Top 100 Airlines  

American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1091 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"just oversell the tickets"

(United States)

American Airlines from Detroit to Manchester, UK via Philadelphia. They rescheduled my flight for no reason. I only received robot calls. I need to be in UK for a conference on 5/26. I planned to leave on 5/25, which is today. But when I was about to leave home, their robot called me and said my flight was delayed and they will have to reschedule me to tomorrow's flight. I called back to their toll free number, they just transferred me from one person to another person, and no one could really help. The most ridiculous thing is that I checked my flight status online, it was only 10 min late. I would not affect my connection at all. I called back again, they said they don't know if it will be more delayed and I will not be able to make it to the flight to UK. So I said, I want to canceled the tickets. They said, this number can only rebook your ticket. If you needed to cancel the ticket, you need to talk to ticket department. The ticket department transferred me to vacation department. No one can solve my problem. They just want the money from my pocket. I said I want to file a complaint, they said they don't have a number for complaints, I can only email! I said I want to talk to someone for refund, again, I can only email! And I just checked my flight status. It was on time. So they just rebooked me for no reason. They just oversell the tickets and rebook people with lies.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDTW to MAN via PHL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"the food was very good"

(Greece)

Philadelphia to Athens on American Airlines A330-300. We had almost an hour's delay at Philadelphia because the video screens were not functioning. Finally we took off and all went well until halfway when the video screens went black - and they announced they are trying to solve the problem. This they did after more than two hours without any videos or announcements. Surprisingly the food was very good and so was inflight service, although no reading material of any kind was available. There was practically no inflight announcement on this 10 hour flight until we approached Athens with an hour's delay.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RoutePHL to ATH
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't be using them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chicago to Las Vegas. I fly quite often, and I had yet to have an experience like this one. American Airlines staff were very low energy in some instances, even rude. When the food cart came around, I asked them what they had and the guy pushing the cart gave me a strange look and said "didn't you look at the menu?". When I said I didn't see one in the seat pocket, he said "look again and get back to me" and then left - I didn't see him again for the rest of the flight. The woman serving drinks was noticeably annoyed that I asked for coffee and orange juice. The seats were uncomfortable, the whole thing was pretty awful. I'd have to say that out of all of the airlines I've been on, and there have been quite a few, American Airlines is the WORST. I won't be using them again. You shouldn't either.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to LAS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disorganized and unapologetic"

(United States)

Saint Martin to Philadelphia with American Airlines. I am 27 years old and my mother is 62. In all our years of travel neither of us had ever experienced anything like our flight out of Saint Martin yesterday. We booked a direct flight that left at 2:40PM and was to land in Philadelphia at 7:13PM. When we boarded the plane we were told we would arrive in Philadelphia early and were very pleased by this news. However, after a short time the pilot told us that there was something wrong with the plane. "Something" with no further detail as to what was wrong or how long it would take to repair. After 2 hours of waiting in the plane, we were told that the plane was repaired and would be able to fly. The pilot informed us however that due to "legal issues" we would not be able to fly to Philadelphia as planned, which was an estimated 4 hours and 35 minutes, instead we would be flying to Miami a 3 hour and 15 minute flight. We were not told anything other than that. We were then given the option to leave the plane but were told we would not be provided a room. About 40 minutes later we took off for Miami. We landed in Miami and waited on the tarmac for over an hour. Were told that we would be greeted by individuals who would tell us where to go and would take us step by step through customs and our return to the 10:30 flight from Miami to PHL. There was no one there to greet us when we arrived and no one to direct us through customs and security. We went through customs and were required to go through TSA security, despite not leaving the airport or having time to purchase anything. Once we arrived at our flight we were delayed in boarding and did not take off until after 11:30. We arrived in Philadelphia at around 2:00 and there was no one from AA to greet us or speak to. We waited, as a group, for our luggage for over 45 minutes before it began to come out. I am extremely disappointed with how disorganized and unapologetic this airline was. If I can avoid using AA in the future I intend to.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSXM to PHL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never use airline again"

(United States)

Flew American Airlines from Sioux City Iowa to Dallas Texas. I was supposed to have a two hour layover and then fly to Houston. After they canceled the first plane I ended up waiting four hours for the next one. Which got canceled. Then the third one had mechanical problems and was going to be delayed for another three hours. I ended up getting a Hertz rent car which cost me an additional $100 because it was an airport Hertz to drive the rest of the way. I was almost late to my daughters first birthday because of this stupid airline. I am so displeased with this flight that I just spent $500 for Southwest to take me back home. Total I have spent $1200. I will never use this airline again. This is the third time I have been messed over by them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSUX to IAH
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"no in seat entertainment"

(Australia)

Paris CDG to Chicago. Hard to believe American Airlines international Boeing 767's have no in seat entertainment. The video monitors that loop poor movies and TV shows are completely inadequate and 20+ years behind the times. Absolutely inconceivable and they've had plenty of time to retrofit. Extremely long queues at CDG for check in as well. On the positive side, flight departed 20 minutes early and arrived an hour early due to lack of headwinds.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to ORD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"website is poorly designed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chicago to San Juan. American Airlines website is poorly designed, unreliable - failed numerous times to record a change. Booked my flight over a month in advance and the only aisle seats shown were $35 - $90 "upgrade". Tried within 24 hrs of flight time to change to "available" aisle seat showing on website, failed 3 times to record it. Couldn't check in at San Juan till 4 hours before flight and no aisle seats left except the upgrade ones.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to SJU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"pretty horrible"

(United States)

Chicago to London with American Airlines. I have flown AA domestic a couple of times and it wasn't anything to write home about but not awful. I just flew my first international flight with AA and it was pretty horrible. I have a small carry on luggage that I have had for 10 years and have only had to check it once because of weight not for size. Today I had my liquids bag in the front pocket which was making it bulge a bit and when getting ready to board was told it would not fit in the overhead bin I would have to check it. I tried to ask the agent if I could put my liquids bag in the main compartment and they said that it still wouldn't meet the size requirements, that I would have to check it. I showed them that it would fit but they still forced me to check my bag. The flight itself was average, they don't have individual seat TV screens so you were forced to watch poor movies and re-runs of NBC shows such as Chicago Fire, The Tonight Show etc with a ton of commercials which was very bad for a 7 hour flight. The seats were very uncomfortable and we were packed in, any other international economy flight I have taken this was not the case. I have flown Delta internationally many times before and will be choosing them over AA anytime in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"IFE was extremely poor"

(Australia)

Edinburgh to New York with American Airlines. Having just flown almost around the world, and changing to AA to fly return to New York I was most disappointed. Bearing in mind this is a 7 hour flight, the inflight entertainment was extremely poor. In this day and age all decent airlines provide a generous choice of movies / music to fill the time. Not only did AA have ceiling screens, their choice of movies was abysmal. The food going was ok however coming home the food was terrible and in fact inedible. My travelling companion was charged on the outgoing flight for a gin and tonic but this was complimentary on the return trip? All in all I will not book American again unless they are prepared to move forward with their competition and provide up to date amenities and friendly staff.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEDI to JFK
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"staff were unpleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Miami to New York JFK with American Airlines. We flew in the new first class cabin, we were initially turned away at boarding by the desk staff as we were row 11 and row 12 who said "you are not first class" and we had to explain ourselves so not the warmest welcome. Once on the plane my daughter was freezing cold so we asked for a blanket and we were told in an annoyed manner that we should have bought a jacket and there were no blankets. I've never been spoken to in such a nasty manner on an airplane in my life, I thought I must have caught a hostess having a bad day so I walked to the galley and asked another staff member and she said the same thing. When we disembarked we passed a few seats with cushions and blankets. I really don't know why the staff were being so unpleasant, we are not demanding passengers at all, infact we only had a glass of water on the whole flight as we planned to eat at JFK before our flight back to London on BA and my goodness what a difference in attitude from the BA staff, they were absolutely lovely.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMIA to JFK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes