Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 441 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Overall experience good"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Thessaloniki via Vienna. Nice airline, I enjoyed the flight, food during the flight was nice. Food in the business lounge in Vienna was bad. I had a problem with my luggage in Thessaloniki and I didn’t find any representative for the airline in the airport. Cabin staff are very friendly. Overall experience good, I won’t hesitate to fly back with Austrian airline.
AircraftB777 / E190 /A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Thessaloniki via Vienna
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"trying to be compensated"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | I flew from Los Angeles to Venice via Vienna. At the check in counter, I was informed about the half an hour delay of the departure that then rose to more than an hour while we were already on board. During the flight we managed to make good some of the delay, but despite all I missed my second flight for just 5 minutes. It's true that I was immediately redirected to the next possible one which was after 4hr. The second plane boarding was on time, but we departed with delay of 25 minutes. When my suitcase arrived, I found out that it was damaged. Now I continue to waste my time, trying to be compensated for the damage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Venice via Vienna
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"were downgraded to Economy"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Male to Vienna. We took a week-long vacation to the Maldives using Austrian through Vienna. We booked Business Class seats but were downgraded to Economy. We were given 4 Maestro cards as compensation for the downgrade. None of the Maestro cards worked (you can check the amounts on line and they never had anything on them). And, now I will apparently have to wait 4 months for them to even look at my complaint. Needless to say, the Business Class seats were incredibly expensive. The compensation they gave me was nowhere near the difference in price -- and this is assuming that I actually get some compensation from them. So, not only did I get downgraded (I understand this happens), but I lost a lot of money because of their mistake.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMale to Vienna
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would not allow the increased luggage"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I booked economy flights from Copenhagen to Vienna for my husband and myself for 4 January 2018. As we were travelling in Europe during the winter for several weeks, we had more luggage than allowed under our ticket. The airline website encouraged purchasing extra luggage allowance online as it was cheaper than on arrival at the airport when checking in. I tried to do this several times but the website would not accommodate the request. A day or 2 before the flight, we were offered an upgrade to business class at a cost of €119 each, which we took up. The receipts for payment for the upgrades clearly showed an increased baggage allowance to 32kgs each which was more than sufficient for us. On arrival at the airport in Copenhagen for check in, the check in agent would not allow the increased luggage without further payment as it was her contention that the upgrade we paid for did not include increased luggage. At our request she called the airline twice but was told that we would have to pay extra DKK559. As we had no option, we paid the demanded amount. I lodged a complaint with the airline’s “guest service” team, attaching a copy of my receipt showing the increased baggage allowance as part of the business class upgrade. I also requested a refund of the DKK559 I had paid. I exchanged several emails with the “guest service” team before I was then informed that I would have to lodge my request anew with the airline’s feedback/complaints department via its website. I re-lodged my complaint/request as instructed and received an acknowledgement. I have received at least 2 further emails advising the airline “is committed to offering a high quality of service and your concern is therefore important to us. However, due to a high volume of requests, you may experience a delay in receiving a response”. My complaint/request was first lodged on 4 January, almost 4 months ago and I’m still waiting for a response to something that should be very straightforward.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Vienna
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"felt exceptionally below service"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | This was my first time flying Austrian Airlines on 2 small connecting flights: Munich-Vienna / Vienna-Iasi. I have to mention that I mostly fly low cost. I didn't expect any incredible inflight service because of the type of flight and destinations. Overall flight was good, snacks a bit small compared to most other "normal" airlines. However one thing felt exceptionally below service, especially for a Star Alliance airline. We were departing from MUC to VIE and I came to my seat amongst the last and the overhead was full. I was carrying 1 cabin trolley, plus my purse and laptop which I always put under my seat. With no place to put my cabin compliant trolley, I turned to the flight attendant for help, literally saying "could you please help me stow my trolley, not sure where to put it". She shrugged her shoulders in a very obvious "and what do you want me to do?" manner and said "the overhead is full due to passengers bringing 2 pieces of large luggage" and proceeded to not moving an inch, while looking at me. Then another passenger helped me make room in the overhead (probably his backpacks were there). I could have just pushed some random overhead bags really hard or asked some passengers to take out their smaller backpack and put it under their seat but really, I think this would have been rude on my side - I wouldn't want a stranger smushing my bags or asking me to move my stuff. I also strongly believe it is the flight attendant's job. It clearly *is* for all the low cost flights where flight attendants are taking really good care of this aspect. So I am expecting much more from a Star Alliance company that charges double or more of what a low cost would. At least I am expecting the willingness to be helped with basic things. If you can't be bothered to help me stow my luggage, I find that a problem, especially given the price I am paying. The rest of the flight attendands were great, accommodating, and we had some of the most talkative and informative captains on all of the Austrian flights - which I liked.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Vienna
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"they didn't serve breakfast"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to Vienna. Overall good experience but to my surprise they didn't serve breakfast before landing in Vienna, only a muffin!!! Not enough crew on board compareh to my previous experiences with Austrian. The drinks were not serve in trays, also not hot towel or hand sanitizer was offered.
Aircraftb763
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Vienna
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"better than any North American carrier"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Kiev via Vienna. Flight from Newark to Vienna left late but still landed early. Food was decent, drinks services frequent and generous, IFE worked well and had a few good movies and cds, but the earbuds they give out aren't exactly comfortable. Flight from Vienna to Kiev only served chips or chocolate and soft drinks, a bit disappointing, and it was late too. But still, Austrian is better than any North American carrier, and I'd happily fly with them again.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Kiev via Vienna
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"could not provide baby bassinet"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Vienna with child and infant. Austrian Airlines already sold front row seats thus could not provide baby bassinet (travelers with infant be aware, you need to pay extra EUR50 / passenger / long haul route for front row seat if you wish to use baby basinet). Bassinet itself is free of charge. Fortunately Austrian office in Bangkok booked a seat for my infant daughter so the flight was OK. Dinner was standard airline quality. With the hidden charges, not recommended for families with small children.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vienna
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very pleasant experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Vienna to Washington return. Overall, a very pleasant experience. Both flights were on time, with the outbound one even arriving well before schedule. One the reasons for that might have been the surprisingly efficient boarding on both occasions. Check-in went smoothly at both airports, even though the counter was rather difficult to find in IAD, due to virtually non-existent information screens at that airport. Ground staff was always friendly. On both flights, cabin crew was very friendly and hard-working, running up and down to serve drinks throughout the whole flight. The food was very good and the onboard entertainment satisfactory. The plane was a seemingly modern B-767 with 2-3-2 seating and enough legroom, so that even as a tall man I was able to get some sleep.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Vienna
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not enough food/drinks on board"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I was very frustrated, not to say shocked with the apparently new Austrian service plan. First, Austrian puts 10 seats in one row of a 777 (3-4-3), while other airlines fly with 9 seats per row only. That by itself makes it hard to feel comfortable, since you are always in direct contact with the neighbour's shoulder. The worst however is the service. The food consisted of a 2 cm by 2 cm large piece of meat, a spoon of mashed potatoes and one carrot (see photo), served in a disposable triangle. Drinks were only offered once, following the new service plan of Austrian. When I complained about food and service one of the flight crew members told me that this is the new service directive and food service from Austria. The crew were not happy with it either and indeed felt embarrassed about the quality. All these little extras, that make a flight a little bit more comfortable are missing on Austrian. The nuts and drinks prior to the dinner, the hot (paper) towels prior to dinner and breakfast, nobody went through the cabin offering drinks. I emphasize, that I do not blame the crew. Indeed, they were all very friendly and helped as much as they could. But what can you do if there is not enough food/drinks on board and the company asks you to reduce the service to an absolute minimum. Well, I made my decision. Austrian long haul flights, never again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vienna
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no