Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 407 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"It was an excellent flight"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Geneva to Vienna. The boarding was smooth and the plane departed 5 minutes ahead of time. The plane was an Embraer 195 that are quite old, however the cabin was very spacious and clean. It was just a 50 min flight, but the cabin crew served some drinks and cold snacks (biscuits or salted peanuts). The cabin crew was very helpful and with a smile. It was an excellent flight.
AircraftE195
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Vienna
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"review its boarding process"

(United States)

Verified Review | Vienna to Miami. The Vienna boarding gate experience could be improved. Arrived at Gate 20 min before boarding time. Gate agent stamped boarding pass but announcement was made or instructions for priority boarding. We lined up after a queue started to form. At the gate, agent refused to honor printed boarding pass that indicated my 1k premier status and wanted to see physical evidence. Fortunately UA app has my card in its file and was able to convince agent to let us through. Austrian could do well to review its boarding process for efficiency and convenience and update its gate agent that printed boarding pass status is as good as or even more accurate than the hard copy. Finally got on board and was warmly greeted by a flight steward which made up for the annoyance at the gate.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Miami
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"staff not connected with Austrian"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Our flight was due to leave London Heathrow June 22nd at 15:20 arriving Vienna 18:55 for a 20:20 transfer to Sarajevo. However this flight did not take off until 17:10, arriving Vienna at 19:55. Boarding time for Sarajevo flight was 19:50. Flight attendant as we were approaching Vienna kindly moved us with our hand luggage to Business Class so we could be among first to exit plane. As we were not familiar with airport it took us sometime to locate gate for our onward flight and owing to age, health and mobility issues we were not in the best state when we got there. We were also unaware that we would have to go through another security check and this is where our experience was unacceptable. The lack of dignity afforded to my wife when she set off the security alarm was unnecessary and caused a great deal of stress. Not only were we late and concerned we would not make our onward flight but there was no female attendant available to carry out the search. The male employee was rude. The female employee, when she turned up, was no better. Accept that the flight was delayed, this happens, but it would have been good to have been told that the Sarajevo flight was also delayed, which would have given us sufficient time to make our onward flight. I know that these security staff are not connected with Austrian Airlines but their treatment was out of order.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Sarajevo via Vienna
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Ground services at Warsaw horrible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Warsaw to London via Vienna on economy Light fare. Ground services at Warsaw airport were just horrible. I usually travel with a backpack which I do not need to check in but apparently Warsaw airport has its own rules. Both legs were delayed: over an hour from WAW to VIE and about 45 minutes from VIE to LHR. Star Alliance Business Lounge in Warsaw was overcrowded and had to struggle to find a seat. Onboard the crew was quite polite, though snacks less than modest. Austrian Lounge at Vienna airport looked like a cafe. Not to compare with lounges at Heathrow, Munich or Zurich airports. Wi-Fi on VIE-LHR flight was not working. I will think twice before booking my next flight with Austrian.
AircraftEmbraer / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWarsaw to London via Vienna
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"over a year to get my money back"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Vienna to Venice. The flight was cancelled and these things happen and thats life. But Austrian thought they could just dust their hands of any responsibility be it their fault or not. There were no flights offered the following day nor any accommodation solutions. The staff ill advised all customers by telling them to find their own way to their final destination and that the cost would be covered by the airline. This has not proven to be the case. It has taken me over a year to even get my money back for the cancelled flight and I've had to go through the Airline governing body to even get any sort of response from Austrian. I wouldn't even give them the obligatory 1/10 if I had the choice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Venice
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the trip was terrible"

(France)

Verified Review | For many years I have been flying Nice - Vienna back and return on Austrian. It always was a pleasant experience. I tried to get a seat in the first row and read the magazines provided by the airline, eat the fantastic DO&CO catered lunch and enjoyed myself. The price of 900 Euros for the roundtrip was a bit steep, but the experience was always pleasant. This year no more. I bought a ticket for the same route, same 900 Euros but the trip was terrible. In the lounge were no magazines offered. The flight Vienna to Nice had an Austrian flight number but crew and plane were from Air Berlin. Even worse the Nice - Vienna was performed by Eurowings an discount airline with a much worse service.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNice to Vienna
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"overall, an OK experience"

(Austria)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Vienna. Originally, a smaller Boeing 767 was scheduled, that was also one of the reason we booked this flight. But unfortunately the flight was rescheduled to a triple-seven, with 3-4-3 abreast seating, which is hated by the passengers. So we pre-booked our seats in advance (for a surcharge), to get one of the few seats in the rear of the cabin where the fuselage is narrowing and only 2 instead of 3 seats in the window-rows are used. Definitely worth the 50€ we paid! The flight left with a small delay, but landed on time. Lufthansa's JFK ground staff were not polite, fast or effective. But the cabin crew were OK. The seating on narrow seats was fine for a 8 hour flight, but I can't imagine myself being squeezed there for a few more hours. The cabin crew were fine, but keeping a distance from the passengers and being not as nice as those on the previous Lufthansa flight. The food was mediocre and portions very small - we had booked a vegetarian meal, and for the breakfast, it meant only a few pieces of fresh fruit, whereas other passengers had a giant cereal muffin. Apart from the obvious cost-savings by not using a tray and only handing out one piece of food, the fruit box was very small and definitely not enough for breakfast. Thankfully, one of the cabin attendants gave us spare muffins too, upon our request. Thanks for that! So overall, an OK experience, but there are much better Y-class long haul products out there.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to VIE
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I did not earn any airmiles"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Salzburg. I am a Gold Member of Miles&Bonus (Aegean, Star Alliance) and I travel business class. However, in this flight I did not earn any airmiles as I had a business class A ticket (whatever that means) even though I paid a lot of money. I think it is dishonest to have business class tickets in a non earning miles category. Additionally, business class had just a curtain separating from economy and no choice for a meal as expected in business class on this 55 mins flight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Salzburg
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"really like Austrian Airlines"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Went from Vienna to Zakynthos and back to Graz and I can say that I really like Austrian Airlines. The onboard service may be nothing too special, but you'll still get a warm snack and complimentary drinks. For two hour flights that's sufficient. As we were travelling as a family we also got crayons, coloring books and some playing cards for our daughter. The crew was very attentive and proactive. When our daughter feel asleep they brought a pillow without being asked. On the way to Zakynthos the flight departed and arrived on time. On the way back it got delayed by approximately 45 minutes due to a bug in the check in system. despite a long line up the ground staff remained friendly, professional and as efficiently as possible. Austrian Airlines is currently my number one choice for flights within Europe.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Zakynthos
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"friendly cabin crew"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew Austrian Airlines from Frankfurt to Salzburg. Short hop on the pleasant Embraer 195 with 2-2 seating. The friendly cabin crew manages to get you a snack and a drink - 2 if you ask for it - on the 45 minute flight. On time performance despite rather bad weather. Part of a Lufthansa flight from Dusseldorf -with change in Frankfurt - and the cheapest option between Dusseldorf en Frankfurt. Would definitely fly again.
AircraftEmbraer 195
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Salzburg
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes