Top 100 Airlines  

Azerbaijan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 44 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"good service onboard"

(Azerbaijan)

Verified Review | I was travelling from Heydar Aliyev Airport to Antalya. Was a able to book very cheap ticket in March for flight in July. Allowed cabin baggage was 10 kg - great for solo travelers. Comfortable flight, good service on-board, no delays and friendly staff. Recommend and will choose next time.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGYD to AYT
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"crew is polite and professional"

(Lithuania)

Verified Review | Baku to Istanbul. The tickets were far cheaper and flight times were more convenient (daytime, not too early in the morning). I did mobile check-in but I also used the counter for luggage check-in. On way forward I checked-in my luggage for 30USD fee (my original ticket did not have luggage included). I had an allowance of 10kg cabin luggage, so I chose not to check-in my luggage on the way back - 10kg is really plenty (especially for business trips). The plane was new, clean and comfortable. The crew is polite and professional. I did not expect to receive free meal, but this airline provides catering and for IST-baku leg I got a very tasty hot meal plus selection of alcoholic drinks. On the way back breakfast were provided. Coffee and tea service is also provided (only downside - there is no milk/cream for coffee). I would not hesitate to fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGYD to IST
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"surprised how good this airline was"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Baku. I decided to fly Azerbaijan Airlines instead of another airline and I was very pleasantly surprised how good this airline was. I had 10kg cabin luggage allowance which was really plenty! The plane was new and clean. I also did not expect the free meal service, but it was excellent - hot meal with alcoholic drinks. Food was really fantastic. I would not hesitate to fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIST to GYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York to Tel Aviv via Baku. A very pleasant experience. I originally selected Azerbaijan Airlines for its low price alone. I was not expecting a great experience and that was OK for the money saved. However, the flight was very pleasant overall. There were no delays, the planes were clean and well kept, the food was good and the air crews were friendly. Heydar Aliyev airport in Baku is beautiful. Clean and looks new. If you are willing to put up with a longer overall flight to Tel Aviv from NYC in exchange for a lower fare, Azerbaijan Airlines is a very good choice. The only downsides are no in-flight wifi and the entertainment selection could be more current. On the plus side, the 787 that they fly for the long haul to Baku does have individual USB ports to keep a phone charged so you could download a movie you want beforehand and watch it without your phone dying. The B757 that you transfer to to go from Baku to Tel Aviv is pretty basic but they do feed you and that leg of the trip is short.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to TLV via GYD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very comfortable seats"

(Israel)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to New York JFK via Baku return with Azerbaijan Airlines. Excellent service and also the plane. Kosher food is not special. Very comfortable seats on the Boeing 787 aircraft. Flight entertainment quite okay, flight attendants with excellent service. And wait in Baku pretty good.
AircraftBoeing 787-8 / 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to JFK via GYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"food was tasty and pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

This was my first time with Azerbaijan Airlines flying from Dubai to London Heathrow via Baku and I was pleasantly surprised. All the usual expectations of an airline on long haul, reclining seats, variety of TV channels / films (OK my wife's didn't work but she had her book anyway) etc. The food was tasty and pleasant. Staff, seemed helpful and friendly, but to date (5 weeks later) we are still no further sorting the APD refund that is due following the UK Chancellor's decision to scrap APDs for U16s (my son) and stating refunds from airlines would be refunded. Well Azerbaijan Airlines to date don't seem to want to know.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to LHR via GYD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no clear explanation"

(Turkey)

I came from Tbilisi to Baku with Azerbaijan Airlines on 16/2/2016 and my flight delayed 4 hour 20 minutes. There was no clear explanation about the delay and when I asked a staff member they told me that they did not know why there was a delay. They did not offer any food or drink during the long wait. Finally when they took us to plane I asked for a coffee which they told me that I needed to pay for. An awful experience.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTBS to GYD
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the seats are not lie-flat"

(United Kingdom)

Azerbaijan Airlines from Baku to London. I was a little confused at Baku airport as I couldn't find any Business Class check in but the regular desks were quiet so no big deal. No priority baggage tag. The AZAL lounge in Baku is comfortable with self service bar and a few snacks but no hot food. The aircraft is quite new and Business Class was arranged 2-3-2. There were only about 8 passengers in the cabin on my flight. The crew were very attentive and friendly. I usually enjoy AZAL food but this flight's food was dry and not very tasty - though you do get a lot. Good bar service with lots of choice. The IFE on AZAL is pretty poor. I found there was lots of leg room but the seats are not lie-flat and by the time I got to London, I'd had enough! Flight arrived on time and the luggage was off the aircraft fairly quickly. All in all a good flight, though not exceptional, and much cheaper than BA's business class tickets on this route.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGYD to LHR
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"fly with them again"

(Azerbaijan)

Istanbul Ataturk to Baku with Azerbaijan Airlines. Despite having high prices AZAL offers good product especially on this route. AZAL does not allow you to purchase tickets online (with plastic cards) if it is not issued under passenger's name. They also stated "AZAL holds right to check authenticity of plastic cards during check in and/or boarding". In my case my parents wanted purchase this ticket but according to this they could not do it online. They personally went their office in Baku and purchased it. And AZAL added office fee. This is user unfriendly rule - Online check in was smooth. The flight was half empty so I could choose seat 12A. I had bicycle to transfer to Baku. According to AZAL's rules passengers can carry 1 piece sport equipment free of charge. In Ataturk airport staff seemed not to know this rule. I argued a bit then they take my mountain bike free of charge. It was handled gently which made me satisfied. The flight scheduled to depart at 12:20. This period used to be pretty busy at IST airport but we departed on time. The flight was operated by 5 years old Boeing 767-300er. The aircraft was showing its age but perfectly maintained. Seat was comfortable and legroom was ok for 2.5 hours flight. Seat next to me was empty which gave me more comfort. Cleanliness of lavatory was fine too. Crew distributed hot towels and headsets before take off. Complimentary food and drinks served onboard. Drink service started shortly after take off. They offered different soft drinks, biscuits and crackers. Lunch service followed. They did not have menus. Lunch consisted of buckwheat and meat balls with tomato sauce, fresh vegetable salad, 3 pieces of cheese, a piece of cake. Soft and alcoholic beverages also served. During lunch they also served tea with lemon. Usually Azerbaijani people prefer to have their dessert with tea. So very nice touch by AZAL! Inflight entertainment well below my expectations and general standards. Seat pocket items were just safety card and Azerbaijan Airlines magazine. The magazine mostly contained articles about BAKU2015 first European games which is not so fun for those who do not have any interest to sports just like me. I had a seat-back screen but it did not entertain me that much. IFE contained pretty old movies and screen was sometimes not sensitive at all. So IFE was the worst part of flying experience. We landed on time and I had my luggage shortly. I would recommend AZAL and would fly with them again. But I hope next time better cabin crew and IFE will be there.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Routeİstanbul to Baku
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasant service throughout"

(United Kingdom)

Azerbaijan Airlines ran a very smooth service from London to Baku. Check-in was straightforward and they arranged for me to have an emergency exit seat with superb legroom. The staff were very friendly and provided pleasant service throughout, not disturbing me on an overnight flight. The drinks offering lacked good wine sadly, but this did not detract from the overall experience. The kosher meal I had was virtually a banquet, and the quality was excellent. We landed ahead of schedule and had a very smooth visa registration process in Baku. I was pleasantly impressed by the service and would gladly travel with AZAL again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Baku
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews