Vote Airport  

British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1280 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"in need of urgent update"

(Brazil)

London to São Paulo Guarulhos. British Airways Boeing 747's looks very old, outdated and in need of an urgent update. I heve flown 8 times in the past 2 month always in their Boeing 747s and all of them were in the same condition. I just hope that the maintenance in the vital systems are better than inside the aircraft, as one can see in the attached pictures taken from my seat in the upper deck in my last flight. Also the entertainment system is very limited.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to GRU
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good hand baggage only deal"

(United Kingdom)

After several bad experiences with British Airways over the last year I used them for a short hop from Ukraine to the UK. On check-in at KBP I wasn't offered lounge access (Silver tier FF). I found a good hand baggage only deal. The service onboard was efficient but friendly. A meal was served on this flight which was Chicken Kiev, tasty considering the price I paid. Arrived at LHR early and we arrived at a terminal airbridge and weren't bused to the terminal, as is often the case.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKBP to LHR
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"first and last time"

(United Kingdom)

Vancouver to Heathrow, and the first and last time I will fly with British Airways. The aircraft from the stand looks impressive but soon as we boarded you could tell that the aircraft was at least 30 years old and it was so dated on the inside. My flight home was delayed - yes this does happen to every airline, but they allowed us to board the plane and there was an electrical fault, the professionalism of BA Staff was appalling.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to LHR
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very nice welcome"

(United Kingdom)

British Airways flight from Glasgow to London Heathrow under Iberia code IB7519. Boarding was prompt and a very nice welcome from the crew. The flight left on time and arrived early at T5. The seat was comfortable and the meal served was breakfast which was very good. Several rounds of coffee and tea served. Very good flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGLA to LHR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was excellent"

(South Africa)

I took four flights with British Airways last month - Johannesburg via London Heathrow to New York JFK and return. On all the service was excellent. At the three airports again all went smoothly. With BA the unknown is the age of the plane that you get. The A380 was excellent, quiet, clean and good space - I was on the upper deck; the B777 also good with reasonable space and good entertainment, the B747 less so - one had been upgraded and the other - the final leg - LHR to JFK was old - seats reasonably comfortable but the entertainment system aged - screen the size of a large postage stamp - and poor picture. Really does depend how much the entertainment means to you I guess. I also tried the special menus from LHR - business quality food for which you pay a small premium. Well presented, tasty and a nice treat.
AircraftA380, Boeing 747 and Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to JFK via LHR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not a first class experience"

(United Kingdom)

Thanks to a time change from 23.55 to 00.05, which brought forward our departure by almost 24 hours, we very nearly missed our flight back from Rio de Janeiro to London. The check-in desks were crowded out by Team GB athletes returning home from a training session and we were relieved to get the fast track treatment. The first/business lounge at GIG is one of the worst we've been in. Our seats were 1E/F and seemed marginally better than the first class seats on a 747, although still far off the standard of British Airways competitors. 1E/F also suffer from being near the galley and there was one crew member who spent much of the night talking away to her colleagues. 1A and 1K seemed to be occupied by BA employees and there was far too much schmoozing going on. Service on the whole was reasonably good, although none of the food on the menu was actually available. This was rather feebly blamed on the changeover from one month to the next. The IFE worked reliably and the large screen had a much better resolution than on 747s. Overnight the temperature in the cabin was set too high, which resulted in an uncomfortable sleep under the duvet in the pyjamas provided. The toilets on the 777 are ridiculously small and weren't well cleaned during the flight. Breakfast was the usual affair, with an atrociously rubbery omelette. Overall, the flight was okay, but not a first class experience.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteGIG to LHR
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"shockingly poor"

(United Kingdom)

London to Calgary with British Airways. Would not let me use avios points to upgrade even though I had plenty. They only allocate 10% of cabin occupancy for this - shockingly poor. You don't expect your national airline to scupper your honeymoon plans. Although there was plenty of availability in the cabin, the fact that only 10% is allocated (and potentially seats can go empty) they wont let you upgrade. We paid for tickets regardless in the cabin below, but still not allowed to upgrade. I would have used another airline if I knew in advance (and will do in future).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLHR to YYC
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"not overwhelming First Class"

(United Kingdom)

London to Singapore with British Airways, and the plane left 90 minutes late due to technical fault with one of their aging 747-400 that found itself minus two wheels stuck on the runway. First class was full. One would think BA would put themselves out on this route given the competition from Singapore Airlines. Wrong - the champagne was lukewarm (as is often the case). The amuse bouche taster was ghastly. Some sort of couscous and tasteless. Appetiser of sushi style salmon was very nice. Soup nice but lukewarm. Salad was forgotten by the miserable female FA. Mains of sea bass was very good. My wife had the same - but the beef main. She was very complimentary of the meal. White wine was luke warm. Solution - the miserable FA came back with a paper cup of ice cubes and dumped the lot in my glass. Brilliant. Wash bag of freebies was cheap and tacky. The seat - well I am very critical of this design. So much space is wasted with the "island" console in the middle. The designer of this seat should find another career. Seats already starting to show wear and tear. Why British Airways opted for a canvas material rather than leather is a mystery. In summary, the A380 is fabulous. Slept for about 5 hours. Great flight. FAs mostly were fine. Terrific landing by a very skilled pilot. All in all - it was okay - but not overwhelming as First Class should be.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLHR to SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"crew were fine but nothing special"

(Poland)

The British Airways outbound flight from London to Hong Kong was on a 3 year old A380. We sat near the back on the upper deck and were very pleased with how comfortable and smooth it was. On the upper deck there is a cupboard by the window seat which gives more space to put your coats and also doubles up as a shelf to put your drinks. The 5 year old Boeing 777 on the return leg was far more cramped. Also the video screen was faulty and it was difficult to click on the screen. The crew on all flights were fine but nothing special. Just performed their job but never really seemed to go out of their way.
AircraftA320, A380, Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWAW to HKG via LHR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

British Airways customer review

(United Kingdom)

Arrived slightly stressed as flight from Oslo delayed nearly 2 hours due to engine problem. Crew were caring and assured us that bags were on board. Food excellent and wine great. CSD informed us that a snow storm was on the way and we might be stuck in NYC as their flight the next night had already been cancelled. Newark was deserted and bags were there in 5 minutes. Overall superb flight with British Airways from London to Newark.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLHR to EWR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes