Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1111 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"flight was very relaxing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Frankfurt via Montreal. This is my first time traveling internationally through Montreal. The flight from Boston to Montreal was a short affair on a CRJ100/200 type aircraft. The in cabin service and the flight itself (landing especially) were very commendable. Extremely friendly and efficient. The leg from Montreal to Frankfurt as in a newer 787-800. The flight was very relaxing and the service was efficient and friendly - but not exceptional. Food was good and the seat was very comfortable. The amenity kit however is getting smaller and less useful. Some bar items from the menu were not available and that was not expected.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBoston to Frankfurt via Montreal
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"The flight was okay"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich to Toronto in Economy Class. The flight was okay. The crew was not especially friendly, they did their service and their work. The seat was okay, but very thin and I think it had less legspace than other u.s. airlines. The first meal after take-off was okay in taste but in my opinion it was not enough. The second meal before landing was worse: it a tiny chicken wrap. Onboard entertainment was okay, no wifi. Air Canada serves free alcohol in economy class.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"product did not impress me"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Munich. I found them okay, but not better than United or Delta. The Lounge in Toronto was disappointing - the Maple leaf Clubs in London an Frankfurt are better in my opinion. Toronto airport is more comfortable than Newark, JFK or Atlanta: it is way smaller. The onboard product did not impress me: food okay, nothing special. Inflight entertainment below expectations. Flight attendants not especially friendly and not attentive. I did love the window in the washroom, though. We arrived in Munich ahead of schedule but had to stay on the plane for 2h30m because part of Munich airport was closed, the flight attendants did not serve water or drinks unless you went to the galley at this time. Eventually the terminal reopened and everybody had to go through immigration which was not well organized by Munich airport. Would I fly them again? Yes, to give them a second chance and if they have a better schedule / are way less expensive than my preferred other carriers.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Munich
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin crew were great"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Denver return in coach on an E190. Check in, boarding etc all uneventful. I know the E190s are due to be phased out next year, but the interior was tatty, and the USB ports on neither seat worked. (Both pushed inside the seat in front) That said the 2x2 seating and legroom is pretty good! Ok service with two rounds of T&Cs and juice offered by a hard working cabin crew member. On time arrival in Denver. The return however was disappointing. I was at the gate when the flight arrived with both fligh tdeck crew leaving the aircraft. They returned 20 mins later with food. After boarding, we pushed back late due to a fueling issue (suspect they weren't there to order it) We sat on the apron for 15 mins with no announcements. Finally, a PA from the flight deck that the plane had gone tech and would be towed back to the gate. Another 90 mins passed, with two announcements from the flight deck only, Cabin crew were great and present in the cabin passing out snacks and water. We left two hours late arriving in the early hours at Pearson. No arrival announcement or personal goodbye from the flight deck crew (unusual for AC) explained on the jet bridge - they were ahead of most of us customers. Really disappointing and poor customer experience from the pilots both during the delay in Denver though the cabin crew were great and professional
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Denver
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"flight which was cancelled"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Denver to Toronto. Last week we had a flight which was cancelled due to the weather which was not visible as cancelled on the monitors. The weather is not in the hands of Air Canada, so that was not their fault, however everything after was. After receiving a mail about the cancelled flight and asking the employees of Air Canada at the airport about it, the only thing they would do was let us call a phone number since the refused to help us at the desk. They told us they couldn’t and also wouldn’t contact anyone for us to see if we could get on another flight. After a wait of 1,5 hours on the phone we were told they would put us on a flight the next day at exactly 24 hours later. There were a couple more flights going the next morning but the only thing they told us they could do is put us on a flight 24 hours later than the original flight. We had to pay for a hotel with our own money, which is understandable, since the weather was the fault. But not much help was given and the communication was just bad. A day later the next flight was delayed by 2 hours, but since were already onboard this was communicated by the pilot.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"A good experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Rome to Toronto. Efficient but somewhat slow check in. Air Canada use the Casa Alitalia Lounge which is bright cheerful and basic, short staffed and even the Coffee machine was out of beans. Efficient Boarding process, good inflight service. Excellent Meal. Comfortable lie flat seats. A good experience.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteRome to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very positive and helpful"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Vancouver to Heathrow. I along with my family travelled on Aug 06 2018 in flight AC854 to London. Our agent given our meal preference as Hindu Meal non veg. But we were saved the vegetarian which appears to be a mistake. Staff was superb in her customer service and attitude was very positive and helpful. She politely listened to my concern and assured me that she will try to get the meal of your choice. To my surprise she served us the non veg after she finished serving. That was excellent. I would like put on record the she was excellent in her approach and addressed our concern in a very professional manner.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Heathrow
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"consistently below par"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Seattle via Vancouver. Worst flying experience ever! The staff were uncooperative and near clueless regarding the updated flight status. Flight each way got postponed over 10 times by about 15-20 minutes each time, eventually getting completely cancelled for one leg. The cancellation was communicated via flight's email update, and no service staff at a the airport had the decency to show up and announce to the passengers. The flying experience has been consistently below par.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Seattle via Vancouver
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"return flights were canceled"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dublin to Atlanta via Toronto. Our initial flight was delayed and they could not get us to Dublin for a full day. They ended up putting us on a Delta flight which was delightful. But, consequently they did not enter it properly in the computer and we were listed as a “no show” and our return flights were canceled. We did not receive a notification about this and did not know about anything till we arrived two weeks later for our return flight. We were blamed for the error saying we canceled the flights. When someone finally figured out the error they noted in the file that it was “canceled by agent” agent is what they call their computer system. But the inexperienced and unfriendly desk clerks read this as our travel agent canceling our flight. It took us 50 hours to get home running from gate to gate on standbys . We received 10 $10 meal vouchers for 6 people. But we each had to stand inline for 45 minutes to get them one at a time and each time we had to prove that we deserved them by showing all of our documentation on our canceled flights. Employees attitudes were inflammatory and the crews on the 5 flights we ended up taking seemed overworked and tired.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Atlanta via Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Courteous but brisk inflight service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Frankfurt. Efficient Check in Process in segregated area for Business Class, no line up and no waiting. Excellent Air Canada Altitude Lounge with a warm welcome and good meal served promptly. Poor boarding process with only one air bridge in operation, all 300 passengers walked through the Business Class Cabin which very much destroyed the ambience. The Captain came into the Business Class section and introduced himself and told us he had been flying for Air Canada for over 25 years and said it was his pleasure to welcome us on Board. Courteous but brisk in flight service lacking in charm. Food was good but poorly presented. Lie Flat seats are excellent. A good Breakfast was served prior to arrival.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes