Alitalia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 588 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Free snack and light beverages"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Milan to Athens return. Flight on time, clean aircraft but very cramped seat. Free snack and light beverages. No communication from cockpit. Return flight perfectly on time, very good legroom and same service of the previous flight. Very attentive safety procedures. All in all well done Alitalia.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan LIN to Athens
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I've never had a problem"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Very positive review: the flight was in perfect time, the aircraft clean and comfortable. During the flight from Rome to Amman (night flight) was served two snacks (panino+muffin) and soft drinks. Alitalia provides pillows and blanket. I flew with Alitalia many times and I've never had a problem, can't understand why so many negative feedback.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMilano Linate to Amman via Roma Fiumicino
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

" Excellent flights both ways"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Athens via Rome. Excellent flights both ways from Chicago to Athens. Our connection was held in Rome so we made it on time. Staff was very nice, food was excellent, and seats were comfortable. My family and I are going to Greece again hopefully, and we would fly Alitalia for sure.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Athens via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't get what you pay for from them"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flight from Rome to FK, June 2018. Payed over $4,000 for two premium economy tickets on Alitalia. One seat was broken/didn't recline at all. An almost 10 hour flight! TV did not work, and food tray was broken as well. Flight attendant took down my info, promising me a call from Alitalia. That call never came! This airline claims they do not have a phone number to call about issues. Must email or write them! I continously did so, and received nothing for weeks! Finally got an email stating a $100 voucher would be given to me to use within a year! I spent over $4,000 for 2 premium seats! I tried to fight this through emails and letters mailed to their New York PO box, and got nowhere! We will never fly Alitalia again for business or personal travels, nor will our large family. They are a rip off for charging as much as they did, and not refunding at least some of our money to us due to us not receiving practically anything of what everyone else paid for and received. Empty seats were observed and never offered to us. I hope this helps others from being ripped off as I was. This airline is good at taking your money, yet not doing right by their customers when you don't get what you pay for from them. This was an almost 10 hour flight with no TV, no seat that reclined, and not even a food tray that came down correctly (not even to lay your head on). So much for paying thousands for extra comfort in premium seating! Please do yourselves a favor and choose another airline.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRome Fiumicino to JFK (New York)
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"serve free food nowadays"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Rome. Boarding was on time and quite fast. The plane was very old, it can't even illuminate properly the "fasten seatbelt" sign. Service on short European flight consist in a drink and a little snack, I think Alitalia is one of the few European airlines to serve free food nowadays. Our flight was delayed for 1 hour in Madrid due to airport congestion, so we arrived late in Rome.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"our luggage was lost"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Rome. My husband and I landed in Rome for our honeymoon three days ago and were informed our luggage was lost. We filled out the proper paperwork and left with our driver for our hotel. By the end of the night we were informed the luggage had been located at the airport and would arrive at our hotel by the following morning. Morning came and went with no luggage. We called the airline and the process of calling, being told to wait, and calling again began. For 72 hours this continued until our last day in Rome, today. We have spent hundreds in euro on clothes and hours trying to locate what we needed to enjoy our stay. Our options now are to take a taxi to and from the airport (40 minute drive) without receiving any reimbursement, or continue to wait for our luggage to magically reappear before we must leave for our final destination. We cannot afford the taxi since we have already spent so much on things we packed and have no access too, so we are left to wait. With no service on either of our american phones, the only option we have to get updates is to stay at the hotel where we can receive calls. Alitalia and their treatment of our case has ruined our stay in Rome. We only pray that our 3 days in Vienna might treat us with slightly more decency so that we may enjoy the honeymoon we have both worked so hard to experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Rome
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"been a nice surprise"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Milan via Rome. The flight has been a nice surprise: Korean and Italian staff was very nice and kind, food is the best I had on airplane. The wine that comes from a real glass bottle, leg space is better then standard.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Milan via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"experience was awful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Rome to Paris. We go to the ticketing area & they have someone standing at the entrances to confirm you are in the right area, so the man checked our paper & said go right here. We stand in a long line, only to be told that we were in the wrong line!! The lady told us to go 2 rows down. (be aware that even though it says Alitalia in really huge writing on the walls behind the desks, that there are different flight names displayed on the TV's above them in small writing up in the corner of the TV). I told the lady that the guy standing right there directed me here, and that it says Alitalia right there, then she pointed out that its what's on the TV. So we go in this long line & wait. We get to the counter, & the guy starts talking to another man (which seemed to be a supervisor). We thought that maybe he was being trained so they were talking him through it, but they kept talking and laughing. We waited for awhile before I asked if there was an issue w/ our tickets. Then, he calmly says, I can't find your tickets, you'll have to go to the help desk over there. I told him we didn't have a lot of time because we had already been directed to the wrong line & that our info was right there. He said I can't help you. So we go over there & there is about 8 people in front of us & only 1 person working at that desk. I'm starting to panic at this point because I didn't want to miss our flight, we had even came really early! I tell my bf to wait inline while I go back & see if someone else could help us because it seemed like this guy didn't know what he was doing at all. I ask a man standing up front to help because we are running out of time, he directs me to the same guy that we just dealt with - I tell him we are going to miss our flight, he says you have plenty of time. I couldn't believe how he was treating me. I was so frustrated, I had to walk away. I went back to my bf & told him, he went to the kiosk to see if he could print them while I waited inline. I get up to the lady tell her he couldn't find them, she calls over to him, writes something on the paper & says go back over there & they will take you right away. (Her attitude was not any better she was rude as well!!) So I turn & rush to get my bf from the kiosk & she starts yelling at me to go back to that desk & I told her that I have to get my bf, then she says ma'am you don't have time!!! (I know we don't have time!!) So we go back to the man to get our tickets & we cut the line like she said to. He refused to help us right away, so my bf says are you guaranteeing that we will not miss our flight? He says yes & then I think he worried so he stopped helping the other people & got us our tickets. We had to run to get to our gate. we barely made it. Then the boarding lady was taking bags because there was no room & gets into it with this elderly couple because they refused to give her their bags, because they lost their bags last time. She was not understanding at all, they ended up not letting them board, instead of letting them keep their bags. The whole experience was awful, customer service was very poor!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Paris
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"poor quality service"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Palermo to Moscow via Rome and I was so unlucky that I left my laptop on board of the aircraft on our way to Moscow. When I realized that the laptop was left, I called to the support service in Russia and asked what should I do. I was told to send a request to the Alitalia lost and found office. The only e-mail address on the website was Italian , and after sending the request I was answered, that this Office has only responsibility for the things left on board of the airplanes going to Rome and was advised to contact Sheremetyevo airport. Sheremetyevo airport explained that they do not collect things from other Airlines, except Aeroflot. Things that are left on board of Alitalia Airlines are brought to the small Alitalia Office located at Sheremetyevo. After asking Alitalia main Office for the contact, I got the answer that they dont have it. So the only way to find something you left on board going to Moscow is to come every day to Sheremetyevo Alitalia Office and ask them personally. No e mail address, No telephone number, No permanent working hours. Basically you have to live in Sheremetyevo and wait if the lady in a green Alitalia T shirt will get returned your laptop. How come that the national airline company of Italy do not have the local number of their own representative in Russia and cannot answer the simple question who gets the forgotten on board luggage if it is found? I can surely say that it a clear sign of unrespectful attitude to the customers and was really choked of the unwilling of the Alitalia employees to help, they were just redirecting every time from call centre in Russia back to lost and found Office in Rome. Really poor quality service!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePalermo to Moscow via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"not included in the upgrade"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Rome. On the return flight from Los Angeles we traveled in Premium Economy having requested and obtained a flight upgrade. Having had the upgrade we thought we would enjoy all the privileges of this class of flight including the possibility of embarking 2 bags of 23 kg, but at the airport of LAX we learned that this was not included in the upgrade. Now, if the company offers me an upgrade (through participation in an auction) it should also specify which services the customer has access to and which are not. Needless to say, at the airport to our grievances they shrugged and the conclusion was that we were able to take two extra bags as members of the Ulisse Club. Frankly it was so many years that I did not travel Alitalia and in this circumstance I remembered why. Another flaw that I found is the bad grace of the stewardess and the bad conditions in which the toilets are left, which after so many hours and so many people who frequent them become unrealistic. Finally my seat, but it was bad luck, did not remain reclined but moved continuously upright. IT: Sul volo di ritorno da Los Angeles abbiamo viaggiato in Premium Economy avendo chiesto ed ottenuto un upgrade della classe di volo. Avendo avuto l'upgrade noi pensavamo di godere di tutti i privilegi di questa classe di volo tra cui la possibilità di imbarcare 2 bagagli da 23 Kg, invece all'aeroporto di LA abbiamo appreso che questo non era compreso nell'upgrade. Ora, se la compagnia mi offre un upgrade ( attraverso la partecipazione ad un'asta) dovrebbe anche specificare quali sono i servizi a cui il cliente ha accesso e quali no. Inutile dire che in aeroporto alle nostre rimostranze hanno fatto spallucce e la conclusione è stata che siamo riuscite ad imbarcare due bagagli in più in quanto membri del Club Ulisse. Francamente erano tanti anni che non viaggiavo Alitalia ed in questa circostanza mi sono ricordata del perchè. Un'altra pecca che ho riscontrato è la malagrazia delle hostess e le cattive condizioni in cui vengono lasciate le toilette, che dopo tante ore e tanta gente che le frequenta diventano improponibili. Da ultimo il mio sedile, ma sarà stata la sfortuna, non rimaneva reclinato ma si spostava continuamente nella posizione eretta.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLos Angeles to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no