Top 100 Airports  

Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 365 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"meal was simple but good"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Flew from Athens to Vienna with Austrian Airlines. Boarding procedure was easy and fast, the ground staff was friendly. The inflight service was good and the meal served was simple but good. Some snacks and coffee. Seats were not so comfortable but they are ok for short distances (3x3,5h).
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to VIE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"lack of support and communication"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dubrovnik to London Heathrow via Vienna. Shockingly bad. Our first flight was delayed which meant we missed our connecting flight. When we arrived at Vienna there was no information for us as to where we supposed to go to. There was literally no staff for at least 8 gates. When we did find someone hey told us to go to the gate our original flight was leaving from. We went, the flight had left and again no one around. On the service desk they rebooked a flight with BA. There was no apology for our delay. We were given instructions to leave the departures and go back through arrivals to check our baggage in. When we questioned another person they gave us different instructions and were told to go straight to the gate. The lack of support and communication was appalling.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDBV to LHR via VIE
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"inflight entertainment excellent"

(United States)

Verified Review | I flew Austrian from Miami to Stockholm via Vienna. Flight was on one of their Boeing 767-300's. These planes according to their website have all had their interiors redone, and it seemed that was the case. The inside looked fresh and modern. The seats were fine and the inflight entertainment systems were excellent with what seemed like HD screens. I flew economy, food and service were acceptable, and flight crew pleasant. Both flights arrived on time or early. I would fly Austrian again.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMIA to ARN via VIE
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"leg room was tight from the start"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Austrian Airlines Boeing 777 from Vienna to Bangkok the leg room was tight from the start but when the passenger in front put the seat back, I was riding sidesaddle for the rest of the trip. Also on Austrian, you get one meal (not bad quality) and then a sandwich with a yoghurt for the second meal just before landing at Bangkok. The experience, by contrast was even more disappointing when we then proceeded to Sydney on a Thai Airways 747 (also 10 hours) with sufficient leg room and delicious food. The service was friendlier too.
AircraftBoeing 777 - 200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVIE to BKK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hungry and upset with experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Tehran via Vienna. Staff were generally polite and helpful. However, booking online is a capricious system experience. Biggest problem was extremely low quality of inflight food. Lunch was a 1$ packet of pritzel and cup of tea for a 2 hour flight to Vienna. Dinner was boiled pasta with ketchup sauce, no meat. Bread was served in open basket with many many passengers dipping their hands into the basket to take bread and talking over the bread basket. Totally unhygienic. Total flight cost almost $1000 and 7 hours flight. Arrived hungry and upset with the experience. The cabin staff were polite and agreed catering was unacceptable, but it is out of their control.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to IKA via VIE
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"pleasant and efficient experience"

(Czech Republic)

Nice to Prague via Vienna for the first time with Austrian Airlines. On the route to VIE a brand-new E195, nice and spacious cabin and nice cabin crew. Only a small cake was offered for breakfast on this early departing flight and I was expecting something more. LH for example, offers a hot snack on the most of their morning flights but it was tasty and enough for this such a shorter European route. Complimentary soft drinks provided. Transfer at VIE very fast and efficient within approx. 45 minutes in the "F gates" section. Driven by bus to the terminal from the apron stand. Route from VIE to PRG to be operated by lovely and smaller turboprop DH4, feeling like a swallow above the clouds - I do love these prop-types very much and always to be pleased to fly them. A very short flight that took 45 minutes. No snack offered, drinks only. A pleasant and efficient experience to fly Austrian.
AircraftE195 / DH8-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNCE to PRG via VIE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"recommend flying with Austrian"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew with Austrian Airlines from Hamburg to Vienna and back to Berlin-Tegel. The booking process was very easy and clear. I booked tickets for my in-laws and for my family. My in-laws flew back to Hamburg and there was one thing I didn't like: I found out a few weeks before our flight that their return flight to HAM was cancelled. I didn't get any message, I just found out because I something check if our flights are okay. I called Austrian and they immediately booked them on a later flight but I think that it's very bad that didn't inform us. They couldn't even tell me a reason why I didn't get an e-mail. With our flights everything went well. The flight attendants were friendly, snacks and drinks were provided and the leg room was HUGE (I would say I nearly had 10cm room and I could stretch out my legs very well (I'm 1.67m) and even my boyfriend who is 1.90m had enough space). The flight HAM-VIE was delayed for 20 minutes but we arrived just 10 minutes late which was okay. The flight VIE-TXL departed on time and arrived nearly 15 minutes early. I recommend flying with Austrian Airlines and I would consider flying them on long haul flights due to the huge legroom in Economy Class.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAM to VIE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"inflight service very good"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Vienna to Zurich with Austrian Airlines. Boarding procedure was fast, the ground staff was very friendly, and despite the fact that the flight was completely booked out the plane took off in time. The inflight service was very good and the meal served was even better. The captain kept us well informed during the flight and provided helpful data concerning connection flights. As the staff at Vienna airport, the flying personnel seemed to enjoy their job and we disembarked happily.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVIE to ZRH
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"aircraft clean and staff well groomed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Vienna with Austrian Airlines. Airport staff very courteous. Checked in luggage and proceeded to Sky Lounge priority pass. Flight was delayed for a hour. The seat I was allocated at the airport was exit aisle. Empty seat next to me which was great. The flight attendant was polite and engaged in conversation which is quite unusual. Since my inward and outward flights were with Austrian Airlines I found the aircraft to be clean and the staff well groomed and professional. Would definitely fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to VIE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"a very frustrating experience"

(Ireland)

The Austrian Airlines flight from Nice to Vienna was originally cancelled before being rescheduled. This on its own would be frustrating yet bearable, the true problems arrived in how both myself and many others were forced to wait for three hours before being even able to talk with airline staff. This treatment was without a doubt extremely frustrating. Beyond being forced to wait for an absurd amount of time, the compensation offered was negligible, despite how due to the delays we were arriving ten hours later. All in all a very frustrating and unsatisfactory experience was had.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNCE to VIE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no