Airline of the Year  

bmi Regional

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"flight attendant was very pleasant"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | I really like bmi Regional. On an hour long flight from Brno to Munich they offer free drinks and a tasty sandwich. The flight attendant was very pleasant and the seats are very comfortable with generous leg room that you wouldn't expect on such a small aircraft. On time departure and arrival. I would've appreciated more information about the route but other than that it was a great experience and I would travel with bmi Regional anytime. As we were travelling with a child the flight attendant even gave us extra pretzels.
AircraftEmbraer ERJ 135
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrno to Munich
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"lack of a frequent flyer scheme"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have flown with BMI Regional from Bristol to Dusseldorf and return 5 times in the last 5 weeks and have previously used them on the BRS-FRA and BRS-HAM routes a couple of times each in 2016. I have not experienced any cancellations and the only delay I had was less than an hour (perhaps I was lucky). The prices are high, and do vary quite a lot, so are clearly aimed at business travellers. I suppose they have to in order to make money as none of the flights I've been on in 2016 have been anything like full. The "record" low number was a Friday night DUS-BRS which was run by the larger 47 seat Embraer RJ145 and had 12 people on board. Cabin crew are friendly and helpful, the snacks on board aren't great but they stock a good variety of drinks. My cabin-approved bag (for Easyjet etc) doesn't fit in the overhead bins nor under the seats so goes in the hold and is picked up at the foot of the aircraft steps after the flight. My only major gripe is the lack of a frequent flyer scheme, especially when most on board seem to fly these routes frequently.
AircraftEmbraer RJ145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to DUS
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"return flight has been brought forward a whole 24 hours"

(United Kingdom)

In August I booked 2 seats for flights from Bristol to Hamburg leaving on the 23/12/16 and returning to Bristol from Hamburg on the 28/12/16. They were booked well in advance to avoid any problems booking seats closer to the Christmas period. On the 8/12/16 BMI Regional have informed me that the return flight has been brought forward a whole 24 hours to the 27/12/16, thus reducing a 5 day holiday to a 4 day break. As it is just the return flight affected only a refund would be given for that element, they are the only airline flying Hamburg to Bristol so I am effectively stuck with the reduced holiday or come back considerably later than originally booked. Next time when traveling to Hamburg I will not be travelling with the more expensive BMI from my local airport but will drive to Heathrow and use a more reputable airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to HAM
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the feel of a private jet"

(United Kingdom)

I flew BMI regional from Southampton to Munich on an Embraer RJ145. There was a total of nine passengers on this flight giving the feel of a private jet instead of a small airliner. Complimentary ham roll and coffee served. Crew fine. Left and arrived on time.
AircraftEmbraer RJ145
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSOU to MUC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"failure to deliver"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | BMI is, in my opinion the worst airline out there. I fly around 25 times per year, mainly between Bristol and Aberdeen. It has become apparent, certainly since the most recent owners, that they really have no grasp of running a passenger airline. The flight yesterday is only the most recent example of failure to deliver (failure happens with unbelievable regularity). It seems to be becoming increasingly acceptable to BMI announce a 2 hour delay's. Note that this is around the same time it would take to drive to Edinburgh (anyone fancy a reasonably reliable departure to Bristol at a third of the price?). I have had enough of it. I collared someone who works for BMI and the response was "I know, its embarrassing, what can we do?
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteABZ to BRS
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"customer service is not good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Regularly use BMI regional to travel between Bristol and Munich for work. Price for flight is usually exceptionally high when compared to other airlines - unless you can get a ticket in one of their sales. Flights often delayed or cancelled with little notice. Flight schedules changed after booking, with up to 3 months delay in airline notifying of the schedule change. Customer service is not good, only able to provide generic half hearted apologies or request you put it in writing - which takes several weeks to get a response and is usually just a generic 'thanks for your feedback' with no real answer to questions. On board magazine and website states that food selection on board is a 'bistro box' however, this is rarely the case, some flights you are lucky to get a small packet of crisps. On the plus side, cabin crew are friendly and helpful, seats are relatively roomy for a small aircraft, and Bristol airport is more convenient than some of the larger airports.
AircraftEmbraer 145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to MUC
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Shambles with bmi Regional. Had to change aircraft on way from Bristol to Paris because the pilot announced that the aircraft had been serviced in Portugal. Explaining that it's like getting your car serviced 'it comes back with more problems than it had when it went in'. Waiting for return from Paris to Bristol and 30 mins before departure told that flight is cancelled. IBIS and flight tomorrow is the best they can do. Don't believe they'll manage this either. Avoid at all costs. I will never use them again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to CDG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"chop and change routes"

(Switzerland)

Not a bad airline but there are certain things that people should be made aware about them. They constantly chop and change routes meaning that you can book a flight thinking that you will be going a certain time but then emailed to tell you later that that flight no longer operates. This happened to me. I had to book a hotel and take a half day off work at the last minute simply because they had changed their route times. Staff are good, planes comfortable if a little long in the tooth. Could do with some upgrading inside. I used to fly with bmi many years ago on exact same planes! They have not changed any at all! Snack and drink included but prices are not the cheapest and on some routes simply expensive. All in, decent airline. Had better though but also had worse.
AircraftERJ-145
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to ABZ
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I have finally given up"

(United Kingdom)

I have flown with bmi Regional a number of times for business in Aberdeen from Bristol. 75% of the time the flight is delayed. This means it is impossible to plan business meetings as they are so unreliable and completely defeats the purpose of a regional airline. After sticking with them for so long I have finally given up and will not use them again instead opting for an alternative route. Would not recommend unless timing is not important to you.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRS to ABZ
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"only two flights were on time"

(Germany)

I am travelling for business reasons fairly regularly with bmi Regional on the route from Hamburg to Bristol and back. With all the flights I have done over the last 4 months I can say that only two flights were on time. Otherwise I had between at least 30 minutes to 2.5 hours delay or even a cancellation. This consistency of delay is honestly speaking not acceptable because it is on such a regular basis that it can only be considered as accepted by the airline because they don't seem to do anything about it to make a change.
AircraftEmbraer 145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHamburg to Bristol
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews