Top 100 Airlines  

Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 456 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"service was not up to much"

(United Kingdom)

Toronto to Birmingham with Air Transat. After an 8 hour delay on the outward journey, we were all tired before we started. The service was not up to much, the food was not up to much and the inflight entertainment was also not up to much. Due to the delay, the crew had amassed their hours in midflight, so we had to divert to Montreal to change crew and refuel, making us even later arriving in Toronto - approx. 10 hours late. Since returning, I have tried to to contact them by email (10 days ago) without success and they will wonder why I will not recommend them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to BHX
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"food price is grossly over inflated"

(Canada)

My mother and I flew Air Transat from Edmonton to Cancun via Calgary in August, and while I have come to expect low frills from many airlines, I was rather disappointed in this flight. The staff were excellent, friendly, courteous. Our ground transportation from the airport to our resort and back was also top notch. Due to the number of people going to our area in Akumal, we only had 5 people in a van on the way out, and in a truck on the way back. It allowed us to zip along the highway faster than in a coach and we made it to our destination with day light to spare, which was wonderful. The flight itself though - entertainment there was none. We had traveled with Sunwing back in October and I had been disappointed that we only had drop down tv's, and so everyone had to watch the same show. With Air Transat, we didn't even have tv's. 6 hours with nothing to to help pass the time. If you fly, pack accordingly. Food is only available for purchase and that purchase price is grossly over inflated ($3 for a chocolate bar). What I disliked is that they didn't even provide a snack. Onboard bathrooms were poor - I've flown quite a bit over the years and I have never smelled an airline bathroom that smelled so strongly. The smell was the same on the flight there and the flight home. My mom has flown Air Transat for a flight from Edmonton to London a few years ago, and had no complaints. But this flight was boring and it's price did not reflect the amenities you were giving up.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to CUN via YYC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"left disappointed and angry"

(United Kingdom)

My trip to Vancouver required a stop in Toronto and boarding another plane for Vancouver. Following the excellent service and standard of comfort on the transatlantic flight, which I have taken many times before, I was confronted with a very poor alternative for the second leg of my journey. The Club Class of domestic flights is just economy seating with a blanket and plastic bag accessories. Having just travelled for a number of hours my main objective was to sleep the final leg of my journey. Consequently I was not interested in free wine or what looked like unappetizing food. The seat was a small economy class version with little leg room. My window seat proved to be very cold and sleep was continually interrupted by the seemingly continuos queue for the forward bathroom. Cabin lights were not lowered for much of the flight and the service from the crew was at best indifferent. Instead of arriving at my destination refreshed from a good rest I was stiff and tired. It was only later that I discovered that there is no Club Class seating on domestic despite having been assured at booking that I could expect the usual transatlantic standard. I have resolved to never again take a connecting flight to Canada again with this airline. After many years of satisfaction this trip left me disappointed and angry.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAN to YVR via YYZ
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"not particularly comfortable"

(Canada)

Barcelona to Toronto via Montréal with Air Transat. The flight there was rather uncomfortable due to the seats being so narrow. The staff tried their best, however that couldn't compensate for the minimal leg room and cramped space. The bistro menu sandwiches were mediocre. If they had been prepared fresh it would have been tasty, however all of them contain sauce which makes them very soggy and wet when they are reheated and served. I had the brie and ham option. On the flight back, I discovered that the best menu option is probably the vegetable maki, as it contains no sauce and is thereby not soggy when they serve it. They give you cute chopstick to eat the maki, and the package comes with little packets of soy sauce and wasabi you can put on the sushi yourself. On the flight back we purchased the 2 seat option which was much more comfortable than the standard 3 seats stuck together by the window. It is an extra 50 dollars per person but well worth it. Overall Air Transat is a cheap option that will get you from point A to point B safely, but not particularly comfortable.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to YYZ via YUL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cabin staff were amazing"

(Canada)

