Best Cabin Crew  

Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 395 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"next time I will avoid"

(Canada)

London Ontario to Punta Cana return with Air Transat. We had about a 45 minute delay on take off, which is understandable considering the weather. This was one of the least turbulent flights that I have been on, yet the pilot had the seat belt sign on for 3/4 of the 4hr flight. Every time the seatbelt light turned off briefly, there was a scramble to line up for the washroom. There were so many people lined up the stewardesses had a hard time going down the aisle. After a while the people ignored the seatbelt sign, refusing to sit down, because they couldn't wait any longer. The seating is very cramped, especially when the person in front of you reclines her seat. This is the first 4 hour flight we have been on without a meal. Next time I will avoid flying Air Transat.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYXU to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"very tight leg room"

(Canada)

We have flown with several different airlines and liked Air Transat better than the others, but are starting to rethink our choice. After a few trips we found out about the Options Plus package that could be purchased. the way it was described to us made it a reasonable choice. The first few trips with Options plus went smoothly, but the last two have not been as nice. We flew from Toronto to Punta Cana, DR. We do get to pre-book our seats to and from our destination, but still find the seats are very tight in leg room. In order to get seats with extra leg room we were told even with the Options plus package we would have to pay extra for those seats. When we first got the Options Plus we had a cash value limit for what we wanted to purchase from the food cart. The last two trips this changed so we were given no choice. We received a Tapas box that included food that my husband and I did not eat. If we wanted anything else we had to pay. We were not even given the option of the equivalent value of the Tapas box. Somehow the same food for breakfast, lunch or dinner does not make sense to me. I do realize there are a lot of people on a place that need to be satisfied, but if I am paying extra for extra services and am not receiving them then my money may be better spent elsewhere.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYYZ to PUJ
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service was horrible"

(Canada)

I traveled from Vancouver to Glasgow with my ten year old son in Aug/15. I am not a person who gets nit picky about much but would never fly Air Transat again. To begin with what is said about the seats is true. I travel a lot and they had to be the worse I have encountered. No padding and the least amount of leg room. Four hours into the trip I was dreading the return trip already. The service was horrible but not because of the staff. There is too few of them. Putting on your light and waiting half an hour for any attention was considered the norm. We had a big spill and it took 42 minutes from the time I hit the light and we received help. Once the carts get in the aisle basically forget it. No service at all other than eventually a meal arriving. On the way there my son slept the whole time but on our return trip he was awake and apprehensive. He gets motion sickness easily so reading etc was not really a choice but they had those video terminals so I counted on that to help entertain him for the 9 hour flight. About an hour into the flight his terminal started experiencing problems and shut down. We traded seats so he could use mine but soon mine did the same thing as well as the one in the third seat. I hit the light for some help. 52 minutes later I finally flagged a stewardess going by. Her response was a big fake smile, a shrug "nothing I can do about that" she says and begins to leave. "Wait a minute. Please come back here. I paid the same as everyone else and have a child with me. I was told we would have a terminal and have no other way of entertaining him because I counted on it. . I don't matter but I need one for my son". Her response was that there was "no guarantee" about the terminals. I can move seats if I want. I stand up and look around. I see single seats here and there. I need to sit with my son though. The closest ones were six rows apart. I could see three spots with duel empty seats but the person in those rows had spread out. I asked one to move. He refused. I then asked the same stewardess to help me find a row we could both sit in because they were out there. She turned to me and proclaimed loudly "I don't understand what you want from me". We finally found a seat thanks to a wonderful passenger going out of her way to help and we ended up in a centre row. My terminal quit after five minutes so don't count on them for entertainment. I was blown away at the lack of empathy shown over a mom wanting to sit with her young son. The icing on the cake was I paid an extra $240.00 to choose our seats when we booked just to make sure my son and I could be together and he could have a window seat. When I called after the trip I was told that payment made no guarantee either. I was offered $50 off my next trip. That was after I said I would never use them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to GLA
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hardly any legroom"

(Canada)

My Husband and I travelled with Air Transat from Kelowna to Puerto Vallarta. We were very disappointed with the airplane, service and cleanliness. The seats are very uncomfortable and there is hardly any legroom. The service was very poor, too. We were only twice offered a beverage. They did not offer any snacks either. Then to sum it up, the plane was not cleaned, the drop tables and seats were dirty. One of the stewardess was touching the inside of the cups she was filling up with her fingers and also collecting the garbage without gloves. In my pinion every plane should be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected after every flight for the sake of the passengers.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYLW to PVR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"how uncomfortable seats were"

(Canada)

Air Transat trip from Victoria BC to Cancun return, with flights operated by Enerjet. Two of us travelled outbound on Jan. 16 and were lucky enough to have pre-booked the exit row, therefore the flight was pleasant. Not so on the return flight, we were seated in row 7 and I cannot believe how little leg room and how uncomfortable the seats were. We were both miserable the whole 6 hours of the flight. There is no opportunity for a movie or any form of entertainment provided as well. Also, we purchased the chicken sandwich which was awful, and would not recommend buying anything on the flight. We travel south twice a year and will no longer use Air Transat if they continue to use Enerjet Boeing 737 planes.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYJ to CUN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not good value for money"

(Canada)

We booked our 2 week trip to Cuba from Regina in September 2015 to avoid late flights and to ensure direct flights. We normally only fly direct. Also paid the extra for the option plus. Two weeks before the trip our agent advised that we would be makinking one quick stop in Santa Maria but we would just stay on the plane. The crew never communicated anything during the stop other than to take all our belongings, including all carry ons and exit the plane. While escorted to the terminal we all had to go through security again and then sit and wait an hour. Again no one from the crew communicated anything to us while we waited. We had no idea what was going on. After we all reboarded the crew did not say anything. While at the resort Air Transat staff told us our flight back would be direct. Well not the case. We arrived at the airport to read on the board that our flight was leaving at 18.45, would you believe by 16.30 they were calling for all Regina passengers to board the plane. I quickly ran to find my husband to board. While boarding I could hear other passengers worried about missing their flight due to the earlier departure. After departing guess what? Touch down in Santa Maria, again no communication from the crew until we departed. Also why were our option plus seats in the middle of the plane? What happened to the leisure boarding and unboarding. We feel totally cheated by this so called perk. Definately not good value for money. We had to purchase our meal on way to and from Cuba on plane. We are very dissatisfied with the service and crew.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYQR to HAV
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"greeted by unhappy staff"

(Canada)

I will never fly with Air Transat again. Flew from Puerto Vallarta to Edmonton. Waited over 2 hours in line and rushed to board the plane only to be greeted by unhappy staff. The announcements could not be heard as they spoke so fast. The seats are cramped. The food was not good. A smile and an apology would have helped this flight survive but the reply was only it was not their fault. I felt I was bothering them by asking a question.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVR to YEG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"waited for a few passengers"

(Canada)

Our flights with Air Transat was Toronto to London, UK and return. Outgoing we were 3 hrs delayed because they waited for a few passengers from Montreal to board our flight, in turn for those waiting, it affected 100s of people and costly for the rest of us who missed our connections, flights, buses, trains etc when we arrived in London. This was an idiotic decision by Transat for a few late people. On our return to Toronto a week later we were 8 hrs delayed, mechanical I believe. However, the pilot and crew told us they couldn't work over their allotted time and diverted our flight to Montreal, so the Toronto passengers had to wait for a new pilot and crew. Instead of getting into Toronto at 3pm, we arrived 11pm. Again, passengers getting in so late, missing connections, flights, buses, trains etc when we arrived.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to YYZ via YUL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"whole experience was negative"

(Canada)

My wife and I have traveled a lot and at least once a year we use Air Transat. We have noticed over the years a dramatic reduction in services provided by the airline and our last trip from Regina to Punta Cana ended early this morning. From the Air Transit staff in Punta Cana to the last comments by the attendants the whole experience was negative. From long lineups that lasted four hours to the constant delays at each stop and the unbelievably poor service by the in-flight attendants. The food was almost inedible and expensive if you could get someone to serve you. The staff were rude and at times acting as if we were an inconvienance to them.
AircraftA310
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYQR to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"again no compensation"

(Canada)

Never again with Air Transat. When we were leaving at 9am for Punta Cana from Toronto on Jan 11 2016 we had to wait 2 hours while they changed planes (some mechanical problem). We all boarded the replacement plane only to be told there was trouble with some instrumentation in the cockpit. This took 1 hour to resolve while we all sat there in the poor ventilated conditions. If we had flown on time we would have had 1/2 day at the beach that 1st day. Now we are 3 hours behind schedule - so we lost 1/2 day of our vacation. Not a word of apology from the staff. No mention of compensation for the 1/2 day lost. Not even a free glass of wine. On the way home on Jan 25 2016 the captain announced that the overhead entertainment screens did not work on the way down and they couldn't fix then in Punta Cana. Again no compensation. Not even a coffee until we were in the air for 2 hours. They were more interested in selling drinks and duty free goods which were presented quite promptly when we were in the air. That's 3 malfunctions of one sort or another in 2 flights. Very crowded tight quarters.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no