Vote Now  

Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 477 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"staff excellent, friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Flew Air Transat from London Gatwick to Toronto. Other reviews of Air Transat stress the inedible food, poor entertainment, narrow seats and rude staff. My experience differed in one vital area - the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to re-seat passengers to minimise discomfort and were happy to help with any requests. This makes all the difference and thanks to them my overall experience was positive and pretty much in line with what I'd expect from a budget transatlantic crossing. Forewarned is forearmed though. I would advise buying a sandwich before or eating in the airport rather than going for the Euro Bistro menu as it really is horrible. And make sure you have your own entertainment packed. And yes, this is not an airline for the big hipped or broad shouldered! Judge how important those things are to you before you go for that apparent bargain. But don't worry about the staff.
AircraftA310
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I will not recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Toronto return. 8 hours flight and no entertainment. The staff don't even have a pen to fill up the landing card. I paid for £323 and now I want to change one week early, they are asking the difference £250 + tax = £313. The new ticket $309 which is in pound around £190. I think is better to pay bit extra money but travel with good airline - this airline only £20 cheaper than Air Canada. I will not recommend Air Transat.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed 11 hours and 45 min"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Cancun with Air Transat. Delayed 11 hours and 45 min for our 5 year anniversary because of a mechanical problem that they waited to fix until it was time to board. To compensate us we recieved a $20 food voucher. We are paying $800 a day to sit at an airport, thanks for the terrible service.Will never book or recommended a flight with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to CUN
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience was absolutely terrible"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Edmonton to Cancun return. My fiancé and I along with friends decided to travel with Air Transat after seeing the good deals on expedia, but they are right “you do get what you pay for”. We flew from Edmonton on January 22 to Cancun, a 6-hour flight. On our flight, we received two beverages that were half empty and a mint before we landed. We were extremely cold on the flight and hungry as they did not have enough food to purchase!? We bought an all-inclusive package from Transat and for 6 hours we got one cup of drink and one mint and no food to purchase cause they ran out. On our way back on January 29th, the shuttle which was suppose to pick us up and take us to the airport showed up almost hour late, did not have all of our names on the list and they fit 14 people in a 7 seater van. I had to sit on my Fiancés lap for 45 minutes with stacks of suitcases behind all of our heads. Absolutely unsafe, I will never fly or travel with Air Transat as they have put all of our safety at risk. Our experience was absolutely terrible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Cancun
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I should have spent extra money"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to London Gatwick return. I chose Air Transat as it was a couple of hundred dollars cheaper than other airlines. In retrospect, I should have spent the extra money flying with a better airline. Flying out, the plane was delayed by an hour and a half, and when I reached London I had to wait an hour for the luggage to come through, as they were "having trouble getting the bags off the plane". On the return leg, I got to the check in desk to be told that the flight was delayed by an hour and a half (this turned out to be closer to 2.5 hours), no apology was offered. The food served during the 10 hour flight was a sandwich. That was it. And only one free alcoholic drink. Blankets were available at a cost.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to LGW
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight attendant was amazing"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I flew home to Toronto from Punta Cana Friday January 20th at 2:30 pm Dominican Republic time. I picked up a virus or parasite on my trip and was quite ill by the time we boarded. I would like to say the flight attendant was amazing. She asked a lady beside my wife and I if she wouldn't mind changing seats so that I could have more room to stretch out to sleep. She not only did that she got cold towels for my head and neck and gave me a blanket. She also gave my wife a bottle of champagne and a glass of wine to the lady who graciously changed seats. She went above and beyond the call of duty and honestly I don't know how I could have gotten through the flight home if it wasn't for her. She sat in the jump seat near the exit I don't know her name but she should be commended for her compassion. I will never forget the kindness of your flight attendant.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePunta Cana to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"it was what we could call a dry flight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air Transat flight from Cancun to Montreal was 3 hours late while we were sat waiting on the plane. Our first small glass of water came more than two hours after boarding the plane and the 2nd one more than three hours after the first one. We had to pay for the lousy sandwiches left that we wouldn't even have needed if there hadn't had a delay because we would have lunched at destination before the lunch was served in the plane more than 6 hours after boarding. There was no water in the restrooms and also no hot beverages available. It was what we could call a dry flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYUL to CUN
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the delay was being short staffed"

(Canada)

Vancouver to Cancun return with Air Transat. Our problem really started on the return trip. After boarding the plane everyone had to sit and wait for 45 min because they were waiting for some of their crew members to arrive from another flight. That delay pushed the landing back to 12.15 am (Vancouver time). The worst is yet to come - after customs we had to wait 2.5 hrs for our luggage to arrive. The Air Transat counter staff were absolutely usless and couldn't offer a proper explanation of why the luggage were not coming or offerings any kind of solution. A lot of passengers with small kids got fed up and left. Finally around 2.30 am the luggage started to come up on the carousel. Later on we found out the reason for the delay was being short staffed. They had scheduled one crew member to empty a 300 passenger aircraft (saving money or a mistake I do not know). It has been 4 days since we returned and no one from the company has boderred to return my calls or offer an apology or explanation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to CUN
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seats are very narrow and hard"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew from Vancouver to London Gatwick. No food for 10.5 hours, what are they thinking. We fly every year to Portugal and have used Air Transat every time. The food was always quite good. However on this trip they have stopped serving proper food. We were delayed an hour so sitting on the plane for 10.5 hours. We expected the usual tray of food, salad, main course, desert, but no they have stopped this and now all you get is a choice of 5 different bread rolls. That's it, for a 9.5 hour flight - one lousy bread roll, I could not eat mine it was stodge and tasted foul. Just slices of meat and bread, no salad or anything else inside. So I had nothing to eat on this flight. I asked for an alternative that was not bread and they did not have anything to offer. The seats are very narrow and hard, no lumbar support and virtually no foam in the seat part, like sitting on a plank. We will not fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to LGW
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Air Transat customer review

(Canada)

Toronto to Santa Domingo. I was just checking on the price of our next trip with Air Transat and what a huge surprise. The club class we usually take is now priced at $450.00 each. We use this only because of the leg room and supposedly the larger seats. Last year the seats weren't much bigger than the regular seats. We ended up having only pasta type meals. I thought for paying that outrageous money we would get steak but not. We had a small glass of sparkling wine and never offered another. Remember there are only 12 seats in this section so staff are not over worked at all. When we asked for some little snacks the staff looked at us as if we had 2 heads. We each in that 4 hour flight got 2 drinks and we had to ask for the second ones. There is nothing in the package that is worth that much money other than to select your seats, a bit more luggage and not even the best service. You had to ask for everything. I felt for that price, we should have had more drinks and a real good meal. Don't ever book club class as it's really not worth the money or the time. Unfortunately, they have gouged all of us that travel because of this club class. My husband has a hard time walking so it's closer to the exit doors but not impressed at all with the price.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYYZ to SDQ
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no