Calgary to Manchester. I was dubious to fly with Air Transat again, even though my trips to the UK, from Canada over the last 25 years have been with this airline. However their prices are amazing and a non stop flight is a must for a nervous passenger such as myself. I needn't have worried - the flight was smooth and relaxing, new planes and TV connection could not have been better. The cabin staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them. PS: Take your own food, it is really bad !
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to MAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"did not receive any updates"

(China)

We had a short flight from Vancouver to Calgary with Air Transat. Our flight was hopping around from Toronto to Calgary to Vancouver and onwards, which explained the delay that we experienced, as the flight had just left Toronto when we arrived at our designated time at Calgary Airport (not a good sign). However, we did not know this until we heard the person ahead of us getting frustrated with the ground staff over the delay. The departures board had not been updated and still showed the original time. Furthermore, when we received our boarding passes from the ground crew, the boarding pass still showed the original time and the ground staff said nothing. We then pressed the ground staff for more answers, after which they finally replied, "oh yeah, its delayed. Yup." Their complete indifference, in addition to failure to update the passengers, led to many of the customers in line losing their patience with the staff. We did not receive any updates on the estimated departure time until we were in the waiting area near the gate. On the flight itself, the seats were uncomfortable and the plane outdated. No inflight entertainment, as expected. The only thing that made all this acceptable was the very cheap price of the tickets.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to YVR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"I will take my own food"

(United Kingdom)

Toronto to Birmingham. Staff very good. Food disgusting. I was glad I'd brought my own food as this was my return flight, and the outward flight was also bad. The only good thing about the food was a piece of cake. The beef roll I was given was hot but really awful so I left it. Choice of films English/French even though clicking on English, most played French not English. If I fly with them again I will take my own food.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to BHX
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"very pleasant and entertaining"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Toronto. We read many mixed reviews of Air Transat and most of them were not positive. We were very worried about using this airline, but to our surprise we found our journey very pleasant and entertaining. Staff was extremely cooperative. Touch screen entertaining system was much better and efficient than many airlines. They provide you hot and cold sandwiches as a simple option but tasty. We personally found this simple food option better healthier specially when you fly and you feel light and healthy during your entire flight. Aircraft was new and very clean. Seats were not cramped - myself and my son who was travelling with us both are tall persons and found no discomfort during the entire flight. We will definitely use this airline in future if we need to.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to YYZ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"would advise take food with you"

(France)

Verified Review | I had return flight Paris-Montreal-Paris. The ground staff was excellent for both flights. The crew was excellent especially on route Paris - Montreal. I can say that they are very friendly, competent and attentive. The both flight were on time. The negative sides are narrow seats and horrible meal service. The seats are so narrow that you cannot move fingers. About the meal service the web-site says “Euro Bistro lets you choose from a variety of six hot or cold main courses. Your delicious meal also comes with a 5 oz. glass of wine”. This is very misleading statement as the meal service includes only one tasteless sandwich as the main course for 7-8 hours flights. This is not acceptable and the airline should allow passengers to pre-order normal hot meal as other low cost carriers doing (eg. Norwegian shuttle, Air Baltic, Fly Dubai, Pegasus etc). In current circumstances, I would advise take food with you if you fly Air Transat because what they provide is not eatable.
AircraftA-330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to YUL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not travel with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Calgary. Ever since our family moved to Canada over 12 years ago, we have used Canadian Affair on a regular basis to either visit them or vice versa, we have noticed a sharp decline in service from when they stopped using Thomas Cook and started using Air Transat, this time we flew out at the end of June, came back with our grandchildren, my wife has taken them back and returns tomorrow, we were shocked at how bad it has become, the cabin staff were uninterested and more interested in talking among themselves, the food was shocking, for such a long flight a hot roll for the main meal which was virtually inedible, and a small slice of pizza before landing, being at the back of the plane they had run out of the selection we wanted. There was no crew coming around on a regular basis with water. Air Transat have let Canadian Affair down, we will not travel with them again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to YYC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no