Boliviana de Aviacion

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 16 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Staff was friendly"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Sucre to La Paz. Only one hour flight but gave us a nice chicken sandwich and when asked for more they kindly gave me as much as I wanted. Staff was friendly, aircraft on time and checking happened quick in sucre, although not so high tech. Plane was a Boeing, looked well maintained.
AircraftB737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSucre to La Paz
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"provided inadequate information"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Original flight route was La Paz to Cochamamba to Santa Cruz to Madrid with a lay-over of 18 hours in Cochamamba. All airports are in Bolivia. My complaint is that employees of Boliviana de Aviacion provided me and my wife with inadequate information. At the office in La Paz we were asking if it possible to skip our flight from La Paz to Cochamamba, because we wanted to spend our times in Cochamamba instead of going back to La Paz. The lady assured it was possible but we needed to confirm this 48 hours before departure of the flight from La Paz to Cochamamba. When we were in Cochamamba we went to a BOA office again to ask if it was possible to skip our flight. from La Paz to Cochamamba. Again this employee of BOA assured it was possible to do this. By change we found out via via that this was not possible. And if we not depart from La Paz we will lose our ticket. So directly we went to the BOA office again in Cochamamba. We explained again the situation. There they said we needed to go needed to depart from La Paz, if we wanted to depart from Cochamamba we need to pay about USD 115 per person. The people from BOA lacked empathy, just behaved cold. We refused to pay and went back by bus to La Paz (9 hours). If do understand that you can't skip flights but just provide the right information.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLa Paz to Madrid via Santa Cruz
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had no clue what they were doing"

(Croatia)

Verified Review | My flight with Boliviana de Aviación from Santa Cruz to Miami was delayed 13 hours. The staff that worked for BOA were unorganized and seemed like they had no clue what they were doing. This was not the first or only flight by BOA that was delayed for so long. Many customers have complained, including myself, asking for a refund of my ticket because I, as a customer, who lost money and time with this flight, is entitled to it. BOA even had a poster at Santa Cruz airport stating to contact them for a refund when your flight is late more than 6 hours. I have been trying to get an answer from BOA, including many other customers, and BOA has still not replied. It has been almost three months and I do not know when and if I will ever get a reply from them. I called them numerous times and all they keep doing is sending more e-mails to people who seem not to want to reply to their customers. I am wasting time trying to get in touch with them but they keep ignoring their customers. Horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Cruz to Miami
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"We are certainly not happy"

(Puerto Rico)

Verified Review | We had a connecting flight from La Paz to Uyuni. They delayed our flight from Santa Cruz to La Paz and we worried we weren't gonna make our connecting flight to Uyuni on time. So we asked the crew and they assured us that once we reached LPB, the airline staff would make sure we made our connecting flight on time. However, when we got to La Paz they didn't give priority to transit passengers or even ask about it. They let us out of the plane right on the runway after approximately 10 minutes of waiting for a bus that never came and they made us walk all the way to the airport. Mind that we couldn't run because our bodies are not used to being in such altitudes and we could suffer mortal consequences. As a result, we missed our flight therefore we also missed pre-arranged tour bookings in our final destination. We expected better customer service because no one oriented us or gave priority to those with connecting flights. We asked the airline staff and no one knew nothing. They need to be better prepared for when these type of situations happen. We are certainly not happy.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Cruz to La Paz
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"totally recommended"

(Bolivia)

Verified Review | La Paz to Trinidad with Boliviana. I have flown with them at least 10 times since 2012, they are always polite and custumer service is usually excellent (they actually call you when the schedule changes) and planes usually take off on time. The planes themselves are a bit aged (they use 737's on domestic routes, most of them of the 300 type, although they have some 700 and 800's now) but well taken care of, seat room is ok, they serve you a snack and drink even if the flight is 30 minutes long, in-flight entertainment gets the bad vote, it's non existant bare of a quite boring magazine, for domestic short routes is ok, but I can't imagine a 11 hour trip to Madrid on those conditions (where they actually use a 767-300 with the same IFE). They're also the only bolivian airline that offers full services on their website although the design is bit irritating to use. Totally recommended
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to POS
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"airline improving for some time"

(Bolivia)

Verified Review | La Paz to Cochabamba. Well, Boliviana de Aviacion has been improving for some time, it has many flaws but for national flights it will work fine. This was a very short flight of just 35 minutes. Normally flights will leave on time and luggage most of the time never gets lost. Price for the ticket is really affordable and depends on the time you want to leave. I would recommend this airline when flying inside Bolivia.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to CBB
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"our experience was great"

(Bolivia)

La Paz to Viru Viru International Airport. When we arrived to El Alto Airport the check-in was fast and simple. Our luggage was Little so we could take it in cabin. The plane was warm, the staff were great and the food was good - bread with chesse and a cupcake with a drink. We landed 5 minutes before planned, so our experience with this airline was great.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to VVI
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight was great"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew La Paz to Santa Cruz with Boliviana de Aviacion. The flight was great. Lots of room to get settled in and feel comfortable and it wasn't a long flight. The flight attendants were friendly. The snacks consisted of bread, one manjar and the other cheese.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to VVI
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"not very comfortable"

(Bolivia)

Great experience flying Boliviana de Aviacion. There are only two airlines that offer non-stop flights between my home country of Bolivia and the United States: American Airlines and Boliviana de Aviación (BoA), which is state-owned. I always used to fly American, LAN or Avianca, but this time I decided to go for BoA flying from Viru Viru Airport to Miami because of its cheap price. I honestly had a far better experience and received a better service than American. AA operates its 757 on the VVI-MIA route, so the aircraft was not very comfortable. The service provided by BoA is comparable and even better than that of AA. The crew were very attentive and professional and the food was just delicious. The airplane was also more confortable and spacious, and my flight wasn't fully booked so I had the entire row for myself.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVVI to MIA
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"service level is mediocre"

(Bolivia)

La Paz to Santa Cruz, and from check-in, the experience with this Boliviana de Aviacion was one of the worst. My friend and I were travelling to Paraguay and connecting in Santa Cruz. So we decided to fly domestic with this airline and then change. We were running a bit late, however we made it soon enough for checkin. We both did it at the same time and they gave me a ticket while denying seat to my friend for nonsense reasons. The staff stated that his baggage would put the plane overweight and wouldn't allow him to board the plane. This is against the contract as each passenger is allowed to have a checked-in luggage for free. In our case, they didn't let him pass at all even though we made it before their counters closed. So Boliviana de Aviacion put us in the next plane, which by consequence we would miss our next flight, but they couldn't care less. We had to call the agency to re-schedule our international flight and had to pay over $100 for no reason. Other than this particular reason, their planes are old and not very clean. Service level is mediocre.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to SRZ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 16 Reviews