Vote Now  

airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 137 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"CS300 is a very good aircraft"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew airBaltic from London Gatwick to Riga on the new Bombardier CS300 and from Riga to Amsterdam on an old Boeing 737-300. The CS300 is a very good aircraft, bright, roomier with wide seats in a 2x3 configuration. The Boeing 737-300 is still okay, but shows its age, seats very hard. We left on both flights over an hour late due to weather, crews fine.
AircraftBombardier CS300 / Boeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to AMS via RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"luggage lost for an entire week"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to Stockholm via Riga. I tried to check in on my phone and the app did not allow me. The only way was buying lunch in order to move on with the check in process. I decided to get to the counter and the person charged me US$ 35 euros only for checking me in (even though their app had problems to check in). They charged me in total US$100 for checking in and checking my luggage. The service was terrible, especially from the person at the counter. In addition to all that, my luggage did not arrive to the final destination and was lost for an entire week. Every time I called the airline, they were charging me per minute even though they were the ones who lost my suitcase.
AircraftBoeing 737-500 / Dash 9-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to ARN via RIX
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

airBaltic customer review

(Latvia)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Riga. I have been flying many years with this airline. Since it offers many connections, obviously there are not many choices, however when possible I try to choose any other airline and if I'm not in rush, I better pick connecting flights than flying direct with airbaltic. I hate this airline because of bad support I have received before for changing flights. I believe this sits in my head for many years and there is nothing really to love this airline. Primarily to fly with AirBaltic, the tickets are quiet expensive and the service is non existent. You are basically flying EasyJet at cost of Lufthansa or Turkish Airlines. EasyJet service is much better. Normally flights are on time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent service"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Helsinki-Riga-Helsinki. Excellent service. Clean cabins. Preordered meal was vanished, but the FA gave me another meal. Comparing the airline which fly the same route, airBaltic is definitely the winner. Clear announcements from the cockpit also surprisingly in Finnish. Looking forward to book another flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHEL to RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flights were great"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Berlin Tegel to Riga. The flights were great, the cabin staff on both legs seemed to take pride in their work. I ordered a meal on both legs and the meals seemed to be good value for money and tasty. The cabins were clean and looked fresh. The seats were comfortable with plenty of leg room. The only minor point is no internet and I know some airlines are now offering this on certain routes. The announcements both from the cockpit and cabin were clear and easy to be understood. On the first flight it was a Dash 800 used for the flight and this was quieter than I expected and has been a while since I have flown a turbo prop aircraft. Also on arrival at Riga we were treated to a display by the Airport Fire Service has the flight was the Captains last flight before retiring from flying. The return flight was on a B737 and the flight left on time and arrived in Tegel 10 minutes ahead of time.
AircraftDash800 / Boeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to RIX
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very stressful and "negative

(Australia)

Verified Review | Negative experience with Airbaltic Our family (two adult and two children, 4 and 1 y.o.) went through an infuriating experience with Airbaltic on our way from Riga to Munich. Five minutes prior to boarding the flight was cancelled due to a technical problem and we were told to organise alternative flights at the information desk. We were in disbelief because our flight connections were now all out. There was a massive queue in front of the information counter, moving very slowly, as everyone needed to reschedule flights. We spent a long time waiting and then we were offered the option of calling the Airbaltic helpline to reschedule flights ourselves. So we called and were told that they would get us to Munich but that we would need to book any further connections ourselves. As a result, we spent more than two hours calling backwards and forwards between Airbaltic and Qatar Airways (our connecting flight), trying to line up all the connections as soon as possible, even though we believe it was the responsibility of Airbaltic to look after us as customers. In the end we spent the whole day from early morning till evening with two young kids at the Riga airport, flew to Munich via Berlin as there were no available direct flights that day and we had to pay for accommodation out of pocket. Airbaltic refused to reimburse our accommodation costs. We finally boarded our homeward flight the following morning. Our experience with Airbaltic was ultimately very stressful and negative, they gave us the impression of a company that cares only about money not people. Why did a technical fault appear five minutes before boarding? We will refrain from flying with them in the future and we don't recommend anybody else does either.
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIX to MUC
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"wonderful after an exhausting trip"

(Estonia)

Verified Review | Riga to Tallinn with airBaltic. A particularly considerate flight attendant brought a blanket to cushion the seatbelt on my belly when she noticed I'm pregnant - a very nice and caring gesture. Made me feel wonderful after an exhausting business trip.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIX to TLL
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer relations are abysmal"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | I was booked to fly from Riga to Tallinn on Air Baltic (BT315) at 14:25. Here’s what actually happened - I checked my bag at the airport and went to the gate, but no agent was there. After the flight was supposed to leave, there was a general announcement about a runway closure due to the emergency landing of an aircraft earlier in the morning. An airport monitor showed a new departure time of 18:00. As I waited in a long queue for an agent, the departure time for BT315 was changed again to 21:30. At 16:00, the runway was opened again and flights started to leave. My flight was still shown as departing at the delayed time of 21:30. At 19:30, the RIX airport website showed that my flight was cancelled. At 20:30, I managed to speak with an agent who got me a seat on the only flight to Tallinn that night, BT361 scheduled at 23:05. BT361 was delayed and left at 00:10, arriving in Tallinn at 00:55 on September 16. On the flight, the flight attendant was small minded enough to actually refuse me water, by insisting that all beverages need to be bought on Air Baltic. Talk about utter cheapness and disregard for the ordeal Air Baltic had put passengers through. So to sum up the situation - I got to Tallinn almost 10 hours later than scheduled. In this time, I could have driven to Tallinn and back. If I could offer some words of advice to someone considering this airline - be warned! Avoid it at all costs. If there's a problem, you'll have to do all the legwork and be tenacious in defending your rights. Customer relations are abysmal.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIX to TLL
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff terribly unprofessional"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Riga to Vienna. We booked tickets couple month prior, checked in 24 hours prior and printed our passes 2 hours prior at their airport counter. All that to find out that my boyfriend and I were rudely bumped out our flight 5 min before boarding without any proper explanation. Staff was terribly unprofessional and acting unacceptably, for all requests to see manager replying they either do not not where he is either he is not accessible? There was no calling for volunteers to get bumped out and we did not get any compenstaion right away. Neither got upgraded tickets for the another flight. Even free meal was not offered, though we did not have time to eat jumping from flight to flight in order to reach our destination finally. The whole reaction of staff was like 'whatever'. I fly a lot and was bumped out before, things happened, of course - but situation was always resolved right away with maximum comfort for the customer. Alas, Air Baltic is far from such standards as possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIX to VIE
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"impressed by their website"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | My flight from London to Riga was delayed, and I missed the connection to Moscow (it was to be only an hour, but that was the reason, why I bought such ticket — it was to be quite fast). We were rebooked to the next flights available (and I asked to book me a seat on the later flight, because the first one was very early — they agreed), given hotel rooms, transfer from/to the airport and a meal voucher for 5 EUR, which is possible to use at airport cafes. The problem was there was no cafes at the airport, which were open at night (about 11 PM), and airBaltic didn't provide a meal (so for me this was a drawback, but it's questionable, since not everybody has meal at 11 PM), but I managed to find a McDonald's near the hotel and to buy food. The hotel was quite comfortable, located in good, quiet place, near the big supermarket (not working at night), the rooms with shower, and nice breakfast was included in the room price. There was good wi-fi in the hotel. The next day I arrived to Moscow and sent a letter to the airBaltic customer service concerning the flight delay and asked to refund me the half of the ticket fare for being late. They replied in a week that they will provide a compensation of 400 EUR (more than the ticket price was). That was nice. Concerning the flights, the cabins were quite clean, the planes looked new. I flew in economic class, and the seats weren't wide enough, and the space for legs wasn't huge, but it was the same as I faced in economic class of other airlines. The staff was polite. I preordered a drink, and it was served to me soon after the take-off. I was impressed by their website. It allows you to preorder meals and drinks for quite reasonable prices, and the choice is good (in my opinion). The online check-in starts 7 days before the flight, and you can get your boarding pass in different formats. One should keep in mind that this is a lowcost airline, and one has to pay for meals, buggage, etc if needed) and can recommend it to anyone who considers indirect flights.
AircraftBoeing 737-300 / 500
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to SVO via RIX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes