Top 100 Airlines  

airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 123 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"staff very polite"

(Poland)

Berlin Tegel-Riga-Warsaw aboard 737-300 and 500. Aircraft's were clean and comfy despite the fact that they weren't new. Big legroom in standard seats and in the emergency row legroom was the biggest I've seen. Staff very polite and helpful. Both flights were on time. As it is a low cost airline, nothing is served for free. There are on board sales with quite a large choice but prices are also quite high (compared to other carriers). Price for the flights was really low. It was the cheapest fare, hand luggage is included along with online check in. If airBaltic is the cheapest choice you should try them.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to WAW via RIX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"listening to passengers "

(United Kingdom)

I wrote a review previously which was not heaping praise on this airline. Following the review a representative of airBaltic contacted me offering an apology for the failure in service. I was pleased they are actually listening to passengers and it has made a great difference in how I view them and would recommend them as they are at least mindful of their customers views.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to HEL via RIX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"an excellent experience"

(Sweden)

I had an excellent experience with airBaltic from Barcelona to Stockholm via Riga. The trip was very cheap, on-time, and high quality. I needed customer service' help in order to book an animal in the cabin, and they answered my call swiftly and with clear English on a Saturday morning. Despite there being two animals booked on the flight already, the lady made the effort to contact a senior member of staff out-of-hours, on his weekend, so she could override the system so that I may fly back home. She then called me back to tell me my booking was confirmed within the hour. She told me to arrive early to the airport so that Customer Service could be at my assistance in case anyone opposed the booking, and told me not to check-in online, but to do so at the airport at no extra charge. At the airport, I had no trouble checking in, and was not charged extra. No other airline has ever gone through that sort of trouble for me. I highly recommend airBaltic. Just beware of the non-classical luggage permission: 20kg checked luggage and 8kg total in the cabin over a maximum of two items. Not that they checked my luggage!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to ARN via RIX
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"you get what you pay"

(Finland)

airBaltic flight from Vilnius via Riga to Helsinki. First leg was 30 min. Got even service and pre-ordered meal. FAs professional and friendly. The flight from Riga to Helsinki quite same service level. Only thing that I can complain was that the FAs rushed through the cabin to talk with each other. Not very professional. I still recommend this airline and will fly again. Low cost carrier. You get what you pay.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVNO to HEL via RIX
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"rude and unhelpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Flew airBaltic from London to St Petersburg via Riga. Really rude and unhelpful staff. Unbelievably strict and inflexible baggage policy. Punitive charges for going even a kilogram over (£38 flat fee for anything more than 20kg). For the first time ever, staff weighed everything I owned, both checked, cabin and shopping bag. They probably would have asked me to empty my pockets if they could have. All this after a disingenuous booking process that didn't properly reveal that checked baggage wasn't included in the price (buying allowance at the gate cost €80.) In total, I paid €126.43 on top of tickets that were not cheap to begin with. Worse than Ryanair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to LED via RIX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"budget airline service "

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Helsinki via Riga. airBaltic is a strictly budget airline in service but not in the cost of its fares. They charge extra for everything and if you did not book directly from their website you have to go through a strange and complicated procedure to book seats and meals etc. Both flights were late. RIX to HEL no explanation was given nor apology. Service by crew was efficient and quite friendly. The food pre-ordered was terrible. Greasy. No taste whatsoever. I did not eat the salad. I ordered wine because no beer was on offer on the pre-order. They refused to swap my wine to beer on the flight though would have sold me a beer separately. No thanks. All in all an ok flight but very let down by awful and expensive food and lateness.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to HEL via RIX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"meal was a good surprise"

(Finland)

Everything's smooth. Boarding. Pre-ordered meal was a good surprise. Value for money. Flights on time. Even ahead. As a low cost carrier can recommend. The baggage fee is truly high. So the plane is full of hand luggage even bigger than allowed as a hand baggage. No place for winter jackets.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Vilnius via Riga
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"discount service"

(Denmark)

Airbaltic is a discount airline, with discount service. Entered the Airport in Riga approx 40 minutes before deadline for luggage drop-off, as we checked in online. Due to heavy load of Christmas travelers we had to wait 50 minutes for baggage drop off. In the beginning 3 counters was open but eventually the 2 of them closed down and a single counter was the only one to deal with all these passengers. Luckily the flight ended up being delayed so we made it, but several wasn't that lucky. The support and the level of information from airbaltic was none existing.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Copenhagen
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"do not recommend this airline"

(Ukraine)

I had a ticket on Estonian Air but since that airline went bust before the flight I had to book airBaltic Riga. It was unpleasant experience - firstly, the airBaltic ticket was more expensive; secondly, on the top of that they charged for each bag of luggage checked in (did not charge for carry-on bags though, what a relief!). But the most outrageous thing was that when I started an online check-in 3 days before the flight, all available seats on both legs had a price tag written on them? I had to pay extra to check-in online for each leg and for each passenger, which was just a little less then 10 euros that airBaltic threatens to charge for airport check-in (also for each passenger and each leg). This does look like a scam scheme and I will not fly and do not recommend flying this airline ever.
AircraftBombardier
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTallinn to Kiev via Riga
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"cabin service was very good"

(United Kingdom)

Having had a bad airBaltic flight from Gatwick to Riga earlier this year, I did have some doubts over the quality of service, however I could not have wished for a better set of crew. We left Berlin Tegel on time and arrived into Riga approx. 15 minutes early. The cabin service was very good and slick, bordering on excellent. We were kept informed from the cockpit of the flights progress. On arrival at Riga we parked on a stand away from the terminal and the buses to take to the terminal were at the bottom of the steps as the doors opened - unlike Luton were you have to wait up to 30 minutes. The pre ordered meal was tasty and edible which was a change form my last flight. The aircraft was clean and tidy, with no rubbish to be seen
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to RIX
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes