Air Malta

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 122 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"service is as great as before"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Malta to Gatwick. The experience was pleasant. Staff are very friendly and hospitable. Even though Air Malta moved into the low cost market, service is as great as before.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Gatwick
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Air Malta customer review

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | I fly this route from Malta to Amsterdam almost every week and try to avoid Air Malta as much as possible but sometimes this is not possible, even prefer an indirect flight over a direct Air Malta flight. Recently additional surprises occurred. For months now when flying Air Malta you get a Latvian old lease Boeing, no room, fully booked.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"excellent flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow to Malta. Excellent flight. My only commment is that boarding was chaotic. Boarding should be according to seat numbers with rear seats to be occupied first. Passengers should be asked to be seated until there numbers are called. Also elderly and children should board first. Otherwise one of the best flights I have had.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Malta
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"I got what I paid for"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Malta. Had relatively low expectations but the airline delivered for me. My flight was only 30 mins late. Seats were very close together, provided snack was nasty, but the price for my flights was very cheap. I got what I paid for. Would use again, especially if the price was right again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Malta
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Air Malta customer review

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Flew Amsterdam to Malta. I always try to avoid Air Malta if possible, unfortunately sometimes I do not succeed. I prefer an indirect flight instead of a direct Air Malta flight. Air Malta is not cheap but has bad service. Unfriendly staff, bad spread of seats. Very expensive additional luggage fee. Poor food, legspace very limited and no internet check in. Try to avoid if possible.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Malta
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"joins the race to the bottom"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | When flying from Brussels to Malta on December 27 I was once more confronted with the total incompetence of Air Malta. Official Air Malta luggage voucher was not recognized (by incompetent check-in staff) and caused a 30 min delay at check-in. Special sized luggage did not arrive with the flight (they said, but very probably badly handled by incompetent luggage handlers at Malta Airport). This is my conclusion because was found back before any other flight from Brussels arrived. Air Malta was not capable to make the late luggage delivery in time (before 17:00) driver could not be reached, and after 18:00 nobody of Air Malta answers any phone. Only after 19:00 the luggage was delivered by a driver that was not even capable to ring a doorbell or use a mobile phone, but made his presence clear by claxonning. I did not receive any calls back after 18:00 from Air Malta, so there is a general incompetence to pass any messages between staff, or even in a general sense. So even with staff quality Air Malta joins the race to the bottom of the cheapest airlines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Malta
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"was very disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Malta was delayed but flight was OK apart from small snack and a bottle of water on offer and seat 14C not staying upright. Ground service far more professional than in Malta. Flight from Malta to LHR was a different story. Delayed by one hour but was not informed why until we boarded the flight and was told it was due to industrial action by the cabin crew. Remarkably found myself on the same plane and seat so seat was not upright during take off and landing - staff were not unduly concerned by this. Food appalling, ham and cheese square on stale bread and a bottle of water. If we return to Malta would find it difficult to use this airline again. Only reason I booked Air Malta was because I only use scheduled airlines rather than the dreaded low cost ones, and was very disappointed.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalta to London
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Aircraft itself was old and shabby"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Highly disappointed. Terrible service. Booked 7 months before the departure date to fly to Malta, received a phone call 5 weeks before the flight date to be told it was no longer direct and we had to fly via Germany, Munich and have a 3 hour wait each way. We purposely booked from Manchester because it was a direct flight and we had booked travel and accommodation before and after the flight, so that we could fly directly from Manchester. I asked if we could change to another airport to therefore fly direct and be compensated for the other bookings lost and they said this was not an option. Take it or leave it basically. Customers service said they couldn't offer any good will or compensation upgrade etc. I will not be booking with them again. They sold a product, then changed it only 5 weeks before with no other offerings or compensation. Aircraft itself was old and shabby with very little room. Business class also looked very disappointing, only a curtain to separate the area and priority boarding are only clear differences. Not worth the extra cost.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Malta
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Very unfriendly staff"

(Norway)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Malta. Probably one of my worst flight experiences. Very unfriendly staff, poor food and ordinary, old seats in business class. My luggage arrived at the day of my return flight, and when I requested a compensation of 65 EUR for new clothing, with the receipt included, they started to make a big issue over this by e-mail as I did not keep a document which they told me I wouldn't need. Furthermore this document is printed from their own system.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Malta
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"attitude of the staff was at best poor"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have been visiting Malta since 1985 and used several airlines in the early days it was Air Malta but they became to expensive. In 2006 I had a work accident that left me with a disability that I can not climb stairs as not able to bend my left leg and need extra room as need my leg in a semi straight position. I am however quite able to walk around a plane. All other airlines such as Monarch and EasyJet as I have a letter from my consultant supply me with an extra leg room seat free of charge. Not this company. I telephoned direct to pre book extra leg room seats on the plane and was told I had to pay this. I explained no other companies charge, the answer was we do. So to stop an argument I paid. What a con they had booked me standard seats not extra leg room and charged me for this I could have booked them myself when we got the boarding passes online. The service on the plane and attitude of the staff towards disabled people was at best poor.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Malta International
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no