Vote Now  

Air Malta

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 110 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"a nice little airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | Malta to London Heathrow on 16 February. Online check-in worked fine and showed up at the desk to get a paper boarding pass. Agent friendly and jovial - easy airport to get thru security and plenty of places to eat. Boarding the plane was nice as there are no jetbridges and we just walked from the gate to the plane. A320 with comfortable seats. After boarding mechanics got on the plane and there was a speaker that wasn't working so it took an hour to fix. In the mean-time a FA came to me and asked me to move from 7A to the emergency row window as he said they needed someone to sit there. Never been asked to move to an emergency row but was fine with it. Tons of legroom and a row to myself. Once airborne we were served drinks and a sandwich for free, then they came around with BOB. Just a moving map but enjoyed the views outside of Sicily and the alps. We landed 20 minutes late but quickly off the plane. Air Malta is a nice little airline - hope they continue to grow.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalta to London Heathrow
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"boarding card an error"

(Hungary)

Verified Review | On my flight from Berlin to Malta Valetta I had a boarding card for the seat 2F issued by Air Malta. At the time of embarking on the ground staff checked and accepted my boarding card. When I sat down I realized that this seat is bigger than the others so I was happy. The stewardessess checked 3 times my boarding card and gave me back saying OK. At fourth time another steward asked my boarding card and said this is an error and I have to go to row 23 but she did not give me a new boarding card. She said that the plane was reorganized and row 2 was in fact Business Class, and I had an economy class ticket. After I was re-seated, nobody was at row 2!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to MLA
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"lost a day of our holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Air Malta from Gatwick to Malta for the 1st time on 28 October. Flew with them as they included 20kg baggage and they had a mid morning flight as I hate to arrive any where after dark. Flight was due to leave at 1155. Display boards said gate information at 1105. Checked at 1105 and it now said information at 1715. Went to airline desk who were not that helpful only saying food vouchers would be provided. Finally took off at 1845 or thereabouts. Captain apologised said the Incomming flight had tech problems and that they had to change aircraft. The aircraft was clean, cabin crew friendly, one guy went out his way to help the couple in front of us with a child in distress. Inflight meal was a snack but fine when the flight is only 3 hours. Arrived at our hotel about 1230 am woke up late so effectively lost a day of our holiday. I guess these things can happen I had a similar experience with Thai Airways years ago, that caused us to miss connecting flights and taxis. Flight home no problems same clean aircraft good cabin crew. I would use them again and would not tell any one considering to fly with them not too. However I was disappointed in the lack of information at Gatwick and the indifference of the staff at the airline desk. I guess a lot of passengers will b claiming delay compensation under the EU 216/2014 rule myself included. Wonder how airlines make a profit on a flight when it goes like this one.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to MLA
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"seats exceptionally small and claustrophobic"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Air Malta, 7/10, Gatwick to Malta. What a disgrace. Plane late on arrival and they did nothing to speed up the turnaround. Seats (row 5) exceptionally small and clasutrophobic. Onboard staff in a bad mood and not good at serving. Sat behind the Premium seats which meant we had a twee red curtain drawn for the flight in case we offended these important beings. (There was only one man in this class on this flight). The stewards were so slow serving the snack - tiny roll and a bottle of water - so that when people needed the loo (we have to use the one at the back) we couldn't get to it. We therefore used the first class one and got told off by the stewardess. I quoted health and safety and suggested she looked at the rules and regulations. The only good thing about it was it was a short flight speeded up by an even shorter route. Never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to MLA
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"7 hour delay, no communication"

(United Kingdom)

This was the first time we have flown with Air Malta. I have to say this may be the last time too. Had a fantastic holiday until we got to the airport to come home and had a 7 hour delay, no communication on why or what was happening. When the information desk was asked they didn't know either. When they finally had some information all they said was 'it's a tech issue'. I know these things happen but it's the lack of communication all round that's most upsetting. Yes we had food and beverage vouchers. The plane was due to leave at 15.00 but we were late again leaving. The plane had seen better days that's for sure. The onboard snack had a lot to be desired, a roll and a bottle of water. A really disappointing day completely wasted sitting in an airport with no communication.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMLA to LGW
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"all in all a poor effort"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Malta with Air Malta. What can I say, but all in all a poor effort on all fronts. Delayed leaving the UK (30 minutes) and seriously delayed leaving Malta (7hrs - having left the hotel at 6:30am to catch the 8:50am flight). We missed our connecting flight home and had to book a a subsequent later flight at an additional cost to us. They have a serious lack of communication, albeit we got vouchers for food and drinks. As always they will not comment on what exactly went wrong other than 'it went tech'. These things happen, but it would be nice to inform you as soon as possible and then keep you updated and just do it as required according to the EU rules and flight delays. Even when we were told the flight would be leaving at 3pm - that did not happen. The plane itself, looked tired it been through a lot. The seating cramped, when compared to our Island carrier - Aurigny and their Embraer E195 a regional carrier. How is this possible? Also, upon vacating the seat I noted how the cushioning remained depressed. Obviously a well used seat. Generally the interior of the plane although clean, it too looked dated. The lack of inflight entertainment is a poor effort. The food: poor effort once again, a filled bread roll and a bottle of water, I would rather not bother, in fact I didn't. When you consider Aurginy you will have at least a choice of soft drinks/tea/coffee and of course water. This is certainly not a experience I wish to repeat, it ruined a perfectly good holiday. Ultimately, if we ever returned to Malta, I will ensure my family and I choose an alternative carrier.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to MLA
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"my first choice to Malta"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Rome to Malta. I fly with Air Malta quite often and I have always been completely satisfied with their punctuality. They are usually also the cheapest legacy carrier to get you to Malta, at least from Rome. They have a nice magazine called Il-Bizilla (Maltese for lace) providing interesting information. Planes feature small overhead screens with the usual airshow. Cabin staff are hit-and-miss and sometimes quite grumpy. Unfortunately, the aircrafts' interiors are also quite old. Seats are tired and on this particular flight, the seat pocket was still full of trash. Complimentary food consisted of a small roll (Maltese-style tuna sandwich) and a bottle of water with additional choices available against payment. Completely adequate for the 1h long flight. They are always my first choice when it comes to flying to Malta. I know that they are going through tough times, but cleaning the plane properly should not be too difficult.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFCO to MLA
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew are very friendly"

(Malta)

Malta to Milan Linate - I frequently travel with Air Malta. It is a comfortable option and offers really good prices. Usually flights are on time, cabin crew are very friendly, I really like the fact that bags fly free and Air Malta gives you also a free snack (bottle of water and baguette). Will use this airline in the future.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMLA to LIN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Air Malta staff indifferent"

(United Kingdom)

Flew EasyJet in February which was ok but used to prefer major airlines so flew KLM to Amsterdam (great) then Air Malta to Malta. So you pay top whack for this airline which used to be average a few years ago but now no hot meal or drink, hot drink available at an inflated cost and the tea was vile and no hot meal even at a cost, even Easyjet can manage this. What you do get free, and this is listed on the ticket as a meal, is a bottle of water with no cup and a roll, I was the only one of a party of four who ate mine. And so to the airport, no cases, Air Malta or Schiphol? Still waiting next day, should be here by 11 pm. Air Malta staff indifferent. Easyjet from now on then with no transfer, Malta still my favourite destination though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEDI to MLA via AMS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"perfectly adequate airline"

(Poland)

Munich to Malta. Good friendly service and on time arrival. The aircraft was modern and I liked the random Maltese facts painted on the inside of each engine. When I first sat down in my seat the plane had been configured wrongly and my economy seat was in fact in business class. Once the passengers were all seated the crew reconfigured the aircraft and moved the curtains further up. This meant that we couldn't see the screen displaying the safety and emergency procedures video. The food was very limited and if we wanted anything more including coffee there was an extra surcharge. Overall, though this was a perfectly adequate airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to MLA
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes