Alitalia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 694 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Italy) 29th July 2015

Excellent food and wine, good overall service with the possibility to eat at a time of your choice. The service is in line with the best European Airlines and better than any North American Airline. In-flight entertainment was good, with wide selection of movies on in-seat monitors. Seats are comfortable and are completely flat for sleeping. Beauty case is given also for daytime flights.
AircraftAirbus 330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVenice to Abu Dhabi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Canada) 27th July 2015

Both ground crew and flight attendants lack customer satisfaction skills - treat the customer with indifference. Pre-booked seats outbound and inbound only to find they changed seats both ways without any communication. Plane was old and seats were very uncomfortable. Large TV monitors ran down the middle aisle every 6-7 rows and most didn't work properly. Food was mediocre. Terrible, terrible airline. I would never recommend Alitalia.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto to Catania via Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Canada) 23rd July 2015

On June 25, 2015 we flew back to Toronto from Rome after a Mediterranean cruise. This flight had been booked in October 2014, and the seats reserved. They changed our seats and put us in the very last row, where the seats don't recline and between 2 toilets. Apparently they can change your seats whenever they want. So we spent nine hours listening to the toilets flush, no windows, could not recline the seats, while the seats in front of us were right in our face. The food was so bad. The plane was an old one, with one small TV screen every 8 rows, and the one closest to us didn't work. We will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteRome to Toronto
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Canada) 23rd July 2015

My flight and subsequent experience with Alitalia, was the worst I have had. The flight attendants were rude, they forgot to give me a meal and when reminded, in a polite way, they didn't ever produce a meal. Luckily it was an overnight flight so not essential. On arrival in Rome, this was a direct flight, my luggage was lost / delayed. I spent a week in Tuscany minus any change of clothing, trying to locate the luggage by phoning frequently (several Italian speaking friends also helped me by trying to connect with customer service), to no avail. I was in a remote area, so could not even shop for essentials. When someone finally answered the phone they had no knowledge as to where my suitcase was. At the end of the week, after a spoiled vacation, I still encountered difficulties at the Rome airport. I was sent from one terminal to another, by very disinterested staff. in order to reunite with my luggage. The whole experience left me with a very negative impression of Alitalia and its staff.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto to Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Albania) 20th July 2015

I flew from Tirana to London via Rome and in general I was quite happy with the experience. Flight from Tirana to Rome departed on time at 5.45 am. Although it was a short flight of only an hour we were still served snacks and drinks. Same happened from Rome to London City Airport, where I flew on an Embraer plane. On the return flights, due to the whole plane being full, I was forced to book first class, which was actually the first time for me. London-Rome we were served Italian bread with prosciutto and some ice cream. Same from Rome to Tirana. Cabin crew were kind and polite on all four flights. When I entered the Rome-London flight, my seat was dirty and sticky but a cabin attendant cleaned it immediately. I was happy overall.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTirana to London via Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (United States) 19th July 2015

This plane had to have been made in the 90's or even earlier, it was so old and outdated. One small TV per 30 seats. Our flight was an overnight flight that left at 11pm and the lights were turned off for take-off and everyone got cozy just in time for them to turn the lights on at 12.15am to serve dinner, which wasn't appropriate for either time zone. They kept the lights on until 1.30am. The worst part - the flight attendants went to sleep in their reserved extra large seats with leg rests in the middle of the economy class. Not only did 6 of them go to sleep on the plane, but they put up a blanket divider around their section which was attached to the overhead compartments with velcro, and laid completely in front of the seat in front of me, blocking the pocket to store things. Food was awful. Service was awful. Attendants were rude.
AircraftAirbus
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBoston to Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Belgium) 19th July 2015

Horrible experience. Both on departure than on return. To start with we had a delay of more than 2 hours because of a problematic passenger (not company's fault) but no A/C and nothing was made to make it up. On return both flights were late and I almost missed my correspondance in Rome due to a late landing and messy airport organisation. On top of that Alitalia lost my luggage. Will never flight again with them, even if I have to pay more for others.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTbilissi to Brussels via Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (United States) 19th July 2015

Worst flight to Europe in many years! Tightest seating, surly cabin crew, bad food and service. Would never have booked Alitalia except for the fact that this was a hard-to-see code share' booked on Delta internet site. In my book this makes Delta an accomplice. Don't they know Alitalia is dramatically substandard compared to Delta?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJFK to Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Belgium) 19th July 2015

This is the first time I have flown with Alitalia from Brussels to Rome and back. I think they are not better or worse than other airlines in Europe. Seats are comfortable and you actually have a nice legroom. Personel are attentive. Alitalia still serves drinks and a little snack for free, while other national carriers start charging for it. Flight from Brussels to Rome departed on time and arrived ahead of schedule in Rome. Flight from Rome to Brussels departed with delay but that was due to the chaos on Rome Fiumucino, but landed on time in Brussels. My father needed wheelchair assistance and that was organised by Alitalia without any problems. I certainly would fly them again to Rome.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBrussels to Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Alitalia customer review

Review by (Singapore) 11th July 2015

Both flights are fairly short, however the E-195 cabin is much more comfortable, spacious and modern than the much older A320 that Alitalia used on the Rome - Amsterdam route. Both flights had underwhelming catering onboard. Other than drinks and a few snacks, no real meals were served. On my way from Amsterdam to Rome, I had an Alitalia flight number, but the flight was operated by KLM and they had great sandwich options onboard.
AircraftE-195 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTrieste to Amsterdam via Rome
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes