Aer Lingus

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 621 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"service experienced was highly frustrating"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I am so disappointed to have to write this review of Aer Lingus. I fly regularly with them 3-4 times per year, but now I will have to reconsider. I had no success in trying to change the date of a return flight, despite availability on the return flight I wished to avail of. I called the company and they refused to do it over the phone. In addition, I tried through their online system which would not permit it. At this point, the service experienced was highly frustrating. Having wrote to "Guest Services, which is their inappropriately branded customer complaint department, they provided me with a three line vague response that didn't correspond to my complaint in any way. I found this experience bordering on arrogant. Having returned an email to them outlining this, they chose not to reply. I tried to engage the company on social media, no reply either. When I had a great experience with Aer Lingus about two years ago, I wrote to the company outlining how grateful that I was. At that time I had backspin and they upgraded my seat to accommodate me. Within hours, I had received two emails from the company about how delighted they were. On this occasion however, there wasn't a word from the company for five days after my email was sent, and the customer services rep on the phone was short and unwilling in any way to help me. I will not fly with Aer Lingus again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Montreal via Boston
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"flying very old Airbus aircraft"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | . This was my second time in two years to fly transatlantic flights with Aer Lingus and it appears they are still flying very old Airbus aircraft, the video screen usually dont work in half the seats, they are very small and very unresponsive. Staff try repeatedly to reset the system and then tell you "sorry its not working in your seat, I can try to move you, away from your partner". The staff admit the planes are old and decrepit leased to the company by a middle eastern finance group. In my recent four transatlantic flights with the company on 3 occasions the entertainment system did not work for most of the journey. The customer services department ignore complaints, wont take phone calls and reservations department wont put you through to them, they dont have external phone lines, very poor attitude, best avoided on longer flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"lunch was Ireland on a plate"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Dublin to Chicago. I do so wish that airlines would reflect their nationality in their food. Asian airlines do, to an extent, and i suppose Alitalia and Aair France serve something that identifies them. But sadly most airlines don’t. Chicken or fish, you get the idea. But on Aer Lingus a small revelation. An unpromising main course was “chicken in a savoury sauce” but the entire lunch was Ireland on a plate. Soda bread, a salmon starter, irish cheese but the entree sang out, “ this is Ireland” I can’t explain it more. The whole flight was very pleasant- service, seating, all pretty good. But that simple lunch will stay in my memory for a long time
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Chicago
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Crew very good both ways"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew Dublin To Boston return with Aer Lingus on an A330. Pre-clearance at Dublin is great as one then arrives in US as a domestic flight. Left an hour late due to TSA hold up. Return flight 90 minutes late leaving, minor mechanical issue. Had exit row seat and no one next to me on return. Crew very good both ways.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Boston
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"such a bad experience"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Brussels via Dublin. Beverage choice was very limited. Food was disgusting, seat was not comfortable and the entertainment system was not working. I had to request the flight attendant to restart 3 times the screen in my seat without success. A 10 hour flight in this kind of conditions is very difficult. The crew was gentle but they can’t help the customer in this kind of conditions if the equipment are poor. Such a bad experience never again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Brussels via Dublin
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the service was one of the worst"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | For an economy class ticket (bought well in advance), this was by far one of the most expensive tickets I have bought to fly within Europe, and yet the service was one of the worst. Comparable to bare bone low cost companies, with the addition of outright rude and disrespectful staff. Both inbound and return flights were delayed. They barely acknowledged the 35min delay on the inbound flight as though this is something usual for them. The return flight was 1h30min late. This could happen to any company, however they did not bother to give any information until 5min prior to boarding. The staff were stressed and they rushed the passengers. If any passenger dared display any sign of discomfort they were both dismissive and outright disrespectful. In my case, the rude behavior came when I tried to explain to the young man who simply stuck a tag to my very modestly sized carry on luggage to check it in for a lack space in the overhead compartment, that I had made sure my bag fits under the sit in front of me. But, he did not have time for a 10 seconds conversation. He stubbornly continued to harass me at the door of the plane and refused to hear a word. I did not give him way and ended up peacefully placing my bag under the sit in front of me. After that, they finally explained to us while in the plane that they had to change planes and we would have to sit in this plane another 40min before being allowed to take off. All this stress, the rude behavior, the rush to board so we can sit wait in the plane. It's one thing to be late, it's another thing to inflict such chaos and discomfort to customers. Aer Lingus just joined my very short list of airlines to be avoided completely. I highly advise to stay away.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Zürich
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"great care and attention"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Dublin to Paris. I had the opportunity to travel with my family and a group of other families who have special children on various treatments. We travelled to Disneyland Paris. Check in was a little bit disorganised but we ended up sailing through security as a designated area had been kindly provided. Onboard on the out ward journey, we had great care and attention by our cabin crew member who was so nice to all the children and the parents. I hope that if the company are reading this they can pass on our sincerest thanks for the care and attention we received by her. She had a natural warmth and empathy that was the style of the old Aer Lingus and that's what used to set EI apart from it's rivals. We arrived on time and it was nice to hear the cabin crew wishing all the children a pleasant stay in Disneyland as they hare a very special bunch of people. Back to Dublin we had a fairly standard service from the crew. Again arrived on time. I would be delighted to fly EI again but it would be nice to see more of the genuineness and friendliness that we experienced on our outward flight. It costs nothing but it makes a difference to those travelling.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Paris
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"still waiting for compensation"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Edinburgh to Dublin in August. Terrible. I only fly Aerlingus if I have no choice due to work. Aer Lingus didn't put my suitcase into the hold, along with 20 others due to space issues. Even though I paid £20 for the baggage. They then lied to me several times about the location of my luggage, which contained all my business clothes and medication. Eventually they delivered my suitcase after 4 days, just before I was leaving Dublin to fly home. I was forced to buy new clothes, toiletries etc at expense to myself which I am still waiting for compensation on after nearly 4 months. Aer Lingus ignored my complaints several times now and eventually promised to send me compensation, which then didn't appear - been waiting 6 weeks now for that.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Ryanair here we come"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dublin to Gatwick, Sunday 3rd December 19.10 flight. It seems to be run for the benefit of passengers known to staff members. A stewardess appeared by my seat and announced I would have to get up to let in two passengers. Not excuse me - no manners displayed. These had been brought up from the back of the craft to better seats as apparently friends of someone. They also had free drinks as known to this special someone. I paid for my seat - like a few around me so this did not go down well. We sat for ages whilst staff members chatted and laughed and finally decided that the plane should fly. It did surprisingly land on time - which is a first - whereupon there followed a bun fight to grab cases and shove people out of the way merely to get on coaches. Ghastly. Ryanair here we come.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Gatwick
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"same as US domestic flights"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to Dublin. The Boeing 757-200 was the same as US domestic flights and the plane was also very old. I cannot believe I am flying on southwest style airline internationally! Do not fly this airline if you are used larger planes for international flights.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Dublin
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no