Air Europa

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 303 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they say the bag is included"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miami to Madrid. This is the worst airline by far. I got misled by the direct flight to Madrid but would never ever do this again. On their website they say that the bag is included but when you get to the airport you find out that they charge $150 per bag each way. I specifically called before I purchased the tickets to confirm if the bags are included in the price and I was told they are. When I got to the airport the flight was delayed 3.5 hours and they informed me that I need to pay $150 per bag but because of the delay I’ll pay $100. I handed them my credit card and they charged me $450! When I asked why they said $300 but they charged $450 they said that it’s in the system and it can’t be changed. I asked to talk to a manager and I was told he was at the gate. I went to the gate they told me that he is at the check in counter?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Madrid
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew welcoming and helpful"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Vigo. Really good cabin crew. I fly Air Europa within Spain and their cabin crew are always welcoming and helpful. Far superior to Iberia. They use smaller jets with two abreast and good leg room making boarding and exiting quick and easy.
AircraftEmbraer 195
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Vigo
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I was very positively surprised on both the ground service in Bogota, with very polite and helpful staff and the in-flight experience and staff. It was my first time flying with Air Europa and I only can say it was a very pleasant experience and I can wholeheartely recommend this airline!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Madrid
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very rude and unpleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Quality of customer service is shocking, they are very rude and unpleasant to deal with. Stewardesses had no clue what food they serving or weather it contains meat or not. Quality of food is another shocker, even for airplane standard. In Madrid during bording I was asked by a rude stewardess to show my passport and ticket "documentation". Even though I provided my EU passport they asked for a visa? or UK ID. Hardly any announcements during the flight were in English. I will never use this airline and I will advise everyone not to fly with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Cruz to London via Madrid
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"check which type of plane you are booking"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Since we retired, and following illness, my husband and I have always flown Business on long haul flights, specifically for the comfort of having a bed you can get some sleep in. Up until last year we had mainly flown Iberia, satisfactorily, but last year, seeing that Air Europa offered much better value, we decided to try them from Madrid to Miami, and had a wonderful flight on one of their 787 Dreamliners. So this year we booked a Málaga to Cancún return with high expectations. These were not met. Of their Airbus fleet of 12, only 3 have been reconfigured to provide flatbed seats, and it was (probably the oldest) one of the remaining nine that does the Madrid/Cancún route. Going out was ok because Business was fairly empty and we could find a seat that worked, but on the return journey it was completely full. Our seats were, allegedly, 'Lie-Flat' seats (Trade Descriptions Act where are you?). The footrests were broken on both our seats, which meant that only the back of the seat reclined (identical to that of Tourist class). When we mentioned it to the stewardess, she agreed that nothing could be done and pointed out that the majority were broken in this way. A ten hour flight is a very long time to stay awake, with only a choice of about 6 films to entertain you. When we got to Madrid, I couldn't walk at first because my ankles were so swollen, and yet we had to run to make the connecting flight because Air Europa have to park so far away from the hub, with buses at both ends. The moral of this story is check which type of plane you are booking, and if it's a 330-200, don't risk it, you'll just get Tourist amenities at Business prices.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCancun to Malaga via Madrid
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my experience was so terribly awful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never written a bad review in my life because frankly I don’t care enough to waste my time and energy on bad experiences but my experience was so terribly awful that today that changes. Trust me when I say do not fly Air Europa unless you want to have a panic attack during connecting flights. I flew from Miami to Madrid with a connecting flight to Barcelona and it was terrible. Both going to Spain and coming back from Spain I couldn’t check into my flight online. The website told me to call customer service or call the number. So I proceeded to call the customer service number as directed thinking they could just send me my boarding pass via email but I was wrong. I had to leave the gates to find the Air Europa check in desk on the other side of the airport (which I almost didn’t find) then I finally got my ticket. Side note, none of their hotline customer service representatives speak proper English. When I finally got my ticket in person I had to run back to the other side of the airport, through customs and to my gate which was the very last gate in the entire airport. I almost missed my flight both times because of their dysfunctional online check in system. Trust me I would have paid the extra $40+ for a Norwegian and/or another discount airliner if I would have known how terrible this airline was. Worst airline ever!
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Barcelona via Madrid
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Air Europa again"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Havana to London via Madrid. We queued for three hours in the most awful, disorganised queue at Havana airport to check in (we checked in at the time we were supposed to take off) and unfortunately the experience didn’t improve once we boarded the plane. Shortly after take off we heard very strange noises followed by two massive drops where the plane literally felt like it was falling. Passengers were screaming and there was not one message from the pilot or cabin crew to reassure us. We could see some lightning outside and only assume that the sounds we could hear were hail hitting the plane. As for the drops I have never experienced anything like it and was terrified. I feel it was awful that there was no announcement from crew to reassure passengers who were clearly very distressed. Other than this there wasn’t enough food served and it was disgusting. If you press the call button no one comes to see if you are okay. I had to go and find cabin crew in the kitchen to ask for water. Will never fly Air Europa again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHavana to London via Madrid
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"service was pleasant enough"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Flew Air Europa from Salvador to Madrid via Sao Paulo. So the flight was cheap and I had read all the negative reviews so was prepared for the worst. The first encounter I had was trying to make payment through the call centre due to difficulties with the web page. When I finished the call I said to the operator that if the flight went as smoothly as our call did I will be very happy. It was extremely quick and easy and he even managed to make a saving on my booking! So the flight was nothing special but wasn't horrible. Maybe we had low expectations. We had loaded our computer up with films for our daughter, downloaded a new book to the kindle and packed food for the trip. As to be expected the inflight entertainment was non existent but the food was not that horrible and the service on the flight was pleasant enough. The plane not overly comfortable but at 6 foot 7 not to many planes really are. We had a spare seat next us (didn't know these still existed) on one of the legs so we had some spare room. If I had the choice again for the money we saved we would happily take it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSalvador to Madrid via Sao Paulo
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"rude stewardesses who can not speak English"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Flew Air Europa from Cancun to Madrid. It has been like traveling by plane in the 60s. Without TVs, with a service of rude stewardesses who can not speak English. I don’t say my English is good, but I suppose if you work on a plane giving information you need to speak good English. The food was horrible, very low quality and no vegetarian option. Do not even think about traveling with this company on transatlantic trips. It has been the worst trip. They did not even have a plug to charge my phone.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Madrid
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they are taking zero responsibility"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight UX0091 was direct and supposed to land in JFK but instead the flight landed in BOS. We then sat on the runway for 4 hours until we pulled into a gate. When we were unboarded from the plane (at 11pm), no directions were given on what was happening or how we would get to JFK. First they said maybe a bus, then hotels for the night, but none were given to us. We were given "stranded passengers status" by the airport. We had to purchase an expensive hotel room $188 as well as transportation to the hotel $23. The next day we had to purchase 2 train tickets $460 to get home. We were never taken to our final destination by Air Europa and we had to pay $671 extra to get home. I called and they said to file a complaint online and wait 7 days for a response. After 8 days with no response I called back and they said I have to wait 45 days for a response. I'm confused how they stranded me in a different state than my destination, I had to pay $671 to get home, and they are taking zero responsibility. Never flying Air Europa again and I advise you not to either.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to New York JFK
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no