Biman Bangladesh Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 60 reviews
6/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"Much more needs to be done"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Biman charges half of what renowned carriers charge for round trip Business Class fares between London and Dhaka through their hubs. Keeping that in mind and the fact that there is no change of aircraft required for this trip by Biman, you get a decent offering overall. B777-300ER aircraft is my favourite. Business Class cabin with 35 angle flat seats in a 2-3-2 configuration. Large PTVs with AVOD in Bangla, Hindi and English. Bilingual flight tracker provided. Some audio with Indian Classical Music would complete the package which included games for children. Decent headphones, blankets and pillows. Amenity kit consisted of eye shades and socks only. Plenty of food choices. Second service was as substantial as the first. However, presentation of the meal service was awful. FAs needed to remove all plastic and foil wraps from serving dishes, and neatly arrange the meal tray before bringing it to the passengers. Being a dry airline, Biman needed to excel in its soft drinks service. Fruit juices of very poor quality and quantity. I expect larger glasses with bigger servings and refills without having to ask. Orange should taste like freshly squeezed in Business Class. Regular black tea served was of very poor quality. FA should never simply dish out coke and sprite cans to Business Class passengers. Such drinks should be served in glasses (with optional ice) brought from the galley. FAs consisted of two ladies and two gentlemen (one being the purser). The ladies did all the work while the men loitered around the galley. The female FAs thus struggled to perform their duties and then go above and beyond with any personal touches like asking about extra drinks or food. Such personal touches were completely missing. The ladies looked fantastic in their sari uniforms. The men had poor personal grooming with tired looking outfits. Male FAs need to have fresh new South Asian inspired uniforms and training in better grooming and appearance. Lounge access was provided at the beginning of both trips. Mildly scented hot towel and newspaper provided upon taking seats. Juice provided to welcome everyone. The airline caters quite well to a Bangladeshi clientele. Much more needs to be done in terms of beverage service if to attract more international travellers.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Dhaka
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Really enjoyed Biman"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kathmandu to Dhaka Business Class. Figured we would pay the extra to fly Business Class and it was the best decision ever! Check-in by a new agent so it took some time but bags tagged with Biz Class tag and given access to the lounge at KTM airport. Nice food spread and drinks, just no views of the airport. Went through security and it's a mob-scene at the gates. Many flights leaving at the same time (early afternoon) so it was hot and crowded. Boarded by bus to the plane and welcomed by the flight attendants graciously. Excellent service - one of the best flights ever. Row 1 A/B - massive amounts of leg-room on a leased 737-800. FA's apologized as their own 737-800s have in-seat video, but we didn't mind. The service from boarding to deplaning was second to none. We were the only passengers in Business. Take off gave amazing views of Kathmandu, and to our luck the route took us along the Himalays and we had fantastic views of Mt. Everest! Meal was delicious served on china with plentiful drinks provided. The FA's talked with us about what to see in Dhaka on our short visit there and kept us entertained on the flight. Landed a bit late and bags came out quickly after getting our visa on arrival. Really enjoyed Biman - and would like to fly them long-haul and see how they are in the 777-300 Biz class
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKathmandu to Dhaka
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"last journey on your airline"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | Dhaka to Kuala Lumpur. This was my worst journey ever. My flight was supposed to be at 9:15 am. So I arrived at the airport. First impression came while getting my boarding pass. There was no systematic organisation in the booth, the lines were all haywire and since there was no barricade people were just dodging in between the lines. The flight was then delayed to 2pm. Lets agree to the accept the delay, but by now I have decided never to use this airlines. What provoked me to give this review was that the flight was further delayed to 4pm. Thank you biman Bangladesh. This is the last journey on your airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"friendly with no fake smiles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Dhaka via Sylhet with Biman Bangladesh. Flight attendants were caring and friendly with no fake smiles. Economy cabin laid out in 3-3-3 seating configuration in economy which was a plus point due to wider seats. Beverage service consisted of one or two types of juice, coke or sprite with no real choices offered. Stingy in servings. They served you whatever they felt like. Main dish in the dinner service consisted of Bangladeshi curries with multiple choices (chicken, fish and vegetarian) which were unknown to most passengers. No menus provided. They served you the meat one assuming that is what you wanted. Tea and coffee served in very small portions. Portions of main dish needed to be increased and accompaniments like salad needed to be bigger and more imaginative. Plastic cutlery and paper cups were cheap. AVOD entertainment provided in seat back PTVs. Bengali entertainment was accompanied by Bollywood, Hollywood and American popular culture. Kids had games to play and moving map was provided both in Bangla and English. Breakfast before landing in Sylhet was very filling. Majority of passengers disembarked in Sylhet availing themselves of a convenient 9:30 minutes journey home from London. Small snacks provided on the 25 minute flight to Dhaka.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dhaka via Sylhet
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"depend on Biman to be late"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Dhaka to Toronto via London. My 21 hour trip took me 45 hours only because Biman Bangladesh was 2 hours late and I along with 9 others missed the connecting Air Canada flight from London. Their response at the service desk was "go home" and "the next flight is 17 hours away, you are responsible to book the flight, and since you cannot stay inside the airport, you have to find your own accommodation". When me and the other passengers started to talk about rights as a passengers, then they supposedly booked the flight, and after further arguement they agreed to provide accommodation. The Biman agents at the check in was really rude. Their comment was "Biman is always late, I don't understand why other airlines gives us as connecting flight." Well that's because Biman never posts their delayed time online. If Biman is always late, I don't understand why not just adjust the schedule. There was an unannounced transit of an hour in Sylhet, where the cleaning crew stayed cleaning with vacuum while the passengers were on the plane. Put the blankets in a garbage bag and shoved the bag in the washroom floor with their feet. The inflight food and entertainment was terrible. But that's not a deal breaker for me since I prefer to sleep anyway. In summary, you can always depend on Biman to be late, be treated as if they are doing you a favour, and the only thing I heard and agree with is "never again with Biman".
AircraftBoeing 773
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to London
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"flight in Business Class was average"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | My flight from Dhaka to Thailand in Business Class was average. I like travelling by Biman but maybe that is because I haven't experienced delays as much and I was lucky that way. However, I wouldn't pay to be on Biman's Business Class. This flight was bought for me so I did not care too much, but for those of you who are considering paying for Business Class, please consider the following points: 1) You will not enjoy the in-flight entertainment system that they have. I played 'Dolly Parton' the whole flight as I couldn't find a better option. 2) The interior of the cabin (starting from the lounge) will make you feel like you have traveled back in time to the 70s. Even the china used for the flight somehow feels very old and not in a classy vintage way. 3) The food was very average. The prawn salad tasted bland. Whoever the chef was did not do a good job with it. They could have done a better menu. The food served in economy class on my way back from Thailand tasted much much better. 4) The hot towels served during the flight lacked moisture. They just handed out warm dry towels which was pointless. Luckily, it was a short flight and being a clear day, I could look down and enjoy the sight below. Otherwise I would have been bored out of my wits. Good points: 1) It was spacious and the seats were not so bad. 2) The service provided by the staff was nice. 3) The dessert that they served was excellent.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDAC to BKK
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"happy to fly with Biman"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | Dhaka to Rakshahi, the flight was on time. The cabin crew were helpful specially for my kid. Food was nice. The ground staffs were also good at Rajshahi airport. The flight was before EID-UL-Azha. I am happy to fly with Biman, and the aircraft was also clean and fresh.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAC to RJH
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"food was terrible"

(United Kingdom)

heathrow to Sylhet with Biman Bangladesh and without doubt one of the worst airlines I've experienced. PTV broken and asked 10 times for it to be fixed without any luck. Staff look like they would rather be doing something else rather than working. Food was terrible, served soft drinks in paper cups so you aren't able to ask for anything but water during non meal times. The return flight from Dhaka to Heathrow was just as bad if not worse, staff woke us to be served our food instead of just placing it on our tables like a normal airline would do. Truly terrible service. Shame it's the only airline to offer direct flights.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ZYL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew always had a smile"

(Australia)

Flew Biman Bangladesh Airlines from Dhaka to London. Slow but friendly service, good food. Comfortable newish aircraft. Great value for money. Approximately 20 minutes delayed departure, but arrived on time. Facilities were clean and crew always had a smile. Would definitely fly again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAC to LHR
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"seats quite comfortable"

(Singapore)

Biman Bangladesh from Singapore to Chittagong via Dhaka. The flight to Dhaka was operated by Boeing 737. The aircraft was new, only a few weeks old, but I felt the seat pitch was short. IFE was reasonable. Meals could have been better. Check-in at Singapore was ok. Cabin crew was also ok. The baggage took a long long time to arrive at Dhaka. Dhaka to Chittagong operated by Boeing 777-300 was delayed by 3 hours. Quite frustrating wait at the domestic lounge, where the only snacks stall had run out of food. Had to go out of the terminal to get some food. However, the aircraft was quite good. Seats were quite comfortable.
AircraftBoeing 737 / 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to CGP via DAC
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 60 Reviews