bmi Regional

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"BMI did not tell the truth"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Munich to Bristol. Passengers were fed a cock & bull story about an excess weight problem for the flight meaning it would not be possible to land, as the weather conditions in Bristol were too bad (which later evidence showed had no foundation). This information came after being held on the bus at the gate at the airport for 40 mins waiting to be taken to the aircraft. Three volunteers (for a generous fee) were therefore asked to travel on the later plane. The plane was no where near full when it set off. On arrival at Bristol, at least 10 of the passengers' luggage had been left in Munich including mine. We were told the bags would be on the next flight and I was told mine would be with me that evening. When I chased that night, I was told there were no couriers available and it would come the following day. I called BMI customer service to find an explanation for the lack of honesty regarding the delay and problems with this flight and was told to complete an online form. The automated reply to this form said it would take up to 30 days to respond. Nothing after that time so I chased them. A further two weeks without contact and I had to call again. No alternative explanation could be given and no real apology proffered. I am left feeling that BMI did not tell the truth about issues with the flight, passengers were disrespected and the customer service follow up did not live up to what I would expect of this airline. Would not readily choose to fly with them again.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Bristol
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"poor service at a premium"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Bristol to Brussels. Unfortunately, I have to fly this route very frequently and if any alternatives would be within reach, I'd never choose to fly BMI out of my own free will. Knowing that the KLM flight to Amsterdam is less than half the price of that to Brussels, one would expect to get a half decent service in return, say a plane that leaves on time for example. Unfortunately, company policy at BMI is to offer poor service at a premium, and unfortunately company policy is also to have staff issue insincere apologies for "unfortunate coincidences" that can only be blamed on very poor management. Yesterday I had the pleasure of sitting through the ordeal again, and the plane was delayed for 2 hours, due to the pilot being "stuck in traffic" coming from London, which was further explained to be a consequence of bad weather the previous day. Nice try but how is that even relevant. Upside of running 2 hours late, one would expect that staff would have had plenty of time to prepare the cabin and solve all possible issues, but alas, unfortunately there was no catering onboard this service tonight, as a sign of their aptitude for crisis management, the airline had managed to scramble leftover sandwiches from other airlines and two bottles of water. Saving the best for last, the cabin attendant unfortunately also had to announce that something was not quite right with the heating system, causing the cabin temperature to be just over freezing point with vents blowing icy air into the cabin. For our comfort the captain generously decided to fly on to Brussels rather than return to Bristol. Of course he did, or they would have had to pay compensation to the passengers. Arriving at Brussels, the same sorry attendant had the final pleasure of announcing that all onwards connections had been missed and that passengers's journeys would be rerouted as soon as possible.
AircraftEmbraer 135
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"am still at 20.52 sitting in Aberdeen airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Feeling let down as my bmi Regional flight from Aberdeen to Norwich was due to leave at 3pm today and now find my flight cancelled until 6.25. Having put most people on other aircraft's back, I found myself a single lady flyer having further cancellations and am still at 20.52 sitting in Aberdeen airport with my elderly parents waiting to pick me up at the other end which was meant to be at the latest 5.30pm with an hour travelling time to and from airport 7.5 hours delay for an internal flight! Really bmi.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAberdeen to Norwich
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst airline I have experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bristol to Hamburg. I am forced to travel with bmi every three weeks. In my opinion they are the worst airline I have experienced. They are significantly overpriced and do not provide any unique services to warrant charging the amounts they do. Air France, KLM and others charge similar amounts but at least offer a reward scheme - rubbish. They have a limited fleet which is why they are often delayed. A flight late into Birmingham will mean a delay from Bristol because they use that one plane to fly multiple routes - rubbish. They claim that a sandwich and drink is included. It is, but invariably they don't have hot drinks, or only a cheap stale tuna sandwich - rubbish. The crew often come across as moody but given the company they work for I can't blame them. Some check in desks only open an hour before the flight - rubbish. Gates often open late and go straight to a "gate closing" status - meaning the uninitiated bmi passenger will rush to the gate just to find it's not yet open - rubbish. I can't think of one redeeming quality.
AircraftEmbria
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Hamburg
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Incredibly frustrating, unreliable"

(United States)

Verified Review | I booked flights more than 6 months ago to travel from Aberdeen to Norwich around lunch time. A few weeks ago the lunch time flight was cancelled, with no explanation, and an alternative early morning flight was booked. Having reorganized my plans and booked hotel rooms at Aberdeen airport for the early morning flight, we arrived this morning to find the flight cancelled without warning. Now we are due to fly out this afternoon (same day). Incredibly frustrating, unreliable, poor communication and very limited provisions to help us with the delay (the people on the service desk were fine, but not from the airline and with very little ability to do anything other than provide information and food vouchers).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAberdeen to Norwich
Date FlownJuly 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"they are always delayed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bristol to Frankfurt. BMI from Bristol has a bad reputation. The planes and staff are great, but they are always delayed. Looking down the departure board at Bristol on a Monday morning and all of the delayed flights will be BMI. The sad thing is this could be a great service , especially for the business traveller but increasingly you cannot rely on the airline and I have started to use less convenient airports because there is a chance their flights will be on time. Worse still, BMI never answer any queries on their flight delays. So if you have an easy schedule and don't mind being delayed by 3-4 hours then I recommend BMI.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"delays are always the case"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew (or tried to fly) with bmi Regional three times so far. Delays are always the case, twice my flight from Bristol to Dusseldorf was cancelled. The last time I sat on the aircraft with my little one on my lap for 40 mins to then find out that the delay now meant we were too late to land in Dusseldorf and therefore the flight was finally cancelled. My choice was waiting 24 hours, or come back the next morning and fly to an airport three hours away. Absolutely awful. Still trying to get a refund for my parking fees. The application has to be made online and replies take up to 30 working days. At least my flight was refunded in full, even though I feel like I should be getting paid for the hassle it always is. It is my best route from the UK to Germany but for above mentioned reasons I'd rather fly Flybe and drive two more hours.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Dusseldorf
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"most unreliable airline"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I fly regularly with BMI to places in Germany. But every time there are changes in flight times. I had booked a return flight to Hamburg from Bristol. My flight to Hamburg was booked for Thursday 25th May and ETD was 16.50. When I checked in online the day before, I found out that my ETD had changed to 18.15. I hadn't received any info about this. My return flight to Bristol was originally booked for Monday 29th May at 10.30. A few weeks after my booking, the return flight in the morning was cancelled and the new departure time was 19.55. A week before my flight this time was changed to 21.20, so this was the 3rd change for a flight on the Monday. And then of course there was a delay and the ETD of my flight back to Bristol 23.00 At the end of March I had another return flight booked from Bristol to Dusseldorf. While in Germany, I received a text message that my return flight had changed from the Monday evening to the Tuesday morning so I had to stay another night in Germany with extra costs. I have emailed and phoned BMI, but until today no results. Two years ago a flight from Munich to Bristol was cancelled the night before, however nobody was informed. My return flight to Bristol was scheduled for 06.45 in the morning. After a ride of 2.5 hours I arrived at the airport at 05.00 in the morning, only to find out that the flight was cancelled and nobody knew why. I have tried to get compensation of BMI with no result. That flight times change is not the first time with BMI. Unfortunately, I already booked several flights with BMI for the whole year. I now am going to look for flight with a stop as they are more reliable then flying with BMI. The most unreliable airline in my point of view.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Hamburg
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight attendant was very pleasant"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | I really like bmi Regional. On an hour long flight from Brno to Munich they offer free drinks and a tasty sandwich. The flight attendant was very pleasant and the seats are very comfortable with generous leg room that you wouldn't expect on such a small aircraft. On time departure and arrival. I would've appreciated more information about the route but other than that it was a great experience and I would travel with bmi Regional anytime. As we were travelling with a child the flight attendant even gave us extra pretzels.
AircraftEmbraer ERJ 135
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrno to Munich
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"lack of a frequent flyer scheme"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have flown with BMI Regional from Bristol to Dusseldorf and return 5 times in the last 5 weeks and have previously used them on the BRS-FRA and BRS-HAM routes a couple of times each in 2016. I have not experienced any cancellations and the only delay I had was less than an hour (perhaps I was lucky). The prices are high, and do vary quite a lot, so are clearly aimed at business travellers. I suppose they have to in order to make money as none of the flights I've been on in 2016 have been anything like full. The "record" low number was a Friday night DUS-BRS which was run by the larger 47 seat Embraer RJ145 and had 12 people on board. Cabin crew are friendly and helpful, the snacks on board aren't great but they stock a good variety of drinks. My cabin-approved bag (for Easyjet etc) doesn't fit in the overhead bins nor under the seats so goes in the hold and is picked up at the foot of the aircraft steps after the flight. My only major gripe is the lack of a frequent flyer scheme, especially when most on board seem to fly these routes frequently.
AircraftEmbraer RJ145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to DUS
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 36 Reviews