Airline of the Year  

American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1522 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Miami to Washington. I was upset to find that I had to check my carry on, last minute! They literally looked at my bag and my girlfriends bag, and slapped a sticker saying "there is no more cabin area for your luggage". All the while, there was plenty of space for our two carry on and then some. If you going to own an airline and operate one, you should take in to account how much space and what can be brought on the plane, accordingly. Not when you are walking on to the plane. I didn't have any of my belongings with me and yes I am a female and yes I did not have proper items when needed. This was hands down the worst experience and from such a big corporation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Washington
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never flying this airline again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Denver to Buffalo. I'm not one who is usually compelled to write a review but the service I experienced this weekend flying on American Airlines was so horrible that I had to. It all began when I believed I left my debit card at the ticketing counter when I paid to check my bag. After exiting security and returning to the check in area, I approached an attendant and kindly asked him if anyone had turned in a debit card as I had lost mine, the guy doesn't even look up from what he is doing and rudely yells "did anyone turn in a debit card? No?" Then looks at me and says "retrace your steps, it's not my problem." Finally I get past security and to my gate, we board the plane and begin to take off. A passenger gets sick before we even take off so we return to the gate, completely understandable. After waiting for 30 minutes for them to clean up, we are informed that they need to "wax the plane down" which took another 45 minutes. It was at this point that the pilot stated that he informed all AA crew we were delayed so we could get to our connecting flights in Charlotte. 45 minutes into the "waxing" we were informed we were returning to the gate yet again due to possible damage to the tail. I needed to get to Buffalo that night due to an important engagement early the next day so I decided to exit the plane and attempt to get on another flight that night. The flight attendant rudely stated overhead that anyone exiting the plane would not be welcome back on if they took off soon. My last straw was booking another flight and due to AA already rebooking my Charlotte flight for the next evening, they were refusing to put me on a flight that left that night so I had to repurchase another ticket with the "possibility of a refund" which was eventually denied. Everyone from the checkin counter to the flight attendants and gate staff were awful. I don't even think they know what being polite or a smile is. On top of it, my bags were lost and I received them the day I returned back to Denver. I paid for extra seating and another ticket and they still will not refund me. Never flying this airline again. It blows my mind they can still operate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Buffalo
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"quite good flight and service"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | New York JFK to San Diego. New aircraft with mood lightning and new style of seat, big tv screens and Bose headphones. Only negative was the headrest, which was not well padded. Large movie selection. Excellent preordered food, but very restricted wine selection. Liked especially the ice-cream Sundae. Pilot had been sucked in a huge traffic jam, so arrived about 40 minutes after the plane should have taken off. Additionally evening air traffic delay at JFK, so that the plane departed about 2 hours late. Made up some of this delay, but we arrived nevertheless 40 minutes late. Very strange baggage delivery in San Diego, belt changed three times before they started delivery. in summary a quite good flight and service.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteNew York JFK to San Diego
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"They bumped me from the flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | I was appalled by the last of service and poor treatment given to me by American Airlines today. I have an extra three hours to wait at the airport and write this review because I was bumped from my connecting flight without any notice or compensation. The first flight was delayed an hour and fifteen minutes due to mechanical issues. Apparaty a bird had crashed into the plane the night before. So rather than have the issue fixed before takeoff, they make an entire plane full of passengers wait on a hot, sticky plane for an hour. Because the plane departed late American Airlines rebooked all passengers with connecting flights. I was one of them, the problem is that my connecting flight was delayed so I made the flight with time to spare. The aircraft didn't even change, the same plane I took on the first flight was also the same plane I would have taken for the second flight. But did American Airlines care? No! They bumped me from the flight I was supposed to be on and gave my seat away. The flight was of course overbooked - as per usual for American Airlines. After being treated rudely by the gate manager I went to customer service to ask for a refund (I knew I wouldn't get it but hey, never hurts to ask) and was told the best he could offer was a $12 meal voucher. Wow. To contest this further I have to send them an email but I am sure I will never be compensated or given an apology. Badly done American, Badly done.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Fresno
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never in my life will fly American"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Phoenix. My name was misspelled instead of an N had a M, there was not one person capable of fixing the misspelled. I was send to 4 different kiosk, two hours later I was let in with the misspelled name. Now while 9 members of my family are flying to my son's graduation I will be sitting at the airport for 8 hours hoping I could it be there with him. Never in my life will fly American.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Phoenix
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"lady who literally yelled at me"

(United States)

