Top 100 Airlines  

airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff terribly unprofessional"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Riga to Vienna. We booked tickets couple month prior, checked in 24 hours prior and printed our passes 2 hours prior at their airport counter. All that to find out that my boyfriend and I were rudely bumped out our flight 5 min before boarding without any proper explanation. Staff was terribly unprofessional and acting unacceptably, for all requests to see manager replying they either do not not where he is either he is not accessible? There was no calling for volunteers to get bumped out and we did not get any compenstaion right away. Neither got upgraded tickets for the another flight. Even free meal was not offered, though we did not have time to eat jumping from flight to flight in order to reach our destination finally. The whole reaction of staff was like 'whatever'. I fly a lot and was bumped out before, things happened, of course - but situation was always resolved right away with maximum comfort for the customer. Alas, Air Baltic is far from such standards as possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIX to VIE
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"impressed by their website"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | My flight from London to Riga was delayed, and I missed the connection to Moscow (it was to be only an hour, but that was the reason, why I bought such ticket — it was to be quite fast). We were rebooked to the next flights available (and I asked to book me a seat on the later flight, because the first one was very early — they agreed), given hotel rooms, transfer from/to the airport and a meal voucher for 5 EUR, which is possible to use at airport cafes. The problem was there was no cafes at the airport, which were open at night (about 11 PM), and airBaltic didn't provide a meal (so for me this was a drawback, but it's questionable, since not everybody has meal at 11 PM), but I managed to find a McDonald's near the hotel and to buy food. The hotel was quite comfortable, located in good, quiet place, near the big supermarket (not working at night), the rooms with shower, and nice breakfast was included in the room price. There was good wi-fi in the hotel. The next day I arrived to Moscow and sent a letter to the airBaltic customer service concerning the flight delay and asked to refund me the half of the ticket fare for being late. They replied in a week that they will provide a compensation of 400 EUR (more than the ticket price was). That was nice. Concerning the flights, the cabins were quite clean, the planes looked new. I flew in economic class, and the seats weren't wide enough, and the space for legs wasn't huge, but it was the same as I faced in economic class of other airlines. The staff was polite. I preordered a drink, and it was served to me soon after the take-off. I was impressed by their website. It allows you to preorder meals and drinks for quite reasonable prices, and the choice is good (in my opinion). The online check-in starts 7 days before the flight, and you can get your boarding pass in different formats. One should keep in mind that this is a lowcost airline, and one has to pay for meals, buggage, etc if needed) and can recommend it to anyone who considers indirect flights.
AircraftBoeing 737-300 / 500
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to SVO via RIX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impressed with airBaltic"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | I read a lot of negative reviews about Air Baltic and Riga Airport. On the outward journey all flights and connections were on time, but coming back yesterday the flight from Gatwick to Riga was delayed by an hour due to long lines of planes waiting to take off at Gatwick, so all those with onward flights to St Petersburg, Moscow, Tallinn and Tbilisi only had about 10 minutes connecting time left. However, the Air Baltic crew announced the gate numbers before we landed and went from seat to seat giving connecting passengers information, and once on the ground airport officials were waiting and very clearly gave everyone instructions on how to get to their gates quickly as the flights had been held. After a short wait on the plane to St Petersburg for the luggage of all the connecting passengers to arrive, we departed and only arrived in St Petersburg about half an hour late. I was impressed with Air Baltic and Riga Airport and thank all for their assistance.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to LED via RIX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"budget airline with premium pricing"

(Latvia)

Verified Review | Flew from Riga to Brussels. Overall, airBaltic is a budget airline with premium pricing. I have to fly with them, because there are no alternatives. Uncomfortable seats with very limited leg space and short headrests, squezeed as close as possible, rather overpriced and greasy food, although sometimes there are pleasant surprises. Aircraft always parks in the furthest possible slot, often buses are used and these cases the absolute minimum of them, so the buses are always overcrowded. However, both cabin and ground staff are very polite and responsive
AircraftDHC-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIX to BRU
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was slick and professional"

(United Kingdom)

airBaltic was let down on this flight by the totally unprofessional ground handling agents at gate D2 this afternoon. The gate staff were more interested in playing with their mobile phones than doing the job they are paid to do. The inbound aircraft that was used for the flight was late. This meant the flight to London was going to be delayed. The gate staff were rude, unhelpful and let the airline, airport and Latvia down. Having been Cabin Crew myself, I know that it takes minutes to turn an aircraft around and do a crew change. The gate staff gave misinformation to flyers which in my book is a big no no. There were an American Family who were flying from Heathrow later this evening and others who wanted to let people meeting them know that the flight was going to be late but the gate staff did not care less. The answers that were given ranged from the aircraft is not here yet to the aircraft will be in London at 5pm. The aircraft crew were first class and professional both the cockpit and cabin crew apologised for the delay. The service was slick and professional. The Cabin menu is tasty and fresh. The coffee tasted like coffee rather than the lukewarm water on some airlines offer. The flight arrived 35 minutes late and was held in a holding pattern over Kent as we had missed our slot, I got the impression that the pilots did attempt to make up some of the lost time. I am looking forward to flying on the new aircraft that are entering service later this year.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteRIX to LGW
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"smiled at all times"

(United Kingdom)

Flew airBaltic from London Gatwick to Riga, Latvia. I have flown with the airline quite a few times and have had some bad, ok and good flights. This was one of the better ones, the cabin crew were very friendly and did not attempt any hard sell. They seem to have the pleasure in their work and smiled at all times. The announcements were clear. It was nice to hear updates from the cockpit telling us the weather and route taken. The aircraft was clean despite a 30 minute turn round at Gatwick. The food available for purchase was first class and tasty. The Salmon flat bread was to die for it actually looked fresh and could of passed for made to order. The prices for food and drink are some of the best I have seen for a while. Keep up the good work and I am looking forward to travelling on the new aircraft which should be in service later this year. Can I suggest that wifi is available on them and also please operate from London City airport? The reason for the low mark for ground service is due to the agents at Gatwick.
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to RIX
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"staff very polite"

(Poland)

Berlin Tegel-Riga-Warsaw aboard 737-300 and 500. Aircraft's were clean and comfy despite the fact that they weren't new. Big legroom in standard seats and in the emergency row legroom was the biggest I've seen. Staff very polite and helpful. Both flights were on time. As it is a low cost airline, nothing is served for free. There are on board sales with quite a large choice but prices are also quite high (compared to other carriers). Price for the flights was really low. It was the cheapest fare, hand luggage is included along with online check in. If airBaltic is the cheapest choice you should try them.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to WAW via RIX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"listening to passengers "

(United Kingdom)

I wrote a review previously which was not heaping praise on this airline. Following the review a representative of airBaltic contacted me offering an apology for the failure in service. I was pleased they are actually listening to passengers and it has made a great difference in how I view them and would recommend them as they are at least mindful of their customers views.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to HEL via RIX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"an excellent experience"

(Sweden)

I had an excellent experience with airBaltic from Barcelona to Stockholm via Riga. The trip was very cheap, on-time, and high quality. I needed customer service' help in order to book an animal in the cabin, and they answered my call swiftly and with clear English on a Saturday morning. Despite there being two animals booked on the flight already, the lady made the effort to contact a senior member of staff out-of-hours, on his weekend, so she could override the system so that I may fly back home. She then called me back to tell me my booking was confirmed within the hour. She told me to arrive early to the airport so that Customer Service could be at my assistance in case anyone opposed the booking, and told me not to check-in online, but to do so at the airport at no extra charge. At the airport, I had no trouble checking in, and was not charged extra. No other airline has ever gone through that sort of trouble for me. I highly recommend airBaltic. Just beware of the non-classical luggage permission: 20kg checked luggage and 8kg total in the cabin over a maximum of two items. Not that they checked my luggage!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to ARN via RIX
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"you get what you pay"

(Finland)

airBaltic flight from Vilnius via Riga to Helsinki. First leg was 30 min. Got even service and pre-ordered meal. FAs professional and friendly. The flight from Riga to Helsinki quite same service level. Only thing that I can complain was that the FAs rushed through the cabin to talk with each other. Not very professional. I still recommend this airline and will fly again. Low cost carrier. You get what you pay.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVNO to HEL via RIX
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes