Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 645 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Ireland) 4th August 2015

Austrian still fly a Fokker 100 on this route. Admittedly in good conditions but basically an old plane from the 1980s. The service is limited to drinks and some nibbles. The flight assistant addressed me in German and when she realised I did not speak the language she made a face as if speaking English was a big inconvenience to her. If I can avoid Austrian in the future I will.
AircraftFokker 100
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSofia to Vienna
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th August 2015

I booked my flight with Lufthansa 3 months prior to my departure date. When I arrived to Heathrow airport I was not on a passenger list. I had a confirmation email and my flight details sent to me. They told me I have to buy my tickets again for almost 3x the price I paid before. They could not process my payment but never sent anything, on the opposite, they sent a confirmation email with my flight details! I was so angry and frustrated! I planned this journey far in advance and even decided to go via Vienna, from London to Kiev. It was so uncomfortable, inconvenient and I had to wait in Vienna airport for ages. The flight which usually takes 3 hours with any normal airline with no stops took me 6hrs! I will never fly again with Lufthansa nor Austrian Airlines. The "meal" was terrible- a tiny little pack of salty snack.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Kiev via Vienna
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 1st August 2015

Original ticket booked in economy class. Upgraded to Business class on JFK to VIE route. Quick check-in, nice Lufthansa Business Class Lounge at JFK. Boarding delayed due bad weather over JFK and chaos it created at the airport. Once we boarded we were kept on the tarmac for 2 hours. Flight crew regularly updated us of the progress, and cabin crew offered soft drinks. Finally airborne almost 3hrs late. Amazing catering by DO&CO, crew kind and polite. Slept for few hours, seat was ok to sit or relax, to sleep it was a bit hard. Also temperature was rather high - woken up for breakfast which was delicious. We landed in Vienna about 2.5hr late. Would recommend Austrian Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to VIE
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Israel) 27th July 2015

Every thing was fine until the "meal" was served. It was placed on my tray and when I asked what it was I was told vegetarian pasta. I asked if it had cheese and when told yes I asked for an alternative. In a very nasty tone I was told I should have requested a special meal. And that was that. Luckily the passenger next to me didn't want his kosher meal and gave it to me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCopenhagen to Tel Aviv via Vienna
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Iraq) 21st July 2015

Economy - meal choice not offered. Flight OS830, 26/6/2015. Served (pasta) the only choice. Flight Attendants - attitudes poor. Seats - so so. Price wise, toO high for flight duration and service available onboard. Sinks were not clean.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteErbil to Vienna
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Germany) 20th July 2015

After completing the boarding and sitting for around 30 minutes in the plane we were told that we needed to change planes, as there was a problem with the air conditioning. We were sent back to the terminal, and a delay after delay was announced. Then an announcement came that the flight was cancelled. We were told to go to the check in desk. Around 170 passengers were queuing with only 3 counters open and most of the employees were making phone calls or running around to check for something to do. I was in the first quarter of the queue and I had to wait for two hours, I was told the only option I had was a flight the next day around midday, which did not work for me, but they said they don't have any other options. I was sent to a hotel to spend the night. The next morning, the taxi did not show up, I waited for 15 minutes. I arranged a ride to the airport on my own, and when I got there, no one seemed to care. The replacement flight was delayed again, initial announcement for 20 minutes, but take off was finally after 1 hour.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteVienna to Munich
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Austria) 20th July 2015

Flight ZAG to VIE was cancelled and no explanation was given. Cancellations on that route and also on other European destinations are now very frequent for Austrian. Customers need to call in most cases through Germany because the SEN hotline in Vienna is very inefficient. Cancellations and delays in summer and unhelpful IT hotlines in Austria make this airline not very reliable. Decline in all kind of services of Austrian in 2015 is obvious.
AircraftFokker 70
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZAG to INN via VIE
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 19th July 2015

Arrived in Vienna on time. When I got off the plane I was told my daughters stroller would be waiting by the door. It wasn't there. Asked a staff member at the door but he wasn't interested in helping. Once everyone deboarded I asked the cabin crew to help. They went to check and found my stroller, I ran to catch my connection but by this time it was already boarding. I had to go through the customs and security. The staff didn't care that I could miss my flight. They wanted to check baby food, in the end I told them to keep it so I could run to the gate. The electronic departure board said my flight was boarding. When I finally got to the gate I was two minutes late! No call for me and no final boarding sign. Staff very unhelpful. The next flight was in 9 hours but they didn't attempt to help at all. No effort to try and help. Staff at the service desk were just as unfriendly. Were blaming the airport for allowing such a short connection time. Apparently they get lots of travellers every day who miss their connections. I will not fly with Austrian Airlines again if I can help it!
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon Heathrow to Kosice via Vienna
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (Austria) 18th July 2015

This airline has cancelled a flight with no notice. Only 2 service desks open for all delayed passengers. I understand from another source that instead of being booked on a direct flight at a later time there will be more than a 24hr delay in my arrival at Vienna as the replacement routing is via another airport. I would recommend anyone to think twice before booking with Austrian Airlines. It's not as if this is an intercontinental movement. Any airline worth its name should be able to arrange a replacement aircraft at reasonable notice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHeathrow to Vienna
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Austrian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 17th July 2015

The flight was delayed 3 hours 15 minutes and we only found this out when we were waiting to board although obviously the airline knew about this problem in advance The ground personnel were not very helpful except to offer us a free lunch. We finally located the restaurant where this so-called free lunch was available. They offered a choice of two cheap sausages or frozen pizza inferior to what you could buy at the supermarket. The drinks for bottled spritzers with artificial flavors like lemon and orange. The calls for the delay was never explained to us. The in-flight service and food were inferior and mediocre at best. This was a disappointing experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteVienna to JFK
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no