Biman Bangladesh Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
6/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"happy to use Biman again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dhaka to Rajshahi. Nice meal. Good crew. The boarding was quick. Flight was full. The crew provided food just after boarding and before engine start as it was early morning. Take off was smooth but the crew need to be more careful about showing safety instructions. Recommend Biman for short haul flights but their lavatory was not up to the mark. It has no tissue, it was clean but no tissue. However, happy to use Biman again.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Rajshahi
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"seat comfort is close to nothing"

(United Kingdom)

London to Sylhet. Check-in: There is no online check in system. As a family (with young children) we had pre-booked seats. At the Heathrow counter when I checked in they put three of us in three different seats and said because of some regulation (Front of aeroplane loaded with cargo) they have to put as many passengers towards the rear end and it's not possible to provide the seats together not even reserved ones. They suggested to talk to crew once the flight reaches the cruising altitude. When spoke to crew they didn't want to listen and understand. The crew members were least helpful and don't have any customer service skills. They are walking and eating their food before they serve the passengers. The food quality was poor and fixed menu. They don't have any vegetarian options and difficult to provide any dietary requirements. The seat comfort is close to nothing. The local buses in UK have comfortable seats compared to the Biman seats. 75% of inflight entertainment was broken. Fortunately I took my kids tablets or else the 11 hour flight would have been nightmare. There is no phone charging facility or wifi to purchase. The temperature was getting either too cold or too hot. They don't switch on the aircon before take off. I travelled with Biman after 16 years and I am a frequent flyer in different airlines. But this is probably the first and last time I will travel with them. The price of the tickets doesn't reflect the service they provide. They are not particularly any cheaper than other airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Sylhet
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Not meeting international standards"

(Bangladesh)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Dhaka. This is the worst management ever. There is no announcement of delays and the reason said afterward is that because of a VIP. Very unethical and totally violating customer rights on regular basis. Crews are not also well trained. Not meeting international standards.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Dhaka
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Absolutely abysmal"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Singapore to London via Dhaka. Absolutely abysmal. Flight was delayed by over 4 hours without any reason or announcement. Missed my connecting flight in Heathrow because of that. The service and food is okay, but the fact that the flight couldn't even leave on time is simply astonishing.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to London via Dhaka
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"There were no announcements"

(India)

Verified Review | I reached Dhaka from Delhi at 3 pm and my flight to Chittagong was at 7 pm. I went at 5pm to the counter to check in. The customer services people told me very curtly to come back at 6pm. When I went at 6pm, they said the flight was delayed by one hour. The personnel were busy lazing around, eating something in no uniform. Later when I went back to the counter they said there was a further delay. There were no announcements. This went on and on and finally the flight left at 10pm. I later came to know from others that this a regular situation with Biman Bangladesh airlines. For my return, I promptly cancelled my Biman flight and took a local one. The other private airlines are not listed on the web when we make the booking. So if you are planning to travel, then search for Novoair, US Bangla or Regent airways. Apparently, these are much better. I returned by US Bangla which was quite good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Chittagong
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Much more needs to be done"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Biman charges half of what renowned carriers charge for round trip Business Class fares between London and Dhaka through their hubs. Keeping that in mind and the fact that there is no change of aircraft required for this trip by Biman, you get a decent offering overall. B777-300ER aircraft is my favourite. Business Class cabin with 35 angle flat seats in a 2-3-2 configuration. Large PTVs with AVOD in Bangla, Hindi and English. Bilingual flight tracker provided. Some audio with Indian Classical Music would complete the package which included games for children. Decent headphones, blankets and pillows. Amenity kit consisted of eye shades and socks only. Plenty of food choices. Second service was as substantial as the first. However, presentation of the meal service was awful. FAs needed to remove all plastic and foil wraps from serving dishes, and neatly arrange the meal tray before bringing it to the passengers. Being a dry airline, Biman needed to excel in its soft drinks service. Fruit juices of very poor quality and quantity. I expect larger glasses with bigger servings and refills without having to ask. Orange should taste like freshly squeezed in Business Class. Regular black tea served was of very poor quality. FA should never simply dish out coke and sprite cans to Business Class passengers. Such drinks should be served in glasses (with optional ice) brought from the galley. FAs consisted of two ladies and two gentlemen (one being the purser). The ladies did all the work while the men loitered around the galley. The female FAs thus struggled to perform their duties and then go above and beyond with any personal touches like asking about extra drinks or food. Such personal touches were completely missing. The ladies looked fantastic in their sari uniforms. The men had poor personal grooming with tired looking outfits. Male FAs need to have fresh new South Asian inspired uniforms and training in better grooming and appearance. Lounge access was provided at the beginning of both trips. Mildly scented hot towel and newspaper provided upon taking seats. Juice provided to welcome everyone. The airline caters quite well to a Bangladeshi clientele. Much more needs to be done in terms of beverage service if to attract more international travellers.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Dhaka
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Really enjoyed Biman"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kathmandu to Dhaka Business Class. Figured we would pay the extra to fly Business Class and it was the best decision ever! Check-in by a new agent so it took some time but bags tagged with Biz Class tag and given access to the lounge at KTM airport. Nice food spread and drinks, just no views of the airport. Went through security and it's a mob-scene at the gates. Many flights leaving at the same time (early afternoon) so it was hot and crowded. Boarded by bus to the plane and welcomed by the flight attendants graciously. Excellent service - one of the best flights ever. Row 1 A/B - massive amounts of leg-room on a leased 737-800. FA's apologized as their own 737-800s have in-seat video, but we didn't mind. The service from boarding to deplaning was second to none. We were the only passengers in Business. Take off gave amazing views of Kathmandu, and to our luck the route took us along the Himalays and we had fantastic views of Mt. Everest! Meal was delicious served on china with plentiful drinks provided. The FA's talked with us about what to see in Dhaka on our short visit there and kept us entertained on the flight. Landed a bit late and bags came out quickly after getting our visa on arrival. Really enjoyed Biman - and would like to fly them long-haul and see how they are in the 777-300 Biz class
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKathmandu to Dhaka
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"last journey on your airline"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | Dhaka to Kuala Lumpur. This was my worst journey ever. My flight was supposed to be at 9:15 am. So I arrived at the airport. First impression came while getting my boarding pass. There was no systematic organisation in the booth, the lines were all haywire and since there was no barricade people were just dodging in between the lines. The flight was then delayed to 2pm. Lets agree to the accept the delay, but by now I have decided never to use this airlines. What provoked me to give this review was that the flight was further delayed to 4pm. Thank you biman Bangladesh. This is the last journey on your airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"friendly with no fake smiles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Dhaka via Sylhet with Biman Bangladesh. Flight attendants were caring and friendly with no fake smiles. Economy cabin laid out in 3-3-3 seating configuration in economy which was a plus point due to wider seats. Beverage service consisted of one or two types of juice, coke or sprite with no real choices offered. Stingy in servings. They served you whatever they felt like. Main dish in the dinner service consisted of Bangladeshi curries with multiple choices (chicken, fish and vegetarian) which were unknown to most passengers. No menus provided. They served you the meat one assuming that is what you wanted. Tea and coffee served in very small portions. Portions of main dish needed to be increased and accompaniments like salad needed to be bigger and more imaginative. Plastic cutlery and paper cups were cheap. AVOD entertainment provided in seat back PTVs. Bengali entertainment was accompanied by Bollywood, Hollywood and American popular culture. Kids had games to play and moving map was provided both in Bangla and English. Breakfast before landing in Sylhet was very filling. Majority of passengers disembarked in Sylhet availing themselves of a convenient 9:30 minutes journey home from London. Small snacks provided on the 25 minute flight to Dhaka.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dhaka via Sylhet
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"depend on Biman to be late"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Dhaka to Toronto via London. My 21 hour trip took me 45 hours only because Biman Bangladesh was 2 hours late and I along with 9 others missed the connecting Air Canada flight from London. Their response at the service desk was "go home" and "the next flight is 17 hours away, you are responsible to book the flight, and since you cannot stay inside the airport, you have to find your own accommodation". When me and the other passengers started to talk about rights as a passengers, then they supposedly booked the flight, and after further arguement they agreed to provide accommodation. The Biman agents at the check in was really rude. Their comment was "Biman is always late, I don't understand why other airlines gives us as connecting flight." Well that's because Biman never posts their delayed time online. If Biman is always late, I don't understand why not just adjust the schedule. There was an unannounced transit of an hour in Sylhet, where the cleaning crew stayed cleaning with vacuum while the passengers were on the plane. Put the blankets in a garbage bag and shoved the bag in the washroom floor with their feet. The inflight food and entertainment was terrible. But that's not a deal breaker for me since I prefer to sleep anyway. In summary, you can always depend on Biman to be late, be treated as if they are doing you a favour, and the only thing I heard and agree with is "never again with Biman".
AircraftBoeing 773
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to London
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 65 Reviews