Top 100 Airlines  

British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1621 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Here I am again after my previous review 2 weeks ago of specifically the British Airways online check in system. I am currently in Cyprus on holiday and will be flying back to London this evening with my elderly Mother. We sat next to each other last night at 1930 and opened our BA apps on our phones at the same time. My Mother had a choice of 12 seats (on a 300 seat Boeing 767), and I had a choice of just 4 seats. Again. So clear evidence of passenger inequality at BA, even though the passengers are travelling in the same cabin class. This happened 2 weeks ago when flying from London Heathrow to Larnaca. Firstly, why do I, who flies several times a year with BA, only get 4 (very poor location) seats to "choose" from, and another BA Economy passenger gets a choice of 12 seats to choose from? Secondly, why do BA offer an online check in service which is not fit for purpose? When I fly with Aeroflot, you can choose your seat at the time you actually book your tickets. As it should be with every airline. But BA appear to suffer from some kind of 'seat hoarding' issue for some reason. I presume they would rather people pay the £15 to choose a seat in advance on top of the already high price of their tickets, something I personally will never ever do.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLCA to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"provided a high quality service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to London Heathrow with British Airways. The was our first experience on BA's A380 and it was very comfortable and relaxing. We usually fly Etihad from Australia to LHR but this time decided to try BA. The boarding at Singapore was efficient friendly and on time. As this was a late evening flight (2320) we just wanted to get settled and into bed as soon as possible. We made this point to the crew and they were fantastic in making this happen as soon as they were permitted to set up the beds. The config of First Class in BA is 1-2-1 with 2 aisles. This is not as good as the Etihad First which has a central aisle with individual cabins (called apartments) of the aisle. Never the less the seats were fine for flat bed sleeping if a little narrow. The staff were very professional and did not bother us until breakfast time. Breakfast was just ok with limited options but this was ok for us. The A380 is clearly the benchmark in long haul First Class flight and on this occasion BA provided a high quality service.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSIN to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"trading on previous good reputation"

(United Kingdom)

San Jose (Costa Rica) to Gatwick with British Airways. I was very unhappy with this flight. The seats were uncomfortable. The plane was old and the tv screens were scratched and appalling to watch. There were 2 drinks services the whole 10 hour flight, not including the 2 meals which were worse than usual. We couldn't get up and walk about as the seatbelt sign was on for extended periods. I didn't think there was much turbulence, I've had worse. The crew disappeared for extended periods of time. British Airways are obviously running on the cheap whilst trading on its previous good reputation. This is unacceptable. Compared to the Dreamliner which also has games, USB charging ports, new films and drinks on demand - this is vastly inferior and I will never travel BA again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJO to LGW
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"expectations low and still disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Heathrow to Bangkok with British Airways. Fast check-in by friendly staff at LHR. The Galleries lounge was as always were busy but seats were comfortable and the food ok. Boarding started approx. 50 min before departure with boarding through L2. Unlike most of the Middle Eastern airlines we were just pointed in the general direction of our seats rather than shown to them. Aircraft was an older 777-200 in a 3 cabin configuration and the age was showing and while generally clean the trimming was coming apart, the IFE screens were small and the seats felt a bit cramped. Very much like Virgin Atlantic's Upper Class seat, these were great for sitting normally or fully flat but everything in between was a struggle. And the ying-yang seat configuration is akward to say the least but the centre seats are great if you travel as a couple. Welcome drinks were eventually served and we took off only slightly delayed. Dinner was painfully slow and it was a good 3 hours after take off before dinner was finished. Starter and dessert were ok, but the entree was far too overcooked for my taste. Also there is no dine on demand facility, you eat what you are given when it suits the crew. The crew were friendly but painfully slow. It also took more than an hour after dinner before the cabin lights were fully dimmed. Breakfast was served 2 hours before landing and the crew were transformed. It was a quick and efficient service, a shame it took them 9 hours to get to that point. Breakfast was not great but edible. We landed at Bangkok on time but no fast track cards for immigration were given. Bags arrived on the belt only minutes after we had passed through immigration. It is clear that BA have been cutting costs in their premium cabin and it shows in spades when compared to the Middle Eastern 3, the Asian airlines and even the US airlines. They could benefit from cutting the very generous bagage allowance and use the money saved on fuel on getting a new hard product (seats and cabins) and improving their soft product (food, service, etc), especially given their current price point. Based on reviews here I had set my expectations of BA low and I was still disappointed.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to BKK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very helpful and attentive"

(Australia)

Verified Review | We flew Melbourne to Singapore via Sydney on 1 September with British Airways. Our preferred airline is Etihad but we decided to try BA as we secured a very competitive First fare. I have never flown BA before but have heard not so good reports, so was a bit apprehensive. We were delighted with the service from Qantas (BA flys out of SYD) in Melbourne in booking our bags through to Singapore. The boarding in SYD was very smooth and we were warmly welcomed by the very professional cabin crew. The 777 First is a 1-2-1 configuration and we had the centre seats with the drop down privacy screen. Departure (1500) was on time and the 9 hour flight up to Singapore was very smooth. Cabin staff were very helpful and attentive. The was ample room to stretch out although we did not makeup the sleeping option as we were connecting in Singapore to go on to LHR. The food was lovely as was the choice of wine and drinks. In summary, we were delighted with the service and flight.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMEL to SIN via SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew professional and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Early morning flight to Amsterdam from London. A complicated schedule cause a little stir at check-in but check-in were woderful this morning and did their at most to assist. Straight to the plane which was an older B-767 with a 2-2-2 configuration in business class. Crew professional and efficient, choice between cold meet or full english for breakfast. Full served and cabin cleared in the 50 minutes the flight lasted. Despite a delay out of London we were down on time in Amsterdam. The cabin was crying out for a refurbishment but otherwise a good flight.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I was unable to select a seat"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Jose - London Heathrow - San Jose in September 2016 in Premium Economy. Was so excited when British Airways announced the new San Jose service earlier this year. Driving up the 101 to SFO had become a tedious task with traffic getting more and more congested. So was relieved to book out of SJC, a ten minute drive from home. My only one gripe with BA is not being able to select a seat at time of booking without paying an additional fee which should not be necessary in Premium Economy. Night before travel, I was unable to select a seat during on-line check-in, so next day I proceeded to the airport only to be told no seat was available due to over-booking. Was provided an $800 compensation credit card to fly the following day which I gladly accepted. The Boeing 787 is a beautiful quiet airplane and a good choice of aircraft for this route. Was given juice upon boarding and a hot towel. Only one drink service after take-off and only one shot of whiskey was provided. Dinner service included a choice from the Club World cabin menu. Full English breakfast prior to landing. Return trip, given glass of champagne upon boarding and hot towel. Lunch was a Filet of Beef. Mid-flight snack box was a let down and afternoon tea included a pizza. Cabin crew were OK and nothing exceptional on both sectors. Overall a good trip.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSJC to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"start offering food for purchase?"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Porto and Barcelona to Gatwick a week later with British Airways. Both flights on time. While the seats are comfortable, the cabin modern, and the cabin crew professional, the service has really been minimized. Just one quick drink run (tiny serving) and a small snack (tiny bag of crisps or biscuits), nothing else. They even missed several rows when handing out the snacks and I had to remind them. Crew spend most of the time arranging things in the galley. Maybe it's time to start offering food for purchase?
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to OPO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"feel of a budget carrier"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Bahrain to Boston via London. First time flying BA after flying Qatar, Emirates and Oman Air business class. Check in at BAH was quick and efficient with their seperate business and first class check in area. BA uses the Dilmun lounge, which is basic but adequate. The flight from BAH to LHR was on a 777. The seats are in a 2x4x2 configuration and are very narrow (similar to premium economy seats, and marginally larger than the economy seats) though reasonably comfortable. When fully flat there is not much room, and people over 6 feet will struggle. There was hardly any storage space, and the IFE screen was very small and of poor quality. The food was very average (I had the carrot and pumpkin soup). Cabin crew was disengaged and the plane felt old and tired. The lounge in Heathrow is large, but gets too busy to be able to sit comfortably. The bathrooms in both the main BA lounges are quite dated and need a good clean far more often then they get. The quality of food in the lounge is average, though the wine and spirit selection is decent. The flight from LHR to BOS was on a 747 and this was similar to the 777 - old and tired with cramped seating for business class. Cabin crew were a bit better on this leg, though still disengaged. The food was of average quality, though the wine list, while small, was good. Overall, BA has the feel of a budget carrier compared to some of its middle eastern counterparts. The lounge is sub par, particularly when compared to the Qatar lounge in Doha, or even the Qantas / One World lounge in LAX. The business class ticket was reasonably cheap, though I can now see why. Given the choice I would not fly BA again.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 / 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBAH to BOS via LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"excellent cabin crew"

(Argentina)

London Gatwick to New York JFK with British Airways. Check in at LGW is a complicated, slow process but once through security things get better. I dislike their business class seat layout. Old aircraft, very worn out seats with little or no padding but the excellent cabin crew made up for all of this. They were going out of their way to serve, to make sure every passenger was comfortable, well fed and plenty of drinks. Food was good. Flight on time, but arrival at JFK is chaotic, long immigration lines, etc.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLGW to JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes