Vote Now  

AirAsia X

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 295 reviews
8/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"much cheaper than other airlines"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Auckland via Gold Coast. This was my first time to Auckland, and I decided to take AirAsia X as the fares were much cheaper than other airlines servicing the route even though their flights were direct. It was a pleasant flight and the landing at both airports were good. One thing which bothered me, though, was the checking of bags and belongings at OOL. The food that I ordered was a bit overcooked. Other than that, it was perfect.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to AKL via OOL
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"flight was not that full"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Auckland to Kuala Lumpur with a short stopover at Gold Coast. The flight was not that full, and the plane was able to depart 5 minutes early. The flight was smooth all the way until a few hours before landing, turbulence was evident but the captain was able to minimise it. This time, the food that I ordered (roast chicken with stuffing and cranberry gravy) was really dry, and the accompanying vegetables were unpalatable. Landing at KUL was a bit bumpy.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to KUL via OOL
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seamless transfers through KLIA2"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Cochin via Kuala Lumpur with AirAsia X. Was pleasantly surprised by the legroom offered on both the aircraft. Their punctuality is to be praised. Pleased with the selection of food and beverages available for purchase, that too at a very reasonable price. AirAsia X offers good connections to Asia from Australia, with seamless transfers through KLIA2. Would highly recommend for budget travelers.
AircraftA330 / A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to COK via KUL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"FA serving my row was most friendly "

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Been through flying AirAsia X more than 15 times and service can be inconstant. On my recent flight from Auckland to Gold Coast, the flight was barely half full for the evening flight, so we departed early, After the seatbelt signs turn off the cabin staff did not appear until about an hour later starting the meal services. The pre-booked meal out of Auckland was overcooked, bland and small portion. They didn't give a set of plastic cutlery, instead only giving the spoon for the meal. When asking the knife and fork one of the FA reply that the meal only need spoon and we have deficient for the fork for this flight. A complimentary mineral water was not served until asking them. At Gold Coast we disembark with stairs and after the transit check we board again with new set of crew, for this 7hr 50 flight , a lovely Australian or New Zealand FA serving my row was most friendly that I have had encounter with - she kneeled down when interacting with every passenger.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to KUL via OOL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"they served free meals"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Tehran. It was my first time taking Airasia X and I didn't expect too much from it, since it is a low-cost airline. I almost missed my flight (because of the traffic in the airport), but the plane has not departed, even though it had passed the boarding time. Inflight, the seat is small but everything looked okay-ish, nothing special. During the flight, they served free meals. The meals were decent. Surprisingly, they gave you free mineral water (served in bottle) which was unexpected, since they usually charge you for that (at least a short-haul flight). I ordered a food online, but they did not serve me, which was disappointing. Overall, it was okay.
AircraftA3330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to IKA
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"on board, the seats were horrific"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Flew Perth to KUL, 11 December, D7233 in economy section of the quiet zone with Air Asia X. At Perth airport, boarding was announced according to zones which was totally ignored by passengers and gate crew alike. The check-in was prompt and efficient but lacking any friendliness but that's fine as long as the job is done well. On board, the seats were horrific. They are 3-3-3 abreast on what should be a 2-4-2 arrangement. If you are anything more than a medium sized person, the seats are narrow and uncomfortable. Surprisingly, the leg room was reasonable for economy. The crew were great; efficient, polite and pleasant, in particular Korean flight attendants. The food was the usual minuscule portion but there is an impressive selection of things that you can buy on board for reasonable prices. Unfortunately, most things were "out of stock" as the phrase goes in Malaysia as they had run out on the flight over from KL. All I can say is that it's an uncomfortable flight made easier by nice crew. The flight was 5.5 hours in duration and any longer and it would have been unbearable. The toilets were dirty and the sink was clogged and that didn't change throughout the flight. Although this was the quiet zone, the premium cabin in front had a crying baby which pretty much destroyed the atmosphere of the quiet zone.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to KUL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"recommend AirAsia X"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Sydney return. Great for budget-minded travelers, but the seats could get a little uncomfortable for long-haul flights. The crew was amazing and the take-off/landing was smooth. We managed to make it to the destinations earlier than scheduled without delay (which is a surprise!), so no complaints there. Would certainly recommend AirAsia X for the KUL-SYD and return routes.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to SYD
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"another great flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Tokyo Haneda. Another great flight with AirAsia, this time with AirAsia X their long haul company and it was fantastic, I could not recommend it enough, low fare, great onboard service. I would recommend booking a seat at the rear of the aircraft if you're a couple as the configuration in economy thins from 3x3x3 to 2x3x2 and I was very happy here.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to HND
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"great value for money"

(United Kingdom)

My wife and I flew Melbourne to Kuala Lumpur with Air Asia X on an Airbus A330. We were in Premier Flex which includes what is called a hot seat in the front row of the child free quiet zone, priority check in, boarding and exiting, 20kg baggage, one hot meal and a bottle of water. Any thing else you pay for. Left and arrived on time, crew fine. Great value for money.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMEL to KUL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"recommended for shorter flights"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Tokyo Haneda with AirAsia X. Price for air ticket alone is fair enough but not until you add on luggage and meals. Legroom is perfect, while seat width is unbearable for a 6 hours+ flight unless there is a empty seat beside you. KL to Haneda plane is showing sign of ageing and cleanliness of cabin and lavatory is terrible. However, flight from Haneda to KL is superb (on-time and clean, with attentive FA). Onboard purchase for food and snack with good and reasonable pricing. Overall, recommended for flight shorter than 6 hours / not midnight flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to HND
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes