Top 100 Airlines  

Bahamasair

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"service was awful"

(United States)

On a 35 minute flight from Miami to Nassau we had an hour delay on the way in and 3.5 hours delay on the way back. No explanation was provided at all. Company did not even provide bottled water for the longest delay despite the fact that all the shops in the airport at Nassau shut down at 6pm and there was nowhere to buy even water. Service was awful too with moody and bad attitude stewardesses. For a premium flight of over $300 for a 35 minutes flight, the experience is definitely not deserved.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMIA to NAS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"smiling and friendly crew"

(Turks and Caicos Islands)

Nassau to Providenciales with Bahamasair. Amazing Service. Smiling and friendly crew. We flew on Bahamasair to come back home after a Christmas holiday. The flight was delayed a bit due but other than that it was great. The flight was 1 hour and 25 minutes. While airborne the flight attendant came around offering water, tea and coffee. I love to fly with Bahamasair.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNAS to PLS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service do not give updates"

(Bahamas)

Freeport to Nassau with Bahamasair. Initial flight from Nassau was delayed by 3 hours from 6:30 pm to 9:30pm and the returning flight was scheduled at 6:45pm and at 10:15pm I am still in the terminal. Customer service representatives do not even give updates and the airline does not seem able to stick to basic principles of time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFPO to NAS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"lacking in professionalism"

(United States)

Verified Review | Just as most of the other reviewers stated, Bahamasair is just so lacking in professionalism. But there is not much competition, so they continue to perform without caring. We sat in Marsh Harbor this past Sunday for seven hours waiting for our flight to West Palm Beach to show up. No explanation and no help from the airline employees. (To be fair, they did give us an $8 voucher to be used at the airport café.) Of course we missed our flight out of West Palm to Boston - no help given to us for the inconvenience. Just so frustrating especially when checking in to the Holiday Inn West Palm to find other airline's 'distressed passengers' with credit vouchers to be used for food/hotel/expenses. Also, our flight to Marsh Harbor was delayed, but only by one hour - which I think is great for Bahamasair - hardly worth mentioning. We love the Bahamas but will have to avoid them in the future if Bahamasair is the only option.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMHH to PBI
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"surprisingly had plenty of legroom"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Bahamasair round trip from Fort Lauderdale to Freeport on 03/22/2016 and 03/28/2016. Both inbound and outbound flights were on new ATR72-600. Slight delays (no more than 45 minutes) on each leg. This aircraft was very clean and surprisingly had plenty of legroom for a turboprop plane that seats 60 passengers. Other than on takeoff and landing, the cabin is very quiet once in the air. There was no need to use the Bose QC20 noise cancelling headphones. This is a rather short flight less than 1/2 hour.
AircraftATR72-600
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFLL to FPO
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"how badly-run this airline is"

(United States)

Words can not express how badly-run this airline is (especially after a natural disaster). Booked medical trip to Miami on Fri to pick up critical medicine unavailable in Nassau. Hurricane changed course on Wed and hit Bahamas on Thurs. By Wed noon, all offices were shut and supermarkets empty of stock. In their rush, Air Bahamas forgot to update their flight schedules. I had the "joy" of trying to convince the booking agent in the US that my intended flight very early on Fri morning would not fly because they checked and the web server gave them "normal status" for this flight. Urging them to check with the weather station was a fruitless exercise. Hurricane hit Thurs morning; went to airport at 5 am Fri. Told to come back at 9am when flights would resume. Came and was told that I could catch a plane to FLL at 11am. Thought that this was sufficient time. Plane took off after noon and took hours to get through US Customs. Barely made it to the pharmacy before it shut during the weekend. Coming back was another story. Supposed to fly out on Fri night. Had to stay Fri night at dodgy hotel at my own expense. Spent all of Sat going from one gate to another, having to go through security each time. No meals or drink provided by airline. Finally, late Sat night, we got news that we could board a flight to Nassau. All lined up and then told we could not board because someone forgot to turn on the landing lights at Nassau airport. Another night at a bleak hotel at my expense. Returned early Sun and spent another day going from gate to gate, trying to get on a flight. Finally, around midnight, a flight was available. Spoke with people sitting in that particular lounge - they were waiting since 6am. Gate agents worked furiously to get everyone aboard - if I felt sorry for anyone, it was them. Took off around 1:30 and landed around 2am to a almost deserted airport, A security guard at Nassau airport asked me which flight came in, I told her "BahamasAir". She did not look surprised; she told me that they regularly come in that late. Complained to Bahamasair where I was passed from one person to another until I was given the email of one of the managers - sent her an email but, of course, no reply.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMIA to NAS
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just don't seem to care"

(United States)

Bahamasair is always late so if you don't mind sitting hours in the airport this is for you ! We flew Bahamasair before and it was delayed for 2 hours going and then 4 hours coming home. Doesn't help to check either because it was posted on time. So I said never again. So I did know better, but since they don't charge for you luggage we thought we would try one more time. My advice pay for the suitcase! Our flight delayed for almost 2 hours - I can understand some delays but we even asked and the guy that checked us he just smiled and said no, not delayed this time. Oh and they threaten to not let you on the plane if you are not there two hours before (we had that last time and we were the an hour and 45 minutes ahead) so we are there two hours before - only to go through security and 5 minutes later our flight is delayed an hour. It turned out to be one and a half. It is only a half hour direct flight to Nassau. Missing a luggage again. They will send it to your hotel - no big deal to them. We did get it, although not when they said we would. Flying back, get told as we check in flight is delayed an hour - even though it is posted everywhere as on time. They tell us our plane is at gate, just going thru safety checks and we will be boarding soon after the hour delay. I you enjoy spending 5 hours in a airport for a half hour flight this is for you. They just don't seem to care.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFLL to NAS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service totally lacks"

(United States)

Fort Lauderdale to Grand Bahama Island with Bahamasair, and one of the worst I have flown. Customer service totally lacks. Only one flight on Saturday and our plane got delayed in Tampa, missed flight. Had to pay huge change fee and they did not offer a refund or help. Never use this airline!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFLL to FPO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unconcerned about our comfort"

(United States)

West Palm Beach to Marsh Harbour with Bahamasair. 3.5 hour delay getting out of Marsh Harbor on Saturday. Had to rebook and pay up charge on connecting flights. Staff kept telling us flight had left Nassau to come to MH but flight aware showed it had not left. They left our luggage in the rain and were slow to respond to our pleas to get them out of the rain. Staff appeared totally unconcerned about our comfort, our luggage or communicating truthfully with us.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWest Palm Beach to Marsh Harbour
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I would rather swim"

(Bahamas)

Another example why Bahamasair monopoly structure lead to high prices combined with bad service. Second flight. Second delay of hours without any information. Before I have to fly a third time with Bahamasair I would rather swim the 200 miles to Miami. Quicker.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNassau to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews