British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 4736 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"too much money for such mediocre service

Review by (United Kingdom)

London to New York JFK is the most profitable route for British Airways. My ticket cost nearly £5,000 return. I fly fortnightly between London and New York JFK. The aircraft are tired, food is poor, even the new gourmet business class food. British Airways management should try the breakfast porridge with salt and blueberries! What about the afternoon tea sandwiches? Yuk. Toilets often out of service and on my last 6 flights at least 1 of the toilets has been out of service. The last flight BA117 on Wednesday 2 September 2015 the power failed meaning all the seats in my section of business class had to be manually positioned. The in-flight entertainment system stopped. The staff were great, but frankly all the company is doing is putting staff in a difficult position. In 2015 my company will have spent £120k on travel to and from London and New York. Too much money for such a mediocre service, aircraft that are many years beyond proper serviceability and a management team focused on shareholder profit not customer satisfaction. What a fall from grace. In August I flew Singapore Airlines London to Melbourne. What a difference in aircraft quality, customer service experience and value for money. Please British Airways, sort yourselves out. Letters to Keith Williams or Willie Walsh are ignored or intercepted by staff. Lots of promises and little or no action. My most recent cabin was held together by pipe insulator. The last one the same, and horrible condensation issue with the air con resulting in a soaked blanket at take off.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"simply not worth the premium prices"

Review by (United Kingdom)

Compared to the likes of EVA Air or Qatar Airways, British Airways Club World is by far the poor relation. Flew from Glasgow to New York via LHR, the seats have zero storage apart from the small drawer at floor level. It is astonishing that for the money they charge, you have to step over the legs of the person on your outside, especially if you accidentally trip and land on top of them. Food was satisfactory although a small bacon roll for breakfast was again a poor show. AVOD was also satisfactory. Apart from the flat bed, this just really doesn't have a premium feel about it. On our recent trip, on both legs, the crew were excellent, but the product from our national flag carrier simply is not worth the premium prices they charge.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGlasgow to New York via LHR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"BA have improved both service"

Review by (United Kingdom)

Excellent British Airways flight from Heathrow to Johannesburg. My second flight on the A380 which smooth, quiet and very comfortable. I think BA have improved both service and food to a good standard. My husband and I fly very regularly and found the meals on this flight enjoyable - much better than Emirates. However, BA had a disappointing selection of films.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHeathrow to Johannesburg
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service ok"

Review by (United Kingdom)

LHR-ARN-LHR with British Airways, return 29th and 31st August. Check in online quick as was bag drop at T5, used galleries Sth lounge which I've always liked. Breakfast on offer at 7am. Boarding quick however the use of a bus to a remote stand always feels odd at an airlines hub newish aircraft with new Club Europe seating first time using this layout and must say felt not much different to economy. Flight away on time, service ok with english breakfast on offer. Crew ok. Landed a little early. Return check in quick and easy although 3rd party lounge is just ok, flight departed on time lasting 2hr 35min, crew pretty nice and the old CE layout on this A320 appeared comfier, afternoon tea served which was ok. Flight arrived a little late but on to a stand so no bus trip. I'm unsure if Club in Europe is still worth the extra, I have a few more BA European flights coming up so will judge once I've used economy and club once more.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to ARN
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"I would struggle to get comfortable"

Review by (United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Dubai in British Airways First Class. The trip got off to a good start with the Concorde lounge at Terminal 5. Very comfortable and private, however showing signs of wear and tear. Needs a bit of a refurb. Boarding was announced and we promptly left, however only just made it to the gate. (Very odd, but I am no fan of the trains to the strange satellite terminals for boarding.) The plane was a very old refurbished Boeing 747-400. Quite why BA hangs on to these gas guzzlers is a mystery. I estimate the plane, over its life so far, has done about 90 million miles (enough to get to the moon). Much criticism has been said about cramming so many First suites into the nose of the plane, and I can say that is fully justified. It was a day flight so not worried about sleeping, but if it were a night flight as a tall (but not overweight) man I would struggle to get comfortable. It’s like a coffin and storage space for personal effects not worth a light. A cabin crew told me they will hang on to the newer Boeing 747-400s for another 5-10 years. If so, this is truly unbelievable. Given the Emirates competition on this route, their fantastic suites and they always serve caviar, one does wonder if the sales and marketing people at British Airways have a clue how to entice customers to the overall experience. There is so much criticism of British Airways on this site, one wonders why they don’t listen. It can only be perceived as arrogance. Food was fine. Very nice mezza, nice soup and spicy Middle Eastern style chicken; not bad at all. Champagne very basic and Krug has long vanished from British Airways routes. Cabin crew were terrific – faultless. Travelling a Boeing 777 on the way back. Hopefully a better seat.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLondon to Dubai
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"strange new Club Europe seats"

Review by (United Kingdom)

Brussels to Heathrow with British Airways. Lounge at Brussels very acceptable. Plenty of space. Reasonable snacks (I wouldn’t call it a 'meal'.) Plane pushed back on time and we were airborne in minutes. The flight to LHR was just 40 minutes and straight in without stacking – landing from the East. Barely enough time for a meal, but a number of passengers took advantage of the reasonable looking prawn salad. I was happy with a couple of gin and tonics. Seated in row one, so leg room was okay in the strange “new” Club Europe seats. Overall not bad.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Brussels
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"need to up their game"

Review by (United Kingdom)

On the upper deck on BA 282 (Aug 31st), although the equipment is relatively new, once you are in those hideous seats, you wouldn't be aware of what aircraft you are on. Squeezing as many ying yang seats onto an aircraft does not constitute a premium cabin experience. British Airways missed a great opportunity to enhance their club world product, but while other carriers improved their cabins, BA seem content in leading the race to the bottom. The crew on this flight looked as though they did mot wish to be on duty and one in particular was really obnoxious to a child. The child's parents were certainly mare tolerant than I would have been. Crew turned a blind eye to two passengers who decided to retain their luggage from the overhead lockers while the aircraft was still climbing and the seat belt signs were still illuminated. Once the food was served, crew were nowhere to be seen until breakfast was served. Due to the awful food served on this route on a previous trip, I ate before boarding so cannot comment what the offerings were on this sector. The 'Club Kitchen' is a complete waste of time. I did attempt to have a snack from the club kitchen during the overnight flight (after negotiating the outstretched legs of a sleeping passenger) but the unlabeled sandwiches were chilled out of their existence and were inedible. British Airways really need to up their game in respect of offering a premium cabin service.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLAX to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"our last flight with British Airways"

Review by (Germany)

I can confirm what has been reported earlier about British Airways long haul flights. Our plane was really old and most staff were almost the same. The TV screen was almost impossible to watch because of the distorted picture and the seats felt like on an IKEA couch from the 1970's. The usual food choice of "pasta or chicken" was reduced to chicken only. On top of that we were 24hrs delayed due to bad servicing of one of the engines which needed a spare part - only available in the UK. Disaster at the check-in counter when 400 travellers were asking for accomodation - British Airways had no strategy to handle such a situation which caused hours of unnecessary waiting in the queue. Hotel vouchers given for hotels that do not exist! We had to find a room for 4 (two small kids) on our own at almost midnight. This was definitely the last flight with British Airways.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDenver to London
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"supposed legacy airline"

Review by (United Kingdom)

Thoroughly disappointed with this supposed legacy airline. Having been delayed for an hour on my British Airways connecting flight to LHR and stuck overnight at a Heathrow hotel I was looking forward to getting going on the morning flight. Reality check. This aircraft is old and decrepit and was built in the 80s, it should have been retired long ago. A quick Google search shows that this aircraft makes up the majority of BA's longhaul fleet. The seats are so small and narrow that you are constantly playing elbow hockey with the people on either side of you. I am 5ft 8 and weigh 70kg so how a larger person might survive is beyond me. Everything is old and looks it too. Even the staff. The seats are worn to the point that you can feel every piece of the metal frame beneath. In fact the lady seated in front of me complained to the cabin crew because she could feel the miniature Tropicana bottle I had put the seat pocket. Even the safety animation video looks like it was made as a school IT project by 11 year olds. Staff are cold and unfriendly, it would seem that their contracts forbid smiling of any kind. The inflight entertainment screens are smaller than a regular smartphone and have large visible pixels, it is a struggle to actually see what is being displayed. They are running on brand image only and even then there's only fumes left in tank. Do not fly BA at least until they seriously upgrade their fleet.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLHR to JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff amiable and present"

Review by (Australia)

Plane was clean, staff amiable and present with deliveries of juice and water through the flight. Dinner on departure was fine, maybe a little dry but otherwise tasty enough. The seatback screen was tiny but selection of entertainment was good. The picture quality was rather poor. The black mark was the pathetic breakfast - croissant was inedible. Partly frozen, tasteless and it seemed like most of the folk seated nearby did not even open the plastic wrapper. Two cups of tea and a muesli bar was ample. My wife and I were travelling on different itineraries with British Airways and this was one flight we shared. I asked 3 times for the agent to link the booking, which she did. BA computer did not perform properly so we were seated apart. No drama since the plane was only about 80% full and we sorted it out ok. This was part of a round the world ticket, so I have no idea on the "value for money" question for this sector.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCalgary to London
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes