Top 100 Airports  

Aeromexico

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 304 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"food and service are great"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Cancun via Mexico City with Aeromexico. LHR and MEX on a B787-8. The cabin pressure better than usual and there was less noise than on other aircraft. More legroom than on other planes was also noticeable. Flight was bumpy over the Mid-Atlantic but pilots navigated around turbulence well. Food served twice and of good quality. IFE modern and easy to use. Flight attendants helpful and friendly. Flight landed 10 minutes early. Flight between MEX and CUN the aircraft was a B737-700 in reasonably good shape. The cabin had been well maintained but no personal IFE. Once again, service was good and flight attendants helpful. A small packet of biscuits was handed out shortly before landing. Flight was delayed 50 minutes due to the pilot not turning up but plane landed in reasonably good timing. CUN-MEX and once again the plane was a 737-700. Flight took off and landed on time in the middle of the night and a bag of peanuts was handed out at about 2am. Flight was bumpy due to thunderstorms underneath but pilots manoeuvred the plane well. MEX-LHR flight was delayed by 1 hour due to a technical problem which they fixed quickly, professionally and efficiently. Two meals served and once again flight attendants were friendly. Turbulence occurred twice: once over the North-East of the U.S.A. and once over the Mid Atlantic. Flight landed 1 hour late due to delay. Overall, Aeromexico was a good airline which uses modern planes on Transatlantic routes and well maintained slightly older planes on shorter routes. The in-flight entertainment system is good and the food and service are great. A good airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-8 / 737-7
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to CUN via MEX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid this airline at all costs"

(United States)

When attempting to check in yesterday for an Aeromexico return flight from Mexico City to Los Angeles, I was the told the flight was oversold and there were no seats for me and my wife, despite having booked a round trip ticket on Aeromexico’s website months in advance, having a confirmation number and seats assigned. I was told overbooking by 10% was “legal” due to it being the "high travel season." After speaking with an extremely unhelpful and rude supervisor, and explaining our situation, she said she would investigate further and disappeared, only to return 45 minutes later to again repeat there were no seats for us. She promised to place us first on a waitlist for the flight we had booked. When we appeared at the departure gate we noticed our names were numbers 18 and 22 on the electronic display of waitlisted passengers. Aeromexico and its staff do not understand customer service. Avoid this airline at all costs, particularly if your arrival time is of the essence, either for a connecting flight or an important appointment.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMEX to LAX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"added to my 'never again' list"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | I flew from London to Mexico City and back with AeroMexico and had an extremely disappointing experience. I used British Airways on this route before and should not have made the mistake of changing the airline. Flight London – Mexico City was delayed 17 hours. We already had boarded the plane when we were told that a technical inspection was ongoing and we would be delayed by 1 hour, then2 hours, then 2.5 hours. After 2.5 hours we were finally told that the flight wouldn’t depart. Admittedly handling of the delay was quite good – it took me only about 1h from disembarking to getting into a hotel room and the following day flight departed and arrived without problems. What was not so good was handling of my request for delayed flight compensation (no answer received to date). On the return leg I made the mistake of going into the AeroMexio lounge in Terminal 2. The worst airline lounge I have ever seen and my travel experience is quite extensive. When I entered the shower I thought maybe it would be better to travel not feeling fresh than risking a disease. The lounge was small, crowded and smelly. This not to mention the incompetence level at the check in – I appreciate that not all counters have to be opened, but the number of open counters should be sufficient not to make business class passangers wait for 25 minutes to check in the luggage. Flight departed with only 1h delay – 16h less than on the way there - progress. Half way through the flight the entertainment system and light in my seat stopped working. Flight was fully booked so there was no way to change the seat. I added AeroMexico to my “never again” list and would encourage everybody to do the same.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to MEX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service is good and attentive"

(Mexico)

Aeromexico service is good and attentive. On the flight MTY -JFK in the Economy cabin offer snack (Sandwich, Yoghurt and drinks). The plane normally flown from GDL is old and small plane, also the MTY flying to JFK, which is annoying and which is a flight of more than 4 hours and no IFE. The seats can be a little uncomfortable for many flight hours. Overall it was a good flight and service was good.
AircraftE90
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGDL to NYC via MTY
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a positive experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Ixtapa via Mexico City with Aeromexico and I had a positive experience. The departure in Vancouver was on time and the service, once in-flight, was impeccable. The planes both ways were top-of-the-line, including the smaller aircraft connecting to Ixtapa. The food was very good on the Vancouver-Mexico City legs, the entertainment was plentiful, flight attendants were checking on passenger needs all the time and the planes were immaculate. There was a gate change in Mexico City airport for the flight going to Ixtapa, with a 30 minutes delay. Mexico City airport would benefit from implementing "automated" English language gate change announcements - if one doesn't speak Spanish, it might be hard to understand accented announcements in English.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to ZIH via MEX
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst flight ever experienced"

(United States)

Verified Review | Nashville to Cancun on Aeromexico. Worst flight I have ever experienced! Started off with a 9 hour delay. Then we are traveling with 3 small children and they could not get our seats together. I have flown with my child on several international flights and I've never been told there was nothing they could do to move our seats where at least one parent could sit with the child! Another 1 hour delay on runway on the way back!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNA to CUN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Would fly them again"

(Canada)

Mexico to London with Aeromexico. It is nice to see the inflight services improving, what is still a disgraceful embarrassment is the service provided in MEX. You first need to print your boarding pass; they claim that you can do it on your smartphone, but the app does not work at all! After you got your pass, you are now randomized into one of the three queues to drop your luggage and get your documents revised. The whole process is a mess, with people not understanding where to go. The red jacket personnel act more like grade school teachers than airport personnel asking clients to get in line. The queuing takes about 20 minutes. Boarding was done by zones, but since we had other flights boarding around, we were quite confused. On board, the airplane is spotless. Cabin crew works hard and is friendly, but a bit aloof. They were neatly dressed and groomed. Seats were the usual economy seats. Some people say they are narrower, but I did not feel particularly cramped. Meal portions were very small but tasty. Inflight entertainment was very good. Inbound flight was a red-eye too, which is very convenient. Would fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEX to LHR
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst experience "

(United States)

Verified Review | The worst experience with an airline we have ever had! Booked a flight for a vacation to Cancun from SFO departing on 4/29, 11pm. The flight had a layover in Mexico City, then arrive in Cancun 10am 4/30. Needless to say, that didn't happen. Our flight was delayed 45 min, boarded the plane and sat in the plane for another 45min, only to be informed to disembark due to an issue with the plane's cargo door. The time was 12:30-1:00am. We're told that they would inform us every 20min what was happening. We had to inquire ourselves. After another 2hrs, (3:15am), we're informed that our flight was cancelled and we needed retrieve our luggage and await for instructions. All 128 or so passengers waited for the luggage another 45min! (Understanding that at this point, there is only a skeleton crew working at the airport!) Once everyone retrieved luggage, we're told to go to the Aeromexico ticket counter so everyone could be assigned new tickets. We all stood in line for more than an hr without a single movement of the line because there are only 3 windows with three staff members working to help every single passenger! After 1 hour, we hear a person shout out, "Anyone going to Cancun, please head to the Delta ticket counter and they would assist us there". So everyone going on to Cancun are running to the Delta ticket counter with all of our luggage. We had been at the airport for more than 11hrs now. Once at the Delta ticket counter, got in line (now there are people in line checking in for Delta flights) so the line is long. My husband asks one of the Delta agents and they told us we're in the wrong line and needed to move to the "special services" line. So again, moved to this line and waited another 45min before getting to the counter. There was a Delta flight going to Cancun at 7:00am but by this time, too late for this flight. The person assisting us did not know what was going on at all! They booked us on the next flight to Cancun which departed at 8:00am. While we were at the ticket counter, another person who was also being helped, requested a direct flight to Cancun, which they accommodated and it was not even a Delta flight, it was thru United. When we asked if we could do the same, the person told us that he could do this. The tickets he assigned us was all that we could get. We realize what had happened to us was not his fault but he could have assisted us as much as possible. We get to Cancun at 6:30pm and lost a day of our vacation. No apologies, no vouchers, no refunds. The day before we leave Cancun, we try to checkin and it prompts us that we need to contact Aeromexico. Called and we're informed we have to check in at the airport. Get to the airport 2.5hrs early, flight departs at 2pm, get to the counter only to be told, they can not find our etickets in the system. The person from Delta that assisted us, wiped out our return flight tickets. It took another 2hrs with a Delta supervisor helping to get us back in the system. We almost missed our flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to CUN via MEX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"3 hours trying to get help"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was flying Aeromexico from Tuxtla Gutierrez to Durango via Mexico City. The first flight was delayed and so I missed the connection. I spent 3 hours in the airport trying to get some help but the Aeromexico staff were sending me from one person to another and finally they told me I had to spend the night at Mexico City and that they won't pay any compensation because the delay was due to air traffic control of the airport. Since it's the case that Mexico City airport is always busy then they shoudn't have allowed for only 1hr between connected flights. As a serious airline company they should have local knowledge of the airports.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTGZ to DRO via MEX
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"recommend avoiding Aeromexico"

(Canada)

Verified Review | On a recent trip with Aeromexico, I attempted to check in at the airport desk and was told that without proof of exit from my destination, I would not be allowed to check in and board my flight. As I was under time constraints to check in and board my flight, I was pressured by the clerk and the manager on duty to buy a ticket on the spot to show them. I was assured that the ticket I was buying was immediately and fully refundable and simply had to call them to cancel it when I arrived at my destination. I found out afterwards that this was all completely untrue and that I wasn't required to show the ticket desk anything of the sort. Regardless, I had done what they asked in good faith, assuming that at least their reassurance that I could get my money back quickly was true. (Side note: a fully refundable flight from Mexico City to Miami cost over $1400). I then called to cancel my flight and was assured that I would receive my reimbursement within 4-6 weeks. I spent the following two weeks requesting a written statement of this and finally received it by email. Three months later, I still have not received my reimbursement and have been paying interest on this large amount. Customer service has been non-communicative, taking weeks to respond to simple requests for follow up. The call centers refuse to answer questions relating to reimbursements or complaints. Recently, they even admitted in writing that the mistake was theirs due to a typo. Yet, still no reimbursement. I have never experienced such poor and unfair customer service. I recommend avoiding Aeromexico at all costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEX to MIA
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no