Air France

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 723 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"horrible start to the holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Air France from London Heathrow to Mauritius via Paris. Shocking service from the word go, definitely not trying at all to make our booking experience or flight nice. One person serving at check in desk meant a 90 minute queue and a rush to board the flight, horrible start to the holiday when we got there early!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Mauritius via Paris
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it was Air France at fault"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Paris to Abu Dhabi. My flight was booked through Air France but was on an Etihad plane. Prior to the departure date I tried to book additional luggage online with Air France for 80 euros unaware that I was actually to fly with Etihad Airways. I was unable to book online for additional luggage and so called Air France. I was informed by Air France that although I wasn't able to book additional luggage online that they would put a note on my ticket for me to pay only 80 euros for the additional luggage when checking in at the airport. With this information I felt no need to investigate further. Upon arriving at the Charles de Gaulle airport to check in I was informed by Etihad Airways that I needed to pay 321.17 euros for the additional luggage! They informed me that there was no note on the ticket. When asking Air France at the airport to assist me with this they informed me that the only note on the ticket was that I had attempted to book additional luggage online, nothing about having to only pay 80 euros. Air France said they could do nothing about this situation and I had to pay the fee Etihad was demanding of me. Since I wanted to bring my belongings home and time was ticking I felt I had no option but to pay the amount demanded of me by Etihad Airways. Upon arriving in Australia I contacted Air France to request compensation for the additional amount I was asked to pay over the 80 euros. I informed them that had I known I would have had to pay such a high rate for the additional luggage with Etihad Airways I would have sought other cheaper methods to get my belongings home. Air France refused to give me the amount of 241.17 euros that I requested and said that I ought to ask Etihad Airways. I did not accept their suggestion since it was Air France at fault, not Etihad Airways.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not sure I will travel Air France again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nice to Paris. One person in our group was travelling with her Brazilian passport with her maiden name and her American Green Card with her name after she got married. Both Brazil and USA say that you don’t need a new passport or visa if you get married before they get expired. So, because of the frequent traveler programs etc (and because it is her name nowadays), her air ticket was showing her new name. We traveled from Paris to Malaga and from Madrid to Nice with those documents without any problem. The lady in the Air France check in said that she couldn’t allow her to check in because the name in the passport was not the name in the ticket. After we insisted for a while, she decided to check. She walked very slow and she left behind a line that was growing and growing. After many minutes, she came back and said that the supervisor was coming and asked us to wait in the side. It was 4 minutes before the closing time for our flight. The supervisor came 15 minute later. She was not told about the green card. Of course we were right, so she decided to allow us to embark and call the airplane telling them to wait for us. At the security point, they didn’t allow us to go through as the boarding time was gone. We stayed until they told us that the plane was gone and that they were going to place us in the next flight. The next flight was at 8:25pm. They sent us to the VIP lounge as a way to apologize. I couldn’t help to think how a bad employee that is not interest in doing a good job can cause damage to a company. But it was only the beginning. The plane was not ok to flight. They were waiting for another plane to arrive from Lyon to accommodate all the passengers. Because we were travelling La Premiere, they relocate us to a flight to Orly. Many people would like to have been relocated as we were. But because of the lady that didn’t allow us to check out in the earlier flight, we were occupying the spots that could have been assigned to another passengers. We arrived at Paris. Our luggage arrived as well, but of course the girls’ strollers didn’t. Besides, we had to take a van to Sheraton Hotel at Charles de Gaulle that costs us 120 euros. We were supposed to be at CDG at 7:40pm. We arrived after midnight. The kids were tired. We had no strollers that until now were not find. And we were told that the strollers will be send to our home in California. If we don’t get them in 45 days, we can present an invoice and get a refund. What am I supposed to do without the strollers for more than a month? I’m not sure if I will ever travel Air France again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNice to Paris
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such a poor experience"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Bogota to Rome via Paris. It's one of the worst airlines considering how much they charge. First problem: I wanted to upgrade (by paying the difference onboard ) I was told it's not possible. There were plenty of empty seats both in premium economy and in business. So why was I told I couldn't buy an upgrade? Second and most important issue: flight arrived a little late (5 minutes delay) but missed my connection to another flight with Air France. The terminal where I arrived was really far, had to go through security and immigration and yet when still on the flight the screen showed the connection. All I know is that it took forever to arrive to next flight and gate was closed. So off you go to the transit desk to get another flight. The attitude and the rolling of eyes is extremely annoying and to make it worse I'm told I missed the flight. After a lot of arguing there are no flights (in any class, can you believe it? Well I don't) so I'm given a room in a hotel inside the airport. The airport hotel is called Yotel and the rooms without windows are like 2 meters by 1.5. Basically smaller than a box. Such a poor experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Rome via Paris
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Ridiculous and insulting"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Vienna - Paris CDG - London Heathrow in Economy almost a year ago. Booked the flight directly with AF/KLM on their website. VIE-CDG was actually a codeshare flight operated by OS. Not a routing I would have normally booked, but affordable options were limited due to a late booking and a long weekend in Austria. The flight from VIE arrived in CDG 15 mins delayed due to an ATC slot, which should not have been an issue, but it was. We had a scheduled transfer time of 1 hour, which was now reduced to 45 minutes. CDG is a disaster and even the scheduled transfer time of one hour would have been not enough to be at the gate before the official flight closing time. Long lines at passport control with no special lines for EU-passports and no short connection lines. Also, nobody there from the airline or the airport to assist with short connections. Then a bus transfer between the terminals that seemed to circle the whole airport with multiple stops and which took almost 30 minutes. CDG has to be the worst organized airport in Europe. When we arrived at the gate (the very last at the end of the terminal) just before the indicated departure time, the gate was still green as open. When the gate agent saw us coming she welcomed us by saying she knows that the flight from VIE was delayed, but the gate is now closed. The flight was probably oversold so she quickly closed the gate. When checking in in VIE for this flight we were informed the flight was completely full and only two last middle seats at the back of the plane were available (sounded a lot like oversold to me). AF then rebooked us to another AF flight leaving 6 hours later. When looking for earlier alternative we were informed the next AF flight was booked solid, so no chance (not good but understandable). When we asked to be put on an earlier BA flight that had availability (as stipulated by EU Law), we were told “that’s not AF policy”. When asked why no transfer support was available given the delay and short connection time, we were told “that’s not AF policy”. When asked why they did not hold the plane a couple of minutes as we were at the gate before the departure time and they knew that a 6 hour wait was the consequence, we were told “that’s not AF policy”. We were then issued a meal voucher, but we had to wait for hour at the counter till AF got the approval from OS Otherwise AF would not issue it. Because, we were again told it is not AF policy to take responsibility whatsoever for a codeshare flight. Ridiculous and insulting! AF’s policy basically seems to be to do the utmost to inconvenience its passengers. The flight to LHR itself was actually okay, as the plane was almost empty and lots of seats unoccupied. Service was average for Y. But given the whole transfer experience and attitude with AF at CDG I will do whatever it takes not to board another AF plane. I have been happily avoiding AF for the last ten years because of previous bad experiences, and I will happily continue to do so.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to London Heathrow via Paris CDG
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience very poor and stressful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Air France accidentally cancelled reservation on return flight from Barcelona to Atlanta via Paris. Counter staff were rude and made no attempt to help saying that there was nothing they could do and directed us to a un-opened customer service area which did not open for about an hour and a half and no one could let us know if they were going to open, sighting that it was Sunday. Agent at security told me that I had to check in my walking cane. Making my walking difficult. Despite having reserved and verified a wheel chair, that information was lost. Perhaps due to airlines mistaken cancellation of our reservation. My travel companions / assistants were seated in different seats of airplane. Something I noticed was the norm with many passengers'. Stewardess said she would try to remedy but never did. I asked for a beverage which attendant said was not on the cart but would return with but never did. • Overall the entire experience was very poor and stressful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Atlanta via Paris
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin staff were much better"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | London to Paris. Check in was awful, 1 or 2 of our bags were overweight and we had 3 bags in total. We said that since it would be logical to still allow it since the total baggage weight would still equal to less than 4 bags, at first, the supervisor refused, but then after some convincing, he put our bags on, but refused to print boarding passes, luckily I had them on my Wallet app. I reached out to social media about this, they apologized and later got 3 $50 Delta Choice Selection as an apology. We boarded in a 787-9 which is very young, and the cabin staff were much better, there was IFE on this 35 Minute flight. Once airborne they served a pack of 2 Cookies and drinks too, after that we landed. WIFI is available but you have to pay for it.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Paris
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"we were involuntarily downgraded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Papeete to Los Angeles. We paid USD 6998 for 2 Business Class (Z) tickets, but due to industrial trouble at Air France, it was subcontracted to HiFly and we were involuntarily downgraded to Economy class. This was in 2 middle seats; but not together! We have received 2 measly vouchers worth €450 to compensate. I cannot imagine ever flying Air France again after this experience, so the value of the vouchers is rather moot.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"what a shame"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | I was supposed to go from Madrid to Jakarta on business class on November 9. In Madrid I got my boarding pass up to Jakarta. My flight from Madrid to Paris was AF 1801 on November 9. This flight arrived late, it landed at 20.15 approximately. I did inform the cabin crew that I had an AF transfer to Singapore, they said that operations were informed and there would be no problem. I rushed to gate K30, and I arrived at 20.30 approximately. So 20 minutes before departure. I was told that I was too late. I said that I was in time, that the AF plane from Madrid was late, that they knew about it, that the plane was still at the boarding gate. The only reply I got was that there were procedures. This of course is totally unacceptable. Why an AF plane cannot wait 10 minutes a passenger who is slightly late because the incoming flight, also from AF, is slightly late? With already a boarding pass. Is this an AF procedure? To disregard information showing that a passenger will be slightly delayed due to well documented late arrival? I took the same flight the following day and the last passenger boarded after 20.45. Did the procedures change? I also just want to mention that I was offered a night in a hotel of medium category in a totally lost area. No compensation whatsoever was offered. I of course had no clothing to change and also not any warm cloth. I also had no opportunity to buy it. Even if this is not a reason for a different treatment, I will mention that I was travelling business class and that I am a gold frequent flyer with AF. And that I never saw anything similar in all my life. What a shame!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMadrid to Jakarta via Paris
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't care about your baggage"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | Paris to Sofia. As a person who is travelling a lot I don't recommend Air France. They don't care about your baggage. I received my suitcase ripped. I asked for compensation but their policy is so complicated so I gave up. They ask for so many things to be provided that I will lose so much time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Sofia
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no