Air Niugini

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort N/A
Staff Service N/A
Value for Money N/A
Customer rating from 33 reviews
0/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"a very pleasant surprise"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Singapore to Port Moresby. Given the limited choice available on the market to reach Port Moresby (only Qantas and Air Philippines travel there) I was forced to take Air Niugini. It was a very pleasant surprise. Plane was not too old, cabin was very decent, clean, entertainment somewhat limited but of reasonable quality. Food was ok, plane is almost always empty, which means lots of space also in Economy. Board personnel is not as shiny as you could see on Emirates or Qatar, but kind, gentle and professional. A surprise.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Port Moresby
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"such attitude and negligence"

(Finland)

Verified Review | I was travelling on an Air Niugini PX187 from Mt. Hagen to Port Moresby on 31/3/2017. The check-in was a chaos and in the end flight was cancelled at short notice (as it was time to board), as was the flight on the following day we were transferred to (PX 181). In the end, the total delay was 24 hours. For the whole day on Saturday (8.30am to 5pm), we were made to wait at the airport with no food or water provided and no information on when we might be able to fly. The staff were unwilling to help or offer any kind of assistance or volunteer any information. When I enquired about refreshments for the passengers I was told that it was 'not the airline policy’ to take care of their passengers even in case of delay which was entirely the fault of the airline. When we finally arrived in POM at 6pm on the 1st of April, our luggage was left behind. Again, no specific information was provided by the airline as to when they would arrive, only an approximate “maybe tomorrow”. We went back on the following day and received 1/3 of the checked in baggage. The other two bags didn’t arrive. My colleague went back again in the afternoon to check but still nothing. I gave up as life is too short for this (no chance the airline will follow up on your behalf). I wrote to the airline but haven't received a response. I have never experienced such attitude and negligence by any other airline in the world.
AircraftFokker 100
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMt Hagen to Port Moresby
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"seat pitch is ridiculously tight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Port Moresby. Air Niugini use a remote hard stand for boarding in Sydney. Passengers can expect to catch a bus to take them to the aeroplane. Economy Class Seat 12B. The seat pitch on the Boeing 737-700 is ridiculously tight and is much much less than their 767s which I fly very often. I use Qantas 737-800s every 1-2 weeks and they offer a much better seat pitch. I am 189cm and my knees were jammed against the seat in front on the Air Niugini 737-700. The seat cushioning and lumbar support is near non-existent and passengers should expect to have back and leg pain on arrival. The 767 is the same. The seats fail to lock up right and recline on take-off. My seat gradually reclined to the full reclined position on it's on which severely impacts the limited space for the person seated behind you. The IFE on their Boeing fleet (767 and 737) has issues. The touchscreens rarely work and register phantom touches consistently throughout the flight. These either sequence the exit movie button or turn the volume to max. The passenger in the seat next to me screen's orientation was upside down. The food is relatively good for an economy flight. General condition of the aeroplanes are showing their age.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Port Moresby
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"most useless airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The most useless airline I have had the misfortune to experience. Booked flights in January for July holiday to take our mother back to Rabaul after 47 years for her 70th birthday. Arrived prior to the other 8 family members only to be advised my flight was cancelled. Rebooked on same day only for this flight to be cancelled. All due to the fleet being 'unserviceable'. No communication of cancelled flights, even when at airport. Forced to stay over night in Moresby, flight rescheduled for 8am, only to be cancelled. Finally after so many attempts, I had to pay $380AUS to fly with the alternative non government Air PNG airline so I could start my actual holiday and join my family. These forced changes rendered my pre planned expense and time useless. I felt sorry for airport staff who are placed in this position due to pilots striking. I felt very sorry for customers who were forced for to wait 5 days before they could get to their destination.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNS to RAB via POM
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff are very friendly"

(Thailand)

Port Moresby to Brisbane with Air Niugini - relatively expensive airline although not on routes from PNG to and from Brisbane and Cairns in Australia. Planes are old but have been refurbished with quite comfortable seats and have quite a good in-seat entertainment system. The toilets are clean, which is a plus on any airline. Meals are actually very good and probably amongst the best of any airline I have flown with (at least in economy). However, what sets this airline apart from many is its cabin staff who are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to BNE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"polite cabin crew"

(Papua New Guinea)

A smooth 2 hour flight with Air Niugini from Singapore to Port Moresby. Orderly boarding and very polite cabin crew. The plane was spotless. Varied selection of movies, music and television shows. Satisfactory meal and drink service. Would not hesitate to fly again or recommend.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to POM
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"memorable experience"

(Papua New Guinea)

Port Moresby to Singapore with Air Niugini, and they provided the best assistance and service I have experienced. The ground staff and the check-in service was wonderful and very quick. The staff is professional and helpful. The 6 hours flight from POM to SIN journey was very comfortable and relaxing. The crew were very decent and helping. Overall wonderful and memorable experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to SIN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"has been consistently great"

(Papua New Guinea)

Over the past 40 years I've travelled to many destinations around the world on many different airlines, but none of them have even come close to punching above its weight than Air Niugini. I've been flying Air Niugini ever since I was pleasantly surprised over 18 months ago, and the experience has been consistently great. It is what one would expect from an airline, but to deliver a world class service amidst challenges is what makes Air Niugini stand out for me.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Port Moresby
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"decent staff and pilots"

(Papua New Guinea)

Air Niugini planes in good condition, decent staff and good pilots. The food on the international 767 was good and the seats have good IFE but a limited movie selection. It breaks down a bit on domestic flights though. The planes (Dash-8s and Fokker 70s) and pilots are still good and inflight service OK, although you'll only get 2 small cookies and a small juice container (finding plain water in PNG is bizarrely difficult), however ground service is pretty bad. Port Moresby check-in is a madhouse and locals check huge amounts of baggage (note that the free amounts are small - 5kg carryon and 16kg checked, although if you're connecting from international they will usually allow whatever allowance you had for that flight), which means that late arrivals are often bumped due to the plane hitting the weight limit - so check in early! And then hope that your luggage actually arrives - I've already had misdirected luggage on my 4th flight in PNG. The weather contributes to frequent delays and cancellations and the handling of rebookings is poor. Still much better than most domestic flight experiences that I've had in countries like this. Overall score of 7 considers an 8 for international and a 4 for domestic.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to GKA via PNG
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Staff were friendly "

(Papua New Guinea)

Flew Air Niugini from Port Moresby to Brisbane return. Seating pitch was adequate and meals were good. Staff were friendly in the reserved Melanesian way. The planes are old although the they've recently (in the last couple of years) been refitted. Decent IFE for short-haul flights.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to BNE
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews