Aer Lingus

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 780 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I fly Birmingham to Dublin regularly, used to fly Manchester to Dublin many times a year. Seems that they reduce the frequency on these busy routes in the Summer to deploy aircraft on seasonal routes. Schedules in Winter are much better and have just booked five flights for the next few months from Birmingham. Interestingly every one of them was cheaper than flights on same dates at similar times with Ryanair. I always fly Aer Lingus over Ryanair unless there is a huge difference in price. The aircraft are usually clean and trolleys well stocked. I say this because it seems on Ryanair they stock the trolleys in the morning and sell out on later flights. A benefit of flying Aer Lingus is you arrive and depart T2 Dublin. Aer Lingus has been marketing itself as a low cost airline, and they charge for food and drinks. Overall always happy with Aer Lingus.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBirmingham to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Hadn't flown Aer Lingus for a while so was interested to see what the London to Dublin hop was like these days. As had an onward connection was given a Gold Circle Lounge pass - the lounge is well appointed in Terminal 2 and nicely decorated although found the food offerings slightly lacking. The flight was delayed by 30 minutes but we were kept updated and boarding was prompt and efficient. We were seated in 12E and F and sound the amount of legroom ok. The captain was keen to try and make up time so the service inflight was pretty rushed with the Bia trolleys not reaching all the passengers. Crew coped well though and were polite and friendly throughout. A nice flight that arrived in Dublin only 15 minutes late compared to the 30-40 minutes late departure from LHR.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon Heathrow to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I hadn't travelled Aer Lingus Business Class for about 15 years and was looking forward to a trip down memory lane as I used to do the Dublin to JFK route regularly. The trip had been planned for ages, and I had checked and double checked the arrangements with the Airline about 4-5 times as I had booked through an agent and all seemed in order. Arrived Saturday morning and had a painless check in and bag drop and soon found ourselves in the T2 Business Class lounge which is nice and well appointed. The food offering is nowhere near as good as other lounges with limited cold stuff available. We were called to go through Immigration at 09.30 and the idea of doing this in Dublin rather face the queues at JFK is still pure genius. This was quick and efficient and couldn't be faulted and we were in the boarding area within 15 minutes before being called to Board the EI105 at 10.00. We were greeted by the Cabin Service Manager who showed us to our seats in 2H and 2K. Jackets were taken and we were offered a drink by the lovely Senior Cabin crew member who looked after us throughout the flight. Take off was on time. Shortly after take off we were offered drinks and a smal dish of canapés. I was a bit surprised that my Vegetarian partner was offered the fish ones, and at this stage we discovered that the many times confirmed Lacto Vegetarian meal had not been loaded. The crew said not to worry and they would sort something out. The lunch menu offered a choice of starters of Chicken Liver Pate or Burren Smokehouse hot and cold smoked salmon which is pictured. My partner was offered the cheese plate from the dessert offering. I had the Salmon which was great. Mains were a choice of Collar of Irish Bacon, Lambay Island Irish Lamb Stew or a Luxury Crisp fish pie - the crew recommended the bacon which is pictured and was delicious. At this point my partner was advised that the Vegetarian meal had been found (looked like in economy) and it was just the tray that was missing. He was served a Vegetarian pasta dish which he said was fine Dessert was a choice of Lemon Tart or Cheese Plate both of which wee good and there was a rather nice Sancerrre on offer with lunch which was also good This was the new style business class but it would appear that Aer Lingus has ditched the idea of dining on demand as this was not offered. The new seat is brilliant though a massive lie flat bed, that is really comfy, together with a big screen to enjoy a decent selection of television in demand, and free wifi for business class customers. There is also a selection of snacks in the galley now - crisps sandwiches fruit - that kind of thing. About an hour before landing we were served a rather odd Super Power Salad of quinoa, courgette and feta cheese which wasn't the tastiest thing I had ever had on a plane, but the scones that accompanied it were great. We landed in JFK at 13.15 and we were out of Terminal 5 and in Terminal 4 with bags at 13.35 which was absolutely superb. All in all, despite the meal mix up, this was an excellent Transatlantic crossing that left many other bigger airlines in the shade, and given the favourable price, one that I would happily recommend.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDublin to New York
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Full flight, left and arrived on time. Did not purchase any refreshments on this short journey.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteORK to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (Oman)

Aer Lingus has lived in my memory fondly for years, primarily due to their past excellent service on both transatlantic and regional routes. No more. This short flight was enough to convince me that the Irish government was foolish in not allowing Ryanair to buy out the "flag carrier" and put it to its well-deserved death. Dublin Airport is one of the worst there is - long foot travel, very few conveniences, unhelpful staff, generally a frenzied dump of an airport, and this swaps over onto Aer Lingus, too. The former proud little airline hit hard times and sought to revive its fortunes as "ultra low cost carrier", thus taking on Ryanair head to head - what a stupid idea. Legroom is so tight. There is no inflight entertainment of any kind, the cabin was not fresh, and absolutely everything - from water on down, must be purchased from sometimes surly staff. British Airways has just bought Aer Lingus, possibly to establish its own low-cost brand, but I am hoping against the odds that they will actually invest and restore Aer Lingus to what it once was and used to be - a decent airline with happy employees and excellent service to and from Ireland.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDUB to SXF
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (Germany)

Chose Aer Lingus primarily due to low fare compared to more established airlines which fly Germany to the USA. You have to pay for your beer or wine. Otherwise, the on-board service was top and the food quality very good. Economy seats had more legroom than many other airlines. However, the main advantage is going through US Immigration in Dublin and landing domestic at terminal 5 at JFK New York. In my previous experience, immigration in NY or SFO often means standing in line for up to 2 hours.
AircraftAirbus
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMunich to New York via Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (Ireland)

Flew with Aer Lingus Regional operated by Stobart Air from Dublin to Manchester. At Dublin Airport boarding was efficient and relaxed even though we were bussed to a remote stand. The 70 seater ATR 72-600 is in a 2-2 seating configuration so I found the smaller aircraft more relaxing than an A320 or B738. The aircraft was modern (2 years old) and clean. Seat comfort and legroom were reasonable enough. Drinks and snacks were sold on this flight even though it was very short. The two cabin crew members were very friendly. The flight arrived on time in Manchester and we were bussed to Terminal 1. If you are flying Aer Lingus Regional from Dublin I advise going through security at Terminal 1 as the walk to the gates is shorter.
AircraftAT76
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDublin to Manchester
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (Ireland)

After flying Ryanair for the past 7 years, I found a cheap fare for Aer Lingus, I didn't hesitate to book the flag-carrier for my return leg. Boarding was a shambles to be blunt about it, like cows walking into a barn, just banging into each other and no order of a queue. This was due to handling agents at Venice and not EI crew. The departure was speedy and comfortable, the crew were very smily and friendly upon boarding. The captain have numerous updates throughout the flight about delays and our ETA. Meal service was excellent. Although slow, this didn't matter on the 3 hour flight. The food was so fresh. I could tell the scone was baked recently and the bread on my sandwich was so soft. The best inflight food I've head in a while to be honest. Although it's not free, it is reasonably priced. The approach was very quick and we landed 10 minutes ahead of schedule after departing 20 minutes late which was nice. De boarding was nice and a big farewell from the smiley crew. A very enjoyable flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteVenice to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (Ireland)

The third Aer Lingus European flight I've taken in the space of 3 weeks, with excellent and experienced crew. Baggage delivery in Dublin super fast. Only let-down seems to be their agents and handlers at their European bases. This time, passengers were left queueing at the wrong checkin area, some for over an hour, before discretely telling only some passengers it was changed to another area and everyone started running leaving many disgruntled customers and tense exchanges in queues over who was ahead of who. Lastly, check-in only commenced 1 hour 50 minutes before scheduled departure and not the 2 hour 30 minutes indicated on their website. Aer Lingus reputation being seriously compromised by uninterested and unprofessional ground agents in some Airports.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLyon Saint-Exupéry to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Aer Lingus customer review

Review by (France)

Twice in the past two months, the online check-in service was not working several hours prior to check-in - neither on the phone or on the PC. (I travel often with AL along with Ryanair and Air France and I know what I am doing). Aer Lingus has been making a big thing in its advertising how you can be "smart" by using their different ways to check-in. Well I had to check in at the airport and arrive much earlier, like other passengers. That was quite disruptive. Worse still, the Aer Lingus customer service (in two separate messages) does not reply in response to this matter. A pity, as otherwise a good product. I've never had this disruption with Air France or Ryanair.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCDG to DUB
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes