Allegiant Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1059 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never travel again with this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Indianapolis to Fort Lauderdale. First time traveling Allegiant and will never travel again with this airline and I haven’t even boarded the plane yet. Sunny, no clouds in Indianapolis and sunny, and no clouds in Fort Lauderdale yet, our flight is delayed 3 hours and counting. Plane is here. Everyone has checked in. Allegiant employees are saying the delay is due to the weather. I just flew through a tropical storm last month in the Caribbean via another airline - can’t be worse than that! Ruined my whole first day of vacation. Will tell everyone I know to avoid at all costs. Would rather pay double to fly a reliable airline than deal with this nonsense. Allegiant Air quick way to eat up your PTO and ruin all your travel plans even on the sunniest of days! All other airlines have a 50 lb bag limit and theirs is 40 lb - it’s gonna cost ya.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this inept airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst experience of any airline here or overseas. Our first time on this airline. On 7-15-18 delayed over an hour before take off from PGA. On landing at Nashville we were kept 1.5 hours on the plane before it had a gate available. Departure 7-19-18 on arrival at Nashville there was a line of 150 people to a single desk = long wait. 6.15pm flight to Punta Gorda delayed to 7:15 then to 9:15PM. This is what I might expect from some 3rd world Airline. Pay more and avoid this inept airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePunta Gorda to Nashville
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"return flight was delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tampa to Louisville. Got delayed due to mechanical issues for 2 hours on the way to Florida and the 2 more due to “crew rest,” whatever that means. Then this return flight was delayed 2 hours soon as we arrive to the airport. We both the plane and all of a sudden the pilot still hasn’t arrived. Then all of a sudden the plane had something that was broken so we had to deplane for another 3 hour delay. Staff are rude and the customer service line rings off the hook with no answers in sight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Louisville
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the first time I’ve ever flown this airline (I fly every couple months) and it was the worst experience. They charge you for everything, our return flight was canceled and rescheduled for the next day and they are very rude. They did give us travel vouchers we’ll never use and offered to reimburse us for extra expenses. However. I’ve sent receipts via email twice with no response after the “we’ve received your email” response. I waited on hold to talk to someone for 2 hours and 5 minutes for them to tell me there’s nothing they can do and hung up on me. (I was being pleasant this was uncalled for) I can’t believe they’re in business!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTulsa to Las Vegas
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"worth the money you pay"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Great experience with Allegiant Air. Website was easy to use and loved the ongoing reminders and alerts I was getting. Check In was easy. Flights were good. Smooth landing. Seats are bit tight and you have to pay for any food/beverages but no big deal as it was a short flight. Definitely worth the money you pay for the flight still. Only issue was temperatures on both flights were very high and too cold for comfort would suggest wearing warm clothes or bring blanket. Would definitely use again and recommend. Wish they were closer than the drive to Niagara Falls NY.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNiagara Falls to St Petersburg
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not flying this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | So it started off with the morning of my flight. I received a notice that my seat assignment has changed. “No big deal” I thought, “it happens to every airline. About an hour after that I received another notification that my flight is delayed an hour. Keep in mind this is around 8AM and my flight was scheduled for 2PM. Again I thought “no big deal it happens”. However, as the day went on my flight kept getting delayed. Eventually we get to the airport and the flight is now delayed to 7PM. So I sit down and relax until it’s time to board. “Finally” I think to myself “I can now relax”. I sit down and wait for the rest of the flight to board, that’s when they tell us to deplane due to a maintenance issue. I hoped it wouldn’t take that long, but we were told that it can’t be fixed tonight. We’re told that they are sending a new aircraft but it’s not going to arrive until 11PM. All the while I’m thinking “how can an airline allow this much of a ripple effect to happen, to allow a flight to get delayed 9 hours. I’m not flying this airline again.
AircraftMD-80
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMemphis to Orlando
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Allegiant again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Lauderdale to Concord. Where to start? I have flown Allegiant for a few years because their airport in Concord is much closer (ten minutes) to my daughter's family than the Charlotte airport (forty minutes). But I have never enjoyed it mainly because one is never sure if the flight will happen. But this last trip took the cake and apart from returning home on my existing ticket, I will never, ever fly Allegiant again. I was accompanying my two grandsons, (11 and 14) back to their home on a 3:59 p.m. flight, arrival around 6:00 p.m. on July 13. Around 2:00 I got a text that flight delayed until 5:00, arrival 7:00. The problem was the plane coming to Fort Lauderdale (FTL) had equipment problems. The fact that the waiting area was clogged with folks on an earlier (10:30) flight one lady said, was a bad sign. Then we got an announcement they were sending a "rescue plane", yay, but it was smaller and they needed 4 volunteers and we had to get new seat assignments. Finally we boarded at 5:30 and left, only to land at Sanford, normally a half hour flight, an hour later where we deplaned. We left Sanford on yet another third plane with the same crew. The pilot apologized for the lack of info but said on the prior flight they had lost navigation and instrumentation and so had "been pretty busy". Thank God he and his co. had known what they were doing. The crew came through with the cart and I asked if they really meant to charge for beverages under the circumstances. I got three bottles of water for the boys and for me. We finally touched down at 10:30 p.m. The boys were exhausted. Their parents had tried to call customer service and were told there was a "356 minute wait for an agent"! This morning I got an email with a lousy $50 voucher; I wonder if I could use it for drinks and snacks on the way home, since I will never fly Allegiant again. By the way the agents in FTL were wonderful and patient and tried their best under terrible circumstances. I don't think this airline deserves them. The upshot is that I have never flown an airline where so many of the delays were caused by equipment failures, as opposed to weather issues. Must be a very old, poorly maintained fleet and I no longer trust its safety. My recommendation: run, don't walk away from them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Concord
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we waited two hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible. Delayed three hours and waited for luggage for 2 hours. Our flight time was shorter than the wait for our luggage. No one came to tell us why we were waiting so long, called the airline and they replied with an "unavailable" message. Other flights with Allegiant got their luggage on time while we waited two hours. No one came to explain why, 0/10. Seat trays were small, no food was offered, you could not lean in front and lay down to sleep.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLouisville, Kentucky to Jacksoville, Florida
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"bullies you into paying"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ft Lauderdale to Cincinnati. On the trip from Cincinnati to Ft. Lauderdale we were delayed 4.5 hours. Communication was horrible from attendants. On the return trip, I was stopped at the counter before boarding. They said the roller bag I was carrying on to place in the overhead bin was too large. Mind you, this is the same 22" roller bag I have flown with for years and placed in an over head bin. In fact, I flew down with this bag in the overhead bin on the same plane as I was returning. I was told I would be charged $50 for an over sized bag or I would not be able to fly. I ended up paying even though I had already paid a charge for carry on. I then boarded the plane and placed it in the overhead bin. I feel Allegiant bullies you into paying for all these "extra" fees to make up for the low airfare. I paid up front only to be hassled as the gate. I will never fly with them again even if they are cheaper.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Cincinnati
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"planes are very old"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Portsmouth to Orlando. I would prefer to fly on the newer planes. The planes are very old with no USB slots for charging, no free wifi, no monitors on the back of each seat, the seats are very old and uncomfortable. There's no padding left. Have you ever heard of memory foam cushioning? Not even 1 free can of soda. There was nothing wrong with the flight other than the 2 hour delay. 3 hours of you count the very first change to the flight time a few months earlier. Every time we fly allegiant air there's a delay. The on time percentage must be in the 30% range. Landing and take off went as expected. The flight crew was nice.
AircraftMD-80
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortsmouth to Orlando
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no