight was ready to go when there was a further delay because the gate staff had somehow mixed up the boarding passes and had a discrepancy. So they had to physically check several passengers to make sure they were who they said they were. Very scary in view of the security situation. Then our row of 3 seats had no in-flight entertainment (row 28) The first flight attendant we talked to fobbed us off for ages and eventually admitted he could not fix it. Then the next level up flight attendant tried and finally the flight director came to see us and offered us an alcoholic drink. So we travelled for 10 hours with no entertainment. On landing at Heathrow our next flight to Aberdeen was also delayed for one hour. On complaining to BA they eventually replied offering us a voucher for 20 pounds. Not much use if you intend never to fly BA again. Shocking customer service. Avoid Heathrow and particularly BA at Heathrow.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteABZ to SFO via LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no