Best Economy Class Seats  

Alitalia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 426 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"not happy with the check in"

(Belgium)

Brussels to Rome. Planes were clean and personel was friendly. There weren't any delays and Alitalia is one of the only airlines that still give free drinks and food on board. However, I am not happy with the check in. I have bought these tickets in february, and reserved my seats as we are traveling with small childeren. On the return flight to Brussels, Alitalia suddenly changed the seat of a child to 23E while we were sitting at 11,12 and 14. Since one person did not travel (but we have paid for the seat and he was checked in). I asked in Rome to cancel this seat and move the child from 23E to this seat. They put us on standby and sent us to the standby desk, where we heard the flight was overbooked! We almost missed our flight. According to a lady of Alitalia, this was not the right procedure and they came with us to the standby office to solve the problem (by skipping the queue). I don't understand the point of the seat reservation when you book your flight, when you are not 100% sure Alitalia respects it. The training of the Alitalia check in staff must also be improved (certainly language skills).
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBRU to FCO
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service has definitely improved"

(Italy)

Rome Fiumicino - Barcelona and return. First leg with A321 and the second with A320. I can say that the service has definitely improved compared to some years ago. We were served a brioche on the flight to Barcelona and a sandwich on the way back to Rome, something better than the small pocket of biscuits they now seem to provide only onboard the national flights. Drink service was fine. Cabin crew was polite and always smiling. I will fly Alitalia again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFCO to BCN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were attentive and professional"

(Italy)

Rome FCO to Reggio Calabria and return. I have to say I really like the image of the new Alitalia, from the red and green uniforms to the new aircraft interiors, I was eager to verify all the changes done with Etihad. The change of style is visible everywhere inside Fiumicino airport and it gives you an idea of the improvement Alitalia is doing. The cabin crew were attentive and professional, food service has not changed that much, at least on regional flights, but it's fine for a 1 hour flight. On both flights we arrived ahead of scheduled time. I have nothing to complain about and I'll fly Alitalia again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFCO to REG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Alitalia always a mixed bag"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Rome with Alitalia. As with always, AZ is a mixed bag (based on several flights in past year, including transatlantic (FCO/LAX, ORD, JFK), inter-European and domestic (ex. BLQ, FCO, CTA). One thing to remember is that Alitalia are never on time. It's actually somewhat comical, and usually only 15-30 minutes, but if you're connecting make sure to pad the schedule taking this into account. That said, my partner recently spent 18+ hours waiting on an LAX-FCO, due to a cascading series of issues and lack of slack in their operations. The good of Alitalia - much more service and flair (there are a few poor cabin crew always, but many more good ones, and they are far more polished / professional than BA, AA, DL, etc. Only AF and LH are close in my experience). They seem especially helpful with older travelers and children. Decent food in eco and long-haul eco-premium. Nothing to remember, but better than usual airline stuff. Eco premium is a really good deal - only about 400-500Eur more and well worth it on long flights. Good legroom, entertainment, small/quiet cabin. The bad - their operational staff is a disaster. Literally, they are never on time, and they can't seem to iron this out. Skyteam coordination is nearly absent. You get your boarding pass from one, but still need to reprint on another (had this experience for DL, AF - maybe better with Etihad) - Rome Fiumicino is getting better, but is still a chaotic compared to CDG, AMS, or even FRA.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLAX to FCO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"a mixed bag with Alitalia"

(Spain)

A mixed bag with Alitalia. Catania to Rome on a refurbished A320. Punctual, drinks (including beer and wine) and sandwich provided free of charge. Younger flight assistants nice and friendly. Older ones grumpy and unfriendly. Rome to Madrid 30 minutes delay. No explanation from crew. Emergency exit with plenty of space. One flight assistant should seriously consider changing his job had a look of constant hatred on his face. The rest of the crew were ok but just about. Same drink service and sandwich as in the previous flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCTA to MAD via FCO
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent inflight service"

(Italy)

Verified Review | I'm a loyal customer of Alitalia, I take almost 30 flights per year. This year I have seen the airline improve a lot. Alghero to Bilbao via Rome. Excellent inflight service with a totally renovated cabin, very comfortable seats. Breakfast and lunch (with red wine) were free and the quality was excellent. I just hope they will improve WiFi onboard.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAHO to BIO via FCO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"do not care about service"

(Canada)

If you want to just arrive to your destination and do not care about service, Alitalia might be for your. Otherwise, do not use them. Flew from Toronto to Istanbul via Rome. The food was low quality even though part of it was long haul flight. I flew using Etihad, British Airways, KLM, Air Canada and Lufthansa. They are all light years ahead of Alitalia. I had to cancel my children's ticket and it took them weeks to process, while it took BA couple of days. We had to wait for 9 hours in Rome Airport to catch another flight. The airport does not even have AC, although it does have free wifi. In short, do not use Alitalia unless you really have no other choice.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to IST via FCO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"breakfast was delicious and plentiful"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Milan to Valencia via Rome with Alitalia. Service for business customers is attentive and with Sky Priority all procedures are faster. The seat in business class was very comfortable and the seats are configured so that the one in the middle row is free. The onboard staff has been very kind and caring for the whole trip. Breakfast served on board was delicious and plentiful.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLIN to VLC via FCO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent inflight service"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Milan to Buenos Aires via Rome with Alitalia. Excellent inflight service with meticulous attention to detail. Products offered together with some of the biggest names in Italy. Very good menu with a wide range of Italian wine. Seats very comfortable with "Poltrona Frau" leather and flatbed position and massage function. The crew, in addition to the slippers, also provided an elegant amenity kit by Salvatore Ferragamo. The only thing that can be improved is the entertainment system with the inclusion of WiFi onboard. I could not try the lounge in G terminal in Rome because it was closed for renovation. However, the Milan Linate lounge is comfortable
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLIN to EZE via FCO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"staff were friendly"

(Netherlands)

I recently flew Alitalia from Amsterdam to Milan Linate and back. Both flights were operated by their refurbished A320. Both flights on time, staff were friendly, snacks and drinks served. All in all, a perfect flight, considering how short a hop (1h 20min) it is. The only downside is Milan Linate airport, where everything is very unorganized, esp. check in. Alitalia should focus on this more.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to LIN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes