Top 100 Airlines  

Air Niugini

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"staff are very friendly"

(Thailand)

Port Moresby to Brisbane with Air Niugini - relatively expensive airline although not on routes from PNG to and from Brisbane and Cairns in Australia. Planes are old but have been refurbished with quite comfortable seats and have quite a good in-seat entertainment system. The toilets are clean, which is a plus on any airline. Meals are actually very good and probably amongst the best of any airline I have flown with (at least in economy). However, what sets this airline apart from many is its cabin staff who are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to BNE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"polite cabin crew"

(Papua New Guinea)

A smooth 2 hour flight with Air Niugini from Singapore to Port Moresby. Orderly boarding and very polite cabin crew. The plane was spotless. Varied selection of movies, music and television shows. Satisfactory meal and drink service. Would not hesitate to fly again or recommend.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to POM
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"memorable experience"

(Papua New Guinea)

Port Moresby to Singapore with Air Niugini, and they provided the best assistance and service I have experienced. The ground staff and the check-in service was wonderful and very quick. The staff is professional and helpful. The 6 hours flight from POM to SIN journey was very comfortable and relaxing. The crew were very decent and helping. Overall wonderful and memorable experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to SIN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"has been consistently great"

(Papua New Guinea)

Over the past 40 years I've travelled to many destinations around the world on many different airlines, but none of them have even come close to punching above its weight than Air Niugini. I've been flying Air Niugini ever since I was pleasantly surprised over 18 months ago, and the experience has been consistently great. It is what one would expect from an airline, but to deliver a world class service amidst challenges is what makes Air Niugini stand out for me.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Port Moresby
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"decent staff and pilots"

(Papua New Guinea)

Air Niugini planes in good condition, decent staff and good pilots. The food on the international 767 was good and the seats have good IFE but a limited movie selection. It breaks down a bit on domestic flights though. The planes (Dash-8s and Fokker 70s) and pilots are still good and inflight service OK, although you'll only get 2 small cookies and a small juice container (finding plain water in PNG is bizarrely difficult), however ground service is pretty bad. Port Moresby check-in is a madhouse and locals check huge amounts of baggage (note that the free amounts are small - 5kg carryon and 16kg checked, although if you're connecting from international they will usually allow whatever allowance you had for that flight), which means that late arrivals are often bumped due to the plane hitting the weight limit - so check in early! And then hope that your luggage actually arrives - I've already had misdirected luggage on my 4th flight in PNG. The weather contributes to frequent delays and cancellations and the handling of rebookings is poor. Still much better than most domestic flight experiences that I've had in countries like this. Overall score of 7 considers an 8 for international and a 4 for domestic.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to GKA via PNG
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Staff were friendly "

(Papua New Guinea)

Flew Air Niugini from Port Moresby to Brisbane return. Seating pitch was adequate and meals were good. Staff were friendly in the reserved Melanesian way. The planes are old although the they've recently (in the last couple of years) been refitted. Decent IFE for short-haul flights.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to BNE
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"but poor service"

(Papua New Guinea)

Air Niugini the most expensive airlines but poor service - I already paid my ticket 1 month before flight departure. They said that I must stand by because the flight was very full. After that I give small money to one of Air Niugini officer that he helped me to get seat and finally I can get boarding pass and fly to Buka. This airlines I think like to sell ticket more than aircraft capacity and very bad attitude of company. The ticket is very expensive. The old plane was a Fokker 100. The plane was very dirty. 400USD Ticket POM to BUA with 1 hour 20 minutes flight, and Air Niugini just give 1 orange can juice and 1 biscuit snack. No Inflight Magazine. Aircraft was full. Cabin crew was polite and professional.
AircraftFokker 100
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort Moresby to Buka
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"aircraft clean but very old"

(Papua New Guinea)

Air Niugini from Buka Port Moresby with Fokker 100. Good experience. Inflight service was nothing for Buka to Rabaul flight due to short flight time just 1 hour, Rabaul to Port Moresby with 2 cookies and orange juice Only. Aircraft clean but very old. No inflight Entertainment, no newspapers, no inflight magazine. Flight Attendant to keep the safety procedure.
AircraftFokker 100
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuka to Port Moresby
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"exorbitant airfares"

(United Kingdom)

I've never had any reservations flying Air Niugini. Though the inflight product on the domestic sectors does not match the exorbitant airfares, the ground service and most flight attendants are usually excellent and professional. They do their best with what they've got. No IFE on domestic flights (POM/HGU is 1 hr flying time).
AircraftFokker 100
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort Moresby to Mt Hagen
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Crew professional but not the warmest"

(Australia)

Early morning Air Niugini flight from Port Moresby to Brisbane. Check in fast and friendly. Immigration at Port Moresby was slow with just 2 officers. Boarded on time to a clean Boeing 767, seats had updated IFE with nice screens and good content. Crew professional but not the warmest. A good breakfast was served which was of good quality. Arrived into BNE 15 mins early. Being non busy time at BNE. Immigration cleared fast and bags picked up and out of airport in 20 mins.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOM to BNE
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 29 Reviews