Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 658 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (Spain)

A very pleasant experience starting with check in right through to leaving the aircraft in Calgary. The extra legroom seats we booked were great if not a little narrow in the seat. The cabin crew could not have been more friendly or attentive as was the Captain who came into the cabin before leaving Gatwick to address the passengers on the tannoy "face to face" so to speak. Very personal and friendly approach which we had never experienced before. The food was pallatable to the point that my wife ate an inflight meal for the first time ever in almost 30 years of air travel. The refurbished cabin was very pleasant and nicely lit. All in all a very good flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGatwick to Calgary
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

We fly to Vancouver at least 3 times a year to see our daughter. We have used Air Canada mostly but also British Airways and Virgin Atlantic before they stopped this route. Air Canada's Economy since they squeezed an extra seat in each row is awful and their premium economy is just OK. BA uses ageing 747's and premium economy (WT+) is just OK. Air Transat Economy is also tight with a 3-3-3 configuration but their new "Club" is just 2-2-2 and looked attractive so we decided to give it a try - pricewise it is about the same as AC and BA premium economy. However, in our opinion having just completed the outbound flight it is streets ahead of BA and AC. We had 1A and 1C and the leg room and width is fine. The screens for the entertainment are fantastic (especially compared to BA) and the AVOD system worked well (although my wife's did need a reboot half way through the flight). The meal service was great - served course by course on nice china with smart cutlery. Choice of wines from the bottle. With only 12 seats the service was miles ahead of PE in BA and AC. Nice snack prior to landing, again on nice china with a drinks service. The coffee was excellent - not the usual rubbish. Personally I would put this "Club Transat" mid way between PE and business. The only downside - you are not first off the plane - it is a shame Transat can not organise this. So, as you may gather - I am a convert. The problem is there are not daily flights and they soon get booked up - I am already looking at booking the next trip.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
RouteLGW to YVR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (Canada)

Excellent service from flight attendants on the way into and on the return from Barcelona. The Food was terrible. If we had known about the bad reviews of the food, we would have purchased food before we got onboard. Air Transat, next time please deduct $50.00 off our ticket price for our meals.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBarcelona to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The service that Transat now provide from Gatwick to Halifax has taken a backward step, they are now using a B737 aircraft, and this is a small cramped aircraft more suitable for a route from the UK to Europe rather than a transatlantic route. The journey time now depends on the weather, its gone from the normal time of approx 6.5 hours to 8.5 hours, included in this time is a stopover at Gander for a refuel, although none of this information is given until you are boarded, so it could be a direct flight or it could include a stopover at Gander as stated on your ticket. It is then too late to change the arrangement made for your collection at Halifax, on the plus side both flights left on time. The cabin staff were friendly, although I thought looking a bit untidy, the meals were ok, typical aircraft fare, a light breakfast or even a hot drink prior to arriving at Gatwick would have been appreciated
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGatwick to Halifax
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

We will never fly with Air Transat again. The air crew were rude and we were afraid to ask for things as they would snap at you. This was on the outward journey, the seats were cramped and small, the food wasn't up to much either. Well lets brace ourselves for the homeward journey, not much better if only the air crew would smile. Inflight travel accessories you had to pay for - what a rip off.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The flights were on time and the aircraft was clean. Paid extra for option plus and extra leg room seats but this was not worth it. Priority check in was useful but was not called for priority boarding. Extra leg room was good but the 9 unoccupied seats with extra leg room were soon taken up after take off by none paying passengers. Small bottle of sparkling wine and small box of pringles were given plus comfort pack - everything else was the same as other passengers. We did not get priority luggage on arrival and staff were not very friendly.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGatwick to Halifax
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (Canada)

By far one of the best flights I've been on, very impressive for a "leisure" airline. The service at Pearson Terminal 3 was speedy, and gate C32 had a beautiful view of the runway. When we boarded the A330 I was pleased to see their new "mood lighting" feature which added timed hues to the cabin atmosphere. Furthermore, I was delighted to see an extremely well kept cabin, the personal TV's were scratchless and shiny. Around midnight, we were served a hot meal, and I ordered the "Chipotle Chicken". Upon flying over Ireland, we were given a banana bread and juice breakfast, which was nice, albeit small. The landing was excellent and the taxi to the gate was quick.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto - YYZ to Manchester - MAN
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Travelled to Canada on the 14th June 2015 and service was what I would expect from a budget airline. During the flight, drinks were offered about every half hour and meals were about an hour or two after takeoff and before landing. Seats are a bit cramped but that's what you should expect from a 3-3-3 seat config, entertainment was okay, films were a mixture of new releases to old films although they only had a few films that were for the adult passengers. This airline is the best if you want low cost flights with the service you would expect from them, if you compare Air Transat to Air Canada there is a $1000 difference in ticket price. In my opinion its worth every penny.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGatwick to Calgary
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (Canada)

I discovered two separate and unrelated pairs of people who had paid for the upgrade service and not received it. A couple had paid for extra leg room seats and not received them on a prior flight. On the flight I took, a couple of elderly passengers had paid a fee to ensure they would be given seats beside each other, they did not get those seats. Air Transat offered the older passenger a seat at the back of the plane away from her friend that she had paid extra to sit beside. She refused, I offered to go to the seat at the back of the plane and gave her my seat. Staff were rude and ungracious to me and the elderly passenger. They only offered refreshments with meals. They did not offer them any other time. In addition, the meal was not good. The salad and bread were okay, but the main course seemed to almost be instant cheap rice. The chicken meal consisted of two pieces of chicken, basically non existent. I paid $1,000 for the return flight from Canada. I could have flown Air Canada Rouge for about the same price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Air Transat customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Outbound the crew were surly, none of them smiled and none of them ever called us "sir or madam". The seats are extremely cramped and the hot meal not brilliant at all, so very tiny in size. On the return the crew were even more off hand, still no smiles or respect for anyone. The hot meal was served, 25 minutes later came the wine and another 20 minutes later came the coffee. We were never offered refills on either flight. Also on the return, the seat back GPS flight information screen did not work and the flight deck crew did not once tell us where we were, what altitude / speed we were at nor did they speak at all until we were on final approach. The announcements by the cabin crew on both legs was in very stilted, rushed and of poor English, but then done in a nice slow refined and perfect French. At least we were almost on time both ways, so it was just about OK.
AircraftA330/200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCalgary to Manchester
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no