Vote Now  

Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 484 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"old airplane but in general not bad"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Saint Martin. The flight was not late. Good leg room in the 2x2 seats at the back of the plane. Was seated in 27 A . Service ok but on a 4 hours flight nothing was free like peanuts. Only free juice or water or café. So you will need to bring something to eat all the time. I did order into the way back and not that pricy and basic food. For leisure best seat and good comfort compared to Air Canada rouge. Also make sure to bring iPad or other tablet to use the entertainment system. Good selection of movie. Missing some usb plugs. Was old airplane but in general not bad.
AircraftA310
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Saint Martin
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"we were treated very well"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew from Saskatoon to Puerto Vallarta in January and stayed at the Friendly Vallarta. Our return flight was delayed due to mechanical problems and as a result we were laid over for an additionally day in Puerto Vallarta. We were treated very well by Air Transat in securing overnight accommodations at the Sheridan including transportation and meals. The return flight was the following day and the service by the Airtransport personnel was excellent. They even gave us a complimentary meal along with a travel voucher for a future flight. I have nothing but admiration for the staff and the airline and any future trips will definitely be booked with Air Transat.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSaskatoon to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"review is to complement the staff"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Porto to Montreal via Toronto. Air Transat is the 'work-horse' of airlines. For a lower price, I don't get 'frills' nor do I expect any. My review is to complement the staff on both my outbound and inbound flight. They are polite, service-oriented and efficient. There were quite a number of passengers on the flight that were pressing the call bell excessively. The flight attendants were gracious and helpful. I could not believe their patience, especially with some unruly passengers who refused to sit down when we were going through turbulence. I just wanted to give a thumbs up to the professional crew. Will continue to use Air Transat in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePorto to Montreal via Toronto
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"only one person serving club class"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew Air Transat from Edmonton to Cancun. Waited in line for 15 minutes to check in, only one person serving club class. The flight attendant didn't smile once and sat and read the paper about 50% of the flight, there was only 10 of us that he needed to be served. Meal was awful, the pastries were to hard to eat and not even 2 hours into the flight we were told they were out of alcohol. The flight was 5 hrs and 20 mins.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteEdmonton to Cancun
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"enjoy flying Club Class"

(Canada)

Unverified | We flew Calgary to Puerto Vallarta and back again in Club Class, as we had such a great experience last time and this time took our adult son who had just graduated University and we needed to celebrate! Both flights attendants were great but on our flight back to Calgary Sunday Feb 26 flight TS319 our attendant was exceptional. Professional, cheerful and upbeat which made our flight back to the cold bearable! We so enjoy flying Club Class - so worth it to start our vacay this way!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Calgary
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"there is not enough space"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air Transat has taken maximizing the number of passengers they can carry over customer comfort and safety to a new and disappointing level. I was assigned seat 11A which is the row in front of the emergency exit over the wing. As I found my seat, I heard the woman behind me complaining at having paid a $50 premium for the extra leg room that the seats by the emergency exit usually offer. Usually the spacing of the rows is wider to allow access to the door in an emergency. Even Air Transat's website shows the seating by the exits to be this way but on the plane I was on, they removed the seat immediately beside the door but left the two beside it, presumably 12B and 12C. The spacing of the rows appears identical meaning that in an emergency we would have to pass through the seat row to get to the door. It turns out that the extra leg room she paid for is actually just the extra space afforded her by the seats in row 11 being locked in the upright position at all times. In my opinion, there is not enough space between rows of seats for anyone over 5' to assume the crash position they always tell us about in the pre-flight safety announcement. I spent the entire 5 hour flight from San Jose to Toronto sitting straight up with the back of the seat in front of me inches from my face. Three days after the flight I still have a stiff neck. If they are going to charge the people behind me a premium for their increased comfort at the expense of my discomfort, I think they should be passing that money on to me as a discount! I would have passed on the incentive and chosen a more comfortable seat. I was also concerned with my seatbelt. It seemed badly worn. I could pull the belt through the buckle easily. I have my doubts that it would provide much restraint in an emergency. I am not new to flying, and I don't recall ever seeing a belt this loose before but it may be normal. I found it less concerning than the restricted access to the emergency door. The flight attendants seemed stressed and were a bit short with people. I'm guessing it is not a lack of friendliness but more too many passengers per attendant. I cannot comment on the food because credit card is the only accepted method of payment and my card was stowed below. How can you force your customers to buy their meal and then not accept cash? Check the size of your carry on bags. Air Transat's maximum dimensions are smaller than those allowed by many carriers. My industry standard bag was one inch too long when you included the wheels. They say on their website that if you bring your bag onto the plane and it doesn't meet their dimensions you will be charged $75 to check it vs $25 to check it during check in. They didn't push it in my case but the threat is still there. Profit over safety is no way to run an airline. Spend the extra money on an airline that takes your comfort and safety seriously. When I was shopping flights, the difference between Canada's major airline and Air Transat was $25. After spending two weeks in Costa Rica and feeling so relaxed, winding up with a stiff neck that has lasted three days on my return flight has been very disappointing. I would not recommend Air Transat.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Toronto
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"bit cramped and uncomfortable"

(Canada)

Unverified | All in all an ok experience with Air Transat flying from Toronto Pearson to Holguin International. Customer service was a good aspect of the flight, possibly even the best. The food and beverage options were the biggest let downs. Food was not free, I could even say highly overpriced and all I got was a small sandwich. Seating was just ok, a bit cramped and uncomfortable for a 4 hour flight. It was quite cold in the cabin.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Holguin International
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"staff excellent, friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Flew Air Transat from London Gatwick to Toronto. Other reviews of Air Transat stress the inedible food, poor entertainment, narrow seats and rude staff. My experience differed in one vital area - the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to re-seat passengers to minimise discomfort and were happy to help with any requests. This makes all the difference and thanks to them my overall experience was positive and pretty much in line with what I'd expect from a budget transatlantic crossing. Forewarned is forearmed though. I would advise buying a sandwich before or eating in the airport rather than going for the Euro Bistro menu as it really is horrible. And make sure you have your own entertainment packed. And yes, this is not an airline for the big hipped or broad shouldered! Judge how important those things are to you before you go for that apparent bargain. But don't worry about the staff.
AircraftA310
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I will not recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Toronto return. 8 hours flight and no entertainment. The staff don't even have a pen to fill up the landing card. I paid for £323 and now I want to change one week early, they are asking the difference £250 + tax = £313. The new ticket $309 which is in pound around £190. I think is better to pay bit extra money but travel with good airline - this airline only £20 cheaper than Air Canada. I will not recommend Air Transat.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed 11 hours and 45 min"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Cancun with Air Transat. Delayed 11 hours and 45 min for our 5 year anniversary because of a mechanical problem that they waited to fix until it was time to board. To compensate us we recieved a $20 food voucher. We are paying $800 a day to sit at an airport, thanks for the terrible service.Will never book or recommended a flight with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to CUN
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no