American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2369 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"don’t care if you're comfortable or not"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst flight ever. A 7 hour flight for the amount of money I paid should be way more comfortable then this very full flight with no room to move your arms and legs. Everybody is jam packed on this flight. I don’t recommend flying American Airlines if you’re traveling a long distance, very uncomfortable. The plane is big for nothing, they pack everybody on and they don’t care if you're comfortable or not!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHawaii to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst first class experience

(United States)

Trip Verified | La Guardia to Cozumel via Miami. Where do I begin on what turned into the worst 'first class' experience I have ever had! The first flight we were meet with the least impressive first-class seat, which belonged in a premium economy cabin somewhere. I must have missed the memo that American was now selling budget fist class. On this flight the toilet leaked blue goo all over the floor and ruined my partner's shoe when he was the first to discover this. The flight attendants were blasé and showed no empathy or compassion for the situation. Our second flight on the itinerary into Cozumel was thank goodness the one uneventful leg of the journey. Fast forward through a few days in Cozumel to our return flight 1256. You allowed us to leave Cozumel without begin able to land in DFW. Flight cancellation after cancellation lead to us being left on the tarmac in San Antonio for hours. We were then taken off the plane to clear customs and abandoned in San Antonio. No communication attempts were made except emails saying I had been rescheduled on flights, moved to a lower class of service and then those were cancelled as well. I was willing to take my chances that Houston would be a better bet given weather and we had to rent a car to get us to Houston to attempt to get home to SFO in a reasonable amount of time. I am unsure why we left Cozumel when you could not get us to the destination city. I find it irresponsible to have taken all of these passengers when the pilot told us from the get go we would need to circle around Dallas- ie we couldn’t land there. As a result of this experience, I am cancelling my upcoming reservation as the cancellation penalty could not be as painful as another flight with American Airlines. Last but not least their app is terrible and the wifi is not supported on most planes to provide entertainment
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLa Guardia to Cozumel via Miami
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not fly American Airlines again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On our American Airlines flight from MSO to DFW, we were diverted to LBB (Lubbock, TX) due to weather. It happens, airlines cannot control the weather. It's what happens after they can control! We were in a holding pattern waiting for the weather to get better; however, it did not. The crew, obviously, notified their dispatch as when we landed in LBB they left to the hotel. There had to be communication there so American knew we were coming to LBB. After landing, the crew let us know they had "timed out", meaning they could not fly anymore (FAA regs.). The pilot said, "We will probably be back around 5:00 AM tomorrow." Good communication so far. Then we were de-planed. We were told by the flight crew to proceed to the AA counter for options. Many people stood at the counter for several hours; no one showed up. A police officer for the airport, who was extremely helpful, tried multiple times to get someone from AA to respond; to no avail. We had to leave to go to a hotel as we had been traveling with little sleep, unfortunately, we did not have our luggage. AA would not remove the bags from the airplane. Multiple phone calls were made to AA's 800 number. Not one representative cared enough to even try to assist. We were only told to take it up with the local AA counter. Here we were at another airport, no baggage, and nobody to speak with. The AA android app, which is HORRIBLE, showed a new flight for us three days later. If we were told go to a hotel, get some sleep, and return tomorrow for the flight to connect to DFW, we would have been good. Instead nothing! We ended up at the hotel at 1:30 AM, then returned to the airport at 5:00 AM, as the Captain lead us to believe the flight would leave around 5:00 AM. Well, it did not! The flight ended up leaving around 10:30 AM. We had to book another flight on Delta, which was excellent BTW, to get to our final destination. We still have not been able to speak with a representative to get a refund. Needless to say we will not fly American Airlines again.
AircraftEmbraer E170
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMSO to DFW
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience on American"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience on American. Was flying from Peoria to Houston via DFW on Sept 21. Flight was late/rebooked out of Peoria due to bad weather at DFW, then couldn't land at DFW so had to refuel in Wichita and sit there a couple hours, then finally got to DFW at about 12:30a & it was about 1a by the time I had gotten to talk to a gate agent about flights home. Many customers had to sleep in the airport. All hotels were reportedly booked & American made no effort to help us find lodging. I tried several hotels and finally got to one at 2:15am. Left out of DFW the next morning, got to Houston, but my luggage was sent to the wrong airport (IAH instead of Hobby). My destination had been changed the previous day (Houston Hobby, then IAH, then Hobby again due to flight delays, cancellations, etc), but they assured me repeatedly that the bags would be delivered to the correct airport. The AA app showed I had checked 4 bags when I had only checked two. I called AA and straightened it all out but when my luggage wasn't delivered to my home I had to call again and they said they had no record of the prior call and that they might not be able to get luggage delivered to me until next day. I finally gave up and drove 20 miles to IAH myself to get the bags. Worst treatment I've ever experienced on an airline. The weather isn't their fault but dumping us off at DFW after midnight w/ no assistance to find lodging, and the incompetence without my bags, is inexcusable.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePeoria to Houston via DFW
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"horrible experience in both directions"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Literally a horrible experience in both directions with American Airlines from Lihue to Los Angeles. Disgusting overpriced food. Horrible customer service. Purposefully overbooked the planes and then delayed the flight to convince customers to leave a flight they paid for. I would’ve much rather flown Spirit then this poor airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLihue to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"constantly lied to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst flying experience and airline I’ve ever dealt with. 20 open seats and nobody was allowed to move to an exit aisle. Over 24 hours worth of delays and cancelations and constantly lied to. I had to drive 2 hours north to Chicago for a direct flight that I found on my own and not by American Airlines. I will never ever fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Aspen
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never recommend American Airlines"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I would never recommend American Airlines to anyone. I was originally suppose to be on a flight from Las Vegas, with a stop over in LAX with Honolulu as destination. Our flight kept getting delayed (which I understand can happen) I waited in line to speak to ladies at desk for at least 40 minutes, then only to be told to sit back down as my following flight won’t be affected. Then the flight got further delayed. So I went back in the line for at least another 45 minutes to check what I should do. I totally understand that the woman on counter was having a stressful time but honestly the customer service skills are disgusting. I have never heard people being so rude in the way they spoke to customers on that counter. When I finally got to the front of the line we were put on another flight with Hawaiian Airlines. The flight was to leave 10 hours after our original flight was meant to leave. I was reassured that our luggage would be put on that flight. After waiting around the airport for all this time and discovering that most of the food places were shut we ended up getting a taxi to take us to get some food. When we finally got on our flight and arrived in Honolulu, we then discovered our luggage wasn’t transferred onto Hawaiian airlines and was still sitting in L.A. Now I am normally a very patient person, the 10 hour wait I could handle, but the luggage not arriving after all that waiting around is what’s really annoyed me. We are actually on our honey moon and this was a short stop for a few days in Honolulu, before our return to Australia. So I would hope that American Airlines can get their sh*t together and get our bags to us today! By the way Hawaiin airlines are amazing to travel with and their staff are much more happier and willing to help, customers are their main concern. Not their coffee’s like American Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Honolulu via LAX
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they can not do anything for me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On my flight from Baltimore to Dallas we were stuck on a boarder plane for about an hour because of what was explained as a Maintenance issue. That was fine I mean things do happen. When we got to Dallas I called customer service to say I wanted to switch the flight and just go home because my flight was delayed and I was annoyed at this point. I spoke with the manager on duty of customer service and they assured me that I would not have to worry about another delay the captain gave the okay to fly out. The delayed flight was suppose to leave at 9:40 then 10:30 comes around and I’m calling to switch planes and I get placed on hold for another hour and thirteen minutes, in the time I’m on hold my flight gets canceled and the customer service rep basically says they can not do anything for me because it was now technically a rain delay.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Cancun
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Disgusting level of customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Phoenix. Purchased first class but on return trip was re-booked for the following day in coach seats after 9 hours of delay and 2 times boarding and deplaning! The staff appeared to be uninformed by management about the true nature of the delays as the excuse given kept changing between maintenance issues and staffing problems. Nine hours in the airport with nothing more than water and chips or granola bars after the first deplaning. All the food service in the airport was closed by this time because it was late.The airline only refunded a fraction of what I have calculated to be fair (the difference between the first class seat purchased and the coach seat assigned). American booked passengers in hotels nearby but the dinner vouchers were worthless since it was 10:30 pm by the time we were re-ticketed and left the airport. I filed my first partial refund request through American Airlines website on August 21st--a month ago. The employee who initially responded has now ceased to follow up and no on else from Customer Relations has contacted me. Called the "Refunds" department and was told she can't help me. After I insisted on a phone number for "Customer Relations" she gave me a toll free number that was no longer working! Hard to believe that wasn't intentional. Why does this need to be under review so long before a determination is made? I was told it would take 2 full business days. Why do they make it impossible for customers to talk with someone? Disgusting level of customer service, if you can even call it that.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteBoston to Phoenix
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service is terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Milwaukee to Dallas. So I booked my flight months in advance to go visit my friend in Dallas. The flight was delayed. At first by thirty mins, then an hour, then two and a half hours. They said they couldn’t find the crew, or get hold of them. Ok seems weird but I’m sure it happens. Then, they cancel it all of a sudden because of the weather. Alright, that’s reasonable. I’d rather not die. So I wasn’t really losses off at this point. I figured these things happen and my time isn’t really any more valuable than everyone else’s so whatever I’ll deal with it. So I go to the bathroom and grab a snack, figuring I’ll wait for the line to die down before talking to the booking agents. Well big mistake. All of the AA agents are gone. No trace. Vanished. It’s honestly only 7:30pm at this point, not like it’s 2am or something. So ok, no big deal, figured I’d just call. Well I’ve been on hold with no answer for over an hour now. Went online to see what I could do, they chose a new flight for me. All of the other flights have one to three layovers. Great. No now I paid a bunch of money to be in Dallas for less than 24 hours. And I tried to file to receive a refund online. surprise! That page conveniently does not work. Honestly I’m not even mad my flight got canceled because that’s just life, but clearly their customer service is terrible. So not take AA, even it’s your cheapest option.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilwaukee to Dallas
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no