Top 100 Airports  

Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 708 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"ruined the first day of plans"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Madrid via Toronto with Air Canada. I am trying to leave on my honeymoon and this is the worst experience I have ever had with an airline. First I show up to find out my first flight from LAX to Toronto has been delayed by 3 hours and I did not receive any notification even though I signed up for it. Then I wait in an hour long line to get my connection flight from Toronto to Madrid changed only to add an extra layover and I am now arriving 8 hours later in Madrid. I am instructed to call customer service since I am unhappy with the solution so I wait 30 minute to talk with a customer service rep only to be told that they cannot do anything for me since I have already been checked in. 1 extra layover, arriving 8 hours later at our destination than originally expected, they can't get me a seat on the plane next to my wife, and the customer service reps can't do anything for me. I will never fly Air Canada again, they have ruined the first day of plans we had for our honeymoon. At least we each got a $10 meal ticket as a consolation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to MAD via YYZ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Kudos to all AC personnel"

(Canada)

I would like to take this opportunity to make a favorable comment about the service provided by staff of Air Canada. On our last trip we were detained in Montreal whereby we needed to connect with a flight to Fort Lauderdale. It should be noted that one of the passengers required wheelchair service. A Montreal AC member contacted the pilot to confirm that he had passengers who needed to board in order to not miss our cruise. The pilot waited and we were boarded. Kudos to all AC personnel. We will be travelling with AC on our next cruise in January 2017.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYOW to FLL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"ground staff at AMS were useless"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We flew Air Canada from Amsterdam AMS to Toronto YYZ having used British Airways to fly into Amsterdam. Initially we were concerned about the 1 hour 50 minutes connection time but this was not a problem as the Air Canada flight was delayed by 2 hours and 50 minutes. Plenty of time for our baggage to make it from the incoming flight. Ground staff at AMS were useless, there were 5 of them behind the counter at the gate but only one appeared to be interested in serving passengers. Once on board, the aircraft itself was old and in serious need of TLC. The seat in front of me was split and the inner foam was bulging out. The in-flight entertainment was delivered on poor quality screens with an even poorer selection of out dated movies. The staff were pleasant enough and appeared to care about passenger needs. Upon arrival at Toronto, only 3 of our bags had made the trip with no explanation as to why one of them was still at AMS. We completed the form and were told that the bag would come on the next available flight on the following day. It didn't come, in fact it was finally reunited with us 9 days later and this was only after I had re-attended YYZ twice after being told that it was there when it wasn't. I have spent approximately 15 hours of our vacation on the phone to Air Canada's Indian call centre and yet the never made contact with me once. Avoid at all costs.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to YYZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"efficient and on time"

(Canada)

Verified Review | YKA - YVR - SFO, July 20th and SFO - YVR - YKA, July 26th. I travelled down to the Bay Area out of Kamloops (YKA) on July 20th and returned on July 26th. All of my flights were on time, efficient, and enjoyable. I enjoyed Air Canada's Preferred Seating/Premium Economy benefits on the A319 (the way down) and the A320 (on the way up). The first people to be served, the last people to get on the plane, extra legroom, more comfortable seats, and extra space between your neighbours made my flights to and from San Francisco really enjoyable. I will recommend the extra small fee to sit in preferred seating/premium economy benefits, on any Air Canada flights. The service between Kamloops and Vancouver is always efficient and on time. Air Canada is one of my main choices for all of my flights. Not to mention, you can get a lot of frequent flyer points for whoever you are signed up with (for me, Star Alliance).
AircraftDash 8, A319, and A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYKA to SFO
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"good experience, not great2

(Canada)

Toronto to Tokyo Narita with Air Canada. Maple Leaf Lounge was basic. It was nothing spectacular but the food was decent. Boarding was quick. The business class seats on Air Canada aren't amazing. I disliked the angled seats and the headphones that were hardwired into the system (they always seemed to be getting in the way). I also found that there was no place to put personal belongings. The lie flat bed was hard and my leg kept cramping. The food was pretty great though. Flight attendants were nice and were always around. The inflight entertainment was adequate. It was a good experience, not a great one.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYYZ to NRT
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"not a single one has been on time"

(United States)

Flew Air Canada from Vancouver to Los Angeles Okay in-flight service. But over eight flights, not a single one has been on time. When delayed, they seem to have no clue by how much, in one case showing a 1-hour delay until the plane hadn't arrived at the gate 90 minites late, then showing the plane pulling back before the plane was at the gate. Fingers crossed we make it home.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to LAX
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"appalling quality food"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Air Canada from Toronto to London Heathrow. Appalling quality food, and profit over passenger wellbeing. Took off an hour late as inbound flight late landing, nothing they could do about that, but surely they could have given out water? Food on both outbound was of such a low quality, cheap ingredients and generally poor quality meal when compared to many other large carriers. Children meals no better, deep fried 'smiley faces' and solid tomato pasta. This was a night flight, yet the full brightness cabin lights were still on at 11pm local Toronto time simply so they could finish duty free sales. This just smells of greed for profit over passenger wellbeing. Nobody could sleep and young children and babies were distressed due to this. My wife spoke to crew about this earlier, just to be told 'after duty free they will go off'. Only upon me insisting on speaking to the purser and explaining why this was such a problem did the cabin lights then get reduced to a normal night flight level The inflight entertainment had very few new releases, mainly bulked out by old films and TV shows.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"supposed to leave Thursday, took-off Saturday"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cleveland to Sao Paulo via Toronto with Air Canada. We faced countless problems from the moment we started our journey to Brazil. We were scheduled to take off from Cleveland to Toronto on June 23 at 5:50pm. To then take Toronto to Sao Paulo on flight AC 0090 at 10:40pm. When I scheduled the flights, we gave ourselves plenty of time in between to go through customs and ensure that we made our flight to Brazil, as I had work meetings and an interstate flight to Rio de Janeiro on Saturday morning. The first problem we faced was our flight from Cleveland to Toronto was late arriving. There were problems with the flight or weather issues - no one really knew what was going on. We did not take off until 10pm - which didn't put us in Toronto until 11:15pm. This made us and at least 50 other people miss their international connections. Air Canada was able to put us in a hotel for that night and we were to come back the following evening for a 8pm flight to Sao Paulo, putting us in Sao Paulo now on Saturday morning at 9am. I was able to move my meeting in Rio and also called the airline to reschedule my interstate flight from Sao Paulo to Rio. We got to the airport Friday evening for our flight that is meant to take off at 8pm. We are supposed to be boarding at 7pm and there is still no plane. We were then told that the plane won't take off until 11pm and after more time told it won't take off until 9am the next morning. This now creates problems for my business meeting in Rio. After working with Air Canada customer service (who were not polite) they were able to change our flights to Rio instead of Sao Paulo so we could make our work meeting. By this time it was already 3am and if we had gone to the hotel we would have to turn around and leave 2 hours later to come back - so my husband and I slept at the airport. This was exetremely uncomfortable and we had an awful night of sleep. We finally got on the plane on Saturday morning at 9am (supposed to take off at 9:15 so we were late again) and we sat on the plane for 40 minutes with no movement. They finally announced over the speaker that there is a passenger on the plane who shouldn't be - and security was there to remove him. After an hour and a half of being stuck on the tarmac we were finally left for Brazil. We were supposed to leave on Thursday evening and weren't taking off until Saturday morning.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCLE to GRU via YYZ
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a really cramped environment"

(Hong Kong)

I used Air Canada to get from Hong Kong to Toronto-Pearson. Check in in HKG was OK, the check in workers were just ones from the Jardine company. However, there is nothing positive to say in this review other than the variety of movies in the inflight entertainment system (which crashed) and the baggage allowance. Service was not good. When you pressed the "call attendant button" you were ignored, or you were shouted at. My inflight entertainment system crashed. I pressed the button and nobody came for an hour. I cancelled and pressed again. The flight attendant shouted at me "Did you press the button?". I was gobsmacked. Generally, during meal service, their attitude was very demeaning and it seemed as if they did not want to serve us. Inflight meals on this flight were your typical airplane food. Nothing special. The seat in the plane was narrow. I used economy class and there were ten seats per row (3-4-3). This resulted in a really cramped environment. Reclining the seat was also useless. The tray tables were small and could only fit the tray and nothing else. Also, there was not much space for storage in the seat back pocket. Legroom was quite cramped, even though I am only 178 cm tall. Baggage handling at Toronto-Pearson was quite slow, despite the fact the gate (Terminal 1) was a short walk to immigration and baggage claim. I waited two hours for my bags to arrive, and I even saw the flight crew waiting even after I went to customs. Now, the only saving grace was the baggage allowance. You could take lots of hand baggage and nobody seemed to care. They were quite liberal and didn't charge me even though I exceeded the baggage allowance (check in) by 0.1 kilos.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to YYZ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I had an excellent flight"

(Canada)

Toronto to Vancouver. I had an excellent flight. The seat was very comfortable and IFE was excellent. The meal service and choice of wine was excellent. The staff was happy and checking if I needed anything. I look forward to flying again with Air Canada next month. One thing I was happy to see is I was able to give my meal choice early rather than watch the FA dart about the cabin ignoring many of the passengers while chatting with and taking the orders of certain passengers. I recommend you drop this practice as it is such a downer in the early part of the flight.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYYZ to YVR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes