Vote Airport  

Alitalia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 391 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"planes old and dirty"

(Belgium)

Brussels to Tel Aviv via Rome with Alitalia - it took 3 transfer buses in Fiumicino airport to get on to the flight to Tel Aviv. The flight to Tel Aviv was a nightmare - planes are old and dirty, toilet cleanliness very poor. Service on the plane was poor - no water for 1.5 hours and the 2 staff were continuously complaining against customers. It's a shame to be Italian and see the airline managed like this. Flight back from Istanbul was almost 1 hour late and they booked me on another flight - aircraft again dirty and old. The price of the flight was high and I would only use Alitalia for very short range, local flights.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to TLV via FCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"cabin crew professional"

(Italy)

Rome to Milan Linate and return with Alitalia. Flights operated with aged A319 but well maintained, cabin crew professional and food consisted in a little pack of biscuits or chips, ok for such a short route. I'll not hesitate to fly Alitalia on regional and medium haul flights again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFCO to LIN
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very professional service"

(Italy)

Rome to Miami in Alitalia business class on A330. Outstanding food and very professional service by the crew made for a relaxing flight. New leather seats on business class. Great selection of movies on the inflight entertainment, highly recommended.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFCO to MIA
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"was worth the price"

(United States)

I booked 2 tickets from New York JFK to Rome return for two trips in 2015, travelling in Alitalia's Premium economy product. They cordon off Premium economy seating area which is limited to 24 seats or less. Offerings include a free amenity kit which depending on the time of year can be from a famous Italian designer. Priority boarding and deplaning is offered, meals of a taste good are included. We were fed four times and offered free drinks. As someone who is disabled the Flight attendants insisted I use the business class bathrooms as they did not want me to walk very far. As a disabled person I felt that they went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Check in was a breeze, as you use the line for business class. I believe this product is perfect in price if you want to feel like your flying in premium but not spend a ton of cash for it. I would definitely say it was worth the $1800.00 round trip price and believe it was money well spent and would do it again. Great marks on Alitalia's handling of a disabled passenger and their guest.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteJFK to FCO
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"avoid Alitalia in the future"

(United Kingdom)

Tel Aviv to Milan via Rome with Alitalia, and the flight was fine. They lost my luggage and it took them 5 days to deliver. Customer Service will answer but not necessarily know at any time where is your luggage is. Hope the way back will be smoother. I will try to avoid Alitalia in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to MXP via FCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"seat didn't recline"

(Italy)

This month travelled from Venice to Hong Kong with Etihad but the the segment from Venice to Abu Dhabi was unfortunately made by Alitalia. The flight departed 1.5 hours late because of routine checks (if they were routine checks I can't understand why they made them at the boarding time). The ground personnel told me multiple times that connecting flights were all confirmed. We arrived in Abu Dhabi 2 hours late and although we were only 20 minutes late to boarding time of the connecting flights, ground personnel didn't let us go to gate and forced us to miss our flight because they had already moved us to the flight the day after. On the return flight my seat didn't recline although the plane was new. Cabin staff service was rude as always, inflight entertainment poor and food bad (on return flight from Abu Dhabi to Venice they gave us a sandwich). Lastly, the flight is flown half with Alitalia and half with Etihad, however when you do the check-in on the Etihad website you can't choose seats for the Alitalia flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVCE to HKG via AUH
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fight for a refund"

(Canada)

I booked and paid for Alitalia premium economy seats ($1200CA extra) from Toronto to Rome and return. Without warning, my premium seat on the way to Rome was not honoured because the aircraft that departed from Toronto was old and not equipped with such seats. I was seated in economy. I tried to explain the problem when I boarded the aircraft, but the cabin staff seemed indifferent and borderline rude! While in Italy, Alitalia agreed (via email) to refund the difference for the seat cost within one month. It's now been 3 months since their email and they haven't honoured their promise. I cannot reach their Cusomer Relations office directly. Alitalia doesn't allow it. One has to call the main reservations number; and maybe the attendant might convey one's message to Customer Relations. I have emailed Customer Relations several times. They don't respond. I have flown with countless airlines and have never heard of an airline who promises compensation (in writing) and then disappears. No customer should ever go through such effort and aggravation to receive a refund that was already promised. Do not book Premium Economy seats with Alitalia. If the aircraft changes and can't provide such seats, you either have to fight for a refund or will never get one.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to FCO
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"service was great"

(United States)

Alitalia trip from Palermo to New York JFK via Rome. The plane from Rome to JFK was somewhat worn looking on the interior, otherwise it was a great flight with friendly cabin crew and and a captain that was great at communicating foreseen turbulence (there wasn't any, but I always appreciate when a pilot is upfront about it). The service was great - snack, meal, and pre-landing snack. Inflight entertainment could use some work, but that's comparing it to Delta and Air France. I'd fly them again for Italy flights if needed.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePMO to JFK via FCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seats are the original ones"

(Spain)

Madrid to Rome with Alitalia. Complimentary sandwiches, chips and biscuits apart from beverage, wine/beer. Warm Purser and FA in charge and a lady Captain. 5 flight attendants in total for 186 seats. A 25 minutes delay in take off (landed on time) and the A321 interior dated. No inflight entertainment or wi-fi. Lavatories need an update and the seats are the original ones with just a recent leather cover. Many of the problems of Alitalia resides in Rome FCO Airport structure and hub. Often times planes (especially EU flights) are parked quite remotely due to lack of bridges. The airport looks more like a bus terminal, with hundreds of vehicles/buses travelling in and out and only one runaway for take offs. Minimum (if you are lucky) luggage recollection time is 30 minutes after landing. Baggage belts are a mess, with the same belt serving 6 flight at the same time.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to FCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nice seats and very clean"

(Italy)

Paris to Cagliari via Rome. A new aircraft I believe with nice seats and very clean. Staff nice and smiling. Service has changed with a small sandwich and choice of drinks. Arrival at Rome and bus to the terminal, however faster than before. Gate for connecting flight to CAG reached in 5 minutes. Flight from Rome to Cagliari was pleasant, no snack only drinks.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to CAG via FCO
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes