American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2414 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"has gone downhill"

Review by (United States)

American airlines has gone downhill since the merger, the personnel are rude and unhelpful especially in Phoenix. My most current flight was so cramped. They cut corners and up prices. This flight over the Pacific felt like I was on a flight from the early 90s it was so behind the times in the cabin.
Aircraft767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDallas to Kahalue
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly AA again"

Review by (Canada)

I am so disappointed in American Airlines and their customer service. On August 26th I left from Vancouver to head to LAX. I was supposed to have a 51 minute layover before I jumped on my next flight to Denver. This was not going to be a problem, I was assured by many staff members that our arrival gate was right next to my departure gate, I did not have any luggage only a carry on, and did not need to go through security, just simply get on the flight. As I boarded my plane, we were told that we would have to sit there for another 45 minutes because LAX was under construction and was not ready for us to arrive at our estimated time. This made my connection now only 25 minutes before departure of my Denver flight, but again I was reassured by staff that this would not be an issue. Upon arrival at 9pm (25 minutes before departure of next flight) the pilot informed us that even though they were aware there were many who needed to run to their connecting flight, we were unable to get off. By the time we got off the plane and ran next door to our gate, American Airlines flight to Denver had already closed the door. I ran to the staff member right away as I was only a minute or two behind the designated "door closing" time and was rudely dismissed and told there was nothing that could be done. After waiting 20 minutes, a member came and helped me reschedule my flight for the next morning at 6.30am. Seeing as it was 9.30 pm, I would need accommodation for the night. American Airlines offered zero help with accommodation. In result, seeing as my flight was very early in the morning and I needed to be there the night before, I had to stay at a hotel close by. I contacted AA about this issue, but my complaint and request for reimbursement was dismissed. I will never fly AA again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteVancouver to Denver via Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience was awful"

Review by (United States)

After boarding the American Airlines flight, we were kept on the plane, sitting on the tarmac for 2 hours. There were vague updates every 45 minutes and the flight attendants knew nothing about what the hold-up was. We were told that something minor had to be fixed and then were told that paperwork was being wrapped up but we had to wait another 45-60 minutes for this. Whenever the flight crew made an announcement, it didn't sound like they really knew what was going on. To top off the fact that they kept us trapped on the plane for that long, the flight attendant only came around one time to give us one small glass of water. Then 1.5 hrs after we took off, they offered us another glass of a complimentary beverage (after we took off the plane felt very stable in the air but apparently the pilot ordered that beverage service not start for a long period of time - no reason was provided). Overall, the way American Airlines crew handled this situation was very disappointing. They came off as incompetent. That entire experience was awful.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMiami to Washington
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (Spain)

I'm one of the passengers of AAL 95 flight that had to leave today August 29th at 10:55 AM heading from Madrid to New York. We had a technical problem half an hour after starting the journey and we have been informed that we returned to Barajas airport to repair it. Once there, just over half an hour later they informed us that the problem was solved but they had to consult with Dallas if the flight crew could conduct in question or not. Minutes later, they told us that regrettably could not make the trip and moved all the passengers to a hotel with expenses paid. Moreover, we confirmed that the flight would leave the next day at 9:00 AM and we had to be at the airport at 6:00 am in order to embark. What is our surprise now, in the hotel where we are staying, they have been placed for a notice explaining that the flight will start tomorrow at 9:00 PM by decision of the pilot. After calling the airline does not give us any reason to delay the flight 12 hours. We have wasted two whole days.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMadrid to New York
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (Malta)

London to New York with American Airlines. The cabin crew were friendly, food was tasty, and the trip was comfortable. For a relatively long flight, it was pleasant, and more comfortable than many flights I've been on.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to New York
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (Egypt)

Paris CDG to New York JFK I only flew American Airlines because all of the one-stop flights from Cairo to New York via Qatar Airways were full, and I figured that one transatlantic flight on American Airlines was worth it to experience Qatar Airways business class between Doha and CDG. Boarding was slightly problematic. They announced business class boarding, and when I walked up to go through, I was rudely told that only business class passengers were boarding. It was assumed that due to my appearance that I couldn't possibly be a business class passenger, but once they realized the mistake, no apology was forthcoming. The plane was obviously old and the IFE personal entertainment screen was small, with a very limited selection of movies and television shows. When "The Good Wife" is the most interesting series available, there's a problem. However, the seat worked, and the flight attendants were nice, even though they didn't go the extra mile- everyone had to take care of their own carry-on and put it in the overhead bin. My special Halal meal was great, for both the main course and snack selectio". My main course was similar to everyone else's in terms of presentation, but my snack was even better - instead of the Croque Monsieur Sandwich or Thai sandwich that the other passengers got, I got an awesome shrimp dish. The flight wasn't bad, per se, but if you're going to fly business class, there are many better airlines out there.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to JFK
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (Switzerland)

London Heathrow to New Orleans via JFK, LGA, CLT, DFW, on Boeing 777-300ER, A321/319 and Canadair RJ900. I had a code share flight from Geneva with British Airways but I had to change terminal which meant clearing security again - American Airlines has very few European connections at Heathrow so I'd rather transit elsewhere, given the choice. While free wine and beer is a welcome addition in economy class, the food is still lacking in quality and served in little black boxes that give an industrial feel. Integration with US Airways is incomplete; I had a domestic flight segment operated with a US Airways flight number but an aircraft with American Airlines livery on the outside (and US Airways inside) and there was no way to know whether I'd have to pay for my luggage. It ended up costing me $25 from LGA to MSY - no prior warning (and another website that declared the charge would have been cheaper overall). Change of airport required for a connection in New York so I spent a few days there. Generally the cabin crew were pretty friendly and I appreciated the interiors in the new Boeing 777-300ER with individual IFE. On the way home, they would have wanted me to pay $25 to choose any other seat on my flight from MSY to DFW but the back row; $75 to choose anything but a middle seat between DFW and LHR. I thought this was stingy, especially since I checked in early. Also, when I tried to check in online, the AA website sent me to US Airways and then US Airways sent me back to AA. With my BA legs I had 3 different booking codes (I had to find the US Airways one from Check My Trip). Flight out of LGA was late - the captain never came on to explain why it took so long to taxi to the runway - but the crew were great, eg. making people change seats just before landing so that anyone with a tight connection got an aisle seat. Overall I felt that this experience was not bad; better than United but I would always choose a European Airline over American Airlines if I could. A lot of disabled people were helped by the ground crew which was good. While the apps were pretty bad in the sense that check in was hard and so was getting my own boarding pass - it's not possible to download it to the app. I did. however, appreciate the Wifi luggage checking facility - you can scan your baggage tag and see if your bags made it to the plane through the onboard wifi.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER, A321/319
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to New Orleans
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

Customer service non-existent. D and E gates at Charlotte Douglas Airport are a zoo. Planes are old and interiors dirty and in some cases broken seats or tears in the storage pockets - they look tattered and beat. With some exception the flight attendants act like they are doing you a favor with a surly attitude. I will give them the rest of the year to show some improvement and if no, I will switch to one of their competitors.
AircraftDash 8 and Airbus 320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGSO to SFO via CLT
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I recently flew with my husband and 10 year old daughter and was absolutely appalled with every part of American Airlines, from the staff to the aircraft itself. The customer service was just non existent, the staff were rude and abrupt. The cabin crew were scruffy and had appalling manners. As for the plane itself well where do I start, a 7 hour flight to New York, no TVs , no radio, no inflight entertainment whatsoever. We were given an extremely thin blanket a pillow so small a 2 year old would have struggled to use it. The food was horrendous. When I complained I was told I should have brought my own if I didn't like it. We were offered 2 drinks throughout the whole flight.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteManchester to JFK New York
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

American Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

My experience travelling from Quito in Ecuador (UIO) to EWR via MIA with American was truly a very poor experience. Firstly I had a problem with my initial flight to UIO on a different airline but same alliance (One World) on an unlinked itinerary - zero assistance from American - I would be still be in Ecuador only for the help from LAN Ecuador. Rude, unhelpful and petty rule driven check in employees at AA in Quito Airport causing long lines at check in. Old B767 - my standard overhead carry on bag would not fit in the bins. In Flight Entertainment was limited to an old overhead screen about 20" Poor food offering - meal service took over an hour to be cleared and there was no further beverage service through the flight. Had to ask for Blanket and Pillow. Cabin Crew who went through the motions but were not engaged with passengers. Glad to get off the AA plane and hope that I never have to fly American Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteUIO to EWR via MIA
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no