Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 417 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"friendly crew and free catering"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Manchester to Klagenfurt via Vienna. Just like to say how smoothly everything went. Austrian allow web check-in 47 hours in advance which was very convenient. Both flights were on time, friendly crew and free catering (packet of snacks and beverages, including wine on international sector), even a quick cuppa from VIE-KLU, which all made for pleasant hop across to central Europe. Seat was fine, of leather and reclined. I'm a fan of the smaller aircraft, so enjoyed both flights. Vienna was a doddle (impressed) from getting off the plane to next gate with a bus transfer, passport and security checks - 15mins! Only had 40mins transfers time, no rush at all and luggage arrived safely too. Definitely would recommend this airline and hope fly with them soon again.
AircraftEmbraer 190 / Dash 400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Klagenfurt via Vienna
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the worst food I have ever had on a plane"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Austrian Airlines flight from Bangkok to Vienna: Disciplined boarding, on time, clean plane, friendly crew (recognized as Gold Card member), good entertainment selection. Standard seats, very little reclining, but fortunately, I had a free seat next to me. Some of the worst food I have ever had on a plane: absolutely tasteless chicken and equally tasteless mashed potatoes, you simply do not know what you are eating, otherwise, totally eventless flight.
AircraftBoeing 772
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Prague via Vienna
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"They delayed my flight"

(Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Verified Review | Sarajevo to Amsterdam via Vienna. Very rude and it takes them so long to answer your call and give information. They delayed my flight and didn't even let me know what will happen with my connecting flight. Also they give themselves the right to take away your cabin luggage and lose it afterwards. Never flying with this company again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSarajevo to Amsterdam via Vienna
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"inconvenient to lose luggage"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Cairo to Zurich via Vienna. This is the fourth time I have taken this trip. Two of the four times my baggage hasn't arrived on time and takes at least 2 days to arrive to the required destination. Austrian Airlines always offers this route with a maximum of 1.5 hours transit at Vienna (either way). If they cannot offer speedy bag transfer they should by default increase their transit time. It is extremely inconvenient to lose luggage and wait for more than 24 hours to get them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Zurich via Vienna
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"happily fly with OS again"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Vienna. Another pleasant flight with Austrian, meal was fine, frequent drinks services, crew happy to provide an extra snack or drink. Plane's entertainment system was well stocked with plenty of good movies and music. Was seated in standard economy, but in a kind of 3-row mini-cabin between business and bathrooms, so it felt more private than regular cattle class. Will happily fly with OS again.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Vienna
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat pitch and crew were great"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | I was flying on business to Cyprus and used Austrian Airlines for a first time and I have to say, it won't be for the last time. First we flew a 35 minute flight from Prague to Vienna on an Embraer 190 and even for such a short flight we received water which was really nice and seat pitch was also nice. Second flight was on an A320 (on the way back we used A321) and seat pitch and crew were great. We received a hot meal (some pasta with dessert) which is not usual for Europe flights anymore, not even for 3 hour long flights. Food was really tasty and there was a nice selection of drinks, the crew made 3 drinks rounds in under 3 hours. I was happy with this airline and the crew were the best I've had on a European flight. There was also wifi with 10 minutes free. Only thing missing was IFE or at least some screens showing the flight path. Next time I'll choose Austrian Airlines and can't wait to try them on long haul flight.
AircraftE-190 and A320/A321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Larnaca via Vienna
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Worst business class seat"

(United States)

Verified Review | Vienna to Los Angeles. Worst business class seat I have flown, I am 6'4" and could not even stretch out. The middle seats on the left are like coffins. A 12" opening for legs not allowing you to roll over or extend. I would have been better off in an exit row in economy. Rang my bell for the flight attendant 6 times and finally had to hunt her down. The meals were good but the only snacks were a few packs of cookies. Drink selection was also very poor, the selection was worse than economy. It also took 1 hour to get our baggage at Los Angeles Airport. I would not fly Austrian again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVienna to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I was very impressed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flight OS81 from Vienna to Los Angeles. I had flown Austrian only once before, and it was a relatively good experience, so I was expecting a lot out of Austrian. Fortunately, I was very impressed. Check-in was relatively slow, but the lady there gave us a warm greeting and sent our checked bags away quickly. The flight was fully booked, so there were plenty of people in line. The gate felt extremely small, especially on a fully booked flight. Austrian fortunately was good at crowd control, so people got to their respective seats quickly. The seat was clean and very comfortable, and had all the basic functions and necessities you would expect. Pillows and blankets were provided on this 11 hour and 40 minute flight, even though it was a day flight. The flight attendants, as always, were extremely kind and compassionate and always there when you needed them. Soon after takeoff, lunch was served. It was a mushroom pasta dish, which was pretty tasty. The IFE worked pretty well and was responsive, although it didn't have many movies or TV shows, unlike Lufthansa. Where Austrian makes up for this is in their prestigious service and delicious food. Snacks and drinks were served consistently throughout the flight. Near the end of our flight, a small meal of more pasta with olives and zucchini was served with some sort of pudding. It was phenomenal. We parked at one of LAX's satellite terminals, and had to get bused over to Terminal 6 for Customs, which I find a bit inefficient. Overall, it was a fantastic flight. I would definitely recommend Austrian Airlines to anyone.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"definitely be using them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Vienna. Excellent on board. Not a long flight but a snack and a drink served by pleasant staff. Incredible luggage allowance for an economy European flight 1 x 23 kg included in ticket price. There is also the advantage at Vienna airport that you can check your luggage in early via the automated baggage drop off points (five hours early in my case) which is available in AA own Terminal 3. This facility is not available with the other carriers who use Terminal 1. If you have a long wait an invaluable facility. 20 min delay at Heathrow no specific explanation provided. Delay on return due to weather so not the fault of the airline. Will definitely be using them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Vienna
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"outstanding quality and taste"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Salzburg to Frankfurt. The boarding procedure started right on time and was fast and efficient. After a warm welcome by the cabin crew they started their service. Despite the fact that this was a one hour flight, a meal was served which distinguished itself by outstanding quality and taste. Shortly afer a pre-landing coffee the plane landed in the designated city, again, punctually.
AircraftE195
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSalzburg to Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes