Azerbaijan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 53 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"outstanding comfort and relaxation"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was my 2nd trip on Azerbaijan Airlines, had a previous trip in December of 2015, New York JFK - Baku - Tbilisi - Baku - New York JFK. On all 4 legs of my trip it was a fantastic experience as both the Cockpit and Cabin crews did an outstanding job and provided an outstanding comfort and relaxation. Baku and Hayden Airport are world class with very friendly people, my family and I will always travel to Tbilisi via Baku all the time as we always get a fantastic flight with a very professional crew all around hands down. Thank You for a great experience again as we traveled on September 25 2017 and returned on October 28 2017. I encourage other family and friends to fly Azerbaijan Airlines whenever they travel towards Georgia and other points in the region.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTbilisi to New York JFK via Baku
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"a little lacklustre"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had high expectations of Azerbaijan Airlines, after reading reviews on the internet. Unfortunately the overall experience was a little lackluster. The IFE did not work and the crew seemed to be moody and unwilling to do anything. When it came to food, although hot it did not taste very nice at all, I also put a 'wake me up' sticker on my seat which involved a member of the crew shoving my bag a few times in order to wake me up, then quite literally be rude and ask chicken or beef (limited food choice). Towards the rear of the aircraft all the arm rest seats were broken, this was annoying as the flight was not full and being a solo passenger I had a row to myself which I could not use. The return leg was marginally better, a full flight due to a cancellation the previous delay. The IFE was awfully outdated and very slow to load. I did manage to watch something which was good. The crew here were more attentive and actually seemed to enjoy bring on the flight. I would only recommend this airline if you prefer to flight direct to Azerbaijan.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Baku
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I will recommend the airline"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Lviv to Baku. I bought ticket 5 months earlier and it was cheap price (84EUR return). When we arrived at Lviv airport we've realised that our flight is the last flight of a day, so airport wasn't busy at all. Boarding was quick and comfortable, cause there wasn't much passengers on this flight (more than half of seats was unoccupied). Flight took about 4 hours, and because of low occupancy I can lied on 3 seats in row, so I slept about 2,5h-3h of flight. Stewardesses were the most polite and friendly airplane stuff I've ever met. There were absolutly no problems with getting additional blankets or something to drink (free of curse). In flight entertainment system was headphones with sort of a MP3 player in armrest and TV screen for every 6 seats. It was surprising, because I've never seen on such short flights IFE in economy. The only one problem was that wifi didn't worked at all. We landed on time at Baku airport (about 4am). It not took much time to get out of terminal and enter bus that took us direcktly to city center. Interesting thing about this airline is that on wide body jets AZAL have strange numeration - on the left seats are ABC (like normally), but on the right they have letters JKL (where normally is DEF) - this made me a little bit confused (first time seen something like that). Ending, I honestly can say that I will recommend the airline to enybody - it is great quality for cheap price.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLviv to Baku
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"no smiles and not friendly"

(Kuwait)

Verified Review | New York to Dubai via Baku. It's good in general. Crew works hard, but no smiles and not friendly. Seats were comfortable but the cabin was very hot. I was getting hot and sweating. I asked the crew to turn the aircon down and they did at a minimum level, which was OK. They gave lots of food.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Dubai via Baku
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"suitcases had zippers destroyed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kiev to New York via Baku. Worst airline I ever flew with. Flight attendants stressed, staff ran out of food twice during the same flight and the majority of ground staff is plainly rude. But the worse came when we picked up our luggage in JFK (it was a Monday at 9:30am): both suitcases had their zippers destroyed, which meant we couldn't use them any more. When we approached their ground staff at their check-in counter, they threw a fit. One lady yelled at us saying it was useless for us to complain, that it was the Baku airport security's fault. Really not the outcome we expected when we paid for our tickets. The manager gave us an email address for us to direct out claim. We sent pictures of the suitcases and our boarding passes, plus a detailed explanation of what occurred. It has been a week and no response whatsoever. Maybe it was just a way for him to get us to leave the check-in counter as soon as possible?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKiev to New York via Baku
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Seats were wide and comfortable"

