Avianca Ecuador

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 13 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 16th October 2013

We flew from GYE to Galapagos and back. The flights were very enjoyable with no nonsense good polite service and excellent modern aircraft.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United States) 17th April 2013

I've taken several flights on Aerogal from Bogota to Quito in the past year. It's an Avianca led operation and feels similar to the (good) Avianca experience. Food and drink for a short flight in 'C' is impressive. Increasingly though service at the new Quito airport is showing a drop in quality in particular at Check-In. Staff there are unhelpful. It's modern Airbus equipment and a professional outfit.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United States) 28th February 2012

Redeye flight JFK to Guayaquil return. Booked 6 months in advance fare about $180 cheaper than LAN Ecuador. Two weeks before the flight a rep informed me that on my return I was switched to an Avianca flight that would stop in Bogota for 3 hrs. The rep insisted the change had to be made because the only direct flight that day was overbooked. After speaking to a manager he apologized and said my direct return flight was intact. If you don't stand your ground they are apt to mess up your schedule and you might be in for a rude surprise at the airport. They have only one 767 flying from NY to Ecuador so be careful and keep checking n your booking.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (Australia) 10th January 2012

Quito to Medellin Business Class A320. We were travelling on an Avianca/Taca ticket but the flight was operated by Aerogal. Check-in was efficient although in Quito only opens 2 hours before the flight. We used the VIP lounge in UIO basic selection of snacks and drinks but comfortable seats. Flight was 15 mins late boarding. Business Class seats are large recliners with leg supports and very good IFE offering for short haul. A hot meal was served with a large bar selection. The only disappointment was the attitude and service onboard. Everything was a hassle for FA's. Landed on time and a fairly simple connection process to the domestic Avianca flight.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United States) 8th December 2011

Business Class from Baltra (GPS) to Guayaquil which seemed to be one of their new Airbus A320s! The cabin had three rows (1 to 3 in a 2 x 2 configuration) with IFE at every seat were wide and included a foot rest. They did not offer to pre-board Business Class passengers however and all seats were accounted for in both cabins. For the 90 minute flight I feel the cabin stewards could have been more attentive or visible. After the meal service (a sandwich and chips) they disappeared to the galley and rarely returned to check on passengers. No alcohol offered and I am not sure if it was even available. The flight was on time - I'm just not sure I would pay the additional cost to sit up front as the meal and service do not justify it!
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
na

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United States) 29th April 2011

JFK to Guayaquil and to the Galapagos. The plane seemed in okay condition. However when we arrived at the airport the flight was delayed 3 hours and even after verbal and email confirmation days prior our vegetarian meals were not on the plane. The flight attendants were not helpful when trying to piece-meal some old cold and inedible vegetables together. Additionally my seat was broken and also the audio portion for the in-flight movie would not work and when I mentioned these issues to the flight attendant I was told "I am sorry" and then he walked away.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United States) 9th April 2011

Travelled recently to Ecuador and Galapagos from New York City (JFK). Took Aerogal for seven total legs. The airline was cheapest by far compared to other airlines. Not a single leg departed on time and departure lateness varied from 30mins to 2.5hrs. This was a big deal when my group missed its first connection from Guayaquil to Quito and we had to wait several hours for the next plane. Only one baggage mishap - baggage for some of our group members came with a later plane meaning we had to wait in the airport an additional two hours after that first two hour delay. Staff in GYE or UIO was not very responsive to or concerned about this situation. Would fly again - only because it's half-priced compared to the other guys.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Value For Money 12345
yes
na

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (United States) 9th January 2011

Aerogal overbooked our flight from JFK to Guayaquil by 50-60 passengers. Even though we arrived three hours early for our flight we were left standing in the terminal as our plane took off. No one could tell us when they would be able to put us on a flight. As a result we missed our connection and lost an entire day of our honeymoon as well as the upgraded accommodations that we had paid for. We have been offered no compensation and no one at the airline is responding to my emails.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (Denmark) 22nd December 2010

BOG-UIO economy a few weeks ago. Apart from a 20 min delay out of Bogotà which we never caught up on this was a flight that reminded me how flying in Europe used to be. new A320 with good IFE considering the 1h15m flight and tasty warm breakfast served in economy - as a Dane I was amazed to find my homeland's butter brand Lurpak onboard! Staff served drinks twice before our descenT to Quito. Bags already on the belt when we had cleared immigration. Great flight only issue was the delay.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Avianca Ecuador customer review

Review by (Colombia) 30th August 2010

Guayaquil-Quito in old 737-200 maybe one of the last opportunities to fly this aircraft gorgeous for Aviation enthusiasts! Aircraft well-maintained and clean service good for a 30 minutes hop consisting of a sandwich and beverages. Flight on time friendly staff nothing to complain about. Quito-Bogota in 757 on-time friendly and motivated staff light meal served beverages soft drinks and beer wine coffee. Aero Gal belongs now to the Avianca group all Quito flights are now done by Aero Gal which does not appear a drop in service quality so far.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 13 Reviews