Top 100 Airports  

Aer Lingus

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 523 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"couldn't rest properly"

(United States)

Verified Review | We are a family of four (two adults and two children) and we were flying from Madrid to New York (with a 4-hour stop in Dublin). The flight was awful and the service was really bad. My seat was broken and two arm-rests too, we couldn't lift the arm-rests so that our children would be able to sleep more comfortably on this long flight. I called the flight attendant and she just told me that they were broken and she was very sorry. When food was served, we asked for chicken but we were told that they had run out of chicken and only had chilly beef. There were a lot of rows behind us so the rest of the passengers couldn't have chicken either. I can't eat beef because of my medical issues, and my children couldn't even take a bit of chilly beef as it was very spicy. When I asked the flight attendant to bring something at least for my children to eat, she said she told her supervisor about the problem but she/he said that they couldn't do it about it. Our children didn't eat anything and couldn't rest properly during the flight. We were very disappointed with the flight and the service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to JFK via DUB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"great customer skills"

(Ireland)

A really good flight to Gran Canaria from Dublin and return 2 weeks later with Aer Lingus. Treated with great customer skills from high quality staff - it knocks most "bucket and spade" flights out of the ring. It was a 4.5 hour flight, and we had to pay for food/drinks etc - but nevertheless it was better than most flights of its type.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUB to LPA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"would highly recommend"

(United States)

My husband and I flew from Orlando to Dublin on Aer Lingus on 2 July last. Boarding was quick and the aircraft was clean and the crew welcoming when we boarded. The food was actually quite tasty and my duty free shopping was delivered to me promptly and within minutes of me ordering my items. My only complaint was that the arm rest in the middle of the two side seats does not lift up all the way so having the two seats to myself was of no benefits because of this, I understand this is most trivial but it would have been lovely to have been able to get a few hours sleep before we arrived in Dublin. We had some light breakfast and some much needed coffee. I would highly recommend Aer Lingus on this route and hope that sometime in the future they consider this small change in their aircraft as it would make flying much more comfortable for most of us.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMCO to DUB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"displeased with this airline"

(United States)

I booked my flight from Chicago to Geneva via Dublin in December 2015. I occasionally got reminder e-mails from the airline, and two days ago I received a "your trip is in two days" e-mail. Aer Lingus allows you to check in 24 hours before departure, and when i went on last night to check in it told me my returning flight had been cancelled and my connecting outbound flight in Dublin had be changed, creating a 7 hour layover when I originally had an 1h45 one. As soon as we saw this, we tried to call Aer Lingus but their hours of operation were over. We called as soon as possible the next morning, and they confirmed that my flight had been cancelled. They did not notify me of this prior to, and had I not tried to check in online ahead of time I wonder if I would have found out before leaving the US. They told me I could catch a flight from Dublin to Chicago on late in the day on July 30th, but my flight from Geneva to Dublin would still be on the early on the 29th. Hence, I would need to find transportation to and from a hotel. Both of these would not be covered by the airline. Otherwise they suggested booking a return flight through another airline. The only good thing was they offered us either a full refund if we decided to cancel, or half a refund if we decided to book another return flight. We found another round trip all together that leaves tomorrow (thank god) and were able to book that (although it did come with a much heftier price tag, but I would have paid it anyway with transportation and a hotel that extra night in Dublin) All in all, I am incredibly displeased with this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to GVA via DUB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff were neatly presented and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This review relates to the return portion of a flight I made to Ireland to attend a funeral. Cork airport check-in was a pleasure to use as the staff were friendly and efficient and made a very professional first impression. The departure was on time and it was nice to hear the Captain use the Irish language. I had a comfortable seat and found the seating to be ideal for a relatively short flight of around 1 hour. Announcements were made during the flight and a range of snacks and other items were also available. The staff were neatly presented and friendly. I saw one male cabin crew member go out of his way to help an elderly lady. However, I also saw a female crew member stand by as another elderly lady struggled with her bag. I intervened and helped the elderly lady with her bag as the crew member looked on. Arrival was on time and there were no issues at all in disembarkation. I hope to use this airline again. However, as a QANTAS frequent flyer it was disappointing that I did not earn points on this flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORK to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew immaculate, polite and professional"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Cork using the superb services of Aer Lingus to attend the funeral of my mother. I was very upset and a member of the cabin crew was very kind to me. The same cabin crew member was very helpful towards a young mum and baby too. The ground staff were very pleasant and professional and the cabin crew were immaculate and above all polite and professional in carrying out their duties. The flight left on time and the catering was fine. My only gripe was the steep price of the ticket.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ORK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"pleasant and helpful"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Excellent Aer Lingus flight in all aspects. Great ground service in Dublin, comfortable seats, acceptable selection of food for a plane. Great that they have stated new Tuscan route, a more relaxing option than choosing Ryanair. On the return home slight delay but crew kept us informed and were so pleasant and helpful.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUB to PSA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"could do much better"

(France)

Verified Review | Flew Aer Lingus from Paris CDG to Dublin. I have no complaints about the flight apart from for the food. There was a short period where one could get something half decent (I seem to remember fruit salad). I ordered a cheese and coleslaw sandwich which was inedible (I'm not a fussy eater) and a coffee. I understand the constraints with pre-packed food but really they could do much better than this.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to DUB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"flights were excellent"

(United States)

Flew Aer Lingus from Chicago to Naples with connection through Dublin. The flights were excellent. We thought the staff from check-in, flight attendants and particularly the handicap assistants were outstanding. The food was acceptable but were surprised that we had to pay for all drinks, even on the international leg. Our positive reactions were strained on our return flight from Dublin to Chicago. The flight attendants were more interested in their own interactions than customer service. The food was horrible. Limited beverage service with nothing but water during dinner service and only tea or coffee when given the boxed sandwich (poor quality). When my husband asked for a coke, was told that they ran out. Not acceptable!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUB to ORD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"pre-order option has vanished"

(United Kingdom)

London Gatwick to Dublin. A pretty uneventful trip. Used and enjoyed the No1 Lounge beforehand which Aer Lingus uses for Gold Circle members, Nice hot food available and decent selection of drinks. Boarding delayed and a pretty full flight but the crew did well and every one was offered in flight service, although noticed that the pre-order option has now vanished. Seems to have been a development with security - I usually just travel with my driving licence on Aer Lingus flights from the UK to Ireland, on this occasion I was asked to show my boarding pass as a flight from Germany had also just landed at Passport control so I showed him it on my phone - I was advised that this was not acceptable as proof from where I had flown from, and the airlines were using it for their convenience. Eventually let me through but thought it might be worth flagging.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to DUB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes