bmi Regional

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"enjoyed the small plane experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Stansted to Derry . Nice old fashioned regional airline! No extra charges for baggage, reserved seats or emergency exits. Comfortable regional jet in 1-2 configuration and plenty of leg room. Once flight attendant managed to serve the whole cabin with a complementary drink and snack an hour, offering second drinks before we landed. Very different to what we have become used to with other, larger airlines! The Embraer jet is small, and no it was not brand new but it departed and arrived on time and all in all, I enjoyed the small plane experience - no crowds, more leg room and a nice free G&T. I would recommend bmi Regional without hesitation.
AircraftEmbraer E145
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Derry
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Your Flight is cancelled"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were due to fly out from Stansted to Derry on 28th May. We woke at 05:00 to find we had received a text cancelling our flight. No explanation or excuse was given, just a one liner "Your Flight is cancelled". When checking the website, the same was seen, no link, to what to do next, no sorry, no refund information, nothing, a big fat zero. And now some 14 days later, having emailed asking for a refund, which I must assume is due, we've heard nothing. We managed to book for the next day with Easyjet, at a cheaper rate for 5 of us. However we are out of pocket, as an addition to getting no refund to date, we've also not been offered any compensation, like the cancellation fee for our car hire, the cost of hiring another car and travelling a greater distance into an alternative airport, to say nothing of the inconvenience of taking time to make another booking for flights, car hire etc. BMI Regional's customer care is appalling, I will not be using them again, and suggest if you are considering it, don't!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Derry
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancellations routine"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | A last minute cancellation of our flight from Munich to Bristol meant our family of 4 (inc. a 2yo and a 6yo) was re-routed via Frankfurt. No explanation was given for the cancellation and we were already at the gate when we were notified. The Lufthansa Service desk staff described such cancellations as "routine" when they re-booked our flight. Our flight MUC-FRA (a Lufthansa service) was fine, but on reaching the gate for our flight FRA-BRS we were told that the next leg (a BMI Service) was cancelled because of technical problems. This was at 19:30. We should have already landed in BRS at 16:50. The kids were exhausted and ready for bed. We were offered either another BMI flight FRA-BRS the next afternoon or a Lufthansa flight to London Heathrow (the other side of the Country; helpful!) that evening. We chose Lufthansa to LHR, figuring that might actually work. Naturally BMI would not cover taxi or other transport back to BRS - that's apparently our problem. We eventually arrived at our final destination at 00:30 with 2 extremely tired children and 2 very grumpy, stressed and exhausted adults. Over 13h travel, door-to-door, for a "short" trip to Bristol! We will be avoiding BMI in future and sticking to Lufthansa, even if it does mean an extra drive across country from LHR.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Bristol
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a most efficient service"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Stansted to Derry. This is a most efficient service, with every aspect of it being handled professionally. I love being able to check a (large) bag in, and not having staff say that it is too big, too heavy etc. The air stewardess on my flight was so accommodating to people who had difficulties with managing the steps, and overall had a lovely disposition. The planes are never overcrowded on this Derry route, which makes for a pleasant and comfortable flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Derry
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Very poor communications"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Return flight to Bristol from Gothenberg 20/03/18 pulled, told incrementally 1-2 hours at a time of delays from midday until finally at 22.30 we were herded on to bus from gate to plane & promptly back again. Continual stories told by Menzies staff (no BMI staff at the airport)that planes were arriving from 3 airports. Told that the flight would change destination to Birmingham not Bristol, then reversed. 2300 told no flight, 2330 taken to overnight accommodation, told we would fly 0600 Gothenburg - Frankfurt. Arrived to find a 1 hour delay, flew from Frankfurt to Bristol. Very poor communications, rudeness from Menzies staff, lack of kindness to elderly, young babies, stressed customers missing connections/work/transport at destinations. Arrogant staff whose answer to angry customers was to call security rather than calm very patient but by then annoyed customers. Some meal vouchers eventually supplied were insufficient - 6 euros for 2 of us?! Further vouchers given too late at night & un-usable the next day. Lack of clear comms via customer care line, constantly engaged, phone staff poorly trained & no continuity, no return calls when requested, no records of complaints/claims kept, obscure signposting on website to complaints procedure, still waiting 15/05 for compensation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Gothenberg
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't care about customers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | East Midlands to Brussels. Customer services are not flexible at all and aggressive through the phone. Two weeks before the flight day I have contacted them to change a name on the ticket. Impossible because of company policy. This means I will fly with a seat free next to me. Even offering to pay for administrative fee or an additional return ticket. They don't care about customers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEast Midlands to Brussels
Date FlownMay 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Another last minute cancellation"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Brussels to East Midlands. Another last minute cancellation. Unfortunately BMI Regional does not value its customers sufficiently to even contact them and advise them of cancellations. Customer Service has not responded on any previous occasion and correspondence with the CEO is a waste of time and effort. Extremely frustrated by the total lack of customer appreciation or care.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to East Midlands
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience. We booked and paid in advance for my daughter to have an escorted flight from Hamburg to Bristol as she is only 13. When we arrived at the airport we were informed that this service was not available. We therefore had to remain at the airport until she was ready to board; however, having not expected to be in this situation and therefore not having our passports with us, we were unable to be with her in the boarding lounge. The flight was delayed by over 3 hours, so having arrived at 11:30hrs for a 13:20hrs flight, we ended up having to remain at the airport until 17:00hrs when her flight eventually boarded. During the interim period there was no information on what was happening with the flight or whether indeed it would leave that day until 20 minutes before boarding. When she arrived in Bristol, once again there was no escort available and she was escorted through by a steward from another airline. When I complained about the failure to honour the service booked and requested compensation, this was initially agreed by email, but the flight delay compensation refused. When I pointed out our statutory right this was then reversed and the only compensation for the flight delay paid, after nearly 2 months. They didn't even reimburse the cost of the meal, which we were entitled to due to the delay and refused to enter into any further correspondence once the flight delay compensation was paid.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHamburg to Bristol
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never been on time except once"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bristol to Aberdeen. I have flown with BMI regional like more than 12 times this year but the flight from Aberdeen to Bristol or back has never been on time except once. The most unreliable airline even when they eventually have a plan ready to flight passengers after delay, the process of getting passengers to plane is pedestrian.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Aberdeen
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"BMI did not tell the truth"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Munich to Bristol. Passengers were fed a cock & bull story about an excess weight problem for the flight meaning it would not be possible to land, as the weather conditions in Bristol were too bad (which later evidence showed had no foundation). This information came after being held on the bus at the gate at the airport for 40 mins waiting to be taken to the aircraft. Three volunteers (for a generous fee) were therefore asked to travel on the later plane. The plane was no where near full when it set off. On arrival at Bristol, at least 10 of the passengers' luggage had been left in Munich including mine. We were told the bags would be on the next flight and I was told mine would be with me that evening. When I chased that night, I was told there were no couriers available and it would come the following day. I called BMI customer service to find an explanation for the lack of honesty regarding the delay and problems with this flight and was told to complete an online form. The automated reply to this form said it would take up to 30 days to respond. Nothing after that time so I chased them. A further two weeks without contact and I had to call again. No alternative explanation could be given and no real apology proffered. I am left feeling that BMI did not tell the truth about issues with the flight, passengers were disrespected and the customer service follow up did not live up to what I would expect of this airline. Would not readily choose to fly with them again.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Bristol
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews