Boliviana de Aviacion

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 13 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"We are certainly not happy"

(Puerto Rico)

Verified Review | We had a connecting flight from La Paz to Uyuni. They delayed our flight from Santa Cruz to La Paz and we worried we weren't gonna make our connecting flight to Uyuni on time. So we asked the crew and they assured us that once we reached LPB, the airline staff would make sure we made our connecting flight on time. However, when we got to La Paz they didn't give priority to transit passengers or even ask about it. They let us out of the plane right on the runway after approximately 10 minutes of waiting for a bus that never came and they made us walk all the way to the airport. Mind that we couldn't run because our bodies are not used to being in such altitudes and we could suffer mortal consequences. As a result, we missed our flight therefore we also missed pre-arranged tour bookings in our final destination. We expected better customer service because no one oriented us or gave priority to those with connecting flights. We asked the airline staff and no one knew nothing. They need to be better prepared for when these type of situations happen. We are certainly not happy.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Cruz to La Paz
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"totally recommended"

(Bolivia)

Verified Review | La Paz to Trinidad with Boliviana. I have flown with them at least 10 times since 2012, they are always polite and custumer service is usually excellent (they actually call you when the schedule changes) and planes usually take off on time. The planes themselves are a bit aged (they use 737's on domestic routes, most of them of the 300 type, although they have some 700 and 800's now) but well taken care of, seat room is ok, they serve you a snack and drink even if the flight is 30 minutes long, in-flight entertainment gets the bad vote, it's non existant bare of a quite boring magazine, for domestic short routes is ok, but I can't imagine a 11 hour trip to Madrid on those conditions (where they actually use a 767-300 with the same IFE). They're also the only bolivian airline that offers full services on their website although the design is bit irritating to use. Totally recommended
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to POS
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"airline improving for some time"

(Bolivia)

Verified Review | La Paz to Cochabamba. Well, Boliviana de Aviacion has been improving for some time, it has many flaws but for national flights it will work fine. This was a very short flight of just 35 minutes. Normally flights will leave on time and luggage most of the time never gets lost. Price for the ticket is really affordable and depends on the time you want to leave. I would recommend this airline when flying inside Bolivia.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to CBB
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"our experience was great"

(Bolivia)

La Paz to Viru Viru International Airport. When we arrived to El Alto Airport the check-in was fast and simple. Our luggage was Little so we could take it in cabin. The plane was warm, the staff were great and the food was good - bread with chesse and a cupcake with a drink. We landed 5 minutes before planned, so our experience with this airline was great.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to VVI
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight was great"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew La Paz to Santa Cruz with Boliviana de Aviacion. The flight was great. Lots of room to get settled in and feel comfortable and it wasn't a long flight. The flight attendants were friendly. The snacks consisted of bread, one manjar and the other cheese.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to VVI
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"not very comfortable"

(Bolivia)

Great experience flying Boliviana de Aviacion. There are only two airlines that offer non-stop flights between my home country of Bolivia and the United States: American Airlines and Boliviana de Aviación (BoA), which is state-owned. I always used to fly American, LAN or Avianca, but this time I decided to go for BoA flying from Viru Viru Airport to Miami because of its cheap price. I honestly had a far better experience and received a better service than American. AA operates its 757 on the VVI-MIA route, so the aircraft was not very comfortable. The service provided by BoA is comparable and even better than that of AA. The crew were very attentive and professional and the food was just delicious. The airplane was also more confortable and spacious, and my flight wasn't fully booked so I had the entire row for myself.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVVI to MIA
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"service level is mediocre"

(Bolivia)

La Paz to Santa Cruz, and from check-in, the experience with this Boliviana de Aviacion was one of the worst. My friend and I were travelling to Paraguay and connecting in Santa Cruz. So we decided to fly domestic with this airline and then change. We were running a bit late, however we made it soon enough for checkin. We both did it at the same time and they gave me a ticket while denying seat to my friend for nonsense reasons. The staff stated that his baggage would put the plane overweight and wouldn't allow him to board the plane. This is against the contract as each passenger is allowed to have a checked-in luggage for free. In our case, they didn't let him pass at all even though we made it before their counters closed. So Boliviana de Aviacion put us in the next plane, which by consequence we would miss our next flight, but they couldn't care less. We had to call the agency to re-schedule our international flight and had to pay over $100 for no reason. Other than this particular reason, their planes are old and not very clean. Service level is mediocre.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to SRZ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"can recommend it"

(Bolivia)

Boliviana de Aviacion from Santa Cruz to Rio de Janeiro. A bit more expensive than competitor GOL on the same route, but booked it due to schedule of onward flight to Europe. Quick and friendly check in, despite peak hour. Due to mobility restrictions, I had applied in advance for wheelchair assistance. It came very quickly and I was assisted thru security and immigration checks and brought to the boarding area and later assisted to the plane, where I was first to board. I was greeted by a friendly purser. Plane, an old Boeing 737-300, the cabin interior was a bit worn out, the seat still showed Air NZ tags as a bit of its history. It was clean and comfortable, with fair leg space. Flight was far from full, so boarding was fast. Adequate safety briefing. Inflight service basic : a snack tray and drinks. Cabin crew friendly. Flight landed nearly 30 min early, just a slight delay while taxiing. At the door wheelchair again waiting and assisted with picking up luggage and thru immigration, transferred to the new terminal 3, which is quite a distance from the old building where we arrived. Had no previous international experience on this airline, but a very pleasant experience and can recommend it.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Cruz to Rio de Janeiro
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Boliviana de Aviacion customer review

(Spain)

I have booked 4 flights in a span of over a month. And flew in between Santa cruz and La Paz. La paz and Tarija via Cochabamba. Tarija and Santa Cruz. It is the worst airline website I have used. Approx 30% of the times it doesn't load or it gives you a "error, try later". Price if compared to Europe is ok. Flying experience - they are very thorough about the emergency exit security, which is a good thing. But if your flight has a stop over, beware - you will be asked to exit the aircraft, exit the transit area, go outside do the security again and board another flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Paz to Tarija via Cochabamba
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Boliviana de Aviacion customer review

(United States)

We were supposed to fly LPB-SRE in mid-July but a blockade on the road caused us (and quite a few others) to miss our flight. We went to the BOA office in La Paz and were able to rebook without change fees. Only paid the fare difference. Finally flew out on the 18th but had a several hour delay out of La Paz. While this was not handled all that well by the ground staff this seemed to be par for the course - every other flight we have been on this year (in the USA) has had delays. Boarding was easy. Once the flight was announced, everyone just lined up and boarded. None of the convuluted boarding typical of airlines in the US and it only took about 15 minutes to board the plane. Since checked bags are free, there was no hassle for overhead space. Plane was economy class only with decent seat pitch. No extra charge to choose seats. Despite being a short flight, cabin crew came around with a complementary snack box and beverages. Plane was an older 737 but in reasonable shape and clean - I have flown in much more dilapidated planes on the legacy carriers. We had made a mistake on our booking for the return but were able to call BOA and rebook for the next day. Again, only paid the fare difference, in this case about US$8 each. Return flights (with connection in Cochabamba) were on time and the crew managed a snack service with drinks on the 35 minute flight from Cochabamba to La Paz. On the shorter flight from Sucre to Cochabamba they handed out snack packs to everyone. All in all a very good experience. Crews and ground staff generally pleasant and efficient. No "gotcha" fees and the fare was very reasonable. A nice change to what seems to be the general experience flying nowadays. Recommended.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPB to SRE
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 13 Reviews