Vote Now  

Air Seychelles

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 50 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst air travel experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | We had the worst air travel experience with Air Seychelles, flying from Antananarivo, Madagascar to Kathmandu, Nepal on 11/4/2016. We had two transfers - Mahe and Mumbai. We were treated like illegal immigrants and forced to stay at the airport overnight because the supervisor on ground in Mahe. We flew from Tana to Mahe. When we arrived Mahe, they refused to issue us boarding passes for our next two connections (Mahe-Mumbai-KTM) because we did not have onward tickets after Nepal. We explained that we are backpackers. We travel by land mostly and plan to cross the border by car from Nepal to India. The supervisor told us she will check and disappeared. When we asked about our flight, she said we still have time and she will not leave us behind. We waited in the airport until 9:10pm when our connection flight to Mumbai was boarding. By that time, we've purchased our onward ticket from KTM to Delhi as we cannot afford to miss the flight. We showed our ticket to one of the staff. The first thing she told us is we cannot boarding our flight because the gate is closed! Then when she phoned the supervisor, who demanded to see our India visa, which was completely irrelevant. We waited there thinking the supervisor will come back to us, but they just let us miss the flight like that! Even after we had all the documents they asked for. In the end, the supervisor never showed up and they did not let us board our flight even though we had the onward tickets. We were dumped in the airport without any explanation. We did not know why we need to show the airline our India visa while we are just flying to Nepal and what should we do for the flights that we've missed. When the supervisor showed up around midnight, she said we will have to wait for the next day to rearrange the tickets and just disappeared again. They tried to send us to a hotel but it was too late, the immigration officer didn't let us pass. Therefore, we were forced to sleep in the airport. The next day we spoke with numerous staff about our issue, including the supervisors and duty managers. None of them helped. In the end, we were able to board the flight that day withy the same documents we had a night before, which means we could've boarded our original flight!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTNR to KTM via SEZ / BOM
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"would definitely recommend"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Seychelles. First time travelling with Air Seychelles and I was very impressed. Ground staff was very helpful. Food was excellent, cabin staff was friendly. The flight was comfortable and there was a variety of entertainment on board. Great airline would definitely recommend.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to SEZ
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"pay more and go by a reliable airline"

(India)

Verified Review | I wanted to bring to your attention the pathetic experience I have recently had flying Air Seychelles and its partner Etihad on the Mumbai-Dar Es Salaam-Mumbai route. I booked a confirmed Air Seychelles Mumbai to Dar Es Salaam via Mahe return flights on January 2016 for July 2016. A month later we were informed that Air Seychelles has stopped flying that route and has shifted us to Etihad flight via Abu Dhabi. I confirmed with the Mumbai office of Air Seychelles and the flight was confirmed. A week before flying I checked with Etihad online and they informed me that my Abu Dhabi to Dar es Salaam sector was not confirmed. Neither Air Seychelles nor Etihad had taken the effort to inform me of this situation in spite of purchasing a confirmed ticket in January! If I had not followed up I would have been stranded in Abu Dhabi. The Air Seychelles ground office in Mumbai was equally clueless. Repeated emails from them to Air Seychelles and Etihad (on highest priority I was told) went unanswered. Only after I threatened to take action did they swing into action and book us on Kenya Airways. As a gesture we were informed that a special request for upgrade to Business class has been put but of course as expected there was no record on the system during check in. Also the complimentary chauffeur service from Etihad was not available as the PNR was 'not registered' in the system. The only explanation that I was offered was 'a system glitch'. This is irresponsible of both Air Seychelles and Etihad. I will definitely not be flying either airline. I would rather pay more and go by a more reliable airline like Emirates or Qatar Airways. Both Etihad and Air Seychelles promise a lot but once the money is exchanged forget their responsibility.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOM to DAR via NBO
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"hardly any leg room"

(United Kingdom)

Uncomfortable, hardly any leg room and the cabin was so hot that it made it almost unbearable to be on the flight from Abu Dhabi to the Seychelles. However, on the return flight with Air Seychelles it was much better with a cooler cabin and much nicer staff. There were not as many passengers on the way back so we got to lay across the seats and sleep. Don't bother getting the front seats have don't have anymore room than the ones behind.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAUH to SEZ
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"food served is appalling"

(United Arab Emirates)

Abu Dhabi to Mauritius via Mahe. Previously the schedule and food were much better. One could leave around 9.20 am same day and arrive around 16.00 hours. Now, with Air Seychelles, one has to leave residence at 11.00 pm to reach destination around 12.20 next day, ie very odd hours. On top of that the transit time in Mahe, is now more than 2 hours. Seychelles has plenty of quality fish, yet the food served on both legs is appalling, only 2 breakfasts. Overall, only the dessert was good. It is preferable to pay partly for the food and obtain better quality.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAUH to MRU via SEZ
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"faced too much problems"

(India)

First of all while booking online, only Credit Card payments are allowed - they don't allow netbanking or debit Card payments. No Option of changing your meal or seat preferences after booking. No Option to enter loyality Programme Details after booking. No option of online checkin - real shame who has design this Website. Before flying itself faced too much problems.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to BOM via SEZ
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"service very slow"

(South Africa)

On original check in at Durban could check in baggage but SAA could not print Air Seychelles boarding pass. Re-check in at Johannesburg very slow with long queues, although very pleasant staff. Aircraft showed lack of cosmetic maintenance despite being fairly new such as loose seat pockets. Decent legroom and A330 seating configuration 2-4-2 preferable to Boeing. Service very slow after take off, first hour spent handing out immigration forms. Food was good but drinks, water or wine, in tiny quantities with no offer of refill. No walk around service after meal, although call button was responded to. Reasonable flight but do not be taken in by "Creole experience" punted on their website.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUR to SEZ via JNB
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"friendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Air Seychelles from Seychelles to Praslin Island. Friendly staff, but a tiny plane (as it was a 10 minute inter-island flight), so small that I couldn't stand up, but it was clean and new. The flight was smooth, and non-eventful. The seats weren't comfortable, and there were arranged in a two-one layout. The plane's livery needs a mention - it was one of the best I've seen.
AircraftDHC6-400 Twin-Otter
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSEZ to PRI
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"delighted to end our flight"

(South Africa)

Johannesburg to Praslin via Mahe with Air Seychelles. Our flight departure time was at 14h00 and the arrival time in Mahe very close to midnight. From Johannesburg the service was extremely slow as our trays were cleared more than an hour after the service commenced. I will not even comment on the food served as my tray went straight to their exit bin. The departure time from Johannesburg is clearly problematic if one considers the crew on duty had just come from Seychelles and with a turnaround of possibly an hour or less, they must have been on duty from very early morning. It would be interesting to know whether the same crew returns the aircraft or whether there was indeed another crew returning to Seychelles. If a different crew did duty on the return flight then their tardy service is unforgiveable. If the reverse is true, then surely their hours on duty exceeded the norm. For folk travelling from South Africa and seated in the economy class, sleep well the night before your departure. Do not try and extend your seat and then expect the passenger behind you to be happy having a stranger sleeping on their lap - when service starts you have to be asked to please place your seat in the upright position. On our return the menu was just as terrible - fancy being told they do not have the omelette which is first on their very fancy menu card and your choice is frittata or bread pudding for breakfast. The service was better, the crew were well trained but the noise from passengers and children was chronic, we at times wished their was an escape route and a parachute available. We have travelled to many destinations on various flights - longer flights do deserve the extra charges which we willingly pay, but never have we been so delighted to end our flight. Mahe Airport is in serious need of better seating and air conditioning - being the departure point from all the islands. Praslin Airport was cleaner and better equipped.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to PRI via SEZ
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"friendly efficient crew"

(South Africa)

Flew Air Seychelles from SEZ to BOM. Purchased an upgrade at the lounge in Mahe Airport - handled in a professional manner. Seat comfort ok for 4hr 30min flight. Entertainment was Etihad ebox so there was plenty of choice. Dinner served was excellent - fish roulade, chicken curry. South African sauvignon blanc was good. Friendly efficient crew. wifi and sms available. On time arrival into Mumbai.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSEZ to BOM
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 50 Reviews