Verified Review | Barcelona to New York. Truly disappointed. We paid big bucks for this international flight. We had issues on our way to Barcelona with British Airways and back with American. Both times we were greeted with customer service that was quite awful. There were a few friendly faces, but what affected me most was the check-in lady who literally yelled at me and the people in front of us in line and then a flight attendant who also yelled at me about food on the flight, because I had my headphones in and missed her when she first spoke. When I removed my earbud and said sorry, she then proceeded to refuse me service. I come from hospitality and I know it's a tough job...but I also know you stay positive no matter what. I can honestly say I'll never book American again - if I'm almost to tears twice because of people due to flying then I will say that is enough. Goodbye American.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to New York
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"keeps getting progressively worse"

(United States)

Verified Review | American keeps getting progressively worse with each trip of mine! After the horror ripped baggage and damaged articles experience the previous trip I regret giving American Airlines another chance. After 2-3 months of explaining and convincing I finally was offered some compensation. The only reason I decided to take America again because of the $100 gift card they offered. Last week, I relocated completely from NY to TX. I literally moved my entire house from one coast to the other, and without any consideration to that AA charged me $100 for 3 pounds extra. Yes you heard it right, $100 for 3 pounds! The guy at the counter apparently had no power to let "3 pounds" in a check in bag go or make any exceptions and I contact customer care to take care of this later on, but all I get is a couple of copy-pasted auto replies from customer service and then they disappear completely. Maybe AA uses the strategy of "let the customer lose patience waiting for our reply". That way the case dies a natural death! No consideration to customer satisfaction whatsoever.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAlbany to Austin
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"really feel ripped off"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chicago to Boston. Short-changed on a paid upgrade. This was a late evening flight that got delayed by half an hour (and for the first time on American I heard the pilot actually acknowledge and apologize). Security at O'Hare was a bit of a zoo and most food outlets were shutting down as I got through. Since I have status and the cost would be $80 I paid for two 500 mile upgrade vouchers in the hope of getting bumped. My seat was already in main cabin extra with reasonable legroom, and I fly this route at least monthly but given the late hour and my hunger I thought I would enjoy an upgrade. The product was very disappointing and not worth $80. We were offered nuts which I can't eat due to an allergy. I was given a snack pack as an alternative. I was in seat 3E, legroom wasn't amazing. Seat comfort was ok but nothing special. I had a couple of drinks. Food and beverage value maybe $35 for a snack pack and a couple of whiskies (but they often comp your second if you buy two in economy so not that good). Slightly better seat but not much better than main cabin extra. No meal, no entertainment. Wifi is paid for either way and I never use it. I really feel ripped off, the upgrade really isn't worth the difference.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteChicago to Boston
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"needs some hospitality training"

(United States)

Verified Review | Palm Springs to Boston via Phoenix with American Airlines and American Eagle. This airline assumes no responsibility for the services that it sells to their customers. Three of us left Palm Springs (flight AA3076) on a beautiful day with hopes of connecting to our flight in Phoenix that was to bring us back to Boston (flight AA2341). Upon arrival to Phoenix our flight was running late, the flight attendant was aware of 2 groups of people with tight connections and all they did was to tell the plane to let those with tight connections to get off 1st and both groups were in the back of the airplane. We know how that worked out, we all got off last. They did not call the tower to say we were running late as reported to me by the person at the gate for Boston. There was only 30 minutes between reported landing time in Phoenix and lift off time to Boston if the 1st flight arrived on time. The gates were over 1/2 mile apart. I was the youngest in our group of three turning 65 this year and the oldest was 82. This information is all known by the airline upon booking a ticket on line. I ran to the gate for flight AA2341 and was told the doors were closed and are always closed 15 minutes before take off. I asked if she could call to see if the doors could be opened and she refused. The plane did not disconnect from gate for at least 6 more minutes. How is an 82 year old man suppose to walk 1/2 + miles to a connecting flight when seated in the back of the plane which takes 6-10 minutes to get out of allowing only 5-9 minutes of walking time (if it lands on time and it did not)? At the service desk rule 240 was not applied which entitles us to the first flight to Boston on any airline not just American which we were forced to do getting us home an entire day late. I emailed to customer relations who responded in a way that was unacceptable (basically saying sorry but there is nothing that can be done). I asked her to have a supervisor get back to me and not one response has been sent my way in over 2 weeks. The company needs some hospitality training.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePalm Springs to Boston via Phoenix
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refuse to fly them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Paris to Orlando via Dallas Ft Worth. Front staff members that tooks us from one side to the other without clear instructions to rearrange our delayed flight. It took us an couple of hours to resolve our issue. Rude and unpleasant flight attendants that were not helpful. My worst experience flying has been with American Airlines and I refuse to fly with them again! They keep promoting their credit card and I even thought about getting it but after this horrible experience, AA is a not go option.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Orlando via Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no