Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 948 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"pathetic ground handling"

(India)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Washington Dulles operated by Air Georgian. Absolutely pathetic ground handling and gate agents who had no clue about the status of the flights. Gates were changed and we flew to Dulles 4.5 hours delayed with no prior information either at the gate or screen board. All flights around us were being cancelled. Appalling lack of customer service at Air Canada's hub - Toronto Pearson. We landed at Dulles at 1.30am as the last flight into IAD. Will never fly again but wonder what better choices exist on the North American continent.
AircraftCRJ9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteToronto to Washington Dulles
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"however luggage has not arrived"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Medellin via Panama City with last sector by Copa Airlines. Flight originally planned from Toronto to Bogota and Medellin, changed by the airline to itinerary that doesn’t get me to the destination. After long discussions diverted to a flight via Panama City. Business trip however luggage has not arrived (4 days after trip still no known whereabouts). Customer service difficult to reach and frankly useless. Like listening to recorded message. Apparently luggage is still in Toronto, no acceptance of responsibility or offer to solve the issue
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Medellin via Panama City
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"forced to pay for selecting a seat"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Booked Honolulu to Ottawa via Vancouver for December. My complaint is the manner in which Air Canada has increased the price of their fares by offering reduced seat fares through travel web sites (e.g. Expedia) only to underhandedly force the purchaser to pay for selecting a seat either before or during check-in and paying for every piece of luggage. This practice is deceiving and dishonest. I have come to appreciate airlines who are forthright in their pricing practices through travel web sites and have flown many that are completely above board. It is unfortunate that we are serviced by so few airlines in Canada that this type of price gouging is allowed to continue. I will take every opportunity to fly another airline including non-domestic airlines other than fly Air Canada or its discount equivalent Rouge.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Ottawa via Vancouver
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we booked it with a third party"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The plane was super cramped and no food was offered unless you pay for it, including pretzels. Our return flight was a nightmare. We had to change our return date a day early (same flight route). The AC desk at the Portland airport has selective hours and no one there until 2 hours before the first flight out. So we had to wait 1.5 hours for staff to change the flight. The girl arrived and we were first in line (with a huge line up behind us). Staff said we booked it with a third party so we have to go through them to change anything. We asked if there was still room on the flights we were looking to retuning and she said yes. We asked if she could do anything for us, and if there is anything we can do to get on this flight. She said she can't help us and when we exhibited frustration from waiting over an hour and a half in line for a desk agent she said others are waiting too and you are holding them up! After an hour on the phone trying to change our flights, AC wanted $200 per ticket change fee and the price difference between flights which was over $1,400. No one was willing to do anything for us. This was the worst travel experience we've had with an airline. We will never fly this airline again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Portland via Vancouver
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"50% of all flights are delayed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I have been flying Air Canada Jazz from Portland to Vancouver BC and back for the last 6 years (almost every weekend - except when I fly Alaska instead). I have been trying to fly Alaska more often. My flight is delayed again. Out of all my flights with Air Canada, almost 50% of all flights are delayed. I am wondering why that is. When Alaska has only delayed 10% at most during my 6 years going the same route. I really want Air Canada management to take a hard look at why they cannot be on time more often on the same route that Alaska does. Weather is a problem for all airlines, but it cannot account for a 50% delay record. It is unacceptable for an airline to take passenger's money and not try their best to fulfill their end of the bargain.
AircraftDash-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Portland
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very good experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver - London Heathrow return. Nov 1-13, 2017. Overall, very good experience. Online check-in easy and quick with very easy printing of boarding passes and luggage tags at the airport kiosks. Ground staff professional. The zone boarding process can be confusing as, even though specific zones are called, passengers from other zones tend to get into line prior to being called. Ground staff don't seem to manage this boarding process well and this is not the first trip where I've encountered this issue. Planes were clean and well kept. Onboard staff were professional and efficient. Meals were tasty, which was a vast improvement over my last international trip with AC. Vancouver - London Heathrow included 1 hot meal and a very small breakfast - a slice of gingerbread and a small yogurt. This is not sufficient for a flight almost 10 hours long. London Heathrow - Vancouver included a hot meal, mid flight snack and then a hot fajita about 1.5 hours prior to landing. Frequent drink runs both flights. Overall, onboard service was efficient and well done, but not outstanding. Seats are reasonable but not overly comfortable. Onboard entertainment system worked very well both flights and there was a good variety of TV, movies and music. The only negative comment would be that AC charges for advance seat selection on Tango fares, fares are high enough without adding this extra fee. Will continue to fly Air Canada and recommend this airline.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to London
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"space is extremely cramped"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Philadelphia to Toronto. I would like to begin by pointing out that at the Philadelphia International airport checking for this flight was done by United airlines personnel. Up to this point I have refrained from commenting about United based on the negative press however after experiencing the checking I have to agree with everything that is being reported. The United personnel at Philadelphia Airport were extremely rude. I am a crew member for a cruise line and normally I ask to have my bags tagged "priority", that way they arrive at the final destination, other airlines usually have no problem doing this however the United person at the counter said to me "No". At one point during the conversation I had to ask if she was having a good day and then that sort of made her realize how nasty she was being. As far as the flight I do have to say that we were up in the air for about an hour and there’s really not much to comment other than the fact that I paid for the preferred seating and there is not much difference between that and regular seat. The space is extremely cramped as you will see in the photo I have attached. The flight attendants however were very nice, the plane was clean and the flight went on without any incident. I would definitely recommend this airline but please be aware that the check-in could be done by United and that could ruin your first impression.
AircraftEmbraer 175
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"They still have room for improvement"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Toronto to Copenhagen. On this international flight and first time with Air Canada I have to mention that I am very impressed with the friendliness of the aircrew in general. The aircraft was beautiful and clean however I paid for extra legroom and I found myself next to an emergency door which I had no problem staying on however the seats did not have a movable armrest. I had a row of two for myself but I was not able to move the armrest because it was stationary. The seat also felt kind of narrow. I was served a hot meal, two snacks, plenty of drinks (alcohol beverages included) and a light breakfast. There was no Wi-Fi on this flight and the entertainment selection was mediocre with only a handful of movies and TV shows. I am a big fan of the Boeing 777 because it is spacious, relatively quiet and depending on the airline the amenities can be quite good. Overall I would definitely fly Air Canada again because they were friendly, I felt safe, and they got me to my destination on time. They still have room for improvement when it comes to the entertainment offerings, the comfort of the seat, and please do not have United personnel do your checking at the airport it ruins the first impression.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Copenhagen
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"An uneventful flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | AC 7711, YYZ-IAH, seat 2A. An uneventful flight which in itself makes it a great flight. I precleared US Customs in Toronto which meant that I could just walk straight out of the aircraft and hop into my car without further delay. The service was quite good and the food was also very enjoyable given that it was an actual hot meal. The IFE system had monitors in the seatbacks which made it easy and functional. Overall a very pleasant experience.
AircraftERJ175
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Houston
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"poorly trained check-in supervisors"

(United States)

Verified Review | Brisbane to San Francisco via Vancouver. What an atrocious check-in experience traveling to the US. Stay away unless you're on a visa waiver, visa, permanent resident or US citizen. The check-in supervisors have zero idea how to deal with anything else and are a combination of poorly trained, arrogant, aggressive and power tripping. Two supervisors were involved and they were both the same. They don't know that other forms of US travel authority exist (a US Advance Parole combo card in this case). They had no idea how to type the Advance Parole combo card into their computer, so just wildly guessed, with one attempt before giving up. The computer then said I wasn't cleared to fly, because they'd typed in garbage data, which they insisted was what was going to happen "because we don't have the authority to override the system". Instead of just saying "I'm not sure how to process this card, let me call someone who can help me" their *first* opening approach is to say "we have to offload you because you don't have a visa or permanent resident card and that's what our systems require". No attempt to solve the problem and understand. Utter aggressive refusal to let me explain what an Advance Parole card is and that I am indeed allowed to fly to the US, you just have to call someone who knows what this card is. Literally I was trying to show them my phone and get them to read a paragraph from a US government website explaining what an Advance Parole combo card was and that it grants travel authority. They refused to read it - "I don't care what that says because we have to do what the computer says and it says to offload you". No matter that the computer only said that because they didn't know how to type this card in! Finally they call US immigration, after about 20 minutes of telling me they are going to offload me and aggression. They keep calling the combo card an "Employment Authorization Document". It has that in big print along the top, and the Advance Parole part in little print along the bottom. I keep trying to explain that it's a 2-in-1 combo card and to read the sentence on the bottom when talking to US immigration. "We know what to say". US Immigration answers, they refuse to read the bottom of the card, calling it an Employment Authorization Document and looking at me smugly. After many minutes on the phone the person on the other end finally asks them what is on the bottom of the card and they read it out with a grimace. About 30 minutes in after countless threats of offloading and one threat of calling airport police "because we don't like you" I am cleared to fly. They don't say a word to me, refuse to look at me. Just pass my passport to a check-in counter worker and say "he's cleared to fly". The in-flight experience was great, a near new Boeing 787. It was all destroyed by those power tripping poorly trained check-in supervisors who shouldn't be anywhere near a customer facing role.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to San Francisco via Vancouver
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no