Top 100 Airlines  

Aer Lingus

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 532 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"much to learn about customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to New York JFK via Dublin. Very poor experience with ticketing and schedule changing. Aer Lingus changed my connecting flight a couple of times and finally cancelled this, meaning I'd not be able to make the transatlantic connection. Offered a full refund, but this hasn't arrived (a week later) and I've been told to expect 'at least 28 days' for this to happen. Aer Lingus customer services are impossible to reach on the phone and booking guys are not able to help. No offer of any assistance made to help us reach our destination other than to transfer to inconvenient flights. These guys have much to learn about customer service and I have made a note never to fly Aer Lingus again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to JFK via DUB
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"multitude of steep hidden fees"

(Australia)

Verified Review | London to Dublin with Aer Lingus. Multitude of steep hidden fees (particularly luggage fees) that are not mentioned during the initial booking process. $60 for 20kg, and that's half price because I booked online. Not at all nice to be slapped with that unexpectedly. Passed up a different flight because this one was cheaper - don't make my mistake.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to DUB
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"FAs were simply amazingly"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Dublin to Toronto with Aer Lingus. Attempted to make changes to my reservation on the Aer Lingus web site - impossible. The online features are useless. Called the call centre to make a seat selection. I had to wait over 25 minutes before getting answered by someone who was not willing to help. Had a hard time understanding me, and nothing could be done. Not possible to add a frequent flyer program, not possible to make a seat selection for the return flight. At the airport, no one from the ground staff seemed to know which airline Aer Lingus cooperates with, as far as mileage accumulation. Qantas lists Aer Lingus as a partner on its website - so will try to handle later. The lounge in Dublin is spacious and well equipped. Good internet connection for work. The saving grace is the quality of the flight and inflight service. FAs were simply amazingly nice. The food and drinks were of quality and the seat quite comfortable. I used the single seat option available on this aircraft for rows 1 and 3. Arrival into Toronto was a bit delayed due to a delayed departure. Chaos to recover luggage at YYZ T3 - but that must be the airport's fault not the airline. Overall, if Aer Lingus fixes some issues with ground staff and call centre (more training required obviously), the product has great potential. Can't wait for them to rejoin Oneworld.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDUB to YYZ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"no one ever contacted us"

(United States)

Verified Review | A few weeks ago I flew from Madrid to Louisville, stopping first in Dublin and then Chicago before arriving at my final destination. All of the segments of the ticket were on one ticket and the whole ticket was under Aer Lingus and the last segment was under Aer Lingus but operated by United. My wife and I flew together and we each checked a second bag. We paid the fee for the second bag in Madrid but our bags were not checked all the way through even though we had one ticket. In Chicago we picked up our bags and went to recheck them at the United gate and they told us that United had no relationship with Aer Lingus, and that as a result we would have to pay again. Basically they did not give us a choice, they said pay and go to the gate or go back to the international terminal and speak to Aer Lingus which would mean missing our flight. I can´t believe what happened. The next day we called and spoke to someone with Aer Lingus, gave all our information and receipt numbers and no one ever contacted us. So we called again and and again. My wife spoke to at least 4 different agents. One told her that other was dealing with our case and then another who she spoke to after, had no idea. Finally after about 6 phone calls and hours wasted she was told to send our receipts to prove that we were charged by both United and Aer Lingus. We´ve sent all this information on August 5th an till this day no one has even contacted us. Every time she called she would ask to speak to a supervisor, and was never aloud to speak to anybody apart from a regular agent who had no control over anything. Every time she spoke to an agent they would promise that someone would call and nobody has.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to SDF via DUB/ORD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"very poor on ground service"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Aer Lingus from Milan Linate to Dublin return. Check in at Milan Linate was one of the worst of my life. Very slow and with one employee that seemed to be drinking a cup of tea. The same staff, when we were still queuing, left because they finished the duty!!Aircraft clean with godd legroom, no free service on board. Check in in Dublin very confused with automatic machines and a few employees to help. All in all, Aer Lingus has been ok inflight but very poor on ground service.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMXP to DUB
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin was spotless"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dublin to Gatwick. Terminal 2 in Dublin is a superb new facility. I had to use and automated check-in system and an automated bag drop. This was tolerable but there were very few uniformed staff around and I saw elderly people and a young family struggling. Boarding was efficient with a female pilot and co-pilot who made clear announcements. The cabin crew were friendly and helpful and offered drinks and snacks for sale. The cabin was spotless and the use of the Irish language is appreciated. Leaving the flight was reasonable but one had to use a transfer bus followed by a series of staircases none of which would be suitable for elderly people. There were no staff at hand to help. I will happily fly Aer Lingus again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUB to LGW
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"you didn't win me over"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was pleased to read that the airline had been upgraded to a 4* prior to departing, so I had high expectations of the flight. I liked the configuration of 2x4x2 as I was able to sit with my partner; I also liked to leg room available. The food was good, not a huge amount, but what we had was tasty. However, I object to being charged for alcoholic beverages and snacks. Surely if this airline wants to convey a 4* image this needs to go. The inflight entertainment was a joke, the touch screens are not responsive and the selection is poor. Staff are okay - better than my recent flight with United. Aer Lingus, you didn't win me over.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ORD via DUB
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not trust them with checked bags"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Aer Lingus from Amsterdam to Dublin this June. Flight experience was standard economy experience. No entertainment on EU flights and must pay for all beverages (even water) - pretty standard for a budget airline. Aer Lingus lost my checked bag at Dublin on flight arriving June 18. Despite submitting the appropriate documentation, now almost two months later, I did not receive reimbursement for my lost bag and am still waiting for a letter for my travel insurance stating that my bag was lost so that I can be reimbursed by them. It has been very time-consuming and overall terrible experience. After this experience I will never fly Aer Lingus again and would not trust them with checked bags.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIAD to DUB via AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very comfortable 2x2 seating"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Outbound flight with Aer Lingus crew and aircraft from Dublin to Bilbao. Slight delay on departure explained due to late arrival of aircraft from Düsseldorf. Flight very pleasant, seemed like a relatively new aircraft. Staff were friendly & engaging. Carry-on backpack but plenty of locker space despite it being a very busy flight. Food good & reasonably priced. Smooth landing into Bilbao. Return flight from Santiago to Dublin was operated by BA crew and BA Cityflyer Embraer aircraft with a very comfortable 2x2 seating configuration. Food was from buy onboard cart and opted for the tasty breakfast baguette. Crew pleasant and all-in-all a great flight home. Great job by both airlines.
AircraftA320 / Embraer E90
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSCQ to DUB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"couldn't rest properly"

(United States)

Verified Review | We are a family of four (two adults and two children) and we were flying from Madrid to New York (with a 4-hour stop in Dublin). The flight was awful and the service was really bad. My seat was broken and two arm-rests too, we couldn't lift the arm-rests so that our children would be able to sleep more comfortably on this long flight. I called the flight attendant and she just told me that they were broken and she was very sorry. When food was served, we asked for chicken but we were told that they had run out of chicken and only had chilly beef. There were a lot of rows behind us so the rest of the passengers couldn't have chicken either. I can't eat beef because of my medical issues, and my children couldn't even take a bit of chilly beef as it was very spicy. When I asked the flight attendant to bring something at least for my children to eat, she said she told her supervisor about the problem but she/he said that they couldn't do it about it. Our children didn't eat anything and couldn't rest properly during the flight. We were very disappointed with the flight and the service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to JFK via DUB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no