Top 100 Airports  

Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 446 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"cabin crew were on the whole not pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

I was told by Canadian Affair (agent) that there was no Club Class on the flights from Glasgow to Vancouver. 3 adults flying and I paid over £3000 in fares (I took out Option Plus), I said we needed Emergency exit seats because 2 of the party were very tall. I also said I did not want seats by the toilets. We ended up in middle row with wall partition. 1 in front and right beside toilets. A 9 hour flight and no meal. A heated roll and before touchdown a slice of soggy pizza. Could hardly fit in seats they were so narrow. There was in fact Club Class on both journeys. Breakfast on return flight was a slice of banana bread. The cabin crew were on the whole not pleasant. Problem is that this company has the monopoly for charter flights direct from Glasgow to Vancouver. In addition it took them about 4 attempts to get the e-tickets correct. they just couldn't comprehend that my husband and son had similar names (difference was that my son had a middle name) and I had to continually point this out to them.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGLA to YVR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly with Air Transat again"

(United Kingdom)

Will never fly with Air Transat again. 5.5 hour delay. Took off and had to return to Gatwick. Whilst on tarmac was not allowed off plane, neither were passengers served any drinks or food whatsoever. Could not use toilets - filthy. Cabin crew rude and ignorant. Delay caused us to miss shuttle to final destination and had to get relatives to drive 2 hours to London to pick us up. Final insult was offered $100 off next flight. Compensation paid for delay but still fighting for compensation for sequence of events.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to YYZ
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"what they provide is pathetic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Vancouver return. Take food with you if you fly Air Transat because what they provide is pathetic. Calling it complimentary (ie. free), is just a cop out. On the 9 hours outward flight from Manchester to Vancouver (delayed nearly 4 hours) we were given a sandwich and a few small biscuits, and then later a slice of pizza. No compensation offered for the delay. On the return overnight flight we were given the sandwich again for dinner and a slice of cake for breakfast. For some reason on the return flight the plane was changed to a different model, so our £100 extra legroom exit door seats were up against a bulkhead. It remains to be seen if we get our money refunded.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to MAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"refused both efforts to gouge me"

(Canada)

Montreal to Budapest via Toronto. Avoid Air Transat at all cost! Departure was on time but that was the last time. Arrival in Toronto was late 1.5 hrs. But I did not miss the connection because the next plane was delayed over 4 hours! The seats are tight; the toilet is ridiculously small and not tidied up on the 10 hr flight. Food was minimal. The airline was charging for both a headset ($9) and a blanket ($12). I refused both efforts to gouge me. The plane was hot. One could not walk around because areas were cordoned off.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYUL to BUD via YYZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"amazing from start to finish"

(Canada)

Amsterdam to Vancouver with Air Transat. We had an amazing flight from start to finish. We have flown several times before with Air Transat, but this was our first time in Club Class and very enjoyable. Lots of leg room and wide seats. The extra perks were really nice - priority check in, priority baggage, great service, lots of food and drink, extra snacks. Loved the special coffees and warm cookies. Wonderful staff - very attentive, kind and caring. We will definitely fly with Air Transat and Club Class again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYVR to AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"our worst experience ever"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We have flown Air Transat for 10 years and we have generally have always been happy, however, this year has been our worst experience ever. Our flights were not cheap, we paid £2499.22 for two return flights (Manchester to Vancouver) and car hire and we expected much better than we got. Both our outbound and inbound flights were delayed, 5.5 hours and 6 hours. The outbound sector picked up a delay a week before our departure (3 hours at Manchester), it picked up further delays on each sector it completed thereafter. The airline could have delayed passengers at home, but did not. The inbound flight was delayed because it was waiting for a part to be delivered from another airport. YVR is an unmanned hub, namely it has no directly employed Air Transat employees at YVR only handling agents. It's maintence base at YVR didn't have the essential part, thus the aircraft was grounded until the essential part could be sourced, delivered and fitted. The point here, is that Air Transat operations would have know the length or likely length of the delay but mislead passengers by continually changing the delay. Vouchers for refreshments were give out but some of the food outlets had closed. Moreover, passengers who smoke (not me) were understandably frustrated at being trapped in a nonsmoking envrioment. The airline has recently changed its meal service, however, referring to it as a meal service is misleading. A hot (soggy, tasteless and burnt) sandwich (there is a choice of 6, we travelled with family who were on a separate booking, thus we all tried different sandwiches and were in agreement they were soggy, tasteless and burnt) napkin and bitter coffee or weak tea service in a polystyrene cup doesn't by an stretch of the imagination qualify for a meal or service in any language.The sandwiches were so unpopular, the crew completed a second service to get rid of them. I emailed my complaint down route but received no response. The same service was offered upon the return. When I returned I complained, and advised the airline that this change in service was purely a cost saving excercise and that the snack service was not acceptable for the duration of the flight. The airline advised me it was not a cost saving exercise and in any event it was complimentary. We paid a lot of money for our seats, they were not cheap, they were the most expensive we had ever paid. This season Air Transat has been bogged down with lengthly delays throughout its sectors (LGW, MAN, GLS, AMS, YVR, YYC, YUL) and the changes in its inflight service, crewing and flight planning, presumable to make efficiency saving, are costing it both financially and in its reputation. As a result of our experience and we have been regular flyers with Air Tranat, we are looking at other options for our annual holiday.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to YVR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the worst we have experienced"

(United Kingdom)

We flew from Glasgow to Montreal and our return flight was Toronto to Glasgow. We have flown with Air Transat 6 times over several years. This time was the worst we have experienced. Our flight was delayed for half an hour while we sat on the runway and we were offered no explanation. Ground staff at Toronto Airport were so rude, she didn't say one word to us and pointed to where she wanted us to go. On the aircraft the food was unacceptable and inedible, a sandwich and a few hours later a slice of pizza bread, if you are seated at the rear of the plane you will be offered what is left as on both flights they start with the front of the plane, this was the first time we have not had a meal. On our outbound journey one of the toilets was out of order which is unacceptable.
AircraftA310
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteGLA to YUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"attendants very polite and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

I have flown twice now with Air Transat, the first time I was pleased with the service I received, this time I was not very happy with the food to and from Toronto from Manchester. The sandwiches were not edible, you only had 3 choices, as this is a 6 hr flight a hot meal would have been better. Everything else with the service was good, the attendants were very polite and helpful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to YYZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"could provide a small meal"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We have flown Air Transat before, we like them because they fly to Manchester from Toronto and are reasonably priced. It has always been a bit cramped but acceptable. This time the experience was not so good. We were in row 6.D and F. The person in front of my wife put his seat right back and at times when we were instructed to bring our seats up this person ignored the instruction.The flight attendants passed by but didn't notice until I pointed it out to them, even coming in to land. Otherwise the flight attendants were fine. I had the second worst sandwich in my life from Manchester to Toronto and the worst sandwich in my life from Toronto to Manchester. The drinks were fine but surely for a 6-7 hour fight they could provide a small meal. I notice that the flight attendants had a meal, but I am sure it wouldn't be too much more trouble or expense to provide the same for the passengers. I will probably fly Transat again, but if there is only a small difference in the price from Air Canada, I will probably go with them even if they do not fly directly to Manchester.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to YYZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"really nothing special"

(Canada)

I upgraded at the airport from Option Plus to CLub Class for $375 which seemed like a bargain. However you do get what you pay for. First the flight was punctual. The priority check-in, security and boarding were flawless and In Amsterdam my suitcase came thrid. These were all still perks also included in the Option Plus. The groundstaff at YVR were partially nice but a few of them that I had to deal with becuase of paying were highly unfriendly and unmotivated. Before boarding there is no lounge access with Club Class. The Club Class cabin consists of 12 extra wide seats with a bit more legroom that recline a little more than normal seats. Asides from the extra width, they are similar to premium economy seats of other companies. Before take off we were served some cava while after take off there was a bar service with a few crackers. The meals are pre-ordered normal meals served on china. There was a hot meal, a salad, some cheese and a dessert. Really nothing special. I would say a standard meal from a more respectable company like Air France / KLM or Lufthansa. The drinks were plenty but then again nothing special. When it came to sleeping we had a tiny fleecy blanket and an inflatable pillow. There was a little service pack with toohbrush, handcream, socks, slippers etc.. During the night they came by with chips and chocolate bars. The breakfast consisted of some fruit and a hot mini cinnamonbun. Which left me rather hungry after this nine hour flight. In short, standard service in extra wide premium economy seats. Advice, get the Option Plus for some extra service and extra baggage. Or fly with Condors buisness class to get high quality service from a low-budget company.
AircraftA332
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYVR to AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no