Airline of the Year  

Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 839 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"unable to provide a reason"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Toronto. The customer service repeatedly asked me to leave the Zone 3 line despite being a Zone 3 individual. When asked for reasoning why they were unable to provide a reason and became hostile in language. This combines with the fact that they are dropping there Aeroplan mileage program with the Star Alliance.
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not as per expectations"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew on April 13 from Toronto to Zurich. Flight was started late by 40 minutes because cabin crew could not manage cabin luggage item of one passenger and they had to call three technicians to fix the problem. Cabin crew were rude and slow. Food served was not as per expectations and many passengers did not eat their snacks. Aircraft and seats were OK. Entertainment was OK.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Zurich
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made us pay for carry on luggage"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Tampa to Toronto. Very bad experience at Air Canada check-in counter at Tampa international airport. The customer care lady who was supposed to greet us, was rudely asking why we were there at her counter. She had no sense of customer service. After explaining the reason that we needed to check-in, she was not in good mood to provide service. She made us pay for a carry on luggage which we had brought while coming back from Canada as a carry on luggage.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Overall horrible experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Was extremely disappointed with service. I had booked a flight months ago with Air Canada to leave New York LGA airport on may 7th at 5:50pm to Toronto with an hour and half lay over there before heading to Edmonton. We found out the flight was cancelled at 2pm that day due to construction at the Toronto Airport. It was ridiculous for them to find out that late that construction would be occurring at that terminal. But that's all fine, what I am upset about is the fact I had to take a flight to Montreal at 8:50pm and have a lay over there until 7:40 am. I was expecting hotel to be covered but unfortunately it was not technically their fault. They also neglected to tell us that technically the Air Canada ticket counter was closed until 4a.m. So we had to "sleep" in the outer lobby where any one could have access to steal our stuff. Needless to say we did not sleep at all and waited till 4am to come into the airport. Overall horrible experience and I expect more from an airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Edmonton via Toronto
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"no complaints about the experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Air Canada from Brisbane to Vancouver. No complaints about the experience at all. Departures were on time, friendly and efficient ground and cabin staff and food was excellent. Had read some bad reviews about Air Canada on social media but compared to an earlier trip to Vancouver in 2015 on a rival airline, the flights were a 'dream'.
AircraftDreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Vancouver
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"no staff at the airport to help"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I've had the worst time flying with Air Canada from Toronto to Vancouver. First out flight was delayed, then the gate was changed and eventually it was canceled. Over 200 people had to stay in the airport overnight, service of the airline was extremely bad and intentionally slow. Our flight was scheduled 11 hours later, 6 of those hours I've spent in the lines to get a food voucher, collect my baggage, register on the new flight, go through customs twice. There was no staff at the airport to help, and impossible to get any answers. On the new flight, which was over 5 hours long, there were no free meals or even snack. So starving people had to pay to get some food. Airline provided 20$ food voucher per person, that's how much money I had to feed myself for over 10 hours. I had a 13 hours long connecting flight from Europe.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Vancouver
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Poor planning for provision of food"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew Air Canada from Denver to Montreal. Good selection of menu to buy but after a few rows almost nothing is available. Poor planning for provision of food. Why offer it if you don't have it in stock. I fully understand that you can have all menus for all passengers, but almost nothing left after few rows, it sucks.
AircraftEmbrayer 175
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Montreal
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"passed from desk to desk"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Air Canada is easily able to provide one of the worst experiences to travellers of any airline. Their inability to manage delays and cancellations astounds me since it's such a regular thing for them. Yesterday most of their domestic flights from Toronto were cancelled due to a known outage of one runway, and most of their international flights were delayed. Despite knowing this it was chaos. I was incorrectly passed from desk to desk when I arrived late to a cancelled flight. Each person sent me to someone else or lied to me. Eventually I ended up outside of security with no luggage, no transport to my destination no luggage and no one who could give me any help or information. Every agent I dealt with lied to me to get me to go away and there was no joined up process for dealing with numeesous stranded passengers. The only helpful person was the woman at the delayed baggage call centre who had empathy, knowledge and genuinely helped me try to resolve my situation. Never again Air Canada!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to London Canada via Toronto
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"entertainment system has a fundamental flaw"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew Air Canada from Vancouver to Montreal. Some minor delays, but nothing major. The aircraft is amazing if not for one thing: the entertainment system has a fundamental flaw. On screen controlls are nice, but also controls have been aded on the armrest. Consequently, any arm on top or near it sets off the screen, volume, light, calls the attendant and so on. The only solution was to not rest the arm period. Does not work. They also no longer give any snacks on board or food. Internet or connectivity are not offered.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteVancouver to Montreal
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Air Canada's horrible service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Honolulu to Deer Lake via Vancouver. My family's wonderful Hawaii trip had a very upsetting ending due to Air Canada's horrible service. We endured multiple flight delays and cancellations due to technical issues with their planes and had to pay for three hotel rooms out of pocket to accommodate our 8-month old baby and my elderly parents who would have been stranded overnight in two separate cities. It took us 2+ days to get back home (instead of the scheduled 23 hours). Our returning flight AC1830 was delayed due to technical issues. We found out about the delay when we arrived at the airport around 7:00 pm (no previous warning) and the departure was initially postponed from 10:00 pm to 3:45 am but got delayed again to 4:15 am early in the morning. AC told us that since they didn't cancel the flight they were not responsible to book us a hotel room despite the fact that we had an infant and two seniors travelling with us. I couldn't understand how AC expected families with small children and babies to deal with this - sleep on the airport floor? We decided to book a hotel room on our own since we have 20+ hours flight ahead of us and an infant baby travelling with us. A motel room with airport shuttle cost us $200+tax USD/room due to the last minute booking. AC did postpone the departure again from 3:45 to 4:15 am. Neither my husband nor I was able to sleep well as we were afraid to miss our flight. This was only the beginning of our horrible experience. We were supposed to have two connecting flights after arriving in Vancouver (VAN-TOR, TOR-DL). Due to this first delay, AC had to cancel our subsequent flights and rebook the rest of our trip. Instead of flying to Deer Lake on the same night we arrived in Toronto, we had to stay in Toronto overnight. However, AC couldn't give us the rest of our boarding passes, nor could it book a hotel in Toronto for us. The agent in Honolulu told us that we needed to get the hotel from AC's customer service in Toronto once we got there. AC's flight from Vancouver to Toronto got delayed again and the plane did not land in Toronto airport until 10:45 pm on May 2nd. By the time we got off the plane it was almost 11:30pm. There were 50+ people in line at the AC customer service kiosk, while only two to three agents were working. The line hardly moved and after midnight an agent came to the line telling us all the hotels around the airport were sold out and we had to look for hotels on our own. He said the desk would be closing in 30 minutes and the agents would leave despite there were still so many of us unserved. He told us to call AC to rebook our flights. He also told us to find hotel on our own; and AC will reimburse up to $100 CAD per room. Seriously, I want to ask AC where to find a hotel room cost $100 or less nowadays?? As we learned that we wouldn't be helped by anyone at the desk, my husband started to call AC about our booking and I started looking for hotel rooms for us since we were all exhausted and I did not want my super-exhausted baby to sleep on the floor in the airport. As it was after midnight already, I couldn't book a room on Expedia or other online booking website as they couldn't take May 2nd as the check-in date. Therefore I started calling every hotel around the airport. Finally a hotel had two rooms available and they cost us $169+taxes although the regular online booking price is no more than $128, thanks to AC for causing the last min booking.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Deer Lake via Vancouver
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no