Top 100 Airports  

Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"recommend avoiding Air Tahiti Nui"

(United States)

Verified Review | I would recommend avoiding Air Tahiti Nui. Our outbound flight from the US was uneventful. The plane, however, was in poor shape, with threadbare carpet, outdated seatback entertainment (some flights don't even have screens), sagging seatback pockets and below average food and service. The flight was on-time, though, and we were headed to paradise, so we could overlook these minor issues, even though the flight cost, even for an economy ticket, was at a premium price point. On our return trip is where we ran into serious issues. There was a mechanical delay on our flight, which postponed our departure for 24 hours. We waited in line for 3 hours before we had the delay and rebooking information, however, and were told that there was no possibility of being moved to one of the three other PPT-LAX flights that Air Tahiti Nui had before our rescheduled flight left. They put us up in a nice hotel overnight, so we weren't too upset at spending another day in Papeete. We had booked all of our ongoing flights out of LAX on our own due to my wife and I parting ways after the trip and her complicated international travel. Upon getting to the hotel, I began the process of rebooking all of those flights, as we were given the new departure information the following night. After breakfast the following morning, we were feeling pretty good about everything, when I just happened to check the Air Tahiti Nui website to see if our flight was still on time. Nope, we were delayed another 9 hours, which then caused us to miss all of our rebooked connections from LAX. We did not receive any notification from the airline about this additional delay. At this point, Air Tahiti Nui really let us down. They did not rebook us on any of the other departing flights for LAX. They had no consideration for connecting flights. In order for my wife to make her destination in time, we had to reroute her on another Air Tahiti Nui flight to Tokyo-Narita. They would not apply any of the funds we used for the PPT-LAX flight, nor would they simply book her on that flight at no cost due to the mechanical issue. When we spoke to customer service, we had to find all of our own solutions due to their incompetence and lack of understanding. To top it all off, they were completely indifferent and unapologetic. To this day, almost one month later, we have not been engaged by their customer service department for reparations after repeated emails and phone calls. Based on our experience, I would recommend a few things: There are other carriers that fly to/from Tahiti (Air France, Hawaiian Air, etc). Look into them and see if they are an option for you. Take a vacation somewhere else. There are a lot of nice spots in the world, and while Tahiti is exotic and amazing, our poor air travel and all that followed totally clouded our experience. If you still decide to go, and to go with Air Tahiti Nui, try to book all of your air travel through them on one ticket. Or, if you are booking your own connections, be sure to have some flexibility on your US arrival (a day or two in LA on the back end).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePPT to LAX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"poor service and terrible seats"

(New Zealand)

Flew Air Tahiti Nui from Auckland to Los Angeles. Firstly the customer service is terrible and they can't change seats on a near empty flight because they are "not allowed to". Once on the plane I realised how uncomfortable the seats were, hard and no leg room. The service is terrible as they barely speak english and don't seem to care about customers. They served drinks once on the flight and would not get a coke for me so they just gave the terrible orange juice that was served with breakfast. The food was horrible. Entertainment barely works and is outdated. The headphones they give you are terrible and you can't hear anything with them. No space for items so I say you put your items in the overhead because you can barely fit an iPhone into the seat back pocket. I do not recommend this airline because of it's poor service and terrible seats.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to LAX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the airline was punctual"

(United States)

I flew Air Tahiti Nui in December of 2015 from LAX going to eventual spot of Bora Bora. The flight was good and the airline was punctual. Food was decent and we were fed twice on the flight. Had entertainment to keep you busy in watching movies and the cabin crew was helpful.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"service cold and lacklustre"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Papeete with Air Tahiti Nui. Travelers beware! Reservation agents rude and unwilling to process cancellation within 24 hours of booking and website does not allow online cancellation. Plane was very old. The seat, arm rest, tray table and TV monitor buttons are worn or torn. Onboard service was cold and lackluster. This airline certainly cannot compete with world-class airlines. Fly Air France to Tahiti if you are looking for superior experience.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst I have ever seen"

(United States)

Our original flight was scheduled to depart at 4pm but a few days prior was rescheduled to 7pm. Imagine my surprise while eating a leisurely late lunch at a hotel in Los Angeles when I get an email message from Flight Aware that the flight to Papeete now was rescheduled to the original 4pm departure. We rushed to grab our luggage, grabbed a ride to the airport only to find out that this was wrong and the flight was not to leave until 7pm. They did not load the flight until 7pm and we never took off until way after 8pm as we all sat in the most uncomfortable seats waiting for the last passenger to arrive. I do not know who designed the seating but they are the worst I have ever seen in over fourth years of flying. As for the meal service, bring a sandwich and you will be much better off. What the TV screen tells one what will be served was not even close to it and was not edible. Also if you hold an American Airlines loyalty card the only way you will get mileage credit is to book this codeshare flight through American Airlines as Air Tahiti will not post the miles to your American account. Let the flyer be aware.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"could not have been nicer"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Papeete with Air Tahiti Nui. The plane was clean and very comfortable. I agree with a previous reviewer that when extended the seats were somewhat awkward to sleep. But I managed. The dinner they served at midnight was perfect as it was a cold chicken salad and light. The rolls were warm which was very nice. By this time all seemed ready to quickly eat and then sleep. Cabin attendants could not have been nicer trying to make us more comfortable. We fly home in two weeks and will see if we are still so happy with the plane and service but at this point would very much recommend.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the airline did its job"

(United Kingdom)

The A340 was Nuku Hiva, the youngest of the Air Tahiti Nui fleet from 2005. Left at 11:30pm, the last flight out of Tahiti in 2015. The cabin crew had made the effort to dress up and decorate the aircraft to celebrate New Year which was approximately half an hour after take-off. Served champagne before take off and after the pilot announced New Year; nice touch. The seats are comfortable and have a foot rest, but, found that the angle when extended for sleep (ever hopeful) was a wee bit awkward to find a good position - not a huge problem though and I am a bit short. There is a lot of leg room which makes it easy when seats are upright to move about. As we needed to try to sleep, we did not use the inflight entertainment. The cabin was fresh and clean, slightly better than our outward aircraft on 16 December, although that one was fine too (Moorea). These were both night flights and therefore we didn't have much contact with the cabin crew, but they were pleasant, polite and efficient although perhaps not quite so at ease with passengers as we have found on bigger international airlines. The breakfasts on both flights offered hot food and continental. It was very acceptable and included fruit and yoghurt. No complaints, the airline did its job and we were comfortable.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePPT to LAX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Auckland via Papeete. On Dec 21 noticed that Air Tahiti Nui published possible strike action by Pilots. On reading this I called Air Tahiti and was assured our flight would not be affected and we should go to checkin at LAX on Dec 22 with a scheduled departure at 11:30pm. The customer service rep then asked if I wanted to cancel. I should have taken the opportunity. On arriving (Myself, wife plus 2 infants) we were informed the flight was cancelled and we were rescheduled onto Air New Zealand. There were 7 to 8 check in staff all congregating and joking among themselves. We were told there was an issue and we'd be scheduled onto another airline. 1 hour later we were told that we were booked on American Airlines via Sydney but had to run to another Terminal in order to make the flight. We did that, arrived at the American Airlines counter who told us that we needed a transit visa for Sydney and Air Tahiti should have known this. Also told us there were no seats and we had missed the flight. We ran back to the Air Tahiti counter in the previous terminal. Again staff just joking around, had no knowledge of transit visas. Spent next 30 minutes trying to get us on another airline. Qantas this time. We ran to that counter with one helpful staff member, checked in and Qantas sorted our visas. Stroller was lost in transit. Flight they placed us on meant a 9 hour wait in Sydney before our final journey to NZ. On check-in we were charged for our on lap infant but told that Air Tahiti would reimburse. On calling Air Tahiti I was basicially told to go away. Worst customer service in 30 years of flying.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to AKL via PPT
Date FlownDecember 2015
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew was friendly"

(United States)

I was concerned about this airline after reading many terrible reviews. My Air Tahiti Nui experience was the opposite and crew was friendly and very helpful. The leg room was better than most for economy. The food was ok. On each seat a blanket and pillow, plus a bag with socks, eye mask, ear plugs, ear phones which was a nice touch. They provided 2 meals and also offered food in the galley (sandwiches, drinks, soup and ice cream) nice selection of movies to watch also.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLax to Paris
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"economy seat comfort was more domestic"

(New Zealand)

Budget is a word that comes to mind for Air Tahiti Nui. The "Bora Bora" A340 plane is in need of an update asap. On board entertainment unit was small and quite a few were very fuzzy. Choice is okay but not like bigger players provide and the interface unit is via Wii style hand held unit. It is not an on demand service so when the movies start you need to be read.y Because of this it takes some of the gloss flying with them. Take a tablet, Mac, Laptop when flying Air Tahiti Nui to avoid disappointment. Also have a device that can last 9 hours as there are no charging ports. The other plane we flew in their fleet had a larger tablet screen and usb port for charging. The crew did what they needed to do but nothing more, unless you buzzed them or fly business class. Seat comfort in economy was more domestic than international quality and at 3 hour mark it becomes noticeable. The armrests don't fold right up out of the way either. Food - fussy eaters and kids take snacks as meals make par but that's it, and bread rolls need a chainsaw to cut them open.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Auckland via PPT
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews