Top 100 Airlines  

Aeromexico

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 292 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"will try to avoid this airline"

(United States)

Dallas Fort Worth to Mexico City. Aeromexico tickets are cheap, and the flight itself was decent. The staff I dealt with in person was polite enough. The problem I have is with their customer service over the phone. My wife's green card was stolen 2 days before our flight was supposed to take off. The charge to move the flight back one day so we could get a temp I-551 in her passport was almost as much as the tickets themselves. Then the customer service rep tried to tell me on the phone that she didn't need her green card to board the flight when I tried to explain why we needed to try to move it. While he was right, we didn't need it for her to leave the US, we needed it for her to get back into the US, had I listened to him my wife would have been stranded in Mexico. That is the type of thing a customer service rep who deals with a lot of international travel should know. Then after about 20 minutes of talking to them I am told the fee can be waived but it cannot be done over the phone. I have to e-mail somebody and it takes 24-72 hours to hear back. My flight left in 48 hours. I understand that all airlines charge to change things, but their lack support (not having somebody with authority to help with costs I could speak with), their lack of knowledge (almost getting my wife stranded in Mexico) means I most likely will try to avoid this airline on return trips.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDFW to MEX
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly them again"

(United States)

Chicago to Mexico City via Cancun. Terrible airline. The only nice thing is the tv monitors with free movies but they always interuppted with ads. Our flight out of Cancun took forever to get going and got really hot. No aircon. Staff said pilot wouldn't turn on so had more power for take off? Flight from Mexico City to Chicago was delayed over one hour. Sat at gate, no drinks given. Good thing sun was down otherwise we would have baked. Had a meal on the flight - a ham sandwich, but no mayo. Asked for a coke, staff didn't speak english and no ice in drink. They didn't pick up trash for over an hour. They never asked if anyone else wanted another drink. I will never fly them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to MEX via CUN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good seat pitch"

(Switzerland)

Efficient boarding in Paris CDG, good seat pitch, good food (ordererd asian vegetarian). During the flight, self service with fruits, sandwiches, cookies and soft drink. IFE old and not very updated. Seats old fashioned, but standard overall great experience.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to MEX
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"offers very competitive fares"

(United Kingdom)

Travelled last week from Puerto Vallarta to London via Mexico City. I reckon that Aeromexico offers one of the best levels of service in economy class on the North Atlantic on the Boeing 787, and legroom in economy in is quite generous. But what marks out this airline in my experiences, is the quality of the cabin crew. They are really smartly presented and friendly and attentive. The transfer process at the Aeromexico Terminal 2 at Mexico City has been streamlined and is hassle free. The airline also offers very competitive fares for an excellent product.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVR to LHR via MEX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"great airline for long hauls"

(Panama)

Aeromexico from Panama City to Tokyo via Mexico City. A Boeing 787 for the long portion of the trip Mexico City to Tokyo, and I was very impressed with the airplane. I was only in economy class however I received a blanket, pillow, night blinders, toothbrush kit and a bottle of water - all waiting on my seat. Seats very comfortable and roomy. Climate controlled and less noise than older planes. Excellent food and all night snacks available at back of plane. Service great and attendants very friendly. I will state that I love to travel and I have been all over the world. I have flown economy and first class. This trip to Tokyo was a very pleasant experience. No complaints about Mexico City Airport and I had no problems at airport with a 6 hour layover. Those that complain should do their homework before booking. Always see what aircraft you are going to be flying on and check it out. No surprises that way. They will tell you the amenities such as entertainment, food service, size of seat, etc. A great airline for long hauls and I highly recommend them.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePTY to NRT via MEX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"happy with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Villahermosa to Oaxaca via Mexico City. I have flown 7 domestic Aeromexico flights since November and have 4 more planned. I've been happy with the service every time. Peanuts in flight - take a sandwich if it's over a meal time! The staff are helpful but do speak Spanish - we are in a Spanish speaking country! Mexico City terminal 2 is easy and has lots of good / shopping options should you wish them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVSA to OAX via MEX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"staff are useless"

(Canada)

Never again will I fly with this horrible airline. Every Aeromexico staff member that I tried to ask for help at Mexico City airport was useless. After being directed by 5 different staffers to the wrong areas for my flight, I was told by the ticket rep that I missed my flight. She then told me that they were holding the plane and that I was to run to the gate with all my baggage. Yep, she sent me through security with my checked bag. Of course my bag wouldn't clear security as it had many over sized liquids and the security staff started hooting and hollering like they hit the jackpot because I was trying to smuggle it in. I tried to explain that the plane was waiting for me and that I was told to bring all my bags by the ticket lady, but of course no one spoke English. I was so upset and obviously missed my plane. Aeromexico staff are useless. The trip cost me an extra $1400 to get back home with a different airline and the stress was unbearable. I received an email after my flight down there asking to fill out a survey on there service but received nothing when they made me miss both flights that I had still to take. Took my money, but couldn't be bothered to find out why I wasn't on those flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGUA to MEX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"newer planes that were clean"

(United States)

Flew Aeromexico for the first time from San Francisco to Cancun with short layovers in Mexico City both ways. The first leg was on an older jet that had zero entertainment. Fortunately, this was a red eye and we slept, otherwise it would have made for a long and uncomfortable four hour trip. The rest of the legs were on newer planes that were clean, comfortable and offered personal in-seat screens with a decent selection of movies and TV shows. Not as good as other airlines, but it was decent. Meals were nothing more than a ham and cheese croissant and peanuts. Very sorry excuse for food. Alcohol is complimentary but the selection is mediocre. Avoid the white wine - it's disgusting.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to CUN via MEX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never flown Aeromexico"

(United States)

I have never flown Aeromexico and I am now convinced that this is actually a blessing in disguise. I am planning a destination wedding in Mexico and was ready to book most of my flights with Aeromexico. Over the past couple of months I have tried to book Aeromexico flights numerous times but was never successful. You may be able to get to the last web page of the booking process but are then told that you have to "contact customer service". Calling customer service will require a few hours of your day. You may then find out that the advertised flight on the Aeromexico website is not feasible as the layovers do not provide enough time. The representative will then tell you that you cannot book the flight that you saw on their website. You may have been successful booking a flight via a third party (travelocity, expedia, etc.) only to find that your charge has been refunded a few days later. No warning, no email, no communication from AM at all! The "chat" function on the Aeromexico website is constantly experiencing "technical difficulties". If you actually manage to make it through to a waiting room, good luck! I have spent 2 hours in there without ever having talked to anyone. As a very frequent and global traveler I must say that I can only wonder how this business generates any profit. I can only imagine what the experience must be like once you actually get on one of their flights.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEWR to SJD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no good at all"

(United States)

Absolutely worthless - no good at all - save your time and money Thanks Aeromexico! For letting me drive 4 hours to make a 9:15 flight to LAX, so I could check in on time - only to be denied and told I couldn't fly for two days. No warning and no offers of compensation. Only after three different phone calls was I able to make a flight tomorrow. One day down from the extended family vacation - and no offers of compensation. One guy even had me on hold for an hour hoping I would go away.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to ZIH
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no