Vote Now  

Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 392 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Great service, clean cabin"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Innsbruck to Bristol. Just returned from a skiing trip to Austria and this was the first time I'd flown with Austrian Airlines. Great service, complimentary food and drink, on time both ways, clean cabin with plenty of legroom. The thing that made it unique for me was the Captain. On takeoff from Innsbruck he kept us low so we could see the snow topped Tyrolean Mountains, pointing them out and naming them. Absolutely amazing! He also kept us informed throughout the flight. Such a personal touch that made all the difference.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteInnsbruck to Bristol
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"two flights without hassle."

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Zurich to Bucharest via Vienna. Two flights without hassle. Slightly delayed in Zurich due to late arrival and arrived 15 minutes late in Vienna. Very helpful staff to make the tight connection. Second last to board. Plenty of personal space, the plane was almost empty. Not my favorite airline seat, but ok, got used to it. Early landing in Bucharest and fast baggage delivery.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to OTP via VIE
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"experience of Austrian is cheap service"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Lyon via Vienna. This flight went way worse than I expected. I flew from LYS to PVG with SWISS and from PVG to LYS with Austrian Airlines, so I had the possiblity to make the direct comparison between these two Star Alliance members. The flight took about 11.5 hours. During this time the crew served us bewerage just before and during the two meals. If you expect they would come around from time to time to ask the passengers if they'd like to have a glass of water - you were wrong. After some hours I had to go by myself on the back of the plane to ask them for some drinks and a little snack (since the meal itself wasn't even that big, not even for an economy class meal). Besides the fact that the flight attendant didn't even care about us and not even bothered to smile, two of four toilets were not working. After mealtime many people had of course the need to go to the restroom - with a waiting time of sometimes over 15 mins. I guess that's why they didn't serve as much drink as they maybe usually do? What disturbed me most is that the crew or the maitre the cabine didn't greet the passengers at the beginning of the flight or informed us about the failure of the toilets. Just the captain mentioned it 1 hour before landing, and thanked us for our understanding. The overall experience of Austrian is cheap service with lousy flight attendants and bad maintenanced aircrafts.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVG to LYS via VIE
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"nice and pleasant flight"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | Sofia to Vienna. Very nice and pleasant flight onboard the Austrian Embraer 195. Check in was a little bit slow and also they don't keep the Business Class check in counter only for business class, they also let economy class passengers. However, security check was fast. I went to the Vitosha Lounge, which very nice. There is priority boarding at Sofia - they let you skip the line and be one of the first to go on the bus. I was the only one in the Business class cabin, which had 10 seats. The seating configuration onboard the E195 is 2-2 and in business class really is 1-1, because they keep one of the seats blocked. The cabin crew was very friendly, offered me some newspapers and magazines, but no welcome drink. The food was excellent. They offered many drinks. The plane took off and landed on time. I was in front of the airport about 20 minutes after landing and I had a checked in baggage.
AircraftE195
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSofia to Vienna
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not even offering a smile"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Shanghai to London Heathrow via Vienna. Upon boarding the aircraft, two cabin staff surprised me by not even offering a smile. I observed staff barking orders at passengers as to how their luggage should be placed in the overhead storage compartments. The food served was bland and looked unappetising. During meal time, we were given an option of beef or chicken, we were not told what the beef or chicken options comprised of. I opted for the chicken option, it was chicken in a tomato sauce with rice. My husband opted for the beef, his was beef and noodles however, at no point were we told we had an option of noodles or rice. The second meal served was pasta and vegetable in a tomato sauce with a dry roll. I've never been offered a roll without butter on a flight before. The staff were not helpful, approachable or polite. The movie selection was good however, but my sound quality was poor. I had the opportunity to fly business class en route to Shanghai 3 weeks earlier (after bidding on business class seats) and the service onboard that Austrian flight was second to none. Aside from 3 course meals, glass, cutlery and comfy seats which come with business class, the staff were warm, polite and engaging. I assumed that my flight back to Vienna would be equally great but was I wrong!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVG to LHR via VIE
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"measure the cabin baggage"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | Vienna to Moscow. I see Austrian has no free baggage allowance. That is fine for me since I flew back from my weekend in Vienna with my backpack. I did not expect my backpack will be between my legs during the flight. All the people flying tried to bring everything to the cabin, so all the racks got full pretty quickly with bags that mostly would not qualify as cabin luggage due to their dimensions. Austrian staff at the registration / boarding gate did not seem to care. As a result, the flight attendants said that "people simply have too much with them", and all the cabin baggage not properly stowed will be off-loaded into the checked bagage. It took them an hour to sort this all out. I agree the airline managed to beat even Aeroflot on the price but that does not justify their lack of common sence. There is one simple process to avoid all this frustration: just put someone at the gate to measure the dimensions of the cabin baggage! And make the passengers hand all those bags that do not qualify. The meal was just awful, too.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVIE to DME
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"spotless cabin with decent legroom"

(Croatia)

Flew Austrian Airlines from Vienna to New York JFK. Had a pleasant flight on refurbished B763-spotless cabin with decent legroom and adequate IFE. Lunch was tasty and of a decent size but snack before landing was inadequate-just a half of a sandwich. FAs were proactive and served us with smiles, looked happy to do their job. We landed 20 minutes earlier but gate was not available so we waited until it become available. Miles were credited next day.
AircraftBoeing 763
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVIE to JFK
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cabin crew were slow"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Odessa via Vienna with Austrian. Worst airline experience I've had - I'd rather fly Ryanair. Cabin crew were slow, curt and truly awful. Refreshments were a choice of an apple, a chocolate wafer busciut or salt snacks. They were totally incapable of dealing with a full flight. It was just awful. I hope and pray I never have to use them again and I would never choose to use them
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ODS via VIE
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"an impeccable travel product"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew New York JFK to Vienna and back, and would happily fly with Austrian again and again. The food was pretty good, with frequent and generous drinks services, including free booze. Considering how other legacy carriers have cut back on food / drinks, in both quantity and quality, Austrian continues to offer an impeccable travel product.
AircraftBoeing 767 / 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to VIE
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"food quality was acceptable"

(Iran)

Tehran to Toronto via Vienna with Austrian Airlines. Not a comfortable airline. The cabin crew were kind but careless and noisy. Food quality was acceptable. Movies were up to date. For the return flight they told us that our flight would have a 2-hour delay. Then after 5 hours they just told us that "the flight is cancelled"! It was terrible.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIKA to YYZ via VIE
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no