(Latvia)

Verified Review | Flew with Azerbaijan Airlines from Moscow to Baku and continued to Tbilisi. I had high expectations based on previous reviews. They were all met and exceeded. I had to call to AZAL office in Moscow to sort out a problem, which was resolved quickly and friendly by AZAL. At Moscow Vnukovo airport check-in staff gave tips how to pack luggage to minimize the excess baggage fee by using "two/three items become one"-method in packing service. Ticket desk lady of AZAL taking the excess fee was also friendly. The cabin crew was great, well groomed and cheerful. All spoke Azeri, Russian and English. Seats in economy class were wide and comfortable, seat pitch great (I am 195 cm). Punctual departure. Inflight entertainment had common TV-screens and additional selection of music channels. Earphones were provided. I liked their service concept. Free delicious Azeri-style hot meals with spices, salad and dessert, and beverages. Cabin crew was generous, proactive and were present in the cabin. Because the flight was operated as "low-cost" brand (AZAL has not experienced real low-cost) passengers had opportunity to buy Azeri wines, spirits and snacks for low prices 1-2€. Luggage was on the belt when we came to arrival hall. Baku Heydar Aliev Airport is superb - facilities are great. I have never seen an airline having so many staff at the airport as AZAL. Again check-in lady advised how to make excess baggage fee less. Nice and cheap Azeri tea ceremony at airport café. Boarding 45 minutes before departure, aircraft again comfortable. In-flight service same - free meals and beverages.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Tbilisi via Baku
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flight is consistently good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have started to fly with Azerbaijan Airlines over the last 2 years from Heathrow direct to Baku. The flight is consistently good with its cabin service, food and flight entertainment and you can even upgrade to business as boarding. The plane (Dreamliner) is always in very clean condition including the toilets. The only minor drawback for me is the the flight times to Baku (night flight) and 20 hour online check in prior to flight, otherwise I can highly recommend.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Baku
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"food quality is very good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Baku to London Heathrow with Azerbaijan Airlines. Good VIP check-in service in Baku. Lounge is okay for a short stop - the decor is nice but it has little to offer over a longer period. Departure on-time - it was disappointing to have the older B767 on this flight rather than the better B787 which has flatbeds. However, the angled seat is more than adequate for an early evening flight and in any case I did not need to sleep. Good boarding service and service begins promptly after take-off. Food quality is very good and there is plenty of it - they even offer a plate of snacks before landing which I declined. Believe me you will not go hungry over the 6-hours. Staff seemed a bit inexperienced and some of the service is a little clumsy but they are friendly and enthusiastic. AVOD available and content is okay - certainly not the best I have seen but enough to keep most entertained for this short-ish flight. A few minutes late into Heathrow and a long taxi to Terminal 4 but overall a fine experience and would use again.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGYD to LHR
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"is the worst experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | I booked my flight Dubai to Baku return some days back. 8 days before the flight to Baku, someone from the call center of this company called me telling my that my flight was cancelled without explaining the reason. According to aviation rules thay have to compensate me for this. The only thing they propose is to have a full refund. So I asked for a full refund requesting an official letter / mail for this cancelation. The only thing I received was an email stating that the refund is in process and I will get my money in 33 working days. Imagine this. I did several follow up calls and e-mails with no result. This is the worst experience.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to GYD
Date FlownOctober 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"good service onboard"

(Azerbaijan)

Verified Review | I was travelling from Heydar Aliyev Airport to Antalya. Was a able to book very cheap ticket in March for flight in July. Allowed cabin baggage was 10 kg - great for solo travelers. Comfortable flight, good service on-board, no delays and friendly staff. Recommend and will choose next time.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGYD to AYT
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews