Airline of the Year  

airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 143 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst customer service ever"

(United States)

Verified Review | Rijeka to Tallin via Riga. Worst customer service ever. The flight was delayed 5.5 hours and we were never told - not by email or text, not when we checked in, and not by any personnel. In fact, us grumbling passengers sat at the gate for over an hour past our boarding time before any of us were able to find someone who told us about the long delay. Instead of leaving at 7pm, it was now departing at 1am the next day. Of course I missed my connection and had to eat the cost of the hotel I had reserved on the other end. The airline's compensation? A sandwich and bottle of water. And when 4 hours went by and I asked for another water, I was made to pay for it. I would have gladly drank out of a drinking fountain, but there was none - I was told to get it out of the bathroom faucet.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRijeka to Tallin via Riga
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"expensive and offers no service"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Never use airBaltic. It is very expensive and offers no service. The only thing they are interested in is to force you to pay them as much money as you only can for some absolutely natural things. My case: I travelled from Hamburg to Moscow via Riga for €338 economy with my cabin baggage. It was 8,3kg and I didn't buy any extra luggage. Nobody told me on my trip to Moscow that my bag is too heavy or oversized. On my way back they started to pretend that the bag is heavier than allowed 8kg (300 grams) and is too big. When I told them, that they must have told me this on my way to the destination, not on my way back they just ignored my remark. I politely asked them to let me take the bag with me to the cabin, as I was short on time to wait for the bag in Hamburg. In a very impertinent manner they refused me. I asked them to let me pay, for the bag but still take it with me to the cabin. They just didn't allow me that although in the first two segments of flight it was no problem. In the end I paid 400€ for economy from Hamburg to Moscow and back with no meal, one luggage and no service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Hamburg via Riga
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"disadvantage is ancient aircraft"

(Belarus)

Verified Review | Vilnius to Munich with airBaltic on Boeing 737-500. Acceptable service for reasonable price (135 euro RT). Looks like a fair low-cost airline and airBaltic flies to main airports instead of secondary (MUC instead of FMM etc.). Polite and competent crew, quick and efficient online booking and check-in. The main disadvantage is ancient aircraft (Boeing 737-500 was 25 years old and looked very tired).
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Munich
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cramped and not comfortable"

(Estonia)

Verified Review | airBaltic seats are small, there's no reasonable legroom and two really big guys were snoring and almost laying over me. I was cramped and not comfortable. At least, the flight was short. The price for round trip from Tallinn to Riga was over 300 euros, which is really expensive - it was the cheapest class and cheapest everything.
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTallinn to Riga
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"only had one bad flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Having flown with AirBaltic over the past 10 years, and only had one bad flight on the Gatwick to Riga route. This return flight was well above the high standard of the service that the airline operates, however they are let down by the Ground Handling agents at LGW (Gatwick Ground Handling). The boarding of the flight was delayed by 30 minutes due to ground staff leaving a set of doors open on the next gate (33) and a BA 777 been parked on that stand. Hence passengers arriving disembarked via the walk way across gate 32. Which according to the cabin crew is a daily occurrence since the terminal changes at Gatwick, hence we departed 30 minutes late but were able to make up 25 minutes due to the tail wind. Pre ordered meal was good value for money and tasty. The cabin service was slick. The announcements from the cockpit and cabin were clear and informative. The prices onboard were high street prices and good value. The outbound trip was on a half empty plane and the return the plane again was only about 75% full. The return flight I was offered an upgrade at the airport on check in the day before and the service at the Customer Service Desk was excellent. This is the first time I have flown Airbaltic in Business class and was surprised at the level of service offered. Again the food was tasty. Arrival at both airports the formalities were fast and quick I took 15 minutes at Riga and 20 minutes at Gatwick. Due to the problems with the ground service at Gatwick on the outbound flight, I have adjusted the score of Airport Service. However I am due to fly again with the airline on the same route in June and today have received an email telling me that the flight time have been adjusted by 30 minutes.
Aircraftb737500
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Riga
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"CS300 is great aircraft"

(Latvia)

Verified Review | I flew airBaltic on 2th March from Riga to Barcelona and on 5th return. Tried their pre-ordered meal for the first time and it was good. CS300 is great aircraft, was happy to try it. Silent, a lot of sunlight inside because of big windows, a lot of leg space. Return flight was on old Boeing which is ok but it is less comfortable and has little legroom and hand luggage space is too small which is not a problem on CS300. I could recommend flying them but suggest to have at least 3 hours between flights if you use Riga as a transfer hub.
AircraftCS300 / Boeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Riga
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"CS300 is a very good aircraft"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew airBaltic from London Gatwick to Riga on the new Bombardier CS300 and from Riga to Amsterdam on an old Boeing 737-300. The CS300 is a very good aircraft, bright, roomier with wide seats in a 2x3 configuration. The Boeing 737-300 is still okay, but shows its age, seats very hard. We left on both flights over an hour late due to weather, crews fine.
AircraftBombardier CS300 / Boeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to AMS via RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"luggage lost for an entire week"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to Stockholm via Riga. I tried to check in on my phone and the app did not allow me. The only way was buying lunch in order to move on with the check in process. I decided to get to the counter and the person charged me US$ 35 euros only for checking me in (even though their app had problems to check in). They charged me in total US$100 for checking in and checking my luggage. The service was terrible, especially from the person at the counter. In addition to all that, my luggage did not arrive to the final destination and was lost for an entire week. Every time I called the airline, they were charging me per minute even though they were the ones who lost my suitcase.
AircraftBoeing 737-500 / Dash 9-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to ARN via RIX
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

airBaltic customer review

(Latvia)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Riga. I have been flying many years with this airline. Since it offers many connections, obviously there are not many choices, however when possible I try to choose any other airline and if I'm not in rush, I better pick connecting flights than flying direct with airbaltic. I hate this airline because of bad support I have received before for changing flights. I believe this sits in my head for many years and there is nothing really to love this airline. Primarily to fly with AirBaltic, the tickets are quiet expensive and the service is non existent. You are basically flying EasyJet at cost of Lufthansa or Turkish Airlines. EasyJet service is much better. Normally flights are on time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent service"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Helsinki-Riga-Helsinki. Excellent service. Clean cabins. Preordered meal was vanished, but the FA gave me another meal. Comparing the airline which fly the same route, airBaltic is definitely the winner. Clear announcements from the cockpit also surprisingly in Finnish. Looking forward to book another flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHEL to RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes