Airline of the Year  

Allegiant Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 889 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"one of the better flights"

(United States)

Verified Review | Allegiant was one of the better flights I have taken in the last year. While everything is a-la-carte right down to a carry-on bag, to a bottle of water, the price was amazing, the flight attendants were professional, the airplane was new and clean and our flight departed and landed on time. We will fly Allegiant whenever possible as long as the rates and quality service continue to be amazing. My advice - take advantage of paying for the checked baggage or carry when booking or when they email you a flight reminder. Do you know you get one carry-on free as long as it can be placed under the seat in front of you. If you have to store it in the over-head bin then you have to pay. Also, drinks are $2 each, credit card only, no cash. However, I paid $3.90 for a bottle of diet soda in the airport when I could have bought one for $2 in flight. Knowing your options up front is the key to a successful trip with Allegiant.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteVPS to EWR
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Dreadful service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Allegiant Air Asheville to Baltimore. Dreadful service. They cancelled the flight after all of us had arrived at the airport, and then kept people waiting for a long time to get a hotel voucher. Their explanation for flight cancellation? "Maintenance". The flight left the next day without incident and more or less on time. I've traveled Allegiant before and never had such a dreadful experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAsheville to Baltimore
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it's not worth it"

(United States)

Verified Review | Please don't think it is worth flying Allegiant even if you got your ticket for dirt cheap like I did. It's not worth it. Flights will be cancelled - not just delayed but cancelled. But they won't be cancelled within a timely manner. You'll arrive to the gate before you get word of anything. First, they'll keep you hanging on to false hope that maybe your flight is only delayed, as they notify you in 30 minute increments to wait 30 more minutes several times over. After several hours of waiting only then will you be told that no, in fact, the flight is cancelled. As in - go home, find somewhere to stay tonight, and come back in a day or two to try again and that isn't even a guarantee. Actually, count yourself lucky if your flight is only delayed by 5 or 6 hours. Getting to your correct destination and on time is equivalent to winning the lottery.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMemphis to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Allegiant is the worst airline I have experienced. We travelled from Las Vegas to Fresno, and that was declared delayed by 3 hours and when we got on the flight, the flight attendants were joking over the intercom and not really giving a damn about the passengers. Never knew how long the flight was because they kept saying the wrong thing and then laughing on the intercom. Doesn't go down well. Then we go on our returning trip; they turn up 20 minutes late at the check-in desk. Signs for check in are the wrong place so people were getting confused. Get to the gate and minutes before boarding they announce the flight is 2 hours late. That is after 20 minutes of people getting confused because the sign at the gate changed to Denver. I honestly hope people read this post, refuse to use their service and not use them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFresno to Las Vegas
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff made mistakes over the tannoy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Allegiant from Fresno to Las Vegas. The worst airline experience I've had, driving would have been a better option! 3 hours delayed on the way out and now 2.5 hours (and counting) delayed on the way back, with very little notice given on the delay. Regarding the flight itself, the staff made mistakes over the tannoy and openly laughed about it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFresno to Las Vegas
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely horrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | Absolutely horrible from Oklahoma City to Destin - we will never fly Allegiant again! On our way to Panama City, they delayed the flight two hours. We are driving from Tulsa at this point so we continue on. We get there, wait hours until the flight and they cancel it 45 minutes before. We then have to go find all our luggage (we have 3 families, 12 of us). And decide to rent a car to just drive to Panama City. Then we barely hear over the intercom after an hour of figuring out rental cars the flight gets put back on. We arrive in Florida around 11:30pm. On our way home we arrive on time, then We're stuck on runway because there is another Allegiant plane loading passages on our gate. Babies screaming. The flight attendant keeps yelling over the Intercom to not let babies get passed off to relatives. Horrible. Never again and everything costs money - even water.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOklahoma City to Destin
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I will state never fly this airline again after the horrific experience we had this week. We booked a trip with Allegiant to fly from Ogdensburg NY (near our home town of Ottawa, Ontario) to Orlando but it's actually Sanford which is about 45 minutes from the Orlando International Airport and north of the city. Our departure flight was late due to heavy air traffic in the Orlando area; delay of 90 minutes. There is no car rental agency at all in Ogdensburg, so if you happen to get stuck there, you're out of luck! On June 10, we arrived back at the Sanford Airport, having dropped off our rental, and entered Terminal B to check in for our return flight on June 11. It was a clear day. We were greeted by an airport person that advised up before even entering the check-in line that our flight had been cancelled, and we would need to go to Terminal A (?). Once we walked all the way over there, we were in a line with all the other passengers from the flight. Two employees were at the counter. It took us over an hour to reach the front only to be told the flight was not rescheduled and we could fly home on Wednesday! No offers of anything other than a voucher to fly again with Allegiant for the missed flight; not the total. All this resulted in us having to book another car; drive to Orlando; book a JetBlue flight at $1000 to Syracuse; rent another car in Syracuse; drive to Ogdensburg to pick up our car, then back to Watertown to drop off the 3rd rental of that day and drive home; arriving in Ottawa at 6:00 a.m. the following day! With flights and cars, the added cost was $1500! So much for a $69 airfare to Sanford! I could have flown business class from Ottawa on a major airline for less than it ended up costing us to fly Allegiant. I have tried several times to call the number listed on a slip of paper the airport employee handed us after our hour-long wait. I would caution anyone this is even remotely thinking of traveling with this airline to think twice. a major airline, you would be flying into and out of major airports where other airlines would be available, and partner airlines possibly available to help you get home. With Allegiant, they fly into 'fringe' airports that only cater to just them or them and a few other charter airlines (as in Sanford). They cancelled their flight with absolutely no explanation to passengers, and no rescheduling. Speaking with other passengers, this is a frequent occurrence with this airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOgdensburg to Sanford
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not waste your money"

(United States)

Verified Review | Do not fly with Allegiant Air. Our original flight from Cincinnati to Myrtle Beach was delayed almost 4 hrs and now our return flight home is delayed. We have a 1 and 3 year old with us which makes this experience even worse. The customer service is the absolutely poor. Lady at the desk says that the reason for the flight delay this time is due to bad weather in Cincinnati, which is strange because my husband is in Cincinnati and says the weather is 83 and sunny. One of the airport workers told me to never fly Allegiant because they have flight delays every day because they don't have enough planes to accommodate the flights they schedule. I don't think I would be as annoyed if I hadn't had issues with Allegiant in the past. Do not waste your money.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCincinnati to Myrtle Beach
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"frustrating, and exhausting"

(United States)

Verified Review | Orlando to Moline. We arrived at the airport 2.5 hours early. My wife and I have 5 kids and pre checked in the night before. We had a stroller and a car seat so we could not use the express kiosk. We had to wait in line for 2 hours just to check our bags. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 7:15. My wife, my five kids and I rush through security and got to our gate in time before the flight left. We are just now taking off and it is 8:23. Very poor process and experience thus far. I would recommend if it is fiscally an option to spend extra money to use a different company. This has been a horrible, frustrating, and exhausting experience. Mistakes happen, I get it. Hopefully someone from the company reads this and treats this as a learning experience and look to grow from it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Moline
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I had to deal with"

(United States)

Verified Review | Worst airline I had to deal with. We (my wife and I) planned a 7-day trip to Grand Canyon. The flight from Santa Rosa, CA to Las Vegas (flight 569 from Santa Rosa to Las Vegas) seemed to be very convenient. No need to drive to San Francisco, inexpensive. We arranged everything: we booked a round trip flight with Allegiant, a car rental From Las Vegas airport, a week stay at the hotel in Flagstaff, some prepaid excursions. So we were waiting for boarding at the airport, hearing that the boarding starts in a few minutes again and again. Then we got a message that the flight was delayed for an hour. About an hour later, it was announced that the flight was canceled (without rebooking) for technical reason. We were not offered any option to have our flight rebooked with Allegiant or any other airline even we were ready to fly from any another other (San Francisco or Oakland) Bay Area airport. We have so many things scheduled (and paid for) already. We were told: "go to SFO or OAK and try to book another flight by yourself". We only got two $150 vouchers that we could use with Allegiant Air. Those vouchers are worthless since we are not going to fly with this airline. Never again! Money paid for the reservation for the roundtrip with the airline is supposed to be refunded (including car rental). At least Allegiant Air customer service representative told us so. It is still too early to confirm if we get all the money we paid during our booking with Allegiant. It may take a few day to confirm if we got our money back. But what about all other expenses? A week worth of taken vacation time, the hotel reservation that was too late to cancel, pre-booked excursions. I am not even talking about small things like driving to airport, paying for parking. Any normal airline would at least pay cash for "inconvenience" and would rebook a flight with another airline, pay for the hotel. As I said earlier we would be OK with driving to San Francisco or Oakland and fly from there. No company have the right to treat its customers like this. The company is supposed to be responsible for their poor service and for the "lost" customer’s time and money.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Rosa to Las Vegas
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no