Top 100 Airlines  

Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 656 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"they had overbooked"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Turks and Caicos to Montreal via Toronto. We were delayed take-off at Providenciales heading to Toronto due to a broken door. We missed our connection in Toronto because of this delay. They did not make the plane wait for 20 passengers and we missed it even though we were at that Gate at 2 minutes to departure. We were told to standby with 2 of our little kids. We were not given any priority and they had overbooked all 3 planes heading to Montreal that night. We finally ended at Hotel at 2am with 2 small kids overnight. They were prioritizing other standby customers who had decided to take an earlier flight. Air Canada dropped the ball. It's all a numbers game and rehearsed rubbish excuse given to each complaining customer. Too bad.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePLS to YUL via YYZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew are efficient and pleasant"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Victoria to Ottawa via Toronto return with Air Canada. Another great way to get to the Canadian Capitol. From check-in to arrival, all was great. I enjoy the fact that Air Canada crew are efficient and pleasant. However, some of the seats are showing their age. My headset jack required a few tries to get the proper sound.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYJ to YOW via YYZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin crew were professional"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew on the B787 for Narita - Vancouver and A321 for Vancouver - Ottawa. Air Canada B787s are quite basic in comparison to their older planes (B763, B744) that I've been on and I actually like the interior of the A321 more during our journey. The 788 seats were quite narrow and hard and overall, passable in terms of comfort. The plane's interior looked "tired". Food was served fast but was not properly heated as our water and salad were frozen and not consumable. IFE was decent but did not like the fact that the remote was very small and could not be extended, thank goodness it was also touch screen though. Only plus for AC for NRT-YVR was the ground staff and cabin crew who were all helpful and friendly. As for the YVR-YOW leg, enjoyed the flight as we found the Bus to be much more comfortable than the 788. IFE was more user-friendly and of better quality. Cabin crew were professional and friendly. Drinks were served continuously throughout the flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-800 and A321-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to YOW via YVR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"downgrading Premium Economy"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air Canada is showing some cheap attitude downgrading Premium Economy to just Economy Plus with such bad experience - in just over a year already their Premium economy has been homologated to what their Star Alliance partners Air China and SAS does. Last week flew Vancouver to Tokyo Narita and the service was the same of Economy except for the main course - after that is just the same drinks, the same snack, the same lunch. They keep the divider curtains open between Economy and Economy Plus section, only closed for the main course because it is different. Then flew Beijing to Toronto yesterday and it was even worse. Economy was full with 3-4-3 configuration and Premium Economy was almost empty - people from economy moving to PE (Economy Plus) seating there, the curtain open between economy and Premium economy. Now they have more Business Class seats with the bathroom in the back in economy for Economy and Economy Plus passengers. Never again Air Canada or Air China who have downgraded to a cheap product and charging the same of others whom are offering a much better product. I can't believe they invest so much money in some new cabins and they do not do that "extra" to buy a better seat and have a much better product.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RoutePEK to YYZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"an enjoyable flight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air Canada flight AC996 from Vancouver to Mexico City. Very good flight. Left on time and arrived early. The cabin crew were very professional, accommodating, friendly and smiling! An enjoyable flight. One of the better experiences with this airline and had no complaints at all.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to MEX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"seats are far too narrow"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Calgary. Everything that is said by reviewers about the 3x3x3 seat configuration in economy class on the Boeing 787 is true. The seats are far too narrow for comfortable travel. I am an Air Canada frequent flyer and had the front row of economy class on the aisle - travelling with family instead of business for a change. Apart from having to deal with the very cramped middle seat person I was regularly bumped by the FAs and their trolley throughout the flight due to the very narrow aisles. I would rather fly on an older Boeing 777 or A330 then have to suffer this again. To cap it all off the FA gave me a cracked cup which leaked all over my lap. She apparently would have gone to get me some tissues but her colleague was blocking the way - possibly my worst ever flight with Air Canada.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to YYC
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not family friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Cramped and not family friendly, are my resounding thoughts. I was travelling with my family, on route from Florida from Toronto to Heathrow, and Air Canada were offering reasonable prices at the time of looking. On booking the flight we requested a bassinet for our baby. We didn't get one despite repeated requests at the airport and on the plane. No attempt was made to accommodate this request. The seats on the plane with capacity for bassinets didn't have babies in them. There were other families with babies that were refused a bassinet. We are frequent fliers and I've never had this issue with an airline before. I was repeatedly hit with the trolleys as the cabin crew made their way up and down the aisles and also by other customers. The issue appears to have been caused by the introduction of an additional seat, so on the 787 the configuration of seating is 3-3-3 in economy. I spoke to the cabin crew about it, as I was unhappy at not being able to get any rest, and on a few occasions when I was holding our baby, his head was also knocked. The cabin crew also expressed their concerns as the reduced width makes their job that much more difficult and that this configuration will be the norm going forward.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"business class luxury is lacking"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Wanted to try the newish Air Canada direct route from Amsterdam to Toronto. The plane was extremely old (probably over 20 years), and it showed in the cabin interior and design. The Business Class cabin was the old herringbone layout 1-2-1. The seat was a bit torn and dirty, again showing how aged the aircraft is. The crew were pleasant enough, and I just happen to meet them prior to the flight as we went through security together. We joked a bit, and they were quite friendly. The onboard service provided by the crew were also good. However, the food was basic, particularly for a flight over 8hrs. There was a hot meal service, portions were small. I had stuffed chicked served with rice, which was preceded by a nice seafood salad, and followed by a cheese platter. The champagne was ly bitter and undrinkable. The orange juice was not fresh but came out of a Minute Maid carton, unbefitting for the highest class Air Canada provides. The pre-landing snack was a very disappointing cold platter of sliced chicken breasts. The water on offer (Naya) didn't exactly reflect luxury. The one thing that appeared luxurious was the amenity kit with Escents toiletries. I would not recommend this for the extremely high price charged for business class. The quality and luxury of business class is simply lacking. The only thing good about it is that it's a direct service.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAMS to YYZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"seat comfort okay"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air Canada from Toronto to Edmonton on A319 aircraft. Boarding was done by zones and doesn't appear to be any more efficient than previous open call crush method. Middle-aged aircraft in reasonable condition, relatively clean, no readily apparent problems. Seat comfort okay and was better than some other aircraft types in the Air Canada fleet. Tray table space adequate. Overhead storage space in high demand with some people having to gate check their carry-on baggage. Underseat storage space okay for smaller items but best to keep this area clear on longer flights (to stretch your legs/feet into). Purchase food available for sale (credit card only) with Aeroplan points offered on purchases meeting minimum threshold dollar amounts. Selected a cold cut sandwich, chips and vegetable combination (quality okay but not something to tweet about). Complimentary soft drinks, juices, water, tea and coffee available with some alcoholic beverages available for sale (credit card only). Complimentary video on demand selection was reasonable with a variety of new/recent movie releases, television shows and assorted other audio/video programs. Ear bud headphones were offered for sale (credit card only) at start of flight but I had brought my own headphones to use instead. Complimentary Wi-Fi codes handed out at gate prior to boarding to those people who wanted them (special promotion by Wi-Fi service provider).
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to YEG
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"more enjoyable experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Edmonton to Kelowna via Calgary. Connecting flight from YEG-YYC-YLW on Air Canada Jazz Air de Havilland DHC-8 aircraft (with change of planes at YYC). First flight was on a newer DHC-8-402 aircraft, in good condition. Seat was tolerable for a short flight but little room to stretch out. Minimal underseat storage and overhead storage is minimal. All carry-on luggage is gate checked due to onboard storage. Flight was relatively smooth with little turbulence. No in-flight entertainment available. Snacks and beverages (water or juice) offered on the short flight. Cabin was quieter than most other turboprop aircraft due to the cabin's active noise suppression system, making for a more enjoyable experience. Second flight was delayed several times and finally departed almost an hour and a half late (no Aeroplan points or other compensation offered for the delay). This was an older de Havilland DHC-8-300 series aircraft which was showing its age. Seat space limited/cramped with little padding, no underseat storage and minimal overhead storage space (coat or purse or camera bag or laptop only). No meal service - only snacks and limited beverages. No in-flight entertainment available. Flight was smooth at start but became bumpy flying over the mountains and in rainstorms. Gate-checked luggage was delivered on baggage carrousel along with regular checked luggage.
Aircraftde Havilland DHC-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to YLW via YYC
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes