British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2241 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"nothing special to recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Tirana. Full flight on both outward and return journey. The seating was adequate for a short journey but only limited pitch. The aircraft was clean. Cabin crew were present and friendly throughout the journey but busy selling food and on board goods. The main advantage of this airline was the direct flight from UK to Tirana, otherwise nothing special to recommend. Both flights on time.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Tirana
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"assumption it was a quality carrier"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I booked British Airways to travel under the assumption it was a quality carrier not a low cost carrier. I expected a meal and baggage to be included. I was unaware of the brand changes and was very disappointed after I booked. This airline is no longer quality with the prices they charge. Expect a budget airline experience here. Staff were very friendly and helpful however. Pilot also chatty throughout the flight giving us lots of info.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to London Heathrow
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Economy seats are small"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Berlin via London. Aircraft long haul new and clean, short haul a bit old, but still acceptable. Crew overall are lovely, pleasant service. BA food is on the top of the rank. Kuala Lumpur to London My boyfriend and I got beef stew and chicken satay as dinner and beef omelette as breakfast. Also very tasty. We got 2 wines and so many juices. Return flight was chicken curry and pesto pasta. Again, it flavorful. And we got beef congee and Engliah breakfast before we landed. Short hauls don't have any food. Inflight entertainment not the best, but still acceptable. Short hauls don't have any screens. Only thing I don't like is the seats. Economy seats are small. I have no problem with it since I am a petite girl, but still very uncomfortable to sit straight up. If I knew before, I will book a premium economy, that one seems nicer and have more space. I got the best price for round trip, value for money!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Berlin via London
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Crew were good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew from Brussels to London Heathrow on an A320. The aircraft was about three quarters full. Boarding was smooth and we left and arrived slightly early. The sale of food and drinks went well and didn't appear to have much of a take up on this flight of less than an hour. Crew were good.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to London
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"clean plane, punctual service, pleasant cabin crew"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew from London Heathrow to Sofia and back. The plane on both flights was an Airbus 321 and I’d guess a young one judging by the freshness of the interior. I am 1.82m (6 feet) tall and found the leg room and seat width to be fine – I certainly didn’t feel cramped even in the centre seat. Both flights departed the gate on schedule (although actual take-off on the outbound flight was slightly delayed because of air traffic restrictions over Europe). The cabin crew on both legs were pleasant and courteous. On both flights, the captain kept us very well informed of our route and our progress. So far, top marks to British Airways but where they let themselves down is the shambles of a refreshment service. It might seem like a minor gripe but I do like the opportunity to get something to eat or drink on a flight even if I have to pay for it (which you do not on other legacy airlines like Lufthansa). The range and prices of food and drink on offer were comparable with low cost airlines I have flown with. But there the comparison ends because whilst I have always been served quickly (and sometimes twice) on short haul low-cost airlines, BA’s service is too slow and seems to run out of stock too. They also insist on card only transactions. I had the misfortune to be sitting toward the rear of the plane on both legs - and the A321 is a long plane. A single trolley started from the front, making ponderous progress towards me and even though the flight was two hours and forty minutes long, I only just managed to get a coffee and sandwich from a slightly harried flight attendant who by now had returned the trolley and was scuttling to and from the galley, squeezing past the long queue of passengers waiting for the lavatories. (The coffee, by the way, was excellent). The return flight was worse because the trolley made it two thirds down the aisle and was getting tantalisingly close to me before abruptly stopping and returning to the galley, leaving the remaining passengers unserved. In conclusion, clean plane, punctual service, pleasant cabin crew but awful refreshment service.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Sofia
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"service is similar to Eurowings"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Heathrow to Bilbao. Boarding of the flight at Heathrow was very good , the flight was on time and the plane was clean. Frequent flyers boarded first and the rest soon followed. From then on the service was very similar to a Easy Jet or Eurowings flight. The 3 crew member's in economy passed through the cabin selling M&S sandwiches , snacks and coffee. The flight out of Bilbao was delayed by a late incoming aircraft, information on the delay was a little slow in coming from the gate agent. However the crew were very efficient loading the flight when it finally landed. The flight crew also managed to shave 15 minutes off the flight time too. However the service onboard is similar to Eurowings. Both flights were safe and competent. But the actual flight experience was lacking and in future I will consider Easyjet or similar as they offer the same level of service for less money.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to Bilbao
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"service poorly synchronised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kalamata to London Heathrow. No priority boarding at Kalamata. Drink and food service poorly synchronised, with no pre-dinner drink, no nuts, and bread served with main course. Lacto-ovo vegetarian special included the same tomato and mozzarella starter as on the outbound flight despite a beetroot carpaccio dish being available on the standard menu. The special main was yet again a bland, overcooked pasta dish. Overall, a pathetic vegetarian offering. Cabin crew did the bare minimum in Club Europe and their main priority seemed to be selling the M&S stuff in economy, which they were doing up until 30 minutes from landing. The Club Europe toilet was grubby. Flight landed on schedule but there was a long wait for baggage at T5.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKalamata to London Heathrow
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"are a bottom tier airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Krakow. I am a one world emerald member on AA so I get certain perks when flying British Airways such as free seat selection, lounge use and priority boarding - that makes this airline bearable - just. They are obsessed with carry on bags much like Ryanair giving out silly yellow tags for carry on bags and checking carry on sizes - not sure what it does for them as it only increases their bag handling costs. Their seats are no better than anyone else and their pitch just as tight. What used to set BA apart was their inflight service - even in coach a sandwich or something - this has degraded to nothing, zero - even a soft drink is charged. So I asked for water, I was offered an Evian for $5 - no thanks just plain water. Ok sir we will come back to you after we serve everyone else. Of course he never came back - 2.5 hour flight and not even allowed a cup of water. BA are listed as a 4 star airline, AA are a 3 star yet AA now have better inflight service than BA by a country mile. BA are a bottom tier airline and nothing more to the average flier.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Kraków
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Seat so narrow that you cannot move"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Abuja, Nigeria with British Airways. Departed on time, paid extra for legroom seat aisle side of exit door, don'0t bother as it has no pocket for documents, glasses etc.. Seat so narrow that you cannot move, seat cushion hard and old. Cabin crew comment, you have extra legroom arent you lucky ,my comment - yes and I paid for it when I asked about lack of pocket for my specs and passport. Food was bland. Arrived on time. Departing Abuja on return trip I had an aisle seat, again narrow and extremely uncomfortable. Old aircraft. Cost cutting squeeze in Economy will drive customers away as comparable airlines offer much more. Now the number and particularly the dimensions of the toilets have been reduced you can hardly fit into the toilet. Food on return trip was a so called breakfast, yellow mass called an omelette and some sort of potato fritter. Cabin crew went through the motions but seemed in a hurry to get service finished and to disappear. Return flight was on time. Punctuality was BAs saving grace.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Abuja, Nigeria
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"downgrade them to 3 stars"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Tokyo Haneda. Boeing 777 was tatty inside, cabin items (seats, carpets, tables etc) worn, and dirty. Sticky surfaces, and hate to think what germs are being stored here. Meal standards are very poor compared to Lufthansa and ANA that I flew earlier this year, reflects the BA move to being budget standard airline at premium prices. Cabin staff were nice but even they cannot make up for how poor other areas have gotten at BA. Time to remove the low-cost airline minded CEO there now, and surely Skytrax must now downgrade them to 3 stars at best?
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages