Aeromexico

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 344 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff were very accommodating"

(Mexico)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Mexico City. I bought a ticket with prepaid luggage. When I was making web check in the system tried to make me pay again. So we had to make it at the airport. Travelling with senior citizens and staff were very accomodating. FA were nice. The flight included a lunch service. Flight arrive on time.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Mexico City
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the airline from hell"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cancun to Los Angeles via Mexico City. This was the airline from hell. My flight from LAX to Cancun was canceled less than 24 hours before taking off because they were "no longer operating" and I couldn't get on another flight for another 6 hours from the original after being denied many times, a supervisor agreed to book another airline. When I landed in Mexico City for my connection the supervisor said it wasn't her problem and I needed to book another flight so I paid an extra $200 to get to Cancun to make the wedding I was going to. On the way back I had booked with The same airline again unfortunately & when I arrive to the airport they tell me my flight is overbooked! How is that possible when I paid for it? They put me on standby and tell me there's nothing they can do but give me food vouchers or airline vouchers. So she tells me instead of my 11am flight I can leave at 1:20 instead but my connecting flight in Mexico City won't leave till 720pm! So I ended up spending entire days in airports because of their stupid excuses and they gave me a "MasterCard" I can't even activate LOL because I have to call an international number & when I called the airline they told me I need to email customer relations - I thought I called customer relations! This is by far the worst airline and customer service I've ever encountered!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Los Angeles via Mexico City
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I am a very dissatisfied customer"

(China)

Verified Review | My husband and I were flying from Mexico City to Shanghai. The plane from Shanghai to Mexico City was extremely uncomfortable in economy class (by the way, do not pay for the emergency seats, they are the worst seats,) so we decided to upgrade to Premium economy to better our seats (around $6,000 pesos more). When we checked in at the airport, we were charged $1,800 Mexican pesos extras for 3 extra kilos as apparently Premium economy means nothing. You won't get any sort of benefits whatsoever, so if you are reading this, just be aware about the luggage requirements and avoid checking in your carry on. You will not find any sort of helpful staff neither at the airport nor via phone to help you understand, clarify, or reinburse any money regarding this issue. We bought the tickets thinking they were a good deal, at the end, we ended up paying way more than if we had bought a more expensive tickets through a different airline. I do not recommend this airline at all. I am a very dissatisfied customer and we will certainly not fly again through Aeromexico.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMexico to Shanghai via Tijuana
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nothing but rude to us"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Cancun to Vancouver via Mexico City. Boarded our flight from Cancun to Mexico city with no issue. Boarding our Vancouver bound flight, and this is where it all went to hell. As usual with Aeromexico, boarding started late. Flight was delayed by about 20 minutes because of it. However, when refuelling the plane, they miscalculated and had to start all over, delaying the flight even longer. After they finished we got the whole safety video and pre take off information, but we hadn't left the gate yet. Look outside, it's pouring, thunder, lighting, hail. It didn't look good. After about 40 minutes of no information, I got sick and tired of it, so I confronted the cabin crew to make some announcements, which they did eventually, in Spanish. Remember, this was a Vancouver bound flight, most people spoke English. After about three hours of little information, little water and no food, they cancelled the flight and deplanned due to bad weather and a fuel related issue. We all thought, well great, at least we will get a hotel. Just getting our exit tickets took about an hour because there were only two gate attendents trying to help over 200 angry passengers. To make matters worse, they said they wouldn't rebook us and we'd have to figure it out ourselves. They gave us a local number to call, only problem, we didn't have local cell phones. Sick and tired of the gate attendents only speaking Spanish, we went to the check in counters to try and rebook, only to find a giant queue of confused passengers. Turns out, the airport cancelled all their flights that night. So we stood in the line and about an hour and a half later, we got our new tickets for a flight in 2 days. To make matters worse we still had to collect our check in bags and find a hotel. 3hrs later, we got our bags and went to Aeromexico to find a hotel, only to learn that they will not be compensating is because the delay was weather related. Mind you, the captain told us the delay and cancellation was due to the fuel misshap. No matter what we said to their "customer service representative" they wouldn't budge. We were forced to spend two days in the airport with our bags and fellow passengers who also got screwed by Aeromexico because by the time we finished this while rebooking thing, all the hotels were sold out by other airlines. Every staff member we witnessed was nothing but rude to us. Also, the vast majority don't speak a word of english. Being an international airline, I would think speaking English would be important. I highly recommend not choosing this airline unless you want to be stranded in Mexico city with no fresh clothes, beds and food for two days.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Vancouver via Mexico City
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"horrible customer service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Nicaragua via Mexico City. I've flown many different airlines and never experienced one as bad as Aeroméxico! Constant misinformation, horrible customer service and surprise fees! I Will never fly with Aeroméxico again. I was charged $188 each way to carry my surfboard! The max I have ever paid on any airline previously being $50.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Nicaragua via Mexico City
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"horrible, unprofessional, incompetent"

(United States)

Verified Review | Mexico City to New York JFK. I was shocked by the horrible, unprofessional, incompetent way that I was treated by Aeromexico during my recent flight. Their deception, misinformation and incompetence cost me 8,612 extra pesos! I should not have been treated this way. I arrived at the Mexico City airport in the early morning, hours before my flight. I checked in at Aeromexico's check-in desk. The clerk checked my printed ticket and my U.S. passport and confirmed them. I asked if there was anything else, and she said no, that I was good to go. She checked in my suitcase and gave me the receipt for my checked-in bag. Then I went to my gate and waited several hours until boarding. When boarding began, I stood in line and eventually reached the front of the line, expecting to be checked in and board the plane. The Aeromexico employee at the gate asked me for the stub from my Mexican immigration papers, which I signed upon entering the country. The Aeromexico clerk at the baggage check-in had said nothing about this stub when I asked if there was "anything else" I needed. When she indicated that there wasn't, I placed the stub into my suitcase, which she then checked in. The clerk at the gate told me not to worry, that all I'd need to do is go to the Immigration desk and sign another immigration stub. She told me to sign it, then come back to the gate — that I could then board at the gate with no problem. That turned out to be a lie — or at least, radical misinformation. At her direction, I ran to the Immigration desk, signed a second immigration stub, and paid a 500 peso penalty, then sprinted back to the gate, returning just minutes after I had left. Suddenly the clerk at the gate had completely changed her tune. "Sorry," she said, "plane's leaving. You can't board." I reminded her that she told me to go get the second immigration stub, return to the gate, and that I'd have no problem boarding the plane. The clerk brushed off my concern like it was of no importance and returned to chatting with a fellow employee. Upset, I went to the Aeromexico customer service desk. The clerk there told me not to worry, that this was no problem at all. "There's a 9:05 am.flight to JFK," she said. "Just go to the Aeromexico desk at L2 or L3, ask for the manager and have her switch you to that flight. It will be no charge." But this turned out to be a lie too. I should have known something was up because the clerk refused to tell me her name. When I sighed, she told me again: Just go to L2 or L3, talk to the manager, and get the free reassignment. "It's just a little bit of paperwork," she said. So I went to L2 and waited in line for 45 minutes to see the manager. When I got to the front desk, the clerk there said that if I wanted to get on the next flight, there would be a penalty - a 8,112 pesos. That's $453.65. "It's Aeromexico procedure," they said. In the end, I spoke with 8 Aeromexico employees, but none helped, including the customer service help line. They told me they had no power to process customer service matters.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to New York JFK
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"inflight service very poor"

(Guatemala)

Verified Review | My flight from Shanghai to Guatemala City via Mexico City was 5:30 am so I arrive early at the airport. Aeromexico ground staff in Shanghai are helpful. Flight departure 20 mins delay. Inflight service very poor. It's 16 hours flight but they did not supply any amenity kit. All cabin crew were rude. Wifi is expensive (21.99$ for 110 MB). Inflight entertainment very poor. Food quality average. They serve 2 time food this 16 hours flight. Mexico City to Guatemala flight departure and arrive right time. This segment better than PVG to MEX.
AircraftBoeing 787 / E190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Guatemala City via Mexico City
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use this airline again"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Guadalajara to Monterry. We had the worst experience with Aeromexico with our flight from Gaudalajara to Monterrey on 23rd July. In the airport we were faced with a huge line to check in and it was moving incredibly slow. We only had to check in our baggage as we had already checked in in the system. There was no baggage-drop line. After we had queued for more than an hour and we finally reached the counter, the staffer demonstrated the worst service I've ever experienced. It turned out that our two suitcases each exceeded the permitted weight limit on 23 kg with 200 grams. It is normally not a problem, as I in two seconds relocate some of the content from my check-in suitcase to my hand baggage but they refused to let us do so, unless we went to the very back of the line. This would mean that we would miss our flight. Instead we had to pay MXN 1800 each (ie in total MXN 3200) for the overweight. It is a significant off-market and burdensome condition not to be allowed to repack the suitcases in order to comply with the allowed weight limit. We will never use this airline again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuadalajara to Monterry
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Antonio to Puerto Vallarta via Mexico City. The lack of customer service is why I will never fly them again. We had originally booked our trip on March 2, 2017 and picked our dates and flights based on the family budget for our vacation. In May we received notice that the return flight was cancelled and come to find out there were no flights with them back at anytime that day. So we could either fly back with someone else and we could stay another day. After looking over the options the cheapest was to stay another day. I understand that this can happen, but with any other airlines they would try to compensate the customer because of the issues. After trying to contact them, found out that in order to get an answer the only option was through email with a 5 day response time. As a group we were just hoping that they might at least pay for our baggage since it would not cost the airlines extra money and it would help us by paying some of the cost we were having to pay out. By the time they finally answered it was to say no, but that they were sorry and really hoped to get our business back. We have flown with other airlines and they moved our flight by 15 minutes and gave use $25 vouchers that could be used for future flights or our baggage. So even with all of this we went and when checking back in, the website would not allow us to add baggage to 4 of our guest as it showed they already had paid baggage, so we add the 2 extra. However, when we got to the airport, it only showed the 2 bags. So now instead of the $20 we have to pay $25. However, when we went to pay because of the currency exchange we had to pay $30 and they were not willing to honor the $20 we would have paid because of their website issues. This does not even cover that the plane looked as though it was going to fall apart at any moment and since they do not seem to do compensation you would think they could pay for upgrading their planes.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Antonio to Puerto Vallarta via Mexico City
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unable to get on the plane"

(United States)

Verified Review | Quito to New York via Mexico City. Aeromexico refunded my ticket without letting me know and for no reason. The night before my flight, I received an email from them to check in online, so I did not suspect anything was wrong. Upon arrival at the airport, I was told that my ticket had been refunded and was therefore no longer flying with them that day. I asked why and they couldn't give me an explanation, no one knew why. When I told them that I had received an email from them just the night before, the customer service agent told me, "Well maybe if you would have checked in online we would not have refunded your ticket." He then suggested that I fly tomorrow, which would cost three times the original ticket. After an hour of talking to multiple people, they told me I would be able to fly that day I just had to pay for the ticket. However, their machine would not accept my credit card and I could not take out an efficient amount of money from the ATM to cover the cost, and they refused to take a card over the phone from a family member. So I was unable to get on the plane, and had to re book, which I did so with a different airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQuito to New York via Mexico City
Date FlownJuly 2017
Value For Money 12345
no