Top 100 Airlines  

Air Europa

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 220 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"gladly take them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew Miami to Madrid on a fairly new new Air Europa Boeing 787. Having flown them before, and expecting especially cramped quarters I was pleasantly surprised by the layout. Economy seats are 3x3X3 and reasonably roomy. I understand the seat width to be 17" but it seemed ok for me. They provided a hot meal followed by a breakfast or a pizza type snack an hour or so before landing. The IFE was pretty extensive, offering movies, TV shows, games, etc, There was a choice of English or Spanish. The air fare was about $650 r/t, but they charge $25 per segment, for an advance seat assignment. Considering the low base fare, I paid for it, though it looked like you had plenty of choices of seats left till just before boarding. Take your chances. Everything on time, or close to it. Cabin service fine and frequent. Would gladly take them again.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMIA to MAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"could go on about how bad"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was flying Air Europa from London Gatwick to Santa Cruz de La Palma (SPC) via Madrid and Tenerife. The flight from Gatwick to Madrid was delayed by approximately 3 hours. No one from Air Europa showed up to explain what was happening, all we had was a message on a screen at the Information desk saying that missed connections would have been re-arranged once we got to Madrid. However when I got to the gate they started sending people on connecting flights back to the departure lounge to have their flights re-arranged from London! I asked if I had to do the same but they told me that my connection was fine. Except, when I was boarding they stopped me and told me that my connection wasn't fine any more! So I had to go back to the departure lounge where they booked my new flights. They put me on the same flights combinations the day after, meaning I would arrive in La Palma with 24 hours of delay. And the day after, the flight from London to Madrid was delayed again! This time it was only 30 minutes, but it meant I had to literally run through Madrid's airport to make it to the boarding of my connecting flight. I could go on about how bad and expensive the food onboard is, and what a joke the inflight entertainment is as well, but my review is already very long, so I'll stop here. The worst thing is that in a few days I will have to fly back to London with Air Europa again. I am not looking forward to that!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to SPC via MAD/TFN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"not happy with performance"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Madrid return with Air Europa. I had high expectations when I arrived at Amsterdam Airport School, but was disappointed. Dropping off my luggage took longer than expected as everything went on a slow pace over there. When everything was done and at the gate, our aircraft was delayed by an hour or two. I was extremely disappointed by Air Europa's ground crew as they gave little or no information that our flight was delayed. After a wait of two hours for our aircraft to arrive, we had to wait another hour inside the aircraft for a slot to open, so we could depart. Captain explained us perfectly and gave his apologies. It was quite hot in the aircraft, so cabin crew thought to start giving water to the passengers, but suddenly stopped doing it leaving me and many more with nothing. As Air Europa isn't known to be a low cost airline and being a member of Skyteam, I expected them to give a free meal plus drink en-route, but you have to pay for this service, which was dissatisfying as I paid a quite expensive ticket. I was not happy with Air Europa's overall performance of this flight. They could have performed much better.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to MAD
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"one luggage lost again"

(United Kingdom)

My nightmare flight from London Gatwick to Sao Paulo via Madrid (connecting onto Florianopolis) started on the check-in. I was waiting to do the check in and when it was my turn the lady said I was on the wrong queue, so she pointed me the right queue and when I went to do it, they said that the had just closed and I couldn't enter anymore. I tried to explain that a member of staff advised me a wrong queue but they didn't want to work apparently, I was so nervous because if I didn't catch the flight I would lost my trip. It was a nightmare to have someone to talk to, no one from Air Europa was at the airport, after hours trying to do something, a manager appeared and he said the only thing he could do it was that he could change for other dates but the price to pay was more £500, but I had paid already almost £900. But I had to go so I paid. The flight was for 2 days later. Okay, I went the flight was late, went to Madrid and then when I arrived in São Paulo I only had 30 min to take my luggage and go take the other plane for my final destination, I thought it was be this easy, I was very wrong. My luggage was lost for my surprise, went to do a claim and the lady made me hand write everything and said that my luggage would be with me in 1 week. I came back 1 month later and nothing was found! I came back with two luggages and they lost one again! Almost everyone on the flight had their luggages lost. I tried to call several times, spend a lot of money on the calls and until today, the first luggage was never found, only the second one!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to GRU via MAD
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely awful airline"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Cancun via Madrid with Air Europa, and absolutely awful airline! The food was dire (salami sandwiches and lumpy pasta); I was shocked that this would even be acceptable for a 10 hour flight. Drinks were sparse and the air hostesses were dismissive and robotic. The organisation was a shambles (staff couldn't put people into a queue, they kept contradicting themselves, nobody knew answers to questions, half were milling about aimlessly whilst the rest abruptly barked orders at customers) and the flight was persistently delayed. At one point we waited almost 2 hours on the plane with no explanation as to why we weren't moving. Babies were screaming, children were irritable, folks were getting angry and the staff mysteriously disappeared clearly to avoid dealing with enquiries. There is no personal in-flight entertainment and if you want to watch any of their family films (on tiny screens dotted around the plane shared between 30 others) you'll need to pay €3 for headphones. Again, isn't entertainment standard across long haul airlines nowadays? It's cheap for a reason and I'll never fly with them again. They need some serious work on customer services and improving their overall image.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to CUN via MAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the food was beyond bad"

(United Kingdom)

Santa Cruz to London via Madrid with Air Europa. Inflight entertainment is one TV per 6 rows or so, an old chunky TV that looks like it's tuned in to the 80s. The staff were ok, but look disillusioned themselves. The food was beyond bad. I chose vegetarian for my food, and I was served boiled vegetables and a little bread roll. Literally a small metal tray of boiled vegetables. I asked about it, and the steward says "sometimes it's good, sometimes it's bad". I flew once before, also terrible, never again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVVI to LGW via MAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"pleasantly surprised by the service"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam to Miami via Madrid and back with Air Europa. We had an excellent flight, service similar in business class to other airlines and nothing to complain about. Good flat bed seats in the business class. The flight was operated by LOT Polish Airlines, with a mixed crew from LOT and Air Europa. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the services of Air Europa.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAMS to MIA via MAD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

I was very anxious about this flight from New York JFK to Madrid as Air Europa seemed to have terrible reviews across the board. However, I was pleasantly surprised. There was adequate legroom. My husband and I were comfortable. I have trouble sleeping on planes but he slept the entire night. The staff were very friendly and kind. Our food was adequate and we did get drinks (perhaps because it was transatlantic). There is little to no entertainment in flight, but we flew over night so I really didn't mind. And, we came equipped with Kindles, iPads, etc. The only aspect I was irritated with was reserving a seat on the plane. First of all, it was incredibly difficult to navigate their website and calls made to their customer service was equally irritating. Not only was the process frustrating, but I had to pay per seat to reserve them. Whatever savings I had on the ticket was essentially negated by this additional fee. I would fly them again, however, if the price was right.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to MAD
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"pleasant and relaxing flight"

(Germany)

First time flying with Air Europa from Gran Canaria to Madrid. Tried to check in online, however problem with the website - so check-in at the airport which was nice - the check-in lady was very friendly and helpful. Boarded the aircraft - two crew welcomed me on board, was nice. Sat at my seat which were very comfortable - for an older aircraft the seat literally hugged you. Service was nice, came through cabin twice - no issues. A pleasant and relaxing flight, would recommend.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPA to MAD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin in 1996 configuration"

(Italy)

Rome to New York JFK via Madrid with Air Europa in August 2015 for a cheap price. We flew a Boeing 737-800 and A330-200. The cabin was still in the 1996 configuration and not the recent one shown on the website of Air Europa. So no personal TV and seats were uncomfortable and my headrest was broken. Food was not as expected. But cabin crew was kind and professional. So this airline is recomended for those searching a low cost airline for transatlantic or medium range flights.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / A330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFCO to JFK via MAD
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes