Best Cabin Crew  

Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"service cold and lacklustre"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Papeete with Air Tahiti Nui. Travelers beware! Reservation agents rude and unwilling to process cancellation within 24 hours of booking and website does not allow online cancellation. Plane was very old. The seat, arm rest, tray table and TV monitor buttons are worn or torn. Onboard service was cold and lackluster. This airline certainly cannot compete with world-class airlines. Fly Air France to Tahiti if you are looking for superior experience.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst I have ever seen"

(United States)

Our original flight was scheduled to depart at 4pm but a few days prior was rescheduled to 7pm. Imagine my surprise while eating a leisurely late lunch at a hotel in Los Angeles when I get an email message from Flight Aware that the flight to Papeete now was rescheduled to the original 4pm departure. We rushed to grab our luggage, grabbed a ride to the airport only to find out that this was wrong and the flight was not to leave until 7pm. They did not load the flight until 7pm and we never took off until way after 8pm as we all sat in the most uncomfortable seats waiting for the last passenger to arrive. I do not know who designed the seating but they are the worst I have ever seen in over fourth years of flying. As for the meal service, bring a sandwich and you will be much better off. What the TV screen tells one what will be served was not even close to it and was not edible. Also if you hold an American Airlines loyalty card the only way you will get mileage credit is to book this codeshare flight through American Airlines as Air Tahiti will not post the miles to your American account. Let the flyer be aware.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"could not have been nicer"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Papeete with Air Tahiti Nui. The plane was clean and very comfortable. I agree with a previous reviewer that when extended the seats were somewhat awkward to sleep. But I managed. The dinner they served at midnight was perfect as it was a cold chicken salad and light. The rolls were warm which was very nice. By this time all seemed ready to quickly eat and then sleep. Cabin attendants could not have been nicer trying to make us more comfortable. We fly home in two weeks and will see if we are still so happy with the plane and service but at this point would very much recommend.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLAX to PPT
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the airline did its job"

(United Kingdom)

The A340 was Nuku Hiva, the youngest of the Air Tahiti Nui fleet from 2005. Left at 11:30pm, the last flight out of Tahiti in 2015. The cabin crew had made the effort to dress up and decorate the aircraft to celebrate New Year which was approximately half an hour after take-off. Served champagne before take off and after the pilot announced New Year; nice touch. The seats are comfortable and have a foot rest, but, found that the angle when extended for sleep (ever hopeful) was a wee bit awkward to find a good position - not a huge problem though and I am a bit short. There is a lot of leg room which makes it easy when seats are upright to move about. As we needed to try to sleep, we did not use the inflight entertainment. The cabin was fresh and clean, slightly better than our outward aircraft on 16 December, although that one was fine too (Moorea). These were both night flights and therefore we didn't have much contact with the cabin crew, but they were pleasant, polite and efficient although perhaps not quite so at ease with passengers as we have found on bigger international airlines. The breakfasts on both flights offered hot food and continental. It was very acceptable and included fruit and yoghurt. No complaints, the airline did its job and we were comfortable.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePPT to LAX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Auckland via Papeete. On Dec 21 noticed that Air Tahiti Nui published possible strike action by Pilots. On reading this I called Air Tahiti and was assured our flight would not be affected and we should go to checkin at LAX on Dec 22 with a scheduled departure at 11:30pm. The customer service rep then asked if I wanted to cancel. I should have taken the opportunity. On arriving (Myself, wife plus 2 infants) we were informed the flight was cancelled and we were rescheduled onto Air New Zealand. There were 7 to 8 check in staff all congregating and joking among themselves. We were told there was an issue and we'd be scheduled onto another airline. 1 hour later we were told that we were booked on American Airlines via Sydney but had to run to another Terminal in order to make the flight. We did that, arrived at the American Airlines counter who told us that we needed a transit visa for Sydney and Air Tahiti should have known this. Also told us there were no seats and we had missed the flight. We ran back to the Air Tahiti counter in the previous terminal. Again staff just joking around, had no knowledge of transit visas. Spent next 30 minutes trying to get us on another airline. Qantas this time. We ran to that counter with one helpful staff member, checked in and Qantas sorted our visas. Stroller was lost in transit. Flight they placed us on meant a 9 hour wait in Sydney before our final journey to NZ. On check-in we were charged for our on lap infant but told that Air Tahiti would reimburse. On calling Air Tahiti I was basicially told to go away. Worst customer service in 30 years of flying.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to AKL via PPT
Date FlownDecember 2015
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew was friendly"

(United States)

I was concerned about this airline after reading many terrible reviews. My Air Tahiti Nui experience was the opposite and crew was friendly and very helpful. The leg room was better than most for economy. The food was ok. On each seat a blanket and pillow, plus a bag with socks, eye mask, ear plugs, ear phones which was a nice touch. They provided 2 meals and also offered food in the galley (sandwiches, drinks, soup and ice cream) nice selection of movies to watch also.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLax to Paris
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"economy seat comfort was more domestic"

(New Zealand)

Budget is a word that comes to mind for Air Tahiti Nui. The "Bora Bora" A340 plane is in need of an update asap. On board entertainment unit was small and quite a few were very fuzzy. Choice is okay but not like bigger players provide and the interface unit is via Wii style hand held unit. It is not an on demand service so when the movies start you need to be read.y Because of this it takes some of the gloss flying with them. Take a tablet, Mac, Laptop when flying Air Tahiti Nui to avoid disappointment. Also have a device that can last 9 hours as there are no charging ports. The other plane we flew in their fleet had a larger tablet screen and usb port for charging. The crew did what they needed to do but nothing more, unless you buzzed them or fly business class. Seat comfort in economy was more domestic than international quality and at 3 hour mark it becomes noticeable. The armrests don't fold right up out of the way either. Food - fussy eaters and kids take snacks as meals make par but that's it, and bread rolls need a chainsaw to cut them open.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Auckland via PPT
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airline I have flown"

(United States)

Air Tahiti Nui is the worst airline I have flown, starting from the reservation process. The Air Tahiti Nui website is the most outdated and the customer unfriendly of any airline. My credit card was charged twice for the same transaction. The reservation agents are the most condescending I have ever experienced. They are unwilling to do their jobs and try to get you to acquiesce to their attitude rather than follow industry standard customer service. Onboard experience was just as bad. The hardware showed neglected maintenance plus obvious signs of wear and tear with dirty seat cover and tray table. The flight attendants were subpar in their service. I would never fly this airline again.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff on the plane were pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

We had an acceptable night time flight with Air Tahiti Nui from PPT to LAX. The Papeete lounge was air conditioned and spacious. The staff on the plane were pleasant and the food and drink OK, if not high-end cuisine. No complaints from us.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePPT to LAX
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"last experience with Air Tahiti Nui"

(United States)

That was our first, and hopefully last, experience with Air Tahiti Nui. Inflight customer service in business class was horrible. The cabin staff looking after us was unprofessional and rude. She didn't offer us any drink unless she needed to. Wasn't friendly. Staff generally were rude and not very welcoming. Food was very poor quality and we were wondering how bad it must be in economy. Overall it wasn't a good experience.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Tahiti